Is MQM really behind burning of hundreds of shops on M A Jinnah Road ?

(79 posts)
  1. Red-Scorpion

Is MQM really behind burning of hundreds of shops on M A Jinnah Road or it was angry participants of the procession who went on rampage after the blast?

Guys, what do you think was MQM also behind burning of over 150 shops in Liaquat Bazar of Quetta after attack on Ashura procession in March 2004???

"""After the terrorist attacks the police and other security officials 'disappeared' from the scene. The angry mob then attacked closed shops, markets, shopping malls, commercial establishments, hotels, etc.

They ransacked and torched over 150 shops and other buildings, including a cinema-house, a UBL branch and an MCB branch, on Prince Road, Liaquat Bazaar, Masjid Road, Meezan Chowk, Abdul Sattar Road and Mecongy Road.

The fire-brigade was not allowed by the mob to enter the affected localities as a result the burning private and public property was completely gutted. "A security guard of the MCB died of suffocation," hospital sources said, adding his body was recovered from the bank branch on Wednesday. """

http://www.dawn.com/2004/03/04/top1.htm

""Market Set Ablaze

Kakar told newsmen that after firing angry mobs ransacked shops in Bano market, setting it on fire. Fire tenders were rushed to control fire, an up-date of which is awaited. A transformer was also set on fire on Almdar Road, the City chief said.

Shi'ites immediately went on the rampage in Quetta, burning more than 100 shops.

Troops were sent in to restore order and imposed a curfew as a huge plume of smoke rose from a main market. "Do not come out, a curfew has been imposed," police warned residents over loudspeakers.

An earlier report said that at least 37 people were killed and more than 150 were wounded when unknown gunmen attacked a procession of Muharram in Quetta.""

http://pakistantimes.net/2004/03/03/top.htm

BTW what about roiting in Lahore on 14th Feb, 2006 ?
    Was it also the work of MQM ?

""Eyewitnesses and police said the establishments ransacked and set on fire by groups of rioters included a number of local and foreign banks, four restaurants of two American fast food chains, a Norwegian cellphone company’s office, a five-star hotel, a cinema, a theatre, a number of petrol pumps and various shops.

Around 500 vehicles, mainly cars, were ransacked while at least 75 motorcycles and 10 cars were burnt by the protesters. All traffic signals on The Mall, Egerton Road, Hall Road, Laxmi Chowk, Bhati Chowk and some on Ferozpur Road and Multan Road were broken completely by the angry youths. Looting also took place when rioters broke into some offices and buildings, especially that of the cellphone company.""

http://www.dawn.com/2006/02/15/top1.htm

Please comment !

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 4:59 #
  2. expakistani

@Red-Scorpion
    any one blaming on MQM for what happened after Ashura in Karachi is just suffering from MQM phobia...
    Thanks for bringng old news here,, which shows that all over pakistan opportunist see such situation for " loot maar".

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 5:52 #
  3. Red-Scorpion

@expakistani

Ashura procession in Karachi consists of hundreds of thousands of people and I don't think it was possible to control them after bomb blast without resorting to direct firing which would have worsened the situation and would have resulted in further deaths.
    What would have happened if news of police firing reached to other cities like Quetta, Lahore, Hyderabad and Peshawar where Ashura processions were in progress ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:08 #
  4. toamin

No one is blaming MQM, people are questioning the most powerful and most active party of the city on this organized and planned crime.

If a party so powerful and active that knows & controls all areas under them then why can't they identify or point out the culprits?

Why MQM leaders started to caution Pushtoons of Khi?

Why they can't probe the incident and bring the culprits to justice?

Now people can't even question the thekaydaars of the city?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:10 #
  5. zia m

It is really sad! How we start the blame game before any investigation is done.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:13 #
  6. netengr

1-Religious Fanatics Deobandi Talibans were involved killing Shias

2-Religious exteamist Shia Azadar were involved in riots after the blast

3- Political Mullas ,Jamaati Journalist and Talibani Supporters in Print Media ,TV and on internet forums have become active and enjoying the situation and trying to divert this to secular groups and become the defense of religious extremists

these Taliban supporters tried their best after every blast to change the views ,If this is in FATA answer is Muzakrat ,IF this is in NWFP answer is stop the operation ,IF this is in Punjab then YEs Talian and RAW is involved ,If this is in Karachi then Their immediate answer is MQM .

PPP,PML-N,MQM and ANP are major political groups and they are being targeted by these Jamaatis and Talibanis .But these secular parties own the responsibilities and also does some constructive work for people .but these so called religious political mulla always use terror tactics ,blame game ,protest ,conspiracy theories ,bombing . instead of solving the problems of people they always gives trouble to the people .and people do not vote them so they are now enjoying dirty tactics and using terrorism or supporting them .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:18 #
  7. riazhussainshah

MQM is behined the all game.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:19 #
  8. toamin

netgrr,

don't you find it surprising after rehman malik and some shadowy talibani figure claiming it to be suicide attack, it was a remote controlled explosive?

what is your recent finding on this incident?

or you are still busy in spreading religious hatred?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:20 #
  9. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

"""No one is blaming MQM"""

>>>>

LOLzzzz, really :)))
    What about your following comments

""
    Salam
    MQM is already banned in Canada, can we use that established case to ban in UK too? At least altaf kalia would get kicked out from his safe haven.

Posted 1 hour ago on 04 Jan 2010 5:06 #""

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/pakistan-should-declare-mqm-a-terrorist-organization#post-106935

=======================================================

""people are questioning the most powerful and most active party of the city on this organized and planned crime.""

I understand by 'people' you mean JI and PTI :)))

""organized and planned crime""

How can you say burning of shops was organized and planned ???

=====================================================

""If a party so powerful and active that knows & controls all areas under them then why can't they identify or point out the culprits?"""

Zulfiqar Mirza and Rehman Malik are not members of MQM and it's basically their ministries' responsibility to investigate and then identify the real culprits !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:21 #
  10. toamin

netgrr,

don't you find it surprising after rehman malik and some shadowy talibani figure claiming it to be suicide attack, it was a remote controlled explosive?

what is your recent finding on this incident?

or you are still busy in spreading religious hatred?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:21 #
  11. Red-Scorpion

@riazhussainshah

""riazhussainshah
    MQM is behined the all game. ""

Really :)))
    So it was MQM guys who did rioting in Quetta and Lahore too :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:23 #
  12. toamin

Who has gained benefit after the rioting? Who is controlling that precious real estate now?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:26 #
  13. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

"""Who has gained benefit after the rioting?"""

JI and SSP !!!

Why JI ?
    Becoz now they have an isse to cash on !

Why SSP ?
    Becoz more than 50 Shias (for SSP they are Kafirs) were blown into pieces !!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:28 #
  14. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

"""Who is controlling that precious real estate now?"""

Dude, are you still sleeping ???
    Reconstruction work on all the markets has already been started !

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:29 #
  15. netengr

@salam

Even if you see one Talib is slaughtering a person from you own eye you would deny this ....this is called summum mukmun

--
    I am not spreading religious hatred I respect all the religious believes even though I am not agree with some one .but these religious fanatics using religion for all the evil objectives .

People say ..nono do not talk about deobandi ,shia ,sunni wahabi because this can become sectarianism and can start violence ,this is just happening because these religious fanatics always used violence when some one pointing out towards them .

thousand people are witnessed that "azadar extremist criminal " were involved in looting and burnings .I am not saying against shia or their rituals I am against their crimes just like I am against Taliban .

MQM ,PPP and government also know that there were shias but cannot say that in public becasue the next day the shia taliban would come on street and this could also divide the secular groups and society would be divided on secterian basis and that would be the success of Talibanis and Jamaati .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:30 #
  16. toamin

It is not good to paint everything as religious fanatics blindly as proven by investigation that it was a remote controlled explosion.

Now who could have done that?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:34 #
  17. expakistani

no gain....all loose bhai merey. There is no way bolton market can move from current location to any other part of karachi.... lot of voters for MQM works there, you may have heared the market own by Tablighi or Ahaley sunat muslims
    but 100s of guys from poor daily wages workers come from landhi korangi and Landhi area....solid MQM vote bank ...

why the hell MQM would disturb those people... and talking about prime real estate .... there are many other expensive place in karachi

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:35 #
  18. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

"""It is not good to paint everything as religious fanatics blindly as proven by investigation that it was a remote controlled explosion.

Now who could have done that? """

Dude, it's not MQM which is killing Shias for decades !
    SSP/Lashkar-e-Jhangvi and Taliban have been involved in killing Shias all over the country, especially in Quetta, Dera Ismail Khan, Kurram Agency and Hangu. What benefit could MQM have by killing Shias ?
    Wasn't it MQM in 80's which ended sectarian strife in Karachi ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:38 #
  19. netengr

Even it is remote contrled or a suicide this is Taliban or SSP .
    My friend from Bahawelpur told me the true story how his SSP friend planted the bomb in the bridge to kill a shia judge .
    Evil Terrorist are more clever now and there supporters in media and internet are more evil then them

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:39 #
  20. zia m

All the IEDs in Afghanistan and Iraq must be the work of MQM since they are done remotely.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:40 #
  21. toamin

netenrr

watch this program to understand the technical investigation on this case

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/01/03/dunya-today-3-january-2010/

analyst says that the case is now getting jeoperdised due to some political tensions. why don't they solve this case and tell people who did it?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 6:57 #
  22. netengr

There was a rocket fired by Isreal on Marriot hotel islamabad and Taliban was blamed for this the video was made in Hollywood showing a person is taking truck inside and did blast .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:02 #
  23. toamin

watch the program to learn if you are serious to learn on the case, or as it seems you are only interested in pushing the sectarian agenda of yours.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:03 #
  24. Red-Scorpion

M. Tahir was Jamiat's supporter in Karachi University from where he did Masters is Political Science !!!
    He also worked for Takbir (jamaati magazine) !

Tahir was confused that why fire engine went towards site of blast and for him it wasn't needed there, however he forgot that there were some vehicles which were on fire after the blast !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:08 #
  25. toamin

I didn't know Tahir's background but from the interview it appears that he didn't criticize MQM, he rather supported MQM by giving credit to City Nazim.

Tahir actually criticized Sindh Govt which is PPP, but only indirectly.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:18 #
  26. Red-Scorpion

""Tahir actually criticized Sindh Govt which is PPP, but only indirectly. ""

But you are hell bent to implicate MQM, why ???

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:28 #
  27. MQM as a party has a bad reputation of a terrorist party .
    it always takes a destructive route to register its power and importance .
    so if something goes wrong,speacially in karachi ,then first thing comes into mind ,is MQM .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:33 #
  28. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

You forgot that India and Israel are after Pakistan :))
    Why not blame them, why MQM only :)))

BTW MQM's been winning elections for two decades and still you (remember you are a moderator too) are terming it as a terrorist party !!!

"""so if something goes wrong,speacially in karachi ,then first thing comes into mind ,is MQM . """

BTW what about SSP/Lashkar-e-Jhangivi and Taliban who are open enemies of Shias ??
    Wasn't it Taliban who killed thousands of Shias in Afghanistan ?
    Who has been killing Shias in Pakistan since 80's ??
    MQM or SSP ???

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:37 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@zia m: I agree with you on the 'our people talk before an investigation has taken place'.

However, watch the program Dunya Today 03-Jan-2010 for proof on this recent Shia procession incident in Karachi.

Afghanistan should not become the topic, when we are talking about Karachi. Everyone should stick to the topic.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 7:49 #
  30. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Admin / Moderators: Please note the 'sectarian' agenda of 'netengr' as evidence from this as well as other thread's and their contents. Note his recent posts as direct evidence.

'netengr' has been and still is engaged in giving this incident a 'sectarian' colour. He is doing all this on 'purpose'. He has a very specific agenda, which is selfevident when we look at his posts.

We all know what happened in Shia procession in Karachi, through the program Dunya Today 03-Jan-2010. There is no doubt anymore, because investigations have taken place, evidence is present in shape of video footage.

I request you to note this evidence, and permanently ban! 'netengr' from this forum for his consistent as well as offensive usage of 'wrong information' on this forum.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 9:01 #
  31. zia m

However, watch the program Dunya Today 03-Jan-2010 for proof on this recent Shia procession incident in Karachi.

@hariskhan,
    I did watch the program it does not prove anything.I'm not a fan of any political party but you need solid proof before accusing anybody.
    Is MQM so stupid to let the cctv run while commiting such a heinous act?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 9:13 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@zia m: No criminal is eternally perfect in covering their tracks.

The investigation of journalists is still going on.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 9:43 #
  33. Red-Scorpion

""The investigation of journalists is still going on. ""

Since when journalists have taken charge from Intelligence Agencies to investigate such crimes ????

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 11:04 #
  34. Raza76

@Red-Scorpion

I agree with you on the point, that everything cannot be put on MQM. I think we need a fair investigation and due burden to be assigned.

If MQM is guilty, punish them. But this is unafir, there was Central Govt, Provincial Govt, and guilty is Local Govt which is least responsible for security of them all.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 11:09 #
  35. zingaro

Can any body tell me in whose constituency this MA Jinnah Road is? I mean who is the elected rep from that area MNA and MPA.... netengr, RS, expakistani ...please tell me....

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 13:42 #
  36. jaypk

i dont think it would be MQM ...firstly because in bolton market most of the population and owners are memon who are pro mqm and secondly if tht hype abt mqm is true that they are bhatta khor thn why would they axe up themselves....i think whoever participated in that loot maar they werent MQM members but the point to be noted here is that whdever happens in karachi cannot be out of mqms knowledge so i think MQMs leadrship in karachi might have the tip as to whd will happen but if all of this has been done on "oper say order" aya hay to nazim sahab ko pata bhee ho to bhee kuch nae kar saktay..!! we have seen the CCTV footage that whd our awam can do with a fire brigade ....they were all over it and riding it..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 13:45 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

- In Karachi, who is most likely to conduct 'planned' looting ?

- Why were the perpetrators of this incident not caught even after have been clearly identified through cctv footage, after this many days have passed ?

- Who's responsibility is it to catch the perpetrators, charge them, punish them for the crimes they committed ?

- Who's answerable for all this ?

- Who's running the city, the province ?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 16:37 #
  38. netengr

Deobandi Talibanon nay Blast kya
    Azadar banay Takhreeb kaar aur dukanon ko jalaya
    Jamatiyon nay mzay liyeh

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 16:45 #
  39. runaway

@haris

I think MK is addressing people like you.

Mustafa Kamal sets the record straight !!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 17:02 #
  40. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@runaway: Your sarcasm is unbecomming. Better luck next time.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 17:04 #
  41. runaway

Wa Aleykum As Salaam WarahmatulAllah Wa Barakatuhu Wa Aqaluhu

I think you took the wrong message from the video ;)

Point MK was making
    1. Police works under Sindh Govt ( Zulfikar Mirza - Interior Minister and Pakka Friend of Zardari)
    2. It was the 'strategy' of Police not to stop the rioters
    3. Fire brigades were damaged and Police failed to provide cover.
    5. MK has been working hard in the rebuilding efforts, so all this talk that this was done to capture the real estate is nonsense
    4. And lastly, why always conspiracy theories in Karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 17:20 #
  42. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

MQM practically runs Karachi. You can't tell me something that happened in Karachi was out of MQM's control. That would just not make any sense.

I'll wait for the investigation's report to come out. Which I have a feeling will never come out, since its Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 17:43 #
  43. netengr

MQM does not run Karachi ,They have some power but they are not the only power there .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 17:58 #
  44. runaway

@haris

I dont think you have been to Karachi

MQM does NOT run Karachi. This is the biggest misconception of people who are not from Karachi

One small example:
    Right off MA Jinah Road , there is a big bus station ( encroached land ) for inter city buses. This is huge nuisance for eveyone. MQM tried to shift all bus stations outside city limits but failed miserably because the transport/land mafia is much stronger

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 18:17 #
  45. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Watch the program Dunya Today 03-Jan-2010. The least that happens was, serious questions are raised;

- govt.'s credibility on many matters is dubious

- phone calls made by random people who claim to be Taliban has now been proven as straight-forward fraud

To top it all off, the program host and his guest established that something much more sinister is going on behind the curtain which has not been revealed yet. They clearly say, more! investigation is needed to uncover what is going on.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 20:12 #
  46. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

DAWN News: Ashura blast not a suicide attack, says Malik

Monday, 04 Jan, 2010
    ------------------------------------------------

DAWN News: Investigators question ‘suicide’ attack theory

By Imran Ayub
    Thursday, 31 Dec, 2009

DAWN News: Chemical used in ‘well-planned’ arson attacks

By Imran Ayub
    Wednesday, 30 Dec, 2009

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 20:59 #
  47. @netgrrr...
    your comments......

1-Religious Fanatics Deobandi Talibans were involved killing Shias

2-Religious exteamist Shia Azadar were involved in riots after the blast

3- Political Mullas ,Jamaati Journalist and Talibani Supporters in Print Media ,TV and on internet forums have become active and enjoying the situation and trying to divert this to secular groups and become the defense of religious extremists
    ...................... ................. ............. .............

All I can say is that u are known to be suffering from MQMPhilia just the way the others suffers from MQMphobia as your buddy expakistani claims...

Why don't you reply to my questions on the following thread, !!!
    http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/cctv-footage-of-arsonists-in-karachi-riots

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 21:57 #
  48. Just in case if you MQM lovers can't open the thread above:

I have actually some questions from all MQM supporters and any one who thinks that Talibaans were behind karachi attack...

1. why is that, in Peshawar more people got killed but none of the shops were looted or set on fire?
    2. Why is that 4 times the number of deaths in Peshawar bomb blasts (or any bomb blasts else where in pakistan) but no Strike/riots/shooting? Why this "Kaaram" only on Karachi?
    3. You all saw the footage of this blast.... The main Procession/ Jaloos passed that spot and it was the tail of that procession/jaloos so how come that suicidal bomber was so STUPID that he didn't blow himself when thousands were passing that spot and it would have been easy to mix up in that huge group and then blow himself, killing thousands rather then in 2 numbers?
    4. How come the people in this video are majority beardless, in western clothes, covering their faces (if i am a shia and i am angry, why would i remember to cover my face? I wouldn't care less if some one sees me)
    5. Most of the arsonist were not wearing BLACK clothes and I don't have to explain this to the CLEVER people that, how important this is for a SHIA to wear black during ASHOORA and specially from 8 to 10 Muharram.
    6. How come on that day when every single shop was CLOSED in karachi, we saw hundreds of protest banners already printed within few hours all over karachi? The people who planned and did this act were too SMART that they even PRINTED all the necessary material beforehand... wow!

Any reasonable answers????

Now let me disclose some latest information:

I have some very close friends and family members who works for security agencies (Army, Police, ISI) and according to inside information....

The Security agencies were well aware of this incident... After Zardari;s speech, Altaf instructed (after being pre-arranged with PPP/Zardari so that Army diverts its attention to Karachi rather then Zardari after severe rifts between Kayani and Zardari) his goons for this pre-mediated act of cowardness. Billions of rupees have been wiped from Karachi and the Memon community who has been a backbone in supporting MQM via donations (mainly forced donations) have been back-stabbed.
    According to a senior police official... " Yaar, hum kaya karain.... MQM waley karachi ko OWN kartey hain aur hum tou uss din ka intezaar kur rahey hain kay jis din koyee anti MQM govt wapis power may aye tou hum phir inn say aysa hissab lain gain kay phir koyee poorey pakistan may MQM ka naam nahee lay ga! These are the words of a very senior officer based in karachi when I tried to criticize him during my visit (few days ago)on the law n order situation.

Regardless of anything, PPP-MQM are the GOVT and they are responsible for this mess in karachi. After talking to all these people and watching video footage, I have no doubt that it was MQM behind this arsenal and resulting damage...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 21:59 #
  49. khanseena

Unfortunately the amount of sane and rational ppl on this website is few and far in between.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Jan 2010 22:23 #
  50. expakistani

how come no one is blaming our wonderful establishment / ISI and security agenices? were they sleeping .....

Posted 2 years ago on 05 Jan 2010 4:59 #