Khalid Khawaja former ISI official found murdered....

(74 posts)
  1. Geo news reports body of Khalid Khawaja has been found from Mir Ali – Miran Shah. He is shot in the chest and head with ASIAN TIGERS written on his body.

http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Regional/21-Apr-2010/CIA-accused-of-ordering-kidnap-of-Khalid-Khawaja-report/

The CIA has been accused of ordering the kidnapping of a former Pakistani intelligence officer, who turned human rights campaigner to defend al-Qaeda suspects.
    The wife of Khalid Khawaja claims that her husband, who was once a confidante of Osama bin Laden, was taken at the request of the American intelligence service as he travelled through Pakistan's lawless tribal belt.
    On Monday a group calling itself the Asian Tigers released videos of Mr Khawaja, and the colleague he was captured with, saying that they were in "Taliban custody" and demanding the release of arrested militant leaders.
    The kidnapping has baffled analysts who believe the two men were instrumental in fostering close ties between Pakistan's intelligence agencies and radical Islamist groups. Yesterday his wife, Shamama Khalid, said she did not believe her husband had been captured by the Taliban.
    "We heard some groups there are supported by the CIA," she said. "My husband is against this American war so maybe the Americans want to remove him from the fray."
    Mr Khawaja was taken along with Colonel Amir Sultan, known as Colonel Imam, as they travelled through North Waziristan, a mountainous region of Pakistan that borders Afghanistan.

Now who are the ASIAN TIGERS!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8654520.stm

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:11 #
  2. siddiqi73

Those who live by the gun - die by the gun.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:15 #
  3. aftab arif

I posted this link in the main news section 1 week ago, i just wanted to share with you guys if you have not seen already and just some background to this killing.

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/LD24Df04.htm

They is also a video to watch of the colonel.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:21 #
  4. yahya

@siddiqi73: Aptly said.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:24 #
  5. I heard a senior journalist - Rahimullah Yousafzai - and he said that these 'Asian tigers' are actually 'laskar-e-jhangvi' and they've killed Khalid khawaja because although he supported Afghan taliban, he had criticized Pakistani taliban (who are against Pak-Army) frequently in his interviews. And he also said that, they might do no harm to Col. Imam.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:26 #
  6. NNL

there is another spin to this story.

I guess Mirza Sahib might agree.

They found an ex intelligence officer dead and the in the same week they find a mole working for the ISI in Indian Embassy.

With what Umer just said i think Khawaja sahib found the link to the TTP and Indian Armed Forces in Pakistan and the Indians did a clean up job.

What to do u guys think ?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:31 #
  7. aftab arif

I am sad he has died because on the face of it he was a big advocate for missing people.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:34 #
  8. NNL your observation is spot on. A new trend and twist to terrorism saying goodbye to Taliban as Asian TIGERS are on board now.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:35 #
  9. SufiSoul

Lets wait some time and the things will be cleared....

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:40 #
  10. LalBichoo

siddiqi73,

""Those who live by the gun - die by the gun. ""

Totally agree with you !

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:41 #
  11. NNL

Mirza sahib this is strategy is very well known amongst the Jewish circles. Its all about controlling the information.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 13:52 #
  12. They are a sort of getting exposed now. A much clearer picture will emerge in the coming days.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 14:01 #
  13. "Asian Tigers"? Oh come on...That is so corny. And that "ASIAN TIGERS written on his body" bit stinks of a setup/cover up

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 14:37 #
  14. Here is some more interesting stuff:
    http://www.dunyanews.tv/main_category_eng.php?nid=12709&catid=2&flag=d

Asian Tigers comprise of people with extreme mentality: Rustam Shah

Former Secretary FATA Rustam Shah speaking to Dunya News said that there are elements and regions in the country where government has no writ. He said that the government has failed to tackle the issue.

He said that Asian Tigers comprise of people with extreme mentality. The group Asian Tigers has disintegrated itself from the Taliban, he said that the group can be compared with the Tamil Tigers. He believed that Asian Tigers would just kill anyone whom they capture. It is very unfortunate that government cannot do anything against them.
    Rustam said that Asian Tigers have no contact with Taliban and their identity is unclear. He said that the involvement of Black water cannot be ruled out as they want to destabilize the FATA region. Government was assuming that abducted people had close links with Taliban leadership.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 15:58 #
  15. LiberalKarachi

According to Khawaja in the video: "I was in the air force for 18 years, of which two years were with the ISI, and I am here because [of] General Hamid Gul, General Aslam Baig and the ISI's Colonel Sajjat."

Maybe after this event, the message that terrorists are not our friends would sink in Hamid Gul's, and the political parties he fostered, mind.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 20:36 #
  16. skunkk

Khuss kam jahan paak

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 20:37 #
  17. skunkk

@ nota: I think the Asian Tigers indicate another of ISI time failed policies. Now a series of incidents will be blamed on them, my guess is that ISI is gonna give them a Pashtun nationalist image backed by India and Afganistan. This would be used to de-link taliban from terror and to prove taliban innocent.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 20:41 #
  18. Shock

This was no conspiracy by India or Raw, as it is usually claimed by the right wing true muslims. One extremist group just killed the another extremist. Hameed Gul is now going to do politics on Khwaja's corpse by saying that this was done by Americans. Couldn't the Americans just send the drone to kill Khwaja?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 21:55 #
  19. skunkk

@ Shock:

I am just alluding to the fact that the name of the organisation is not at all normal. It is a very secular name. Inspired from Tamil Tigers and not something a regular jehadi outfit has. Thus it compels me to think that is there more to it, however, i conclude that this is an ISI act, through and through.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 21:59 #
  20. zia m

Anybody know about his role in Lal Masjid incident? It may shed some light on the motive of the killers.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 22:28 #
  21. khyam

HAMID GUL MAY BE THE NEXT..........

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 22:34 #
  22. zia m

Hamid Gul is not an idiot(?) to endanger his life.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Apr 2010 23:33 #
  23. Wahid Doyum

Zia m, his role was to get muullah aziz outside in burqa and this plan failed, which embarrassed jihadis a lot. punjabi taliban of lal masjid blamed khalid khawaja for this.

To all who think CIA killed him. His body was found deep in taliban country, near mir ali. No CIA can go there. This is just a reaction of a jihadi unit that has realized the duplicity of ISI and Pakistani establishment in both supporting and fighting jihadi groups as needed and taking money from US as needed as well.

And also, if CIA was involved, who exactly were the big jihadis leaders shah abdul aziz and javid ibrahim paracha negotiating with all this time to get his release? Were they trying to organize jarga with the CIA? Syed Saleem Shahzad of Asia Times had already posted a message of Pakistani taliban spokesmen saying that they would kill khalid khawaja and his article once again came true.

What kahldi khawaja did to pukhtuns for decades happened to him in the end. Allah is indeed the best of planners.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 1:34 #
  24. Wahid Doyum

This article has video tapes of the isi agent before death:

http://atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/LD24Df04.html

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 2:56 #
  25. toamin

poor guy lost his life

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 3:32 #
  26. Wahid Doyum

He was not a "poor" guy.

Anyway, more interesting details:
    Ex-MNA and taliban supporter Javed Paracha admits that Lashkar-jhangvi/punjabi taliban killed khalid khwaja.

Also, Waliur-Rehman of TTP was also out to get Khalid Khawaja for drone strike on his vehicle.

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/news/pakistan/04-khalid-khwaja-killed-qs-13

Mr Javed Ibrahim Paracha, who played host to Khwaja and his companions when they had stopped over in Kohat on way to North Waziristan, said the Asian Tigers was an offshoot of the banned Lashkar-i-Jhangvi comprising mostly Punjabi Taliban.

Mr Paracha said that Khwaja had told him they were going to North Waziristan to work on a documentary with a journalist from a British television channel to highlight collateral damage caused by drone attacks.

But Khwaja’s son, Osama Khalid, told a private television channel his father had gone on a peace mission.

He said that a Punjabi militant named Osman had organised the group’s visit to North Waziristan.

According to a journalist who had spoken to Khwaja before his departure for the restive region he had told him that he wanted to persuade the Taliban to stop suicide bombings and attacks inside Pakistan and instead focus their attention on combating the United States and Nato forces in Afghanistan.

But according to some analysts, the main reason for his murder might have been his offer to arrange talks with security agencies in return for militants’ commitment to stop attacks inside Pakistan and focus instead on Afghanistan.

“This might have raised their (militants’) suspicion,” said one analyst. Mr Paracha said that the vehicle of Tehrik-i-Taliban leader Wali-ur Rehman had come under a drone attack soon after he had met Khwaja and his companions. Because of the attack, he said, Waliur Rehman also wanted to get hold of him.

Total failure of divide and rule policy of ISI between "good" and "bad" taliban. All taliban are bad.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 6:02 #
  27. junaid

missing person cases could also shed some light on it. i think asian tigers or whatever have no choice now. now they have to face two ends.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 6:52 #
  28. aour choopo

The evil game started in 80's is paying dividends.

Deobandi talibans title has got so bad image and hatred that these terrorists have changed their name to Asian Tigers.

Col.Imam was very proudly stating on one TV programme that he tarined afghan (mujahedin) terrorsits and so trained that they were able to make a dirty bomb in kitchen.

Aour chhoopoo

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 7:08 #
  29. @truepakistani
    Explain this phrase you used 'aour choopo'

Also kindly provide a credible backup to your claim:
    Col.Imam was very proudly stating on one TV programme that he trained afghan (mujahedin) terrorsits and so trained that they were able to make a dirty bomb in kitchen.

Specifically as you say he trained them into making dirty bombs in a kitchen!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 7:28 #
  30. Wahid Doyum

Col Imam/Amir Sultan Tarrar who was trained at Ft Bragg by US Special Forces in 70s is a fasadi just like his fellow agent the departed Khalid Khwaja. Khalid Khwaja thought that the commanders of Taliban were stupid and tried to convince them that their deputy commanders ere CIA/RAW agents just because they were not following ISI script 100% of the time.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 7:38 #
  31. col imam was giving interview just 3 months back on pakistan tv channel . I still strict to my claim.

Aour chhoopo means, playing with fire/guns always turn to be yourself.,

trained afghan mujahedin in 80's and now facing the music.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 7:39 #
  32. Which TV channel is exactly what I am interested that backs your claim 'he trained afghan (mujahedin) terrorists in 80' to make a DIRTY BOMB in a kitchen!

'aour choopo' sounds Punjabi; a cheeky unethical remark! Isn't it so?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 7:48 #
  33. toamin

some people are still getting heart burns due to USSR's defeat in 80s at the hands of brave freedom fighters :)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 9:06 #
  34. yahya

Soon after their disappearance, Punjabi militants calling themselves the "Asian Tigers" sent a video to the media in which they demanded a ransom of US$10 million for the release of Asad Qureshi and the freedom of Taliban leaders Mullah Baradar and Mansoor Dadullah in exchange for Khawaja and Colonel Imam.

http://atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/LD24Df04.html

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 9:25 #
  35. toamin

khalid khawaja had a dubious role in lal masjid and he paid the price for that-

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 11:40 #
  36. atruepakistani

@modrator and samerza
    Hor choopoo(this punjabi word cant be translated into english .for understanding its mean eat more sugar cane(GANNA). There is a story behind it about dreaming peoples.Onec in a village some people were sitting and gosping about their future.One person says i will have a piece of land and will grow sugar cane on it.Then it will be big and cutt it and sell to market and will have great money.The second say if neighbours will steal that suger cane from your fields then??he said a bad word against them.The naibhour hear that and starts fighting with them...it became a big fight between them.many people injured .some elders came inbetween and stop the fight.Then they ask what is the reason behind this fight.They know all the story.Then elders say you deserve that treatment,,,hor choopo(there is no land ,no grown sugar cane no stealing but fighting on it)This is all about dreaming people.
    2ndly Col imam was on Geo Tv in Jawab dey.

Who are you anyway to jump in. for that sit and ponder when you are not asked don't behave as you are Mr. Know it all. You have been blocked as for now as a clone for truepakistani.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 11:55 #
  37. Is this the final TV appearance of col. Imam before his capture in FATA?

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/03/12/in-session-12-march-2010
    http://pkpolitics.com/2010/03/11/jirga-11-march-2010

He says, “There has been a civil war in Pukhtunkhwa for several years. …. Civil war in Karachi has just started. …. Next and the biggest front will be South Punjab. ….. The waderas have oppressed <hareez> for too long. They made a mistake to let these hareez go to Madaris. Now it is their turn…. Until unless the Drone attacks are not stopped, this revenge will continue. ….. We should talk to <people> in FATA.”

Part 1
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/09/20/jawab-deyh-20-september-2009/

Part 2
    http://pkpolitics.com/2009/09/13/jawab-deyh-13-september-2009/

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 13:53 #
  38. i was not recalling the date 12 March Geo programme Jawabdeh.

Some people here always demand the proove.To give the exact dates and proove sometimes is diificult.

and people try to escape.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 14:01 #
  39. @semirza

To many mirzas in news now a days. LOL. Here is the context you were looking for:

@minute 8:00 – “I have studied sabotage explosive in USA. I can make explosive from a well to do family’s kitchen. If there are usual things, I can assemble an incendiary bomb in 20 minutes. Things can be washing powder, sugar and salts."

Other Reference
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geneva_Accords_(1988)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 15:15 #
  40. SufiSoul

Khalid khawaja was never tortured,Jailed,humiliated and things like that while playing role in lal masjid and human rights..
    While shah abdul aziz MNA was treated the same..

This is the case when you dont have any ideological tussel with ISI and Army...
    SO khalid was sent their to have some achievements for the ARMY..
    BUT they(Taliban) were already having intelligence confirmed that he was on the ARMY side in lal masjid and now also want relaxations for ARMY Fighting in Waziristan...

DOUBLE is never allowed and you will be punished for your double role,like the khawaja....

On the other side ARMY cannot afford negotiations with MILITANTS as they cannot be in contact with them....
    SO they were in search of QURBANI K BAQRAY,in shape of Khawaja,Imam and others.....

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 15:39 #
  41. @truepakistani
    I would say why not have a back seat till you come up with the real meaning of 'aour choopo'. In the mean time aour choop till you think you actually did crossed over the lines of COC. Your choice a ganna or what ever.
    So sit tight and choop to your hearts pleasure.

No more cheeky remarks as aour choopo.

When you don't have a backup to your claim saying:

Col.Imam was very proudly stating on one TV programme that he tarined afghan (mujahedin) terrorsits and so trained that they were able to make a dirty bomb in kitchen.

Than once again take a back seat as for now, because you are spreading dangerous propaganda linking Pakistani authourities for training of people in the making of DIRTY BOMBS using ordinary kitchens that you only happen to know and knowbody else. A wrong message about Pakistan and Pakistani authorities.

Bring in credible evidence or stay away from spreading dangerous romours blaming Pakistani authorities for something that never ever happened.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:01 #
  42. It is shameful now ISI officials are losing their lives at the hands of these criminals. Once ISI fed them and look what they are getting. Biting the hands that feed you is so immoral and shameful.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:31 #
  43. SufiSoul

semirza,

AAP NY BORA PHASA DIYA HY IS (RESPECTABLE) MEMBER KO...

{Hor Choopo} is never a respectable word to use against any one..
    I know Punjabi may be you dont know...

And the member is ,LAGA KERNY AYAIN BAIN SHAIN....LOLZZZZ

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:35 #
  44. SufiSoul Bhai Sahab. Aour Choopo is extremely derogatory and possible offensive when ever used. Against forum ethics to use such remarks.
    I do know Punjabi and its only known two scripts that I know; one is GuruMukhi and the other as ShahMukhi!
    I do communicate in 'Thaith Punjabi' even though I have been away from Punjabi culture since long.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:46 #
  45. Highly respected Mirza Jee,

I do not see any objectionable content in my last post you DELETED. It tried to share very useful information about col. imam. Be objective and keep your nerves ice cool.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:47 #
  46. Azizi Bhai Sahab
    Pls accept my apology. Kindly post it again if you don't mind. In case you are talking about the sabotage through IED's than I am afraid I do not fully agree with you.
    Your post is on this thread that I do find quite interesting!

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 16:51 #
  47. I posted a quote from Col. Imam and the quote is from the video referred. You can play the video and listen to it yourself. Here I am pasting it again from my Word file.

@minute 8:00 – “I have studied sabotage explosive in USA. I can make explosive from a well to do family’s kitchen. If there are usual things, I can assemble an incendiary bomb in 20 minutes. Things can be washing powder, sugar and salts."

Other Reference
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geneva_Accords_(1988)

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 17:03 #
  48. He may have studied 'sabotage' BUT a very HUGE but! I am willing to provide washing powder of a REQUIRED BRAND if there is any, sugar and SALTS. Now when you say salts what exactly do you mean with salts and not just a salt? Oxidizing or Reducing? Where is the incendiary agent. Not sugar!

You may come up with something like a BANG, rather a loose one but never an incendiary bomb with quoted ingredients!

Like to give it a try! Or colonel Imam bluffed even though he had full knowledge about Arms and Ammunition specially Incendiary Ordinance.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 17:14 #
  49. Wahid Doyum

Now where is nota who was saying that CIA had kidnapped the great jihadi khalid khwaja. LOL, this is the worst ISI propaganda I have ever heard.

Civil war between ISI and their assets is the best news for pukhtuns.

Aur jihadio ko pallo or un say khelo.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 20:39 #
  50. Wahid Doyum

@semirza, the important point is that Col Imam is an ISI terrorist who trained taliban and also plays double game of supporting taliban west of durand line, but says bad things about taliban east of durand line. Of course taliban will not support this duplicity from an ISI agent.

Unless mullah omar intervenes through haqqani, his fate may also be the same.

I hope imran khan, nawaz sharif, zaid hamid, munawar hassan also go to north waziristan soon for "peace" mission.

This is a MASSIVE failure of hypocritical
    ISI policy of defining good and bad Taliban/AQ.

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 20:45 #