Karachi goes gaga over Imran Khan telephone call, in new PTI marketing ploy

(90 posts)
  1. insaftak

KARACHI: On a lazy Sunday, a woman was woken up by the telephone ringing at the ungodly hour of 7am.
    Who could it be at this hour, she pondered as she drowsily reached for the handset. To her surprise, a husky but alluring voice – one which has been clogging the airwaves these days – was on the other end, speaking in Urdu.

“Assalam-o-Alaikum. This is Imran Khan speaking. How are you? I am coming to your city to bring everyone together on December 25 at Mazar-e-Quaid for a peace rally. I hope that you can break all the shackles and take part because at this rally we need to make the beginings of a new Pakistan. I will be waiting. Thank you.”

This recorded voice message by the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s (PTI) chairperson Imran Khan has been waking up people across the city – much to their delight it appears.
    “I was shocked to hear him,” said Saba Abid, who received the message on Sunday morning. “In the beginning, I couldn’t understand why he was calling me. I think it’s a creative way to advertise, except for the part of waking up people early in the morning.”

It seems to have worked, however, as Ariba, a teenage resident of DHA, was sufficiently convinced. “Listening to his voice message was amazing,” she gushed. “I am definitely going to his jalsa with all my friends.”

This marketing strategy was first used to invite people in Lahore before the jalsa on October 30 and the party felt it produced successful results in mobilising thousands of people. “In Karachi we decided to do the same thing because miscreants are tearing down our posters and banners,” said the party’s head in Sindh, Naeem-ul Haq. “Through Imran Khan’s personalised message, we hope to mobilise our supporters.”

The phone campaign has been going on for a week. “Around 300,000 people will be receiving the recorded messages on their PTCL landlines,” explained SM Ilyas at the PTI Karachi office. This is about half of the total number of subscribers in the city.

A Lahore company is involved in the social marketing, and anyone can call the number, 042-38375454, to hear the message as well.

Haseeb Anwar, a resident of Gulshan-e-Iqbal, was so excited to hear his favourite politician’s voice, he started talking back until he realised it was a recorded message. He’ll just have to wait till Christmas to hear him live.

Published in The Express Tribune, December 20th, 2011.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/308899/karachi-goes-gaga-over-imran-khan-telephone-call-in-new-pti-marketing-ploy/

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 5:41 #
  2. aneeza4u

"""On a lazy Sunday, a woman was woken up by the telephone ringing at the ungodly hour of 7am.

Who could it be at this hour, she pondered as she drowsily reached for the handset. """

Waking up a woman at 7am on holiday and that too on a chilly winter morning is simply pathetic and illegal !
    Sending unwanted/unconsented messages is illegal !

"How to report spam/unwanted SMS/calls

If you receive any spam message or call that you did not subscribe to, or any call/SMS that you do not wish to receive again, SMS the following details to ‘9000’:

•Sender’s cell number
    •Your cell number
    •Any details that you may want to add
    Send this information to 9000 for PTA response.

http://tribune.com.pk/story/235103/public-service-pta-wants-you-to-report-spam-sms-and-calls/

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 5:54 #
  3. Dusky

LOL @ Red Scorpion... you gota rain over the parade:)

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:06 #
  4. Bawa

بچوں کو بچوں والی حرکتیں کرنے دیں - ان سے سمجھداری والی باتوں کی توقع کیوں کر رہے ہیں؟

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:10 #
  5. insaftak

Dekhna Parey Ga yeh Bachoon wali harkat kitnay logoon ko bahir Laati hai

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:11 #
  6. aneeza4u

@insaftak,

Tell me why your party is resorting to illegal means/tactics ?

I think Immi believes that 'end justifies means' !

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:14 #
  7. Bawa

@ insaftak

خیر لوگوں کو جلسوں میں لانے والا کام تو جنرل پاشا نے اپنے زمے لے رکھا ہے

اسکے بارے میں آپکو فکر مند ہونے کی ضرورت نہیں

جنرل پاشا جو ہے

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:15 #
  8. salaudin

Good move by PTI. Hope it attracts people !!!

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:16 #
  9. aneeza4u

"""Hope it attracts people !!! """

'Hope' ??? :)

Aren't you sure about upcoming Tsunami on 25th Dec ? :))
    (wondering if tsunami would spare Quaid's grave ! )

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:19 #
  10. Fazooli

^^^^
    hahaha... is it some nooner??

coz on another thread one nooner is trying to prove that SS started this "strategy" of sending messages on phone & PTI has copied it...

let's see how long copy league takes to copy it....

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:19 #
  11. insaftak

@ Red Scorpion

The tearing down of PTI posters is illegal too. Can You tell me which Law is PTI violating.

It's a public service message. Good on PTI for taking this inniative. If it's illegal government should just shut down and arrest all those that are involved in it. But don't count on government doing anything about it.

@ Bawa

Lol Apnay Liye to 500 say ziada banday nikaal nahi saktay, PTI ke liye kia khaak nikalein ge.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:22 #
  12. Fazooli

"bachay" aur "bachoon wali harkatain"??

sotay raho buddhay losers... mazi mein jeo.... future belongs to youth of pakistan

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:23 #
  13. aneeza4u

@insaftak

""It's a public service message. Good on PTI for taking this inniative.""

lolzzz
    'public service message' at 7am on holiday and that too on a chilly winter morning ???? :))

BTW what do you mean by a 'public service message' ? .... oh you mean the message (voice-recorded msg of Taliban Khan) is alerting people about Tsunami (remember Khi is a port city ! ) :)))

Sending unwanted/unconsented messages is illegal !

http://tribune.com.pk/story/235103/public-service-pta-wants-you-to-report-spam-sms-and-calls/ ""

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:27 #
  14. Fazooli

^^^
    bus janab patta chal gia how to report spam to PTA

------------------------------------------------
    now may i tell how to report spam on pkpolitics discuss

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/warning-you-will-be-banned

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:30 #
  15. insaftak

@ Fazooli

Lol.

By the time anyone takes action on this heinous crime committed by PTI the 25th would have come and gone and the message already delivered.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:32 #
  16. Dusky

@insaftak: "It's a public service message."

Nope, this is not a public service massage, by definition this is called political solicitation. And when you make an political solicitation without prior permission, this is called invasion of privacy.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:33 #
  17. Bawa

@ insaftak
    Bawa

Lol Apnay Liye to 500 say ziada banday nikaal nahi saktay, PTI ke liye kia khaak nikalein ge.

یہ قریشی، لغاری، ترین، خاکوانی کہاں سے آئے ہیں؟

تم جنرل پاشا کی کہاں کہاں احسان فراموشی کرو گے؟

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:34 #
  18. aneeza4u

@insaftak,

"By the time anyone takes action on this heinous crime committed by PTI the 25th would have come and gone and the message already delivered"

tch tch tch .....
    That's how your party wants to bring revolution ? :)

19. insaftak

@ Dusky

Fair Enough!

Is Political Solicitation illegal in Pakistan? It's not illegal in many western countries. Just want to know which exact law is being violated.

20. aneeza4u

@insaftak,

"Just want to know which exact law is being violated. "

Just check below link :)

http://tribune.com.pk/story/235103/public-service-pta-wants-you-to-report-spam-sms-and-calls/ ""

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:36 #
  21. insaftak

@ Red Scorpion

Yes by mass messaging to the people.

The Dinosaur Parties are bound to have sleepless nights.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:38 #
  22. insaftak

@ Red Scorpion

"Through a public notice in newspapers, Pakistan Telecommunication Authority has warned marketers to desist sending unconsented, unwanted, fraudulent, misleading, spam and/or illegal SMS messages or calls to mobile phone consumers."

I Hope you know the difference between mobile phone and Landlines

then again since you are a dinosaur you might not know that

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:39 #
  23. Dusky

It is not illegal when you play this on public medium e.g TV, radio, print media. But it become illegal if you do so on private channel e.g private cell phone, land line without subscription and fail to provide an alternative to opt out from campaign.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:42 #
  24. aneeza4u

@insaftak,

" you are a dinosaur"

dude, avoid getting personal .... otherwise I know how to respond !

"I Hope you know the difference between mobile phone and Landlines"

No, tell me now ! :)

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:44 #
  25. insaftak

@ Dusky

Isn't that government responsibility to remove people's names from these lists. I know In USA you have a National Do Not Call List. Here is a link to it.

http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt107.shtm

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:45 #
  26. mariabashir

@Bawa---"تم جنرل پاشا کی کہاں کہاں احسان فراموشی کرو گے؟"
    --------------------
    AOA;
    Sir, if it were Zalaan in place of you saying this, he would have been labelled as Blasphemer And sentenced to death by stoning.
    Nice Metaphor though ,I must confess!

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:46 #
  27. insaftak

@ Red Scorpion

aap to bura he maana gaye. Dinosaur means supporter of PPP, PML, ANP, MQM, JUI. Don't take it literally.

Here is the difference between Mobile phone and landline.

Mobile phone

Landline

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:49 #
  28. mariabashir

@insaftak
    LOL;
    What about cord-less and pagers?

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:53 #
  29. Bawa

و علیکم السلام ماریہ بی بی

خیر کوڑھیوں کا کام تو بھٹو خاندان کی پرستش کرنا ہے. ہم اس سے مبرا ہیں

باقی بچوں کو یاد دلاتے رہتے ہیں کہ انقلاب قریشیوں اور لغاریوں کو ساتھ ملانے سے نہیں آتا. یہ "انکے" بندے ہیں اور انکے ہی رہیں گے

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:53 #
  30. insaftak

@ maria

I guess cord-less phone also fall under landline categories not sure about pagers.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:56 #
  31. Dusky

Yes, it's government job to stop the illegal activities including unwanted political solicitation. And they can very well fine the political party as well.

But in PTI case, if government do so you guys will start crying for foul play:)

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 6:58 #
  32. insaftak

@ Dusky

The article posted by Red scorpion clearly states you can't call mobile phone and PTI is abiding by that by calling only landlines.

Going by that I think PTI is well within the boundaries of Law.

Also do the dinosaurs even know about something called "NO Call List"

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:01 #
  33. Dusky

@Bawa: یہ "انکے" بندے ہیں اور انکے ہی رہیں گے

Yeah agar samajh ma ay jata to inko "bacha" kon kahta:)

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:01 #
  34. Bawa

@ Dusky

بچوں کو سمجھ تب آئے گی جب قریشی لغاری انکا انقلابی کمبل لے کر بھاگ جائیں گے

اور عمران خان ہاتھ ملتا رہ جائے گا

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:06 #
  35. insaftak

@ All Dinosaurs

You could buy "Game over" T-shirts in Karachi too.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:09 #
  36. Fazooli

sunno sunno bhai yeah bhi sunno.... PTI pay itna nazla

yahan pay to aik "sachy" nooner kay hisab say.. yeah kaam to pehlay SS nay shoro kia tha

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/ab-to-ns-bhi-phone-karay-ga

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:10 #
  37. salaudin

@Red Scorpion
    Inshallah it will !!! Unlike you, I at least have a hope.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:11 #
  38. Bawa

@ insaftak
    Dusky

The article posted by Red scorpion clearly states you can't call mobile phone and PTI is abiding by that by calling only landlines.

Going by that I think PTI is well within the boundaries of Law.

Also do the dinosaurs even know about something called "NO Call List"

کینیڈا میں بھی انتخابات میں یہ طریقہ اپنایا جاتا ہے

یہاں انتخابی امیدوار کی طرف سے فون کال آتی ہے جو آپکو بتاتی ہے کہ فلاں پارٹی کا امیدوار آپکو اپنا پیغام دینا چاہتا ہے. اگر آپ سننا چاہتے ہیں تو ایک پریس کریں یا فون بند کر دیں

زبردستی کوئی کسی کو اپنا پیغام نہیں سنا سکتا

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:11 #
  39. Fazooli

^^^
    @insaftak
    game to over ho gai hai pml-n & ppp ki

per hosh nahi aa rahi in ko

abhi bhi paisa kharch kar rahay hain

daihari pay pkpolitics pay "internet expert" rakh kay

per Unko kia... paisa kaun sa apna hai.....

but corrupt incumbent politicians! just wait & see!

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:12 #
  40. Fazooli

@salaudin

Your hope & red-scorpion's hopes clash. When game will be over, who will pay him for defending corrupt "leaders" on internet? unhain to apni pari ho gi....

NDMI (Noon Defense Ministry on Internet) will stop paying its employers.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:18 #
  41. qasim57

I wonder how long it'll be before Nawaz Sharif copies this from the PTI as well.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:21 #
  42. mariabashir

کراچی والے شکر کریں کے کم از کم فون تو کیا جا رہا ہے.: اب ذرا آج قصور کا چکر لگائیے اور دیکھئے خورشید قصوری کے کرشمے.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:22 #
  43. Bawa

@ mariabashir
    labelled as Blasphemer

کس بات پر؟ کس قانون کے تحت؟

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:26 #
  44. mariabashir

@BAWA
    ONLY pun intended.

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:29 #
  45. Dusky

@insaftak: Bhai T-Shirt ka sath bori bhee bhaj raha hain free main?

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:29 #
  46. insaftak

JaagUtho Shirt is now also available in karachi for Rs 250.

Teen Talwar, AIFD Iqra Uni, Gulf - 0333-9076667
    NIPA, University Road - 0300-2479456
    PIDC, Govt Commerce College - 0301-2755900
    Malir Halt, Malir - 0321-2307298

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:30 #
  47. insaftak

@ Dusky

Allah logoon ko lambi zindagi dae aur Borioon say dour rakhe!

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:33 #
  48. Bawa

@ mariabashir

ماریہ بی بی

آپ تو مجھے بھی کوڑوں کی سزا کا حقدار ٹھہرانے لگی تھیں

سرزد ہم سے بے ادبی تو وحشت میں بھی کم ہی ہوئی

اب تو جنرل پاشا کا نام بھی سوچ کر ہی لینا پڑے گا

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:34 #
  49. mariabashir

@ BAWA
    Hehe
    Ver old saying " TO CATCH A THIEF THINK LIKE A THIEF"
    کبھی کبھی کوڑھیوں کی طرح سوچنے میں کوئی مضائقہ نہیں. (اگر سوچ عمل میں تبدیل نہ ہو تو)-

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:41 #
  50. Bawa

@ mariabashir

ماریہ بی بی

الله بچائے کوڑھ کی بیماری سے - یہ بندے کو نہ دین کا چھوڑتی ہے نہ دنیا کا

بس ایک ہی کام ہوتا ہے - دن رات بھٹو خاندان کی پوجا

Posted 5 months ago on 20 Dec 2011 7:44 #