Is Pakistan on the brink of a Revolution?....

(56 posts)
  1. Another nice article worth sharing:

A Political Analysis
    Lately an idea that Pakistan is on the brink of a revolution been floated by some politicians.
    While politicians make statements as a habit, anything predicting revolution needs to be supported by a clear sense of history, a detailed study of the anatomy of a revolution and a deep study of history, done with fanatical and utmost devotion to the idea of reading history for history’s sake.

A revolution is not a dinner party as someone said. It is not a political rally but a grand and traumatic event of history, which occurs rarely, and when it does destroys the vast bulk of a country both morally and materially.
    It is worth examining how and why revolutions have succeeded:

1-The French Revolution, whose success had a great deal to do with the Paris mob. Note that many countries in Europe had far greater party than France. It was the series of disastrous wars of France, high political awareness and above all the ruthless and troublesome mob that made the French Revolution a success. In Pakistan, we have no Islamabad or Rawalpindi mob, anywhere near the Paris mob. That is why Pakistanis elite shifted the capital to Punjab in late 1950s. In Asia, we have a parallel in Iran in shape of the Bazaar mob identified by political analysts.

2-A major condition of revolution is that it takes place in a country’s political heartland. In this case, Pakistan's political heartland is the tract in between Lahore-Islamabad-Faisalabad-Sahiwal. The Punjabis politically have been traditionally placid and categorized as lotus-eaters in pre partition India. They are emotional at personal level but politically difficult to stir or manipulate. In 1977 I met a Pathan brigadier , who later became a general .He was disgusted that while 300 killings in Karachi by security forces had no affect on the army , a mere two killed in Anarkali severely affected the military with some three brigadiers resigning and many majors and colonels following suit

In the present case, the Punjabi heartland defined above is unaffected. Even the floods have affected only the Seraiki belt in Pakistan or the Sindhis and Baloch .There was a reason why the capital was shifted from Karachi to Islamabad in 1958.The fact remains that the political heartland of Pakistan is still the beneficiary of resources and the peculiar agro-industrial system of Pakistan .The planned procession from Lahore to Islamabad to restore the chief justice thus succeeded because it was a Punjabi affair in the political heartland .Nawaz Sharif although a Kashmiri did succeed in galvanizing the politically inert Punjabis . Even the Chief Justice Iftikhar although he had supporters Pakistan wide was restored in the final analysis because he belonged to Pakistan’s political heartland and had supporters there.

3-Defeat in war is one great cause of revolution. Revolutions took place in countries defeated in long bloody wars like Russia in 1917, Germany in 1918 (although this one failed) and Turkey in 1919-23.This happens because the military the principal coercive weapon of the elite loses its coercive value or mutinies and joins the revolutionaries. In Pakistan, this condition is still distant. The military is intact and retains its coercive value and respect albeit devalued in the masses in at least the majority Punjab and parts of NWFP, Sindh and Pashtun districts of Baluchistan.

4-Extreme repression as in Iran in shape of long monarchy and ruthless agencies like SAVAK. This is not the case in Pakistan either.

5-Long drawn civil war spread over two to three decades as happened in China in 1911-49.This too is still an initial stage in Pakistan although it is the closest parallel keeping in view the internal wars in Baluchistan and FATA/NWFP and many parts of Punjab and Sindh.

6-The most important pre -requisite of a revolution is a main stream political group that sees revolution as a political strategy or a select group of fanatics who sees revolution or a violent coup meant to carry out a ruthless revolution as a modus operandi. Pakistan’s mainstream political parties consist of landlords and industrialists and businessmen and do not fall in this category.MQM is a regional party and Tehreek i Insaaf lacks that fanatical zeal and organization. The closest parallel here are the Islamic extremists but their success also seems a decade or half a decade away.

6-A progressive revolution spearheaded by the military and particularly the younger or mid level element. Not impossible but at least five to ten years away and that too if the army goes through a violent conventional or a protracted civil war.

Seen in this context the Pakistani revolution seems a far cry.

More likely in case of Pakistan would be anarchy and a slow slide into Balkanization, if Pakistan continues its non-state proxy wars sponsored by state elements in its neighboring countries.

Pakistan’s salvation lies in better organization and reform rather than a revolution. A revolution in all probability will break Pakistan into pieces because it is a multi ethnic country.

In the end ethnicity matters. The Muslims of Delhi and Punjab were saved by English East India Company from Afghans and Marathas in 1803 and 1849.The Bengali Muslims from Pakistan Army by the Indian Army in 1971. It would be no surprise if the Indian Army carries out another rescue mission in the future, if the Pakistani state continues to be stupid and Machiavellian in dealing with Baluchistan and FATA.

As one with a military background, I can state that the Pakistani military regards the MQM and Altaf as an Indian proxy, although both the impressions I think are fallacious. However, so was Mujib regarded in 1971, although he wanted Bengali rights usurped by West Pakistanis from 1947 until 1988?

As they say, only good things happen with the bad and bad things happen with the good.

Thus, revolution in Pakistan is a utopian and unrealistic hope.
    http://www.mafiaways.com/blog/pakistan-political-analysis-287.html

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 16:09 #
  2. "Seen in this context the Pakistani revolution seems a far cry.

More likely in case of Pakistan would be anarchy and a slow slide into Balkanization, if Pakistan continues its non-state proxy wars sponsored by state elements in its neighboring countries."
    Agreed (and I have stated the same many a times...)

"if the Pakistani state continues to be stupid and Machiavellian in dealing with Baluchistan and FATA"

Have NO doubts about that one too. Pakistani state WILL continue to be stupid and Machiavellian in dealing with Baluchistan and FATA" and will add more areas (NWA, Southern Punjab, e.g.) to act stupid in. So where are we headed????

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 16:18 #
  3. An overthrow of the army top brass from among the lower ranks following court martial. A rebellion we may say but without touching or influencing current political setup allowing civilians handle their own affairs. Untill and unless corrupt army generals are there, civilian leadership will not mend their ways and always look upto them.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:02 #
  4. shriq

More of a ANTI-ARMY touch in the article than the topic. A typical MQM thought.

One thing that I fully agree (anyhow) with the writer is that Punjab is (painfully) inert and sluggish to react to the prevailing condition in the country. The poverty and unemployment are all times high. The businesses are not doing well! It is becoming difficult to make both ends meet. And Punjab is sleeping. Something equal to a miracle can only awake this sleeping giant up and then that would be the day when the looters, exploiters, (be it crook army generals, politicians, bureaucrats, media giants, their cronies & boot lickers, ) would find no place to hide (insha'Allah).

But what would that miracle be?????

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:04 #
  5. Raavi....

Punjab? You must be kidding yourself.... Punjab has seen Khyber-Pukhtoonkwa / FATA bleed to death and now witnessing the same in Baluchistan and Southern Punjab..

I remember criticizing Punjab for sleeping (When I say Punjab... basically I meant the Baighairat Punjab Leaders) when these drone attacks started and the army operation in K-P /FATA was in full swing... http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/demise-of-pukhtoon-nation
    But later I gave up any hope from them or from the Pushtuns Leader per sae...

Today when I see Maulana Fazal ur Rehman, I feel physically SICK. Allah is my witness that If I had the capability and resources or I was the head of the state of Pakistan, I would hang this B A S T A R D myself along with Zardari, ALtaf, Nawaz,Asfandyaar and co. But I am more angry with the Pashtun Leaders (There are not many here anyway) or the so called religious leaders like Maulana Diesel as they get most of their support and Halwa from K-P and FATA.

The amazing thing is that whatever happens, these corrupt politicians will be elected again by our so called clever Awam. We see these talk shows and I am surprised that still there are people who supports PPP,MQM,ANP, PMLN, PMLQ, JUP etc..... What else do you want? Sell pakistan completely to India or USA????

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:34 #
  6. syedhussain

choro yar khan sahib. apna khoon mat jalao. Awaam to bughat hi rahi hai apna kia hoa. Awaam hi leaders ko kandhon par bithate hain or phir baad main gaalian nikalte hain.
    Agar koi army wala awam ke votes ke baghair power main ajaye to wo bhi kion ke corrupt system ka hissa hai , woh khud nahi chahte ke corruption khatam ho nahi to pehle waar army establishment par hi pare ga.

main to kehta hon koi sarphira army wala aye or sab se pehle apne institute se corruption khatam kare, phir civil bureaucracy, phir politician etc. Imran khan ya jamat bhi ajaye power main to bhi kuch nahi karsakti jab tak army na chahe.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:52 #
  7. Truthlover

Revolution in stone dead nation is just a wishful thinking!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:57 #
  8. @Syedhussain...

"main to kehta hon koi sarphira army wala aye or sab se pehle apne institute se corruption khatam kare, phir civil bureaucracy, phir politician etc. Imran khan ya jamat bhi ajaye power main to bhi kuch nahi karsakti jab tak army na chahe"

True! Couldn't agree more...

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 17:59 #
  9. Truthlover

syedhussain,
    "main to kehta hon koi sarphira army wala aye or sab se pehle apne institute se corruption khatam kare, phir civil bureaucracy, phir politician etc. Imran khan ya jamat bhi ajaye power main to bhi kuch nahi karsakti jab tak army na chahe."
    Don't get cheated, all soldiers in Pak army are slaves of the system and trained to drop their pants when ordered to do so. BTW we have had very good experience of these Ayub, Zia, Yahya, Musharaf and other generals. Pakistan is certainly a nation of idiots if they still have any illusions about the Army!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 18:09 #
  10. ^all soldiers in Pak army are slaves of the system and trained to drop their pants when ordered to do so.

Really? Kindly go to the front gate of any army unit and just repeat what you repeat here. Make sure they hear you loud and clear!Dont forget taking some political good for nothings along.

Stop generalizing. We are talking about an upraisal from among the lower ranks to topple current army top brass that has been corrupted through their liason within and abroad.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 19:48 #
  11. Truthlover

@ S.E. Mirza

My statement is nothing but a strong worded expression about an institution that has brought nothing but disgrace and disaster to my country. Don’t you think I have right to do so?
    What do you mean by asking me to go and repeat the words before guys who are trained to commit hideous crimes and atrocities? Believe me I’ll if I have to, regardless of the consequences. I trust in God and fear none but Him and for that reason ask you to stop trying intimidating me by such possible threats. I’m aware that freedom of speech is just a myth and that the world belongs to Evil and there is little we can do about it.
    Your advice to stop generalization is in its place but do you really believe that the low ranking officers can bring about any change by revolting against their corrupt generals? You need to study a bit about this professional army that still trains and functions as an imperial force.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 20:26 #
  12. @Truthlover
    My interaction with armed forces in Pakistan and abroad both spans a period of 40 years to be exact. When Bhutto promoted himself as a civilian chief marshal law administrator I settled for living abroad away from corruption that had started to take hold among army circles during those times. Teaching stuff to select rank and not file is what I do. Perhaps somewhere during this time I may have missed out 'to study a bit' further but here I am willing to act according to your advise.

Always eager to learn as this has been a favorite my whole life, kindly educate me how generalizations could be justified?

My experience has shown me that most of the cadets induced into army ranks are from well to do families, having feudal/industrial/political background or else. Regardless of rapid promotions/decorations they fared worse than cowards. Many junior officers lost their lives on battlefield or were taken prisoners due to the held back easygoing lifestyle of high-ranking generals who know nothing other than gymkhanas, clubs, alcohol, women and now bribes.

This scum should be removed first. Only an uprising from among junior ranks will make this happen. In addition, remember not all are corrupt or cowards. A few bad apples as top knobs had been/some still are instrumental in bringing humiliation and shame upon us.

Separation of East Pakistan is one such example.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Dec 2010 21:49 #
  13. Truthlover

@S.E. Mirza,
    Your forty years of interaction with Pak army is indeed an incredible long time experience that must have enriched you and given you deep insight. I had no intention of any disregard to your knowledge about the subject when I suggested you to study the matter in depth. Sometimes we do miss tiny details despite our command of the subject.
    What I meant with my expression was nothing else than the truth that our soldiers are trained to obey the orders of their superiors and don’t question the rationality or validity of these orders. They follow and implement the commands of their superiors in ranks and hierarchy to its literal meaning. Even though most of these soldiers remain intelligent and thinking individuals, they learn quickly to discern between personal preferences and given orders and therefore develop robot like behaviors in given situations. I am certain you would agree to this fact. I do confess though that there remain individuals, who refuse to curb their natures completely. These conscious beings are left with no choice but to either abandon their carriers or to risk penalties of different kinds, court martial being the most severe one.
    Now you tell me where do I err, where do I exaggerate? You may still believe it to be a generalization of the corps containing more than half a million beings but tell me have we any way to judge and evaluate each individual separately?
    I agree with you hundred percent that our army is not just a pack of corrupt and cowards but consist of even brave and honest soldiers, who are there for noble reasons. I have many friends, who have served and are still serving in the army; some have even given their lives to safeguard the motherland, so I can’t be stupid to believe that all soldiers are of the same kind. It’s just a matter of speech that one criticizes the armed forces as an institution. What really hurts is the fact that our entire elite is corrupt unto bone marrow, army, judiciary, bureaucracy, politicians and other important organs of the society are despicable. They are ever ready to sell their fellow countrymen for the sake of gaining power and other material gains. A rich country is turned into dire poverty where majority of people can’t even sustain themselves and are forced to become a bagger nation. I hope you understand my frustration as it must be the same for all thinking cells of this unfortunate nation, to whom God gave everything and yet they starve both literally and allegorically.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 9:32 #
  14. @Truthlover
    Bravo! I salute you for you indepth observation that is both logical as well as a factual account about our army.
    We both are frustrated at this very moment but things are changing and will change for the good of our county and all our countrymen InshaAllah.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 10:19 #
  15. Truthlover

@S.E.Mirza,
    Thanks for your kind words.
    I'm convinced too that things shall ultimately change, I do trust in Almighty and his judgements.
    By the grace of God Pakistan will have a bright future,InshaAllah!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 11:43 #
  16. Anonymous

well, since theres light at the end of every tunnel, you maybe right.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 13:21 #
  17. Of course there's light at the end of our tunnel. Very much so. But that's not what I wish to write about here. Just a small comment about the army and its rank and file. They can refuse to cooperate with their higher ups on occasion. They did so, for instance, in Lahore under Butto when they refused to shoot at their Pakistani brothers. I'd say, never underestimate the human being and his principles, even if he is what we like to think of as a military robot. Many surprises up the sleeves of our soldiers, too. Just wait and see.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 14:04 #
  18. sasherwani

To answer the discussion question in a brief and realistic manner ill just say "No"!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 14:15 #
  19. Truthlover

MG,
    I'm aware of that incident but do you know the consequences of such refusals. How many are ready to sacrifice their carriers and even lives for their conscience? Beside that there is difference between refusing to kill your brethern and trying to revolt against a corrupt high command.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 14:29 #
  20. shriq

May be they would have said "enough is enough"!!

Nice discussion above about army though the topic is about revolution.

Yar kisi tarah se barai bhai jan ko jagao. If this sleeping giant moves some hope can be there.
    Khan_Sahib, may be Punjab would wake up some day, don't lose hope!!

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 15:04 #
  21. Revolution, yes, no. Categorical, tentative. Can't we just make it a "maybe". It's perhaps our safest bet. Not one of us knows at the time of writing what awaits us tomorrow. Who might wake up, who might not. What I think I do know for certain is an eternal more of the same is not what Fate holds in store for Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 18:14 #
  22. @MG
    "Of course there's light at the end of our tunnel."
    That's the good news. The bad news?
    It's the headlight of a freight train headed this way... :-O

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 18:46 #
  23. scandinavian

Don't be a spoilsport

I know the situation is not only bad,,,but very bad. Still I believe the fight must go on for the right cause. In fact I see that you are also one of those who is fighting against (very) heavy odds....Keep it up:)

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Dec 2010 21:33 #
  24. shafiq12

Pakistan on the brink of a Destruction.

wait wait

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 9:02 #
  25. nota, Scandinavian said what I think better than I'd have done. If it's a freight train, we'll dodge it somehow. Go up the walls or something. If it does get us eventually, well, we'll go the way of all flesh. One way or the other, the end will come. Of course, the freight could also brake and back out seeing us coming. Give us right of way so to speak.

Whatever, nota, some change is in the air, that's for sure. Even if it's only SS's ultra cheerful: Brink of Destruction. A 180 million condemned to die and no one even bats an eyelid? How very singular!

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 9:33 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

no, a revolution is not possible as such.
    but a change definitely is. it could be a 'soft' gradual revolution, as this government is changed by midterm elections, the leaders will realize that only good works can allow them to stay in power. the awaam will make their point loud and clear. who is the servant, who is the boss, will be made clear. inshallah, only through real pressure from spread of awareness.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 10:33 #
  27. jaypk

revolution.....is a chain of action/s......if in past it happens in the same way..incidentally or unincedentally..why the hek deos the writer has to make it a thumb rule.?? i dnt understand...!! either with all due respect the writer is suffering from severe deficiency of optimism or he thinks tht everything which is happening in the world has to be according to a set pattern..!

fr me as i have said repeatedly on this forunm....liberalization and freedom of media COULD BE the triggering point of a revolution..anything which starts tobring a change is a revolution...it doesnt have to be BLOODY..it deosnt have to be a change in government..opression could continue for ages..fr decades ..hundreds of years....i mean...ppl are more knowledged now..ppl have more choices now...ppl can see the faces of everyone now..knowledge is in hands now..ppl are more aware now..everyone..bureaucrats, media personnel, army officials, ministers,..everyone atleast gives a second thought tht he she might be exposed.....infact...fr me...personally..it is a revolution...does a revolution has to be ended in prosperity all the time?? a happy ending all the time??? a revolution could be a struggle...a revolution could go on fr ages...and doesnt conclude....a revolution can go on fr decades without being noticed and then riped....thr is no thumb rule for the term or phenomena..REVOLUTION....!! i think it was malcolm X or i may be wrong who said tht media is the most strongest entity in the world..as it control the minds of the masses...!! freedom of speech is getting more common in a country where ten years back talking about religion could hang you to death..whd is this...i call this a change...some may call it revolution..!

so fr me...thrs no weight in this comaprison...besides all the writer has compared was past...and doesnt neccassarily have to be matched in future...cz if thts the case.....thn my question is...if someone wakes up frm our nation..or any xyz nation..and start copying all the basic pillars of starting the "so called revolution" or start to pave the way so tht all those circumstances happens again.............is thr a guarantee tht he/she will revolt the nation???...i guess no..!

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 12:24 #
  28. shafiq12

fr me as i have said repeatedly on this forunm....liberalization and freedom of media COULD BE the triggering point of a revolution.

What do mean liberalization
    i.e

Liberal States

1. Homosexuality
    2. Throwing God out of lives
    3. Abusing Prophets
    4. Freedom in Sex

Those societies who are liberal are going to destruction.

If u want to make this world heaven u have to follow Islam and established Deen of Allah.

ديار مغرب کے رہنے والو! خدا کي بستي دکاں نہيں ہے
    کھرا جسے تم سمجھ رہے ہو ، وہ اب زر کم عيار ہو گا
    تمھاري تہذيب اپنے خنجر سے آپ ہي خود کشي کرے گي
    جوشاخ نازک پہ آشيانہ بنے گا ، ناپائدار ہو گا
    سفينہ برگ گل بنا لے گا قافلہ مور ناتواں کا
    ہزار موجوں کي ہو کشاکش مگر يہ دريا سے پار ہو گا

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 13:18 #
  29. jaypk

@SS...waoo..you are too much into sex my frnd....get outta this mentality..and think clear..read the whole context...and keep your THIRAK to yourself and come with an argument if you can..!..BTW..i have nevr said a liberal STATE..!are you arrite yeah??

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 13:22 #
  30. shafiq12

jaypk

Alright explain liberzation in ur terms, U suddenly change the fact. What do u mean liberalization.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 13:26 #
  31. jaypk

o meray bhai...liberlaization of media kaha thaa...yaar parh to lo meay baradar e mohtram......context to parho...i meant..unbiased media with no prejudice and a media which is more mature more informative more critique........liebralization ka aik he matlab nikaaltay ho tum jaisay log...and tht is...ohhhhooo....western culture....maghrib k andhee taqleed..ab kia hoga.....shabaab e milli say bahar niklo meray bhai....sitaaron say aagay jahan or bhee hain.....parks main dates ki pictures kab tak khainch khainch kar ummat akhbar main daytay raho gay meray bhai...!!

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 13:34 #
  32. nsdap

Is Pakistan on the brink of a Revolution? NO

Is Pakistan on the brink of BALKANIZATION? YES

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 14:52 #
  33. Let's sum up, shall we: Revolution yes, Revolution no. Revolution already taking place. Soft Rev, Bloody Rev. Change: Hard Change, Soft Change. Brinks: Revolution, Destruction, Balkanization.

And on and on and on.

I see a brilliant, multitasked future ahead of us. I suppose what I most favour myself is the "Revolution is already ongoing" theory proned above. It removes the element of some undated future time from our thinking (vagueness here makes one intellectually lazy)and allows us to incorporate all the other elements cited.

Posted 1 year ago on 19 Dec 2010 16:55 #
  34. A revolution would be to change our system from the very grass root level; changing an election system that promotes/favors family politics should be a top priority.
    Current political parties think and treat us the public as their slaves, holding us hostage by awarding party tickets to any tom **** or harry who promises to pursue their agendas of amassing public funds. This way deep core criminals are provided a helping hand while our just demands are disregarded.
    We should join shoulders and think of a solution as how to disregard all these political parties that have failed us time and again. We should start from our own localities selecting/electing a local body consisting of members with a good reputation that are more interested to do social work for their communities than support their own clans, tribes, sects etc.

Posted 1 year ago on 21 Dec 2010 15:48 #
  35. Latest.
    just been relayed through Pakistani Electronic Media was a telephonic address by Altaf Hussain. In his address he hinted at a possible revolution in Pakistan on the lines of French revolution.

He sought permission from the crowd claiming that both Urdu and Sindhi speaking awam has assembled in this session. He gave a green signal to his Rabita Committee to do what ever they think should be done but act soon because public is facing extreme hardships.

Altaf Hussain assured that from now onwards waderas will not be in the parliament but poor farm workers will. Is this the Sind Card being played against the Sindhi Nationalist Parties who are more active now.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Dec 2010 12:28 #
  36. Truthlover

Pakistan, the eternal child of sorrow can't take care of it's enemies on its own. Pakistanis lack the guts to revolt and therefore this revolution shall not get birth. Revolution in Pakistan shall come through the direct divine intervention.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 Dec 2010 13:21 #
  37. shriq

"The economic situation is a mess with basic necessities of life getting ever distant for ordinary people. And the less said of the security situation the better. The only Muslim nuclear power is treated by its so-called friends and allies like their colony, killing innocent civilians at will. The question is, how long can this go on? Not for long, if Pakistan's leaders do not act — and fast. The country is passing through a critical phase in its history and complaisance could have unimaginable consequences."

http://arabnews.com/opinion/editorial/article225392.ece

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Dec 2010 17:01 #
  38. scandinavian

@SEM

Yes, it looks like the usual Sindh/Urdu card and as always mere rhetorics to gain some ground somewhere else.

But most of all I think this is a game between many parties (PML-N, PPP, JUI-F and MQM) to bring down PPP "in time" since none of the parties are interested in staying too long in the power corridors. Then they will loose the usual excuse about "nobody is letting us work to our full quota".

Posted 1 year ago on 29 Dec 2010 18:58 #
  39. Again I return to the idea that the revolution in Pakistan is ongoing. How about this for an idea. The people of FATA-KP will arise like one man and sweep down on the rest of the country in protest. And as they go along, they will gather all the disinherited into their fold.

Do not take MQM threats too lightly either. They have behaved like headless chickens often enough in the past. No use denying that. But perhaps this time they may remember their original roots. And we may go quietly towards the second stage in our development: from Iqbal's Pakistan to the Pakistan of our other great poet, Faiz Ahmed Faiz.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Dec 2010 8:31 #
  40. Truthlover

MG,
    Why people from Fata/KP, have they proven themselves wiser, braver or even more demanding than other citizens of Pakistan?
    If they are politically that conscious then why did they vote for ANP and Fazlu's party?
    Have you forgotten the way the politicians from that part behaved during Zardari's presidential election and how they give their loyalities to the government that allows Drone attacks on their own brothers and fellow citizens?

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Dec 2010 11:07 #
  41. TL, put all the blame on the masses, illiterate, neither wise, brave nor demanding. Will the middle classes never learn to look on the masses with the respect they deserve.

Let me change it round, the people of the lowlands will rise to the highlands and say: Ok, now, go ahead and shoot us all down with your drones. Let's see you do it. Is that better?

As for the marvellous electoral system, you forget vote rigging, don't you? If we have the non-governance we do today, I blame it not on the masses but the people just above them.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Dec 2010 13:06 #
  42. Truthlover

MG,
    Sorry to confess that the grey masses are always unthinking and easy to manipulate but nevertheless they get their share of human respect at least from me. When I speak about people of the country I mean those thinking cells that are supposed to understand and help their less educated brothers.
    Lowland, Uppland or midland, it's all the same. The decadence is universal in our beloved country. We need some visionary leader, who has the guts to take the bull from horns and can awaken this slumbering nation.
    Electral system is imperfect but where is the will to change it? The democracy is just a fraud where around ten percent of the electoral vote dominates the country, and even our parliament doesn't care about the majority of its members and only those present at any given time suffice.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Dec 2010 13:46 #
  43. Fine, TL, if it's true what you said about the respect you felt for the masses, so much the better. In your second post, you've written all the stuff we've all been writing for years now and getting nowhere with it: decadence, visionary leader, fraud, etc. Repetition as nauseum gets us nowhere at all.

Let's get up and do something instead. Let's go out into the countryside and talk to the people. One of the best ways of doing that would be to go out and help people who are our flood victims and still stand in dire need of assistance. With them one can really talk. Help them build up their homes. They really don't ask for much. You'd be surprised how intelligent they are and how much they know about things. Let's all do that, each in his or her own way. Then we'll see how the country changes.

Posted 1 year ago on 30 Dec 2010 14:08 #
  44. Soon poor and oppressed people of Pakistan will rise against wealthty looteray/jageerdar of this country. Corrupt politicians will be their first target follwed by corrupt Govt officials. I want to live alive to see this day of public Inqilab.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 18:52 #
  45. You and me both. A very old dream of mine, the revolution in Pakistan. No other way to make the rich understand all the harm they've done their countrymen. All the suffering they've inflicted on innocents.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 19:46 #
  46. jaypk

as i said earlier...in another post...we need a robin hood...or a phoolan devi...if nt a political revolution...thn to h*** with it..may be someone from the Pkpolitics would be one...who knows.!

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 20:32 #
  47. scandinavian

First of all the oppressors need to have serious warnings about what the ordinary people of Pakistan thinks. The people need to signal that enough is enough. Let's start the campaign by civil disobedience...let the first step be not to pay the electricity and gas bills. If that doesn't cure the the disease then let it be the hard way.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 20:50 #
  48. Excellent suggestion, Scandinavian, excellent suggestion.

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 21:10 #
  49. jaypk

@ scandinavian...i hope you have a generator...!!..

i appreciate the idea by all means...we started the same with sugar...even a channel tried to help us....but you know where we are..!

Posted 1 year ago on 01 Jan 2011 23:28 #
  50. khanseena1

Majority already dont pay the electric bills....nothing new here.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Jan 2011 1:40 #