Karachi ,city of lights ...Mahyem ...who is responsible?

(49 posts)
  1. past 3 days ...karachi has been badly hit by power outrage and due to this shortage of water and other facilities .
    but a planed mobbing has made the situation worst .
    as all the areas and main roads of karachi has been blocked by young protesters ,burning tires ,throwing stones on KESC offices and breaking signals .

point of discussion is that
    where is Goveror sindh,cheif minister sindh and sity nazim?

what are they doing to make things better?

and what do u think who is responsible for making the financial hub paralyzed and causing millions of rupee damage.

1. Sidh Govt?
    2. City Govt ?
    3.KESC ?
    4.MQM ?

note .MQM is demanding for long to KESC being handed over to it ...and KESC already being handed over to Zardari's friend ...
    is that a try of MQM to create this drama of mayhem?
    and to prove KESC new management ,incapable?
    and all the protesters were not local ppl of the area but the workers of MQM ?

what do u think about?
    and whom do u hold responsible for that?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 9:43 #
  2. msohail83

KESC was handed over to Abraj group of UAE who enjoy good relationship with Zardari. They are just as efficient as Zardari is running this country.

There are many things you've to consider here.

Firstly, it is important to mention that current production of electicity is well short of Pakistan's capability (atleast 2000MW). All these small companies owe each other money and have conflicts over outstanding balance. Also, they have issues to oil suppliers (again due to outstanding funds).

Secondly, Line loss (kunda) is a huge problem. Get on top of a multi-story building in Karachi and look down on the nearest electric pole. You'll see tens of Kundas. This is non-existing in Punjab. I dont know abt other provinces.

Thirdy, As we all know about the increased demand of UPS and generators due to excessive loadshedding, I sometimes wonder if the manufacturers of these companies are lobbying for it, and the heads of KESC and others are taking kickbacks for not supplying enough power to ppl. This is a multi-billion dollar industry as well. A small unit of UPS runs arnd RS 25K-35K.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:19 #
  3. @msohail,
    well said and good points .
    KESC is working exactly in Zardari style.
    that's true and getting kick backs from generator and UPS manufacturers and marketers cant be ruled out ,as they are friends of MR.10%.
    but what do u think of that mayhem created by some unknown ppl ,at every area of karachi since sunday?

2.do u advocate the idea of KESC to be handed over to the city Govt means MQM?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:30 #
  4. shahzad1924

its a pity that our government is providing 80% of the fuel, food and weapons to the NATO and US forces in Afghanistan and yet they are so apathetic about this issue.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:34 #
  5. @shahzad1924,
    it shows only one thing.
    Govt can manage things ...................
    only
    if it wants.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:44 #
  6. shahzad1924

exactly...

karachi was lit up during the Twenty20 finals.

where did that come from?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:52 #
  7. msohail83

City administration should keep its nose out of electricity production. They have plenty of other things to work on.

My problem is if you're going to privatize or contract out a company, do it in meritocratic manner. Nepotism is running every orgranization into the ground.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:53 #
  8. shahzad1924

it doesn't make a difference if its done in a meritocratic manner or not.

once you sell off an asset, you loose everything.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:57 #
  9. usman1423

I learned from a Hadith of the Messenger of Allah that a mu'min (a true believer) is not bitten by a snake twice from the same hole.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 10:58 #
  10. @usman1423,
    but we have been bitten from the same hole again and again.
    @msohail,
    that's what i think so but the problem is that ...city administration is dying to have more powers ...means not more to work but more to EAT Up.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:02 #
  11. @shahzad1924,
    i have observed contradiction of electricity shortage on a daily basis.
    from PECHS to Clifton all the roads has been lit up all in the morning and afternoon too ...as street lights never turns off in the day time ...nobody bothers to actually.
    that means through out the day ,city street lights lits up.
    on the other hand ,Govt is crying for electricity shortage.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:05 #
  12. msohail83

Well yea....

During Musharraf's tenure MQM was able to get its hands on huge bulks of funds for 'development works' in KHI at the expense of interior SINDH.

Govt. in power today draws its power from rural SINDH, so natrually their focus will be just that. MQM only rules 2 cities and won't have a free hand on cash as they did under Musharraf.

MQM's interest in KESC stems from lack of cash flow. After all they have to pay for Pir sahib's expenses in London as well.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:10 #
  13. usman1423

this Hadith guide us to move forward in the right direction.
    do we want to learn from our past?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:13 #
  14. shahzad1924

this is psychological warfare...."consume" the masses by putting them through load-shedding and rising prices and keep on killing Muslims in NWFP

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:17 #
  15. Pakistanis should learn to live like people used to live during Moghal Rule.
    Great kings like Akbar, Shah Jahan, and Jahangir lived luxurious life without Electricity.
    No refrigerator or air conditioner was available to Noor Jahan or Zeenat Mahal.
    Even the pious Caliphs maintained a very successful living without Electricity.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:17 #
  16. @usman1423,
    yes...i have learned my lesson and i am not going to vote the party ...which has been tested before.

@msohail,
    yah ...MQM use to be KINGS FAVORITE,during Musharraf era.
    but now ...situation is different.
    PPP and MQM marriage this time is a wedding ceremony ,where plates are getting shorter to eat food .

khanay walay zaida aur platein kam .....

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:21 #
  17. @dear sheikh sahib,
    but the problem is this ...
    moghals use to have others things to feel contented ,if they didn't have electricity.
    unfortunately ...we are not moghals ...we are common ppl ..
    who are badly use to electricity.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:26 #
  18. skyfacts

People,

This is a planned activity and tactics followed all over the world during a civil war or disturbing law and order situation.
    Govt is able and can do lot to provide us with sufficient electricity but they are using psychlogical tactics to made the ppl think of their utilities only.
    Circumstances around this problem also tells the story if some one is ready to think the situation as a management tactic.
    The countries having such war conditions or problems would also help to understand the situation like,Lebanon,Cambodia,Nageria.So this is one of the common tactic used by govt....so chill

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:27 #
  19. @skyfacts,
    your advice for chill seems quite inappropriate ,if i am boiling at high temperature as electricity is gone and our generator has said Bye Bye to us ..due to over burden.

anyways if its a Govt tactics ...than Diversion strategy is going great ...they have diverted the public from Swat and Wana operation ,IDPs rehabilitation process ,Pak india relations and atomic plant security issues .
    now we can only think n talk about electricity .

but i think ...
    MQM has a very fishy role in the Karachi mayhem.
    they are the cause of it or the beneficiaries of the situation.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:34 #
  20. I wonder why no call for another Long March has been made so far?
    Restoration of Electricity should have been the priority over the Restoration of Judiciary.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:41 #
  21. being a senior person,u know ...they (our politicians )announce protests ,only when it suits them .
    it is needed more or less .
    thats not their business .

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:51 #
  22. shahzad1924

well, thats something we need to set straight....our priorities

if we focus on the symptoms we wont be able to solve the underlying problem. the judicial crisis, the shortage of electricity, the price hike, security etc. are all symptoms of one problem;

THESE PUPPET RULERS AND THIS KUFR SYSTEM

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 11:52 #
  23. i think...
    we have to make a decision.
    we want to rule or we want to be ruled ?by US stooges.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 12:18 #
  24. It is very hard for a child to dis-own the parents.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 12:34 #
  25. shahzad1924

exactly!

our mother is the khilafah. the khilafah protects the ummah's wealth, resources and land. the khilafah is a sheild which protects the ummah (rough translation of a hadith). these 86 years have been really hard for this child.

i say, lets go back to where we were!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 12:47 #
  26. i dono about which system to work?
    but this system has failed very badly that much i know for sure.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 13:11 #
  27. same issue has been initiated by Thriller so i am putting it here ....
    Thriller says
    wana get your feedback on protests against loadshedding in various cities of punjab

couple of question

1) protesters burned 2 trains and many of govt buildings across punjab
    i wana know
    where is ultra efficient Police of khadim ala punjab?

2) protesters on Mall road lahore forcefully closing down shops
    i wana know
    where is ultra efficient Police of khadim ala punjab?

something fishy here

all what i get is Lahori badshah and his party is behind all these protests. as this party is major beneficiary of all these activities
    reason
    to bring down govt. and have mid term elections

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 13:21 #
  28. Anonymous

city government miserably failed. City roads are looking like canals and rivers. What kind of planning it was?? What kind of infrastructure they built??

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 14:42 #
  29. Now is the time to research and evaluate, why every system failed in Pakistan?
    Why all of the infra structure has been turned into a bundle of trash?
    Why most of the Institutions has been paralyzed?
    Why Pakistan is reversing towards Stone Age?
    Why Pakistanis could not learn the Civic Sense?
    Why most of the leaders and rulers could not maintain the level of credibility?
    Why three (the most popular) Prime Ministers were assassinated within 62 years?
    Why? Why?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 15:44 #
  30. Sahnaz

Simple Ans

if u mix politics with religion it will happen. hv u read report on education system in paksitan??

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 15:49 #
  31. Anonymous

All your questions carry a tone of pessimism and hopelesness and leading towards the hate of the nation and the state of the Pakistan. So I will ask the same questions to myself but not in a loser and pathetic tone you are intentionally carrying in your post to fullfill whatever agenda you are working on.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 15:49 #
  32. How one could be optimistic after watching what the media of Pakistan is displaying?
    My agenda is to see Pakistan a Progressive, Democratic, Secular, Free of Hatred and Peaceful Welfare State, for the future generations.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 16:30 #
  33. Sahnaz

So is mine and others. but not with the current education system. it is nt gud fr our society. plz read the report on pakistan education system. its eye opener.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 16:32 #
  34. Anonymous

I doubt, you want to see Pakistan merged with India. Thats what you want.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 16:33 #
  35. We can't make any changes at the Script of the Director.
    The ground reality reflects the flow of the story is heading towards an unexpected direction what could be surprising too.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 16:44 #
  36. Anonymous

What story, what director and what direction? please explain.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 16:47 #
  37. It could be alarming.
    It is not the time yet to disclose the coclusion.
    A wise person can read between the lines.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 17:06 #
  38. Anonymous

A wise person can read between the lines buyt only a stupid person listen to conspiracy theories. No matter how desperate you are, but Pakistan will never merge with India.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 17:28 #
  39. Merger with India is not the option according to the script nor India is willing for that.
    India didn't work to annex, even Bangla Desh or any other of its neighbor.
    There are some other possible geographical groupings under consideration.
    The future of Kashmir is also at stake.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 18:13 #
  40. expakistani

just like this topic of "Karachi ,city of lights ...Mahyem ...who is responsible?" turned in to geo political topic....we can change the indian map...

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 18:31 #
  41. NNL

True that ExPakistani.

Blame everyone else.

What people view as MQM vying for power for asking control to the KESC would rather be a pretty profitable option for all.

The biggest problem with KESC is that its a money generator who soever controls is will have a great deal of money but still the problems would be there.

Thanks to PPP's previous tactics all the major Industries have already left KArachi and its surrounding areas to Taxila and all. If you give people enuf problems they will go for a power change. And thats exactly whats happening.

As for the Kunda System well the solutions are there but none are willing to change the system that everyone has been comfy with.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 18:50 #
  42. expakistani

I always think that KESE, KW&SB building controls should come under City Govt....regardless MQM or JI whoever running the show there.... but this situation cant be fixed just by who is running city Govt..

we need more power plants to full fill demand... In 1986-88 Geological servey of Pakistan discoverd biggest resource of Coal in Thaar but nothing have done to THAR Power project...
    KANUPP is in last stage of cancer and we know the situation of Tarbila and mangla dams

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 20:11 #
  43. shahzad1924

this discussion reminds me of orya's article

http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100673700&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20090720

come on guys, think BIG!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Jul 2009 23:53 #
  44. Anonymous

Excellent article shahzad. Normally I dont read Orya's articles because his priorities aer pretty much screwed up and his article is full of emotional rhetoric but this article shows he is an intelligent person. I hope he uses his intelligent skills more than empty emotional rhetoric.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Jul 2009 2:20 #
  45. guys & gurls....fabulous episode of Live With Talat on the same topic.watch on pkpolitics july21st show of LWT.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Jul 2009 4:30 #
  46. netengr

What is left to become Pakistan a failed state ?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jul 2009 7:27 #
  47. skyfacts

netengr,

No failed state but chalenges r their to face.Hosh ker jawan Hosh.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jul 2009 7:43 #
  48. and Life goes on..........
    Pakistan will live on .........
    we will make it live longer .

no matter how many Zardaris,Sharifs ,Maliks ,Musharrafs ,Qazis ,Mullahas ,Zias stop us .

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jul 2009 8:02 #
  49. netengr

If our country is peaceful and free from Guns people would love to live in villages or outside the city where they can live with the peaceful village life even without electricity .

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jul 2009 8:48 #