Islamic Republic of Pakistan and Fashion week

(108 posts)
  1. smali

Recently a Fashion show was held as part of the fashion week sponsored by STYLE-360 channel ( HUM group TV channel)
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/entertainment/2009/11/091106_pak_fashion_as.shtml
    an activity which is fundamentally against the idealogy and purpose of Islamic Republic of Pakistan- either we need to change the name of country or raise voice against this silence of hypocrisy from Govts- Some one should ask "Roshan khayals" also that for heaven sake Please differentiate between fashion and vulgarity

Fashion is welcome - YES but there is a difference between fashion and vulgarity

As PEMRA has the mandate for improving the standards of information, education and entertainment in ISLAMIC Republic of Pakistan , I was wondering how standards of education , entertainment or information are improving by allowing channels like STYLE-360 and Fashion TV Pakistan to operate ? How in the world can one allow such channels to go ON AIR in a country made on the name of Islam ?

we should be lodging a complain to PEMRA to stop these and similar channels to save our social fabrics. If Chairman and board of PEMRA cannot do so due to influence or pressure from corrupt "HIGH UPS" probably then they should resign on moral grounds , in the end PEMRA has authority and responsibility to for steering TV channels.

Please drop your complain to atleast PEMRA - Email addresses of chairman and other offcice holders are as under

http://pemra.gov.pk/contact.html#1

Please play your role in raising voice effectively against such hypocrate Govts and media segments who mean to make money only, no matter how it comes-
    Hope some politicians will raise voice against it also - I Hope we as nation have not outsourced this responsibilty to parties like JUI, JI, MMA's only-it is a collective responsibility of every political party ( and of nation) in the end

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 14:00 #
  2. msohail83

Is kisam ke malboosat kon pehanta hai pakistan mein? maybe DHA, Model towns, clifton folks???

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 14:06 #
  3. amin1924

This is "enlightened moderation" of Busharraf.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 14:26 #
  4. Nop...for your kind info ...i work at a office in Clifton ,
    and many girls from this locality works here.
    nobody wears that kinda dress ever.
    these outfits are just for models to wear just for that kinda catwalk ,to make an impression that we r modern to satisfy our complex plus to amuse our elites with that kinda dressing in cat walk .

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 14:32 #
  5. amin1924

Let alone Pakistan, no where in the world women wear these cartoon type costumes in public.

Purpose behind such activities is to promote enlightened moderation and show that govt is committed to inject foreign trash inside the veins of pure people of pure-land.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 14:46 #
  6. Adonis

Who wears such clothes?

Ghareeb log, who cannot afford whole body covering cloth !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 15:06 #
  7. smali

if u cannot play videos online due to bandwidth issues

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2009/11/091105_pakistan_fashion.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 15:08 #
  8. Unique

Smali
    Social Fabric of a society depends on its Moral Fabric. Unfortunately, Pakistan as a society has become morally corrupt. It is a society where Officials, ministers or heads of organisation will not resign from there position if they have failed to discharge their responsibility.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 15:37 #
  9. amin1924

society isn't morally corrupt yet, thieves coming through back door deals are morally/intellectually corrupt and that is their qualification.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 15:41 #
  10. And what do you think about this web site?
    http://www.misspakistanworld.com/
    website launched by american citizen Sonia Ahmad, Very close friend of Hussain Haqqani and Musharaf. as you can see her pic with Musharaf.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 16:18 #
  11. amin1924

nothing much... just a $10 website.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 16:31 #
  12. Anonymous

How do you know she is a close friend of Hussani Haqqani, the ambassador?
    just because she has a picture with him?

establishment ne tum logoo kay dimagh pay qabza kiaa hoaa hai. tum log establishment kee aankh se dekhtay hoo aur establishment kee aankh se suntay hoo.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 16:33 #
  13. amin1924

Establishment!

When you had the upper hand, you didn't serve the people. Your MNAs had no ground to defend you but still they loyally defended you.

Had you guys served the nation even a little, today that establishment would have no excuse.

Never admit your mistakes, but break the mirror.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 16:46 #
  14. @ 'How do you know she is a close friend of Hussani Haqqani, the ambassador?'

Do you want to say that a group of easy girls are representing pakistan in US pageants shows with out Pakistani consulate cooperation.
    be realistic!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:06 #
  15. Anonymous

Such shows take place at every other country and you will probably find Pakistani representation in most of them but that DOES NOT mean they are officially represented by government of Pakistan!!!

These are private shows with private participants whoever participates, participates in personal capacity.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:09 #
  16. Anonymous

Neither does it mean Haqqani run a Pakistani idol in Washington emabassy where he "checks out" and "picks" potential candidates.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:11 #
  17. And what if a Govt female official represnt Pakistan in pageants beauty show?
    http://www.prlog.org/10102158-natasha-paracha-miss-pakistan-world-2008-to-speak-at-the-nrp-summit.html

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:28 #
  18. Anonymous

in personal capacity!!!!!
    beauty peagent officials decide who to include or not.

Hussain Haqqani does not run beauty pegeants.

KL-bil kay badlay mein ab hur burai oss kay khaatay mein daal daynaa.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:35 #
  19. smali

I think if one of the most popular site in the sphere like PKpolitics can highlight this issue as TOP story on their front page it will have an impact- lets bring this issue on the floor of assembly/main stream media (TV channels) and let these parlimantarians answer this who are custodian of 73 constitution (where no law will be made against Quran n sunnah) - let PPP, PML(N) , PTI , MQM and all other political parties give their take on this - why to leave these issue to Mullah only
    Can politicians lock themselves into popular financial corruption debates ONLY of each other for better point scoring ?
    where in the world should Pakistanis go and cry then ?
    I will urge PKpolitics to bring this on the front page in more presentable way - it will be great service to nation

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 17:40 #
  20. beauty porlours and fashion modelling, cat walks etc. is modern way of prostitution.

look at the faces engaged in this business and you will find all call girls in one rouf.

May be only 1% not involved on that bad habits but does any nobel back ground family allow their daughters to do cat walks, modelling etc.??

No. these all are cheap girls.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 19:55 #
  21. smali

an alternative vesrion
    http://tv.muxlim.com/video/LGaUX0es3Jp/Islamic-Clothing-Islamic-Fashion/

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 19:55 #
  22. quaidkamazaar

guys, whats wrong with a fashion week?

if you dont wanna go, then dont go!!! simple.
    if you dont want to watch, then dont watch!
    if you dont want your children siblings to watch, then block the channel.

let the people who want to have fashion week have it...they are not forcing you to come.

live and let live until it really bothers you, right now it isnt.

this nation would run so smoothly if we use this moderate viewpoint.

no one is forcing you to observe with magnification a chic in the telenor add or big billboard on a road. the choice is yours.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 22:18 #
  23. SufiSoul

@beenai comments worth noting abt women relating subjects...

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 22:27 #
  24. God is Beautiful and Loves Beauty.

I feel sorry about the psychology of those who are criticizing a productive attempt to enhance a civilized image of Pakistan.
    Such Fashion Shows helps to negate the propaganda if Pakistanis are ugly creatures living in the caves.

Such Fashion shows and Exhibitions are a scientific and indirect technique to popularize Pakistan's dresses and products in the World Market to attract more customers.

India has already captured the markets in Europe and America through such Fashion Shows.

Opposing such Fashion Shows in Pakistan could help India and other Asian countries to Monopolize the Dress Markets throughout the World.

Marketing has become a science in modern Competitive business trends.

Please don't try to make the Image of Islamic Way of Life, as horrible and ugly with such childish and immature expressions.

It is not wise to declare every action, every policy, every
    invention, every discovery and every thing of beauty as Anti Islamic, because it doesn't fits a certain mindset.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Nov 2009 23:02 #
  25. smali

we are NOT by any chance crisizing concept of Fashion shows at all rather we are welcoming it - this discussion is more about they way it has been done here

- Fashion shows can do a lot good to our country by promoting our textile industry but at least dress code should reflect our religious values and culture-
    Creativity doesn’t demands vulgarity or exposing -
    we can design dresses with better embroidery and other techniques on "FULL CLOTHES" also -
    I do not understand why Roshan Khayals are always obsessed n interested in exposing female models only and insist to term that as FASHION ? This is rather disgrace to word fashion and shows LACK of creativity in designers approach

when we live in a society the enviroment of society directly and indirectly effects WHOLE NATION - so does style 360 and fashion TV also - this is why socities formulate laws of DO and Dont's in accordance to their values, culture or religion - one such statment is in our constitution also ( which claims to derive legislation from Quran n Sunnah) something what needs to be practised in true spirit to balance our values- that is a whole request here otherwise we better change NAME of country from "Islamic" democratic Pakistan to something else, if we cannot respect that name then we should NOT humilate it also

for some Iqbal said more than a half a century ago

سن اے تہذیب حاضر کے غلام
    غلامی سے بدتر ہے بی یقینی
    -اقبال

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 0:13 #
  26. @BENNAI

100% agree with u

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 0:26 #
  27. zia m

If the intention is to improve the image.Why don't they focus on science and technology. I don't see any channels on History,Nature and Cosmos.We have a rich culture,we don't need to look to the west for cheap entertainment.
    We need to educate people,imagine every Pakistani planting a tree every six months.We may be able to avert climate change.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 6:38 #
  28. if you want to improve image in the world, whu not promot prositution industry like thailand ? you can earn billions of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ and a nice image in the world community. by this, you can develop your economy and get annual growth rate tripple tha Mush era.

In fact, when we oppose European like culture, some group think we are favouring talibanization. We also hate Taliban and Mullaism.

We want moderate Pakistan society.
    We do not want extremists,
    we do not want European culture/ mummi dady/burger culture.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 6:47 #
  29. @ Personal Capacity!!

I refferd above about Sonia Ahmad's 'personal capacity' but you get angry.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 8:13 #
  30. There is a lot of difference between prostitution and Fashion Show.
    Jumping to an other extreme is not an argument.
    I have watched the whole video of the Fashion show.
    There was nothing what you assumed, perceived and conceived.
    It depends upon the color of glasses, an observer is looking through.

"nobody wears that kinda dress ever"
    Yes.
    There are certain ceremonial and artistic presentations only used at certain occasions.
    Some of such dresses are for export to a land where it is appreciated, liked and honored.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 9:48 #
  31. amin1924

a half naked woman is a half naked women irrespective of lens you use to see.

no need to twist the reality.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 10:04 #
  32. Half naked woman was not roaming about to attract the people at Bundar Road or at Clifton Beach.
    She was not displaying her body but the outfit of the dress she was wearing.
    Better look at the Dress, she was displaying and not at her body like a sex hungry.
    That is also Haram.
    What about the butcher who hangs the naked body of a goat out of shop?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 10:19 #
  33. amin1924

Again, question is not about roaming where and what.

Reality is that such kind of activity is considered immoral in our society, irrespective of whatsoever lens you use.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 10:34 #
  34. The limits and Rules of morality has already been fixed according to the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.
    Better first organize a Long March to change the Constitution.

Had that Show, Immoral and Unconstitutional, there would have been an Action from Mr. Justice Iftikhar Chaudry and the Organizers been behind the Bars.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 10:58 #
  35. amin1924

I am sure if someone files a petition, such activities will easily get immoral certificate -no second opinion about it in Muslim society.

Don't forget Lahore High court's ruling on Naseebo Lal's immoral songs.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 11:01 #
  36. smali

through media the shows are not limited to any physical place these days - they traverse to all over the country and promote their values

when poor people can be caught in "fahashi Jaraem"
    why cant these style 360's and fashion TV owners could be called to court ???

Any volunteer in this forum who can help in drafting it as Top story for PkPolitics front page, if PkPolitics moderators agree and allow ??

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 11:10 #
  37. These evils are more damaging to society than body of a half naked girl at an Indoor Fashion Show.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:05 #
  38. amin1924

Fine, but at least acknowledge an evil or immoral act as immoral. What we are seeing is that you are trying to justify this immoral activity through various vague terms.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:12 #
  39. smali

A nation of 160 million should be able to solve / or atleast work on more than 10 problem simultaneously

BTW in media world today indoor and outdoor concepts are irrelevant

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:27 #
  40. amin1924

Right, indoor/outdoor doesn't matter if something gets media coverage because public has access to it and it becomes a public activity.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:39 #
  41. Half Naked Female Body is just like,
    Pound foolish penny wise.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:43 #
  42. amin1924

How can we focus while some people keep on diverting attention and ignoring social/cultural corruption?

Why ignore social corruption, why not work in parallel?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 13:47 #
  43. smali

The reason for NOT been able to solve biggest issue was abscence of justice in the courts and now when this institution has been strengthen this seems to be having impact
    similarly all other institutions including PEMRA should be playing there part as per constitution - PEMRA has mandate for steering media channels for educating masses , so if there is a sugar crisis, water shortage, clogged gutters and traffic jam nothing really stops PEMRA to not to fullfill their own responsibility for which they are paid for ?

I am unable to understand what is stopping us as a nation( or atleast huge number of intellectuals) to work in parallel for more than one issue

Moral corruption and lust also eventually becomes the reason for financial corruption

what are factual and non factual issues this could be relevant who you are - lets leave this to constitution of state what needs to practised in true spirit
    If there has to be justice it has to be across the board ( irrespective of how influencial Roshan Khayal Channel owners are and how much they can bribe to corrupt elite )

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 14:16 #
  44. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

This thread and its clones posted on other politics forums are sufficient proof, that people of Pakistan, do not accept immorality.

They oppose immorality as they oppose secularism.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 14:45 #
  45. zingaro

Guys have already spoken a lot and I am not sure if my words will affect anymore. Anyhow we should accept that the said fashion show was not the first of its kind in Pakistan. That has become a common thing after Musharraf took charge. In my humble opinion it is better if we discuss things one by one.

1- It is true that such outfits are not used in common but i personally think that such outfits are used by a gentry in their personal livings.

2- Such fashion shows does not improve country's image internationally as the world already know us who are we and where do we stand. Hence, imo it was a bogus stand that such fashion shows are necessary to improve our image. US image was not built on their women's outfits and styles but due to their scientific advancements.

3-As JS sahib said rules are defined in Constitution of Pakistan, please note that as per said Constitution, Pakistan is an Islamic Republic.

4-Qauidkamazar said that why to get angry on such things. If someone does not want to watch, should change the channel. Excellent my dear .. as per your rule .. someone gets naked in a public hall, those who don't like, should come out of the hall and must not object on his personal liberty.

5- If you check history, such moderated activities always got approval specially in the eras of PPP but Musharraf left behind every one. As he was himself a product of dancer parents, hence, he promoted the same culture and now we see the same breed around us.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 15:08 #
  46. zingaro

I will beg ur pardon but you will must agree that it is not so old that such and all related activities were used to be said as "**** Khana" in all parts of our society except the faction of "Miraasi" and "Prostitutes".

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 15:10 #
  47. I am sorry to post where I experienced that for a certain section of society, which has been, unfortunately, brain washed by Lal Masjid School of Thought,
    Every thing of beauty,
    An attractive piece of Art or Painting,
    A good Poetry,
    A nicely stitched Dress,
    A melodious Note of Music,
    A nice smelling Perfume,
    Any creation of Aesthetic,
    is '**** Khana'.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 19:20 #
  48. @js
    Explain why:
    You have to bring this off topic issue of Lal Masjid and a certain 'school of thought'?
    --------------------------------------------
    And from now on any comment that is off topic posted by you will be removed.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 20:04 #
  49. What has Lal Masijid to do with 'Islamic Republic of Pakistan and Fashin Week'....Explain!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 20:13 #
  50. You are not some body special and unlike other members that you should not be subject to moderation as and when called for. Keep this in mind.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Nov 2009 20:15 #