Karachi provides 70% revenue to Pakistan...Mustafa Kamal

(60 posts)
  1. Karachi is our seaport and a mega city. Mustafa Kamal, Karachi City Nazim has repeated this before, and today as well that Karachi is winner of 70% revenue for Pakistani coffers.Agreed. What about other cities Like Sialkot (Sports and Surgical goods), Gujrat (electrical goods), Gujranwala (heavy machinery), Faisalabad (Textiles) that were known to earn foreign exchange for Pakistan also. What happened to these cities. Are they no more?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 19:23 #
  2. SUI Gas, OIL, Fruits and Vegtables from Baluchistan
    Electricity, Precious Stones, Suger, Fruits and Vegtables from Pukhtoonkhwa,
    Wheat,Rice, Fruits and Vegtables from Punjab
    Coal, Wheat and Fruits and Vegtables from SINDH

Hmmmmm. I wonder if Karachi is a PROVINCE on its own? or Do MQM really think that they own this CITY? LOL
    Loads of CRAP!

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 19:28 #
  3. I am having doubts because I have seen Karachi, I had seen the top knobs of MQM very very closely and therefore claim to know their loopholes. Sialkot, I can say the corporates are extremely rich, to an extent that they built an internationally connected airport for themselves. I am also informed that due to Karachi BS the sports and surgical manufacturers were often reported by the interpol of narcotics in export parcels. When they had (their own) a dry port in sambarial (15 kilo from sialkot) this thing stopped.

Regarding precious stones, we had a contact who supplied us rare 'white honey', mercury, and some rare herbs. He was from chitral. Once he brought a stone (emerald) still embedded in the mother rock. I got it cut and polished from Lahore, and still wearing it. I pursuaded, pressured him a lot but he never disclosed how a stone of that size, he managed to get smuggled out of the emerald mines. But than we also hear that precious stones are being taken out of Pakistan at throw away price. What a waste....all of our resources are being grossly mishandled.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 19:53 #
  4. netengr

Every one contribute yaar ,if some one has data from CBR that would be more correct .

waisay Wiki bhai yeh kehtay hain

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karachi

Main article: Economy of Karachi
    A view of Karachi's financial district.

Karachi is the financial and commercial capital of Pakistan. In line with its status as a major port and the country's largest metropolis, it accounts for a lion's share of Pakistan's revenue. According to the Federal Board of Revenue's 2006-2007 year book, tax and customs units in Karachi were responsible for 46.75% of direct taxes, 33.65% of federal excise tax, and 23.38% of domestic sales tax[28]. Karachi also accounts for 75.14% of customs duty and 79% of sales tax on imports[28]. Therefore, Karachi generates a significant 53.38% of the total collections of the Federal Board of Revenue (since renamed as the Central Board of Revenue), out of which 53.33% are customs duty and sales tax on imports[28] (Note: Revenue collected from Karachi includes revenue from some other areas since the Large Tax Unit (LTU) Karachi and Regional Tax Offices (RTOs) Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur & Quetta cover the entire province of Sindh and Balochistan[28]). Karachi's indigenous contribution to national revenue is 25%[16].

Karachi produces about 30 percent of value added in large scale manufacturing[29]. A substantial chunk of Sindh’s GDP is attributed to Karachi[30][31] (the GDP of Sindh as a percentage of Pakistan’s total GDP has traditionally hovered around 28%/30%[30][31][32][33]). Karachi’s GDP is around 20% of the total GDP of Pakistan [16][34]. A PricewaterhouseCoopers study released in 2007, that surveyed the GDP (2005) of the top cities in the world, calculated Karachi’s GDP(PPP) to be $55 billion[35] (projected to be $127 billion in 2020 at a growth rate of 5.8%[36]). It confirmed Karachi’s status as Pakistan’s largest economy, well ahead of the next two biggest cities Lahore and Faisalabad having a reported GDP(PPP) of $28 billion and $10 billion, respectively[35]. Karachi's high GDP is based on its mega industrial base, with a high dependency also on the financial sector. Textile, Cement, Steel, Heavy machinery, chemicals, food, Banking, Insurance are the major segments contributing to Karachi's GDP. In February 2007, the World Bank identified Karachi as the most business-friendly city in Pakistan[37]. Karachi is the nerve center of Pakistan's economy. The economic stagnation due to political anarchy, ethnic strife and resultant military operation during late 80s and 90s led to efflux of industry from Karachi. Most of Pakistan's public and private banks are headquartered on Karachi's I.I. Chundrigar Road, while most major foreign multinational corporations operating in Pakistan have their headquarters in Karachi. The Karachi Stock Exchange is the largest stock exchange in Pakistan, and is considered by many economists to be one of the prime reasons for Pakistan's 8% GDP growth across 2005.[38] During the 1960s, Karachi was seen as an economic role model around the world, and there was much praise for the way its economy was progressing. Many countries sought to emulate Pakistan's economic planning strategy and one of them, South Korea, copied the city's second "Five-Year Plan" and World Financial Centre in Seoul is designed and modeled after Karachi.[39][40].

Recently, Karachi has seen an expansion of information and communications technology and electronic media and has become the software outsourcing hub of Pakistan. Call centers for foreign companies have been targeted as a significant area of growth, with the government making efforts to reduce taxes by as much as 10% in order to gain foreign investments in the IT sector[41][42]. Many of Pakistan’s independent television and radio channels are based in Karachi including world popular Business Plus, AAJ News,GEO TV, KTN,[43] Sindh TV,[44] CNBC Pakistan, TV One, ARY Digital, Indus Television Network and Dawn News as well as several local stations.

Karachi has several large industrial zones such as SITE, Korangi, Northern Bypass Industrial Zone, Bin Qasim and North Karachi located on the fringes of the main city.[45] The primary areas are textiles, pharmaceuticals, steel, and automobiles. In addition, Karachi has a vibrant cottage industry and there is a rapidly flourishing Free Zone with an annual growth rate of nearly 6.5%. The Karachi Expo Centre hosts many regional and international exhibitions[46]. There are many development projects proposed, approved and under construction in Karachi. Among projects of note, Emaar Properties is proposing to invest $43bn (£22.8bn) in Karachi to develop Bundal Island, which is a 12,000 acre (49 km²) island just off the coast of Karachi.[47] The Karachi Port Trust is planning a Rs. 20 billion, 1,947 feet (593 m) high Port Tower Complex on the Clifton shoreline.[48][49] It will comprise a hotel, a shopping center, an exhibition center and a revolving restaurant with a viewing gallery offering a panoramic view of the coastline and the city.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:00 #
  5. Anonymous

Pagal Kaa Bachaa...

Where is HM?? lol

He'd have spammed this thread with pagal kaa bacha

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:03 #
  6. Okay, this is correct as far as Karachi or Sindh is concerned, but I was asking, what happened to cities like Faisalabad, known all over the world for textile exports?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:03 #
  7. maybe he is talking about the "funds" for MQM he collects ...

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:04 #
  8. expakistani

MQM is demanding equal distribution of wealth base on earning by province, while our big brothers in Punjab province insist resource distribution on the basis of population alone.

may be karachi or sindh is not adding 70% rev but for sure they are biggest contributor and the money coming from Sindh, Balochistan and NWFP should not be gone to Punjab.

Today if Baloch people are looking for Azadi just because
    we been suckig up their resources since 1948 without any major development

So bottom line is.... dont give my money to HM just bcz he got 10 unplanned kids running around his front yard.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:17 #
  9. I didn't realise that HM have 10 unplanned kids?
    Thats why he is not here these days... lol

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:21 #
  10. Anonymous

Lagging provinces should be given equality grant to bring them at par with other provinces.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:22 #
  11. Before partition of the subcontinent, people from all over current Pakistan travelled to and later settled in Karachi for better prospects. Others as per convince travelled to Bombay. This changed only after 1930, when oil was first discovered and tapped in the middle east. Until than middle east was unknown other. Only Mecca and Medina for Haj purpose.
    Karachi as an only port has its own importance and it keeps growing.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:30 #
  12. Its a long debate...
    We need more units
    smaller units like counties
    and then you divide resources according to your popoulation in that unit.
    Also every units impose their own county Council tax to generate money for local projects of waste disposal, road works, street lights, library, youth programmes, policing, firebrigade etc...

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:33 #
  13. d0ct0r

Let me paste a comment made by a friend about this topic that khi generates 70% of Pakistan's revenue.

"The revenues generated in Karachi do not go out the pockets of Karchitiites. The two main sources of revenues in and around karachi for the Federal government are (1) custom duties on imports and some exports and (2) the corporate taxes paid by national entities such as banks and industries with headquarters in Karachi.

Large companies and financial institutions generate their profits (and therefore their share of taxes) by conducting their business activities through out the country. Most banks, for example, have more branches in the Punjab than anywhere else. So the income (and the taxes on that income) is mostly generated out of Kaarchi, since that’s where 90 percent of Pakistani population and therefore an overwhelming majority of consumers/customers live. Only that when the annual taxes have to be paid they are paid by their chief accountants based in their headquarters in Karachi. Nothing extra goes out of the pockets of the citizens of the city.

Ditto with the international commerce. The goods imported through the port of Karachi are not all consumed in Karachi but a majority goes upstream as that’s where the majority of population and therefore consumers live. The importer pays custom duties through their income generated by selling these products to consumers, and as we have learnt above that consumers are spread from NWFP to Sindh and from Punjab to Balochistan. And export goods are mostly agri-products predominently coming from north of Karachi, and hence any export duties on these goods do not go out the pockets of a common Nazimabad resident.

Now let us talk of the GDP - gross domestic product — another source of random figures thrown at this forum. It is calculated on any activity resulting in productivity (NOT THE REVENUES OR INCOME) of any kind. So a poor peasant living in Dadu or Mianwali generating milk from a domestic cow for the consumption of his family or harvesting enough wheat for his family’s survival is indulging in generating products which are included in the country’s GDP. The farmer does not need to sell his products to generate any profit of income for him but he only has to produce these products (even for his own consumption. The value of products he is generating will form a part of the national GDP.

It is easy to guess that Punjab’s contribution to Pakistan’s GDP will be highest as that’s where most people of the country reside and indulge in generating products. "

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:51 #
  14. d0ct0r

And MQM's absconding terrorist leadership itself does not generate any kinds of revenues,in fact it lives and 'makes their ends meet' on bhathakhori(extorting) money from poor Karachiites and through social security programs of those western countries where they have fled to.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 20:56 #
  15. @doctor
    Makes a lot of sense.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Jun 2009 21:03 #
  16. freeman1

Why am I not surprised that semirza agrees with d0ct0r. Haha!

He makes absolutely no sense at all!

Why does it come as a surprise that Pakistan's most educated city provides the major chunk of pakistan's economy. Here's link from Pakistan economist (for those not fans of reading, it is a business magazine :P)

http://www.pakistaneconomist.com/database2/cover/c99-15.asp

Second Paragaraph last sentence "It is the known fact that Karachi generates over 60 per cent of the total revenue of the country but unfortunately very little attention is paid to resolve the problems faced by this metropolitan city."

Please read the whole article. In the end it also states that Karachi contributes 71%of total tax collection.

It is also a no secret that Punjab has the least tax collection per capita ratio. (We all know how much Nawaz sharif pays in taxes :P)

As for all karachi bahsers please provide stats and numbers. If you can't then please accept the fact and tender apology. If what MK is saying (now mubashar luqman, dr. Danish has also claimed this is in their shows) is wrong then why don't punjabi based politicans come out and refute. REASON: they have no numbers to back up their ill-logical arguments.

BTW following is a link from Pricewaterhouse Coopers. It ranked Khi as number 78 in terms of GDP better than Bangalore, Chennai, Hamburg, Lyon, Amsterdam, Stockholm, Helsinki, Hyderabad India etc.. Lahore is no where to be see.

https://www.ukmediacentre.pwc.com/content/detail.aspx?releaseid=3421&newsareaid=2 (You will have to open the doc/pdf file)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_cities_by_GDP (wiki link)

I guess that is why you guys can't digest KHI's success and growth mainly under SIR MUSTAFA KAMAL!!!

Here is the link for his global youth leader award for SIR MUSTAFA KAMAL :http://www.weforum.org/en/media/Latest%20News%20Releases/PR_YGL2010

Which Punjab based leader is in the list???

I rest my case

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 21:03 #
  17. tamaazkhan

'So a poor peasant living in Dadu or Mianwali generating milk from a domestic cow for the consumption of his family or harvesting enough wheat for his family’s survival is indulging in generating products which are included in the country’s GDP.'

@Doctor

I am sorry, but you are grossly mistaken.

The peasant will be living outside the formal economy and doesn't pay taxes, therefore his produce is not be included in the country's GDP.

How does this affect us?

Well as the peasant doesn't pay taxes (as don't the waderas of sindh and chaudhries of the punjab - because of no agri tax) therefore he doesn't contribute to the pittance that is left for development, after the army, Nawaz Sharif and Zardari are done stealing.

It seems doctor is of the Babar Awan variety.

Remember this also, we are currently importing electricity, rice, wheat, sugar, onions, lentils and pretty much every other staple.
    So Agricultural production cannot even meet domestic demand let alone earn income.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 1:10 #
  18. better way to have correct situation in karachi is to
    conduct impartial and transparent demographical survey communitywise.

you will be surprised to know that urdu speaking community in karachi is less in numbers as compare to pathans, punjabis, sindhis, Balochis.

urderu speaking are not more than 20% of total population in karachi,
    pathans are 25%,
    sindhis are 15%, punjabis are 25%
    Balochis are 15%.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:14 #
  19. above statement of Mr.kamal

this is the rift and hatred ,MQM earns its bread and butter from .

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:37 #
  20. MK ko chahiye kay ab chup chap london chala jaye aur aish karay apnay Quaid ki tarhah .
    yahan beth kay kiya kar raha hay ?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 9:53 #
  21. we do not have hatred for any community all are good, sincere and pakistan loving.

we have to point black sheeps in our society and criminals who claim to be leaders.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 10:42 #
  22. freeman1

Nobody is trying to spread hatred. SIR MK stated a fact. If you have any probs with that state your own numbers WITH SOURCES and I will accept it.!!

Karachi is like the DAD of this country that earns and pay taxes while the rest of the pakistan just eats and does nothing. Do you also criticise your own dad ? haha

Accept it KHI is the one running this country. Its time KHI gets its fair share. We all know what happened with East Pakistan.

And please only facts no BS about how MQM is trying to spread hatred (Beenai) and d0ct0r's ludacris economics, I wonder from where he got his degree University of Pind!!!

HAHAHAAHA

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 11:20 #
  23. @freeman1

You are fogetting a subtle economic rule here. All taxes are passed down and are paid by evenrual consumers of the goods and services.
    So, the tax revenue generated in Karachi is paid by citizens everywhere in Pakistan, not just Karachites.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 11:45 #
  24. toamin

for LBE has altaf bhai granted mayor ticket to mustafa kamal yet?

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 11:46 #
  25. freeman1

@Gujjar Talwar:Only if eventual consumers are Karachiites then they will pay taxes..So?

How about consumers in punjab, KHY-PHKT, Balochistan, why are they contributing less than KHI's share?

I don't understand why khi is the only one contributing?

@salam

Sir they haven't announced LBE dates yet. So i guess they will announce once the date is announced.

But I hope they give ticket to someone else and expand leadership..Move SIR MK to National Politics. I want him to move into NA and blast all these chaudharies, wadeeras, jageerdaras!!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 11:51 #
  26. LiberalKarachi

@d0ct0r,

that's a gross misrepresentation of how it works. let me tackle some of your points:

"The revenues generated in Karachi do not go out the pockets of Karchitiites. The two main sources of revenues in and around karachi for the Federal government are (1) custom duties on imports and some exports and (2) the corporate taxes paid by national entities such as banks and industries with headquarters in Karachi"

There are several other ways in how Karachi generates revenue: There are large industries scattered over many parts of Khi, in particular in SITE, Korangi, Landhi, F.B Area, etc. and also in adjoining areas such as Hub. These industries range from Automobile, electric goods, pharmaceutical, textile, cememnt to smaller industries like Fisharies (only RS. 44.3 billion GNP in 2008). Karachi's contribution to manufactoring division is a little over 30% of the GNP of Pakistan (GNP of manufacturing is RS. 1,892.8 billion).

Secondly, Karachi also has a very large Services Sector (e.g. Wholesale and Retail, IT/Telecom, Trade and commerce, Financial Services (insurance, capital markets, hedge/private equity funds, corporate financing etc.) and so on), which is very vibrant and rapidly growing. If you don't believe me then consider the FDI of 2009: In 2008, Pakistan had FDI of $1,868.4 million in Trade and Commerce division and $1,607.6 million in financial services. Most of that investment was directed at Karachi. As a comparison, Textile only had $30.1 million. So Karachi is keen on Services, and Services sector contributes to 53.2% of your GDP as of 2008.

Also, regarding the way you described the role of big banks, it does not work like that. Almost all of the revenue is calculated on following things by FBR: Income Tax, Customs, Sales Tax, Central Excise. Moreover, if you look at the big banks such as Goldman Sachs, JP Morgan, Citibank etc. that should also clarify the potential confusion you have. As for your point on ports, well Pakistan has around $60 billion of import and export, Karachi Port and Port Qasim (also in Karachi) are used to deal with over 122,250,000 tons of cargo! Those ports are also used by other countries for their import/export, such as those countries in central asia. Water supply to afghanistan for american soldiers rely on those ports too, and Pakistan makes money through them. So it is not too much to ask to get a small slice of the pie for their operation in return. If you had a bus and u charged passengers for transportation, and you generated money for that from passengers, then its yours money. The more operational it is, the better it should be for you.

"And export goods are mostly agri-products predominently coming from north of Karachi, and hence any export duties on these goods do not go out the pockets of a common Nazimabad resident"

That is not true, the most export goods are Petroleum and Petroleum Product, followed by Machinery transport and vehicles, Edible oil, plastic materials, Iron and Steel, medical products. I.e. Not agri-products at all.

Regarding, your point on GDP. We are discussing revenues here not GDP, I think the idea of measuring a city's economical contribution by GDP is a little absurd, as GDP per capita should ideally be uniform throughout the country. Take an example of London, it generates around 20% of UK's GDP but has a revenue contribution of around $36 billion, and is therefore rightly the financial centre of UK. Karachi’s GDP is around 20% of the total GDP of Pakistan. I didn't understand your point about peasant from Dadu or Mianwali and how it relates to GDP of Karachi.

Bottom line is that, those statistics are correct, even in worst of times in Karachi, such as when military operation was on during the 90s, Karachi was pumping over RS. 550+ billion, around 70% of revenue collected by CBR. Lastly, these points are not new and are acknowledged by those who have an understanding of these things. For example, during the last NFC singing, when provinces were given small portion of NFC based on revenue they generated, 68% of that portion was given to Karachi alone, and that NFC was agreed on by all senior members politicians and economists of Pakistan.

I am happy to provide references for the figures I have quoted, if you want.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 22:40 #
  27. quaidkamazaar

hmmm...

some mind boggling points there my friend.^

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 9:18 #
  28. Does this translates into that Karachi accumulates revenue not generates them on its own like other cities do?

Karachi being the biggest port has attracted banks and industry that adds to it's credit.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 9:38 #
  29. furball

how do you know

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 9:40 #
  30. Every Pakistani knows that Karachi is the biggest city, sea port and business hub of Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 9:46 #
  31. SugerMint

This is true for every city serve as financial capital for any country. What New York or Bombay generate is mainly because they are trading/financial/services hubs for their respective countries, they also generate the most per capita direct taxes from people's income because of these institutions. Difference is, they get enough share from the taxes they collect/generate to afloat there local governments. In case Karachi does not get the fair share it deserve from the pool.

In last 3/5 years Pakistan is relaying more on trading/financial/service revenue because with a declining currency (only country in south Asia where local currency is losing value against USD), negative export growth and positive import growth our trade balance is getting worst day by day (means our textile, grains and leather are not bringing the dough as they used to be in past).

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 18:47 #
  32. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@freeman1 u've sumed it up really well. karachi rocks!

and saying that doesnt undermine the importance of other cities. its just that other cities do not have a comparable leadership with that of karachi.

especially lahore, cuz lahoris are more proud of being called the heart of pakistan which is not true. karachi is in fact the heart of pakistan as it has the more diversified popultation, a more cultured and civilized fashion/entertainment/showbiz industry and an educated leadership.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 22:48 #
  33. Anwer Kamal

Lies and misguiding is a way of these killers but Altaf is near to his end and now there is a power war. Everyone wanted to become his successor. MK is one of them.

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 23:21 #
  34. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@semirza n doctor

karachi is not the only city with a coastline and sea ports
    keti bander in thatta is i guess the oldest port, but its not operational anymore?
    why of all the cities located on the pakistani coastal area, krachi is the only one generating so much revenue? these ports were not natural, these were built! karachiites transformed the city to what it is today!
    with the unjust resource allocation, karachi still managed to be the largest city of pakistan in terms of economy, people from all across the country come here, and not only people from pakistan but there is a little number of people from bangladesh, bhutan, myanmar.

and do not give lame excuses when u cant argue logically

punjab is the land of 5 rivers, greatest population and hence greatest no. of people's representatives on the parliament. the most important public utility WAPDA is in punjab, textile and agriculture is highly based in that province..... then why cant it generate as much GDP as the city of karachi alone?

and karachiites pay more taxes than others. and they dont support leaders who do not pay taxes and lie to the public and brainwash their supporters about the parties who are actually supporting the common man. i hope its clear which party i m referring to :P

Posted 1 year ago on 10 Jul 2010 23:22 #
  35. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@ gujjar talwar

u say taxes are passed on to the citizens?
    first of all, these citzens are karachiites
    and secondly, its not just to put the huge load of these indirect taxes on citizens regardless of the city they are living in

u should just try to find out the reason why there is the need to impose these indirect taxes on the common man???

its very simple. the jagirdars, waderas and industrialists in other cities do not pay DIRECT taxes. shame on them and shame on those who support them

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 0:31 #
  36. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@ gujjar talwar

u say taxes are passed on to the citizens?
    first of all, these citzens are karachiites
    and secondly, its not just to put the huge load of these indirect taxes on citizens regardless of the city they are living in

u should just try to find out the reason why there is the need to impose these indirect taxes on the common man???

its very simple. the jagirdars, waderas and industrialists in other cities do not pay DIRECT taxes. shame on them and shame on those who support them

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 0:31 #
  37. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

punjab has lollywood, more tourism spots, rivers, montains, dams, more agricultural land, textile industry......
    richest families live in punjab including mansha guy, sharif brothers, saigol group walay etc etc...

and yet, people find reasons for targeting karachi, the backbone, heart, kidney, liver of Pakistan!!!!

wake up guys! u cant do anything to improve urself until and unless u realize and identify where the mistake is...

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 0:37 #
  38. shriq

Rizwi,

I am from Lahore and I want to say that without doubt Karachi is the heart of Pakistan. But I did not like your fashion of saying this....

The generation of wealth of Pakistan from just one city is one proof of the gross negligence of our planners in the past. They did not try to establish more industrial hubs in Pakistan. Only one big seaport....

The wealth generation is also from Sialkot, Chiniot, Lahore, Gujranwala, Wazirabad, Faisalabad, PKP, Baluchistan as they have industrial setups, fruits and vegs, and gas.

Can anybody else give us some data on the other cities of Pakistan?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 1:07 #
  39. mjkk86

@rizvi
    What mqm gotta do with karachi's revenue generation or its effect on GDP, these two are diffrent things if you want to praise mqm you are more than wellcome to start a new thread.
    Karachi used to be pakistan's capital thats why most of the old banks have their head offices in karachi, thats why state bank, largest stock exchange, biggest port, offices and bases of law enforcement agencies including army, navy and airforce were based in karachi, nothing new these departments always been in karachi.
    mqm did'nt invest a single penny or devoted their time for these departments infact mqm was the reason behind decline of city's growth in the most important sector textile industries, don't you know that karachi was the hub of textile industries but due to political unstability textile industries moved to faisalabad.
    do you know seoul was inspired by karachi and for your information altaf hussain was not even a university student at that time.if mqm is happen to be in karachi that does'nt mean they made this city it's signficance and impact on our economy is not something mqm is responsible for.
    it has nothing to do with mqm just like killings in karachi, strikes, violence, ransom, power cut, target killing, poverty, stanadard of living, unemployment, education has nothing to do with mqm afterall karachi is place of 20 million habitants how can mqm be responsible for their deeds same principle applies for economy aswell.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 1:18 #
  40. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@ raavi and mjkk86
    i did not mean to offend anyone, my apologies
    ironically, the rest of pakistan specially the next big cities after karachi are in punjab. these cities (lahore, faisalabadm rawalpindi, gujrat etc) are the strongholds of political parties governed by the feudals and together, make a huge representation cuz of the local population of these cities.

since the beginning, these parties have been getting in the central govt oe after another doing nothing for the common man... they dont bring land reforms, economic reforms, taxation policies, development projects.... and they never will, because if they will, the ruling feudals will loose their personal wealth which they have accumulated through corruption

but if u see the ruling party of karachi, u can clearly see the difference. MQM has its roots in the general public..... u shud come to karachi sometime and see for urself how an ordinary party worker goes on to become an educated representative unlike in other parties...

the city district govt karachi CDGK under the mqm leadership has done tremendous developments, attracting foreign investments and ease of trade and transition... u cant alienate a political party from economic development...

and not only karachi, but hyderabad has also developed a lot in recent years.. and now there is a conspiracy going on aboput changing the geography of that region to affect the power of MQM

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 1:40 #
  41. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

and its been ages since the capital was shifted to islamabad
    why then islamabad is still lying barren?

and i dunno which OLD banks you are talking about?
    most of the banks have been established in the current decade... BCCI which was once the 7th largest bank of the world was owned by a karachiite, Mr AGHA HASAN ABIDI bt its headquarters were in london... the bank was closed because of the conpiracies hatched by the jews

despite the fact that pakistan's richest families and individuals belong to punjab, karachi's stock exchange being the biggest is like a slap of those rich people's face!

and the major army bases also moved to punjab and KP way back

u said "mqm dint invest a penny or devoted their time in the city's growth.." let me tell you that no party invests its own money on the developmental project..... all parties use the taxes collected by the public on such projects and most of the parties eat the public's money through corruption

MQM has however been a bit different. residents of DHA karachi willingly paid taxes to the CDGK under the MQM leadership... i dont think that has happened anywhere else in pakistan

and let me tell u one more thing, when ishaq dar was made the finance minister when the current ruling parties came into power in 2008, during his visit to the USA, he showed the balance sheet of pakistani economy which prompted the foreign investors to withdraw their investments......
    hence u can not deny the role of a political party in the economic developments

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 1:57 #
  42. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

and seoul isnt inspired by karachi. seoul has been developed using a 5 year master plan by a pakistani economist Mehboob-il-haq and people confuse it by saying that seoul was inspired by karachi... the truth is that the whole south korea benegitted from that plan and not just the city of seoul
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mehboob_Ul_Haq

pakistan would have been more prosperous and developed country had we used that plan by mehboob-ul-haq ourself...

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 2:10 #
  43. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

karachi is still very much involved in textile...
    most of the internationally recognised pakistani designers and based in karachi

textile industry in concentrating more in other cities like faisalabad cuz of comparatively cheap labour and low cost... cotton crop is mostly cultivated in punjab.

and dont u think that the shift of a major chunk of textile industry to faisalabad is good for both karachi and faisalabad... people of faisalabad also got jobs... and the burden on the city economy of karachi relieved to some extent

but the move to faisalabad isnt really fruitfull as the industry is collapsing cuz of energy shorfall... again, thanks to wapda which is at the helm of corrupt leader's cronies

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 2:18 #
  44. I think this claim of 70% revenue from Karachi is preposterous. That is not to say that MQM's self serving leadership will stop saying what they are saying.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 3:54 #
  45. shriq

First thing, MQM has nothing to do with this 70% revenew phenomenon. Dont praise your party for what they did nothing.

Someone above wrote that it is Karachi leadership which has done it! Again denying the facts! Karachi became PAKISTAN KA BAP:

1 - Being the capital of Pakistan prior to being shifted to Islamabad. The businesses were set up there and when it was shifted to Islamabad, do you see it wise to uproot all business from Karachi and shift to new place.

2 - Karachi had one of the biggest educated population and hence the workforce required for all the businesses. Our stupid leaders have not tried to train people in other parts of the country. You know it that what are the basic requirements of any business setup:
    a)availability of trained work force
    b)proximity to transportation facilities
    c)proper infrastructure i))Electricity ii))Roads iii)) phones etc etc
    e)and others

So whatever investment was done during the time, it was done in Karachi. NO MQM participation at that time. No credit to them!

By the way it leaves us to think that why other parts were neglected? Why educational, vocational facilities were not setup elsewhere in Pakistan? Why infrastructure was neglected? Why other ports were not constructed?

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 7:52 #
  46. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

if u re-read my previous posts, may be you will realize that my point is that karachi isnt the sole city with geographical advantages..... time again, ive been saying that punjab is richest in resources... and yet, the whole punjab province cant generate as much revenue as karachi alone...

and whatever u said in ur post supports the fact that no other party who has ruled over the rest of pakistan and had central govt did nothing for the development...
    MQM has done a lot, infrastructure, hospitals, govt schools, parks, parking plazas, recreational public spots... this has all contributed to the influx of people from other cities and investments

if u study the demographics and population growth in karachi, u'd realize that karachi has seen a tremendous population growth in recent years, it more than doubled in just a decade... this growth has been very costly from the domiciled karachiites as the unemployment rate is high, inflation is high, karachiites pay most taxes, even more tax is charged on electricity in karachi than in any other city..... yet, the city of karachi is warm enough to accomodate everyone!

please DO NOT ALIENATE a political party from the economy of the area which it represents...

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 10:23 #
  47. shriq

1 - Karachi was producing most revenew even before Altaf Bhai was thinking of making MQM. You cant deny this and this proves other things that I have said. Read my post again.

2 - What was the percentage of infrastructure in other parts of Pakistan prior to MQM era? Think about it. It was more in Karachi and hence this city attracted more businesses.

3 - Karachi is the city with most electricity theft. Only around one electric pole I counted 20 kundas. Ok I did not take photo at that time and can not prove now. So kindly prove your statement "even more tax is charged on electricity in karachi than in any other city".

Sir, Give only credit where it is due! Please

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 15:57 #
  48. Hussain Farooqui

The other cities of Pakistan are potential for tax collection, but the problem lies with the political influence in the revenue collection departments. In Karachi, most of the businessmen are non-political people, whereas in the other parts of Pakistan, most of the businessmen are directly or indirectly political people. The revenue departments fail to put hands on the political backed people, so they fail to collect any substantial revenues.

Posted 1 year ago on 11 Jul 2010 17:26 #
  49. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

@raavi
    the electricity theft is incorporated in the bills of karachi for your info, so it doesnt go unpaid, this is cause KESC operates in karachi, not wapda..... kesc is the electricty distributor, not producer...hence it rlies on wapda! in a city of around 2 crore people which is increasing everyday, kundas are a genuine issue, and mqm is working for that as well... there have been resettlements going on on the sides of lyari river and encroachments in several areas have been removed where electricity was being theft in a high proportion

and mqm doesnt steal electricity, unlike some other party who uses the stolen electricty for its public jalsay and rallies etc... party belonging to a feudal who doesnt even pay taxes and lives in palacial house

u cant imagine how life for karachiites would have been had the mqm not developed infrastructure, upgraded a few hospitals, govt schools, parks etc.... the map ok karachi is changed.... and now its impossible that the old road structure can handle the traffic of karachi... it all connects to the GDP as transit of goods imported and exported is done using the roads etc..... goods are supplied all over pakistan..... there are 3-4 industrial areas in karachi which would have collapsed... investments withdrawn

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Jul 2010 5:00 #
  50. if Karachi is producing 70% of revenue that makes it more important to not to let it be in the hands of a mafia .

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Jul 2010 5:54 #