Karachi......... A Volcano ready to erupt?
(28 posts)-
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:00 #
I have friends and family who works for the law enforcement agencies on all level. Recently, I met one of them who are based in Karachi and during a discussion he told me that the sale of Weapons + Ammunition (Legal one!) has quadrupled this year. In fact according to one of arm dealer, the last time he sold this much ammunition was in 80's end. Obviously if the sale of legal ammunitions has gone so up then you can imagine the influx of illegal ammunition.
Look at the news above..... The type of weapons recovered is enough for a man to stand against one police station for good few hours and can also cause considerable damage to people's lives and property. In this instance it’s a suspected religious group but according to a source, the biggest dump of arms and ammunition is mainly kept by MQM, SSP and ANP in that order. PPP and JA sindh are the next in line along with Sunni Tehreek.
As regards to the sale of legal arms and ammunition, it’s been sold mainly to the supporters of MQM and Sindhi speakers (Could be affiliated to PPP or JA sindh) the 3rd group is Punjabis. Pashtuns are the minority group but they either already possess weapons as an inheritance or they can get it via illegal route quite easily.
Other Parties like JI, PML all have tons of arms and ammunition else where. The way there is a recent surge of arms race between the various fractions of society is alarming. I remember some one from a sensitive law enforcement group once said to me (in context of FATA operation and Taliban’s) that in the future only those will survive who has "Bandooq, Zameen and water" At that time, I laughed at him but today his prediction seems right to me.
I have no hope from Government or Political parties to stop this menace unless the educated people from all fractions of society stop this or else, once this volcano erupts then you will not have enough space to hide but to face destruction as a nation.
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:05 # -
whats the link to the website having this news? i cant see the first page of the news.
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:08 # -
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:15 # -
i have bought chinese pistols for every member of my family. dad mum brother and sister. our chaukidars and servants are armed aswell. our ex-military friends trained us pretty good.
last time we were robbed in our villa, they hit my fater and brother tied them up and locked up my mom and sister in another room.we lost passports and jewelry and cash money.the worst part was the paranoia that effected everyone, unfortunately I was abroad. the servants were locked up in their quarters in karachi and the cops did nothing the insurance did not pay up.
so back to the topic. yes my friend if the police can not or will not protect me i must try at least to protect myslef and my family even if i hate the sight of wepons. I have no choice. Our wepons are all legal. we had to wait 6 months for the clearence from the police before the purchase.Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:18 # -
@andarkabandar.
I am highlighting the use of arms for potential violence, target killing and any future clash etc. Keeping arms for personal protection is unfortunately a necessity these days.Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:27 # -
Karachi has always been a dangerous place as political parties have always promoted and advocated gun politics in the city...
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 13:35 # -
Karachi sonay kay anday denay wali chirrya hay .
he he he
issi liye MQM ho , PPP ho , ANP ho ...
sub kay sub Karachi per qabza karna chahtay hain .meri aik guzarish hay .
Karachi pe qabzay ki jang koi bhi jeetay .magar sonay kay andon kay chakkar mein murghi zabahhh na kar dalien ...
plzzzzzzzzzz
aqal se kaam leein .MQM ne sonay ki murghi Uncle Sam ko denay ka faisla kiya tha jo aien waqat pe kharab ho gaya .
jab Mush ka takhta ulattt gaya ...Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 14:35 # -
well even people who have nothing to do with MQM like my relatives have started keeping guns...
its purely a defensive move.
there is not enough security provided by police who themselves are main culprits behind everything,,, the people are bound to do this.
I would not be surprised if sale of weapons even doubles, triples.
you guys could keep ranting anti-MQM rhetoric as always and skip the main issue.... yet again.
a city of millions of people jammed together is bound to become chaotic if security is not done properly.
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 18:05 # -
Imran Farooq murder will definately add fire to it .
Posted 1 year ago on 16 Sep 2010 22:36 # -
this volcano can be stopped from erupting if local bodies nizaam is given back to the hardworking people of Karachi.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Sep 2010 2:01 # -
What can one expect as Pakistan is headed towards Afghanistan or Somalia like situation which is welcome news to our jihadi agents, who benefit the most from anarchy as it allows them to operate freely and establish their even more brutal rule.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Sep 2010 3:40 # -
Karachi is the economical backbone of Pakistan and terrorists have been trying their best to start chaos and anarchy in this city. All the demented efforts have been resisted by the active and liberal citizens of Karachi. I don’t think terrorists will be able to break the peace of this city until the citizen’s stand united against it.
Posted 1 year ago on 17 Sep 2010 8:51 # -
isnt it strange that IF has been killed and yet Karachi is peaceful....my prayers that it remains this way.....but does it tell something about the murder or/and MQM relating to Karachi peace?
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Sep 2010 10:11 # -
Whether North Waziristan or FATA as a whole needs operation or not, that is another question, but what is writing on the wall is that the only cosmopolitan of Pakistan, Karachi badly needs a thorough and ruthless military operation as soon as possible. Target killings, street crimes, land mafia, bhatta mafia, smuggling mafia and political mafia has paralyzed the city and the time has come when some drastic and long lasting steps are taken, if we are really interested in saving the Karachi.
To be truthful the main party involved in jeopardizing the city is MQM. Their target killers and goons are roaming free and burning the makeshift stalls of Pushtoons and killing them. It was establishment which created MQM, and just back few years during Musharraf era, containers of weapons were distributed among the MQM, and now MQM is using those weapons and extortion money to blackmail the government. They want to control the city.
ANP the other party involved in damaging the city is also not much far behind. They are involved in land grabbing and smuggling and they have also armed gangs which kill at the targets. PPP which is another player in Karachi is also struggling their best to gain control through power and their armed thugs originating from Lyari also are trying to snatch their chunk. The religious parties like Tehrik-e-Islami and Jamat-e-Islami have their own mercenaries.
Karachi is a live volcano which is sprouting smoke and ashes for quite a time now and it is about to burst. If Karachi goes down in flames, it means the Pakistan will get evaporated. Pakistan depends upon Karachi for its economy and everything else. The lifeline of Pakistan is Karachi.
But where are the saviors of the Pakistan? Our military has the onus to defend Pakistan from external and internal threats. Now when everybody knows that the government is itself involved in this blood-sports in Karachi and they are simply incapable of handling this, then why doesn’t the army step-in? Its their duty to come and restore the peace of Karachi. An operation must be carried out across the board. Police and intelligence agencies know very well who are the perpetrators of target killers and where the weapons are and from where the instructions and money are coming. Extra-judicial killings, snap-raids, swift exeutions, shot-on-sight, wiping out of head-quarters of MQM, ANP and PPP should be the main ingrediants of this operation.
There is no other way.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 15:48 # -
The biggest land mafi group is shahi syed and altaf group. Shahi Syed group is king of drug and illegal arms and transport mafia.
I dont distinguish between many different mafias in Karachi. Operation clean up against all of them but unfortunately this will be a temporary fix. Operation will take place say for a month or so, many criminals will run away and many of will get caught. One the operation is over mafias will gradually re-emerge.
In my opinion, police needs to be strengthened in Karachi and should be designated a special status and controlled by Federal government rather than Provincial Interior Ministry or local government.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 16:07 # -
Unfortunately the bold actions that need to be taken cannot be because Gilani mafia is busy looting. They have their own agenda.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 16:41 # -
I believe sab chor hein mentality is gross simplification of matters. sab chor hein is a ready made answer to all questions but it does not serve any purpose to present any solution.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 16:52 # -
@khan_sahib
The problem with the military is that if they start an operation, that would be directed to a specific group which is MQM or may be towards JIA Sindh. This is the main problem that military establishment itself is not clean and honest enough to wipe out all the mess. Same thing happened in previous Karachi military and rangers operations. There was an operation against MQM only but ANP, PPI, PPP, JIA SINDH and other mafias were left alone. Had it be a full fledge operation against any mafia no matter what their ethnicity was, the problem some how would not be that worse as it is today. I beleive MQM stance against military operations is because they know if army or ranger start an operation, MQM would be the only one who will be effected. The question is when army was doing an operation in Malir, Shah Faisal Colony, Qazba Colony, Liaqat Abad, Golimar, etc which are purely urdu speaking ghetos, why army didn't had any offence in Sohrab Goth, Banaras, Sultan Abad, Nathakhan Goth, Pehlwan Goth etc. Even Afghan Muhajir's areas were not touched. At the time of operation in both 1992 and 1996, I was in Karachi and was in favor of this operation as this operation some how cleaned up ateast 50 percent of mess made by MQM mafia members. I even met Bharam Baaz Tehreek members led by Shoaib Bukhari at that time and got offered to join them but thats another story. I later realize that this operation had specific guidelines as who to kill and who not to be touched even. I mean if someone tell me that ANP and PPI are peaceful organizations and they have nothing to do with any kind of killing and illegal activities, I would laugh out loud.
Military or police operation should not be going on under this government as both the govt and military establishment are biased so any operation will bring more hate and havoc among the urdu speaking population. Only if an honest person led the operation without any biased to any ethnicity, there will be a chance for improvement.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 17:17 # -
I dont think even army can get in Sohrab goth or Al-Asif or other areas along highway. These areas are no different than S.Waziristan and army or government cant afford to have this craziness on the streets of Karachi.
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 17:20 # -
Bsobaid.... Do u live in Karachi?
@syed hussain,The thing which surprises me that MQM is a champion in (these days) singing praises fo army & have always criticised police so how come they are scared of army operation & favouring a police operation?
As regards to PPI & ANP... They are not angel either but PPI was formed in reaction to MQM's badmashi & attrocities. I was also there in Karachi when the operation happened in Karachi & coming from an administrative family, I was aware of the ground reality & at that time MQM's major players escaped out of Karachi to South Africa & India. There must be some collateral damage just the way we have collateral damage in K-P & FATA with the amy operation but would you prefer no operation & target killing every day in Karachi? If MQM was so innocent then why did it go after all the police officers who took part in that operation? They killed every top notch police man from that operation participant except " Anwar Ahmed Khan" who is now SP & last time I happen to know, he was somewhere in Gadap & have over 20 policemen protecting him from MQM.
Ask ANY police officer, ranger men, army men who are deputed in Karachi including ISI, CID, CIA, MI ... & they have books of proof against MQM killings and even some videos shot by MQM ( one I had a chance to see myself) I say, KILL Shahi syed as well if they have any proof against him or any member of ANP, PPI, PPP or JA Sindh too but MQM is the main Threat to the peace of Karachi & sovereignty of our country.Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 19:43 # -
@syedhussain
Whom are we kidding? Why would Army or Police raise arms against their own brethren? It is really a rhetorical question. Obviously they were trying to create a vacuum to fill with the greedies moving into Karachi and what would be the best way than killing those who have built the city to its prime. I would only one thing:
'Barbad ho chukay hain, phir bhi taza dum hain'. So bring it own and lets see who has the last laugh.Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 19:47 # -
HA HA HA
Posted 1 year ago on 18 Jan 2011 19:56 # -
why you asked Khan, was I wrong?
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 14:46 # -
It is a relief to find top notch scumbags in the police met their fate, who needs these bribe-loving incompetent illiterate gun-toting individuals posted on the basis of nepotism. Good riddance at last. Also it was cooling off moment to see Munawar Soharwardy finding his luck on the mystery bullet. Good times :)
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 14:54 # -
Most, if not all, police officers involved in 92 operation have been killed. I can only guess who were the murderers.
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 15:07 # -
I think PPP should get more police officers like Anwar Ahmed Khan for operations against all these political mafia's specially belonging to MQM. They did clean Karachi in 1992 from all these goons though sadly there wad some collateral damage just like in K-P & FATA but it should be acceptable just like it is up north. Bring it on.....
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 17:55 # -
It really feels refreshing:)
Posted 1 year ago on 19 Jan 2011 18:45 #