Khi & The Future of the Global Metropolis - Mustafa Kamal lecture at think-tank

(32 posts)
  1. LiberalKarachi

Mustafa Kamal's latest lecture at the think tank James Baker at Institute for Public Policy, Rice University on: "The Future of the Global Metropolis: The Case of Karachi and Its Importance in the Region" couple of days ago. He said Pakistan needs trade access not aid, Pakistan and army has rendered great sacrifices for this WoT, Karachi is becoming the regional economic hub and internationally strategic city, war on terrorism can only be won through development and empowerment of poor and not through arms.

Summary:

According to The News:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=236507
    Thursday, April 29, 2010
    By By our correspondent
    Karachi

Former City Nazim Syed Mustafa Kamal has urged the United States to act like a real partner and commit itself to making Pakistan a stronger country not by giving aids but by enabling it to gain a strong foothold on its own.

“The stability of Pakistan is not only key to the region but also to the world and a stronger Pakistan will have positive consequences for the world,” he said while delivering a lecture on “The Future of the Global Metropolis: The Case of Karachi and Its Importance in the Region,” at the Institute for Public Policy in the Rice University of Houston, USA.

He said that the US should allow Pakistani goods’ access to its market, as it has been offering to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. He said that this access will help create more jobs at the local level and evil forces will not be able to exploit the situation by spreading despondency and brainwashing young people’s mind. He said that evil forces thrived on poverty and lack of opportunities.

He said that the Pakistan Army was playing an important role in the fight against terrorism. He said that in the fight against terrorists, the Pakistan Army lost more lives than the NATO and US forces in Afghanistan.

“Over 10,000 army men were martyred or injured while 25,000 civilians lost their lives last year,” he said.

He said that the US should build universities in Pakistan like the one it has built in Beirut.

Kamal said that the citizens of Karachi are moderate, liberal and secular and they are a bulwark against religious extremism. “Karachi has become the 12th largest and developed city of the world,” he added

Comeplete lecture:

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 18:17 #
  2. Great speech and his message is clear for the audience. We need trade with USA not aid.
    Well Done MK

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 21:24 #
  3. Anwer Kamal

where is Altaf now?

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 21:51 #
  4. Anwer Kamal

Posted 2 years ago on 01 May 2010 21:55 #
  5. Mustafa Kamal has a vision for Pakistan and I support his views for the future of this country.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 May 2010 9:47 #
  6. Karachi ka future Mustafa Kamal kay hath mein nahin.
    Allah Talah kay hath mein hay ....

Allah ka lakh lakh shukar.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 7:20 #
  7. mjkk86

he is probably the best mayor in paksitan but his english and presentation skills are worst on this planet, he is not a good speaker, lmao.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 12:11 #
  8. siddiqi73

@choosy,

Waqai mein bhai, Allah raham karay.....jahil laloo khatia

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:04 #
  9. siddiqi73

@sweettruth,

Bro, we don't support a vision which is based on ethnic discrimination, bhatta khoree, terrorism, condemning the creation of Pakistan and hypocricy; the hallmarks of MQM's politics.....The less the better about this visionary a$$ Mustafa Kamal

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:08 #
  10. @siddiqi73

You are jealous of Mustafa Kamal and his success. This man has changed face of Karachi which I personally noticed during my last visit to the city. This man has certainly has vision for his city. Baseless allegations which you have mentioned above will not stop vision of MK.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:32 #
  11. siddiqi73

Lol at the notion of being jealous of Mustafa Kamal....the mere thought of it makes me wanna puke. Lord have mercy if this **** has a vision for this city.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:51 #
  12. @siddiqi73

Why are you jealous of MK?
    Are you not happy if he wins prizes for best Mayor?
    Are you jealous if he is invited to a University in Texas USA for lecture?
    Are you jealous if he presents his vision for the city?
    Are you jealous because MK wants trade with USA not aid?

We may have political differences with anyone but calling spade a spade is ethical.
    Stop being jealous and take off goggles of bigotry.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 16:25 #
  13. tamaazkhan

@Sweettruth

For some people its easier to close their eyes and ears and scream, BHATTA, MAFIA, ETHNIC, MURDER, than to see what going around them.

Its pointless, they do not need proof of crimes or record of development, the verdict has been given, the sentence has been passed all that is remaining is the excecution.

However, the excecution part requires reality, in order to aviod that they prefer to stay in their own dream world.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 22:08 #
  14. Anonymous

He yeald at media, He said all political leaders are Ullo ka Pathas, he did badtameezi...What else???Do anyone here think that people even care about those stuff when their distances of hours shorten by minutes or quarters of an hour????No one cares about all this when they saw TV they found other leaders also involved in Rape, credit card theft, Fake degrees and other such issues as well and this is just yelling and Badtameezi stuff to consider...The fact is when people went outside their house away from TV and travel around the city through Signal free corridors and Liyari express way which has almost shorten the distances which took people 2-3 hours at least to cover are now covering it in 1/2 hours at average speed they definitely didnt tired giving that person their blessing and their appreciation even though he is with them or not...That is the thing which I think people living outside Karachi who visit Karachi rarely wont able to understand...

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 22:45 #
  15. the language one uses ,reflects well his background ,qualification and intentions in his mind .

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:11 #
  16. siddiqi73

@All MQM lovers,

Say all you want but you can't transform a crow into a nightingale.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:15 #
  17. Anwer Kamal

Altaf is now in London

Altaf is agent of Qadiyanis, He recognize qadiyani as muslim, but infact they are non muslim, and agent of jews

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:16 #
  18. @Siddiqi73,
    he he he
    they dont wanna become nightangle ,they wanna become "Gidh"
    jo maray hoye ka goshat khata hay .
    MQM is murda khor ...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:17 #
  19. Altaf hussain a vulture always stalking his prey,

Altaf hussain a vulture in eagle's clothing

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:20 #
  20. he he he
    good Psycho bhai ...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 6:21 #
  21. @choosy and psycho

Why you guys cannot tolerate a hard working and honest Pakistani Mayor who is doing his best for the people of Karachi?
    Why you extremists are jealous of MK success?
    University in Texas has invited ex-Mayor of Karachi to listen to his views and to know how he manages a large city of 18 million population. In his speech, he has outlined his views with clear vision and I especially liked the key point of "trade with America not aid". You guys would not understand MK unless you take off goggles of bigotry. If your blood is boiling on MK success, what one can do? Just visit Karachi to see yourself how immensely popular Mustaf Kamal is.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 11:35 #
  22. A general nature of Pakistani mentality is to assess the doer than to evaluate what is produced.

Quaid-e-Azam was luckier than Abdus Salam and Mustafa Kamal.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 12:06 #
  23. @sweettruth bhai sahib,
    he he he
    uff me and jealous out of MK?
    i am more honest any day than MK.
    i never sold anything which is a collective property .
    but he did .
    i was not awarded any public office and than did the Byae Aimani...he did so .
    so i am better off him...
    so whats the point of jealousy ????????????????????????????????

i am just trying to register that he is a Bluff Master .
    he portrayed himself as a best well wisher of Karachi.
    but he is not .
    thats why he is trying hard to prove himself one .
    he has sold Karachi .
    1000 of meetings with Hallbroke are on record .
    please deny..........

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 14:24 #
  24. @choosy and other MK haters

You and some others are highly jealous because MK is doing a good job for his city. He is being praised by many as a hard working Mayor. He has been getting awards for his services to Karachi city. He is being invited by Universities to deliver lectures on good management. He has played a key role in the development of largest Pakistani city by embarking on mega projects. His strategy has been successful and people of Karachi have given him their full support. During my last visit to Karachi, I found MK as a very popular leader; 9 people out of 10 were praising him. You and some other cannot digest the fact that this young and honest mayor is being glorified for his hard work.
    Now to answer your childish point that he has sold Karachi to Americans; what is wrong if he meets with Hallbroke? Is it a crime meeting with Hallbroke? Has Hallbroke bought Karachi? What a load of rubbish!
    We may have difference of opinion with each other but at least call spade a spade...

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 20:09 #
  25. expakistani

i am really like MK, he is hardworking and doing everything possible with in his capacity to promote Karachi....

Sadly some anti-mqm elements are against MK just bcz he is worker of MQM...i wish people like him & Nimatullah Khan should be remember as hero regardless of their party background and ethnicity etc...

lets look at few simple & complicated stuff MK and his team have done

last year i spent my "bakara eid" in Karachi in my old neighborhood after long long time and swear to God i have never seen efficient "bhangies" in karachi before.... KMC staff was looking for "ojhrhies" like Al Khidmat and Khidmat e Khaq committee waley look for "kurbani ke khaal"

During his time many mega project started or completed, now we dont have to wait for hours in traffic going from Nazimabad to Clifton...things have improved alot

Ababsi Shahied hospital moderation... 80s main to apney kutey ko bhi wahan lejaney ka dill nhi hota tha

City Command Center... capturing videos and monitoring major roads.

where his team failed

crime rate in karachi is still high... he should take some of the blame... after all he was mayor and MQM was party in government at fed and prov level

Not even a single major investment in Karachi to bring jobs. No new steel mill, power plant, or ship breaking industry......

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 4:35 #
  26. @sweettruth,
    as i have already told u in quite detail;that i m not at all jealous with MK .
    as there is no point ,i can see in this .
    as per your wish ;i am stopping my childish cliams .
    when one day ,u will wake up and Hallbroke will be o your head ,then will remember me and my childish stories .

till then i am not going to argue with u .
    as u r too immature to get my philosophy .

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 6:33 #
  27. @sweettruth,
    as i have already told u in quite detail;that i m not at all jealous with MK .
    as there is no point ,i can see in this .
    as per your wish ;i am stopping my childish cliams .
    when one day ,u will wake up and Hallbroke will be o your head ,then will remember me and my childish stories .

till then i am not going to argue with u .
    as u r too immature to get my philosophy .

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 6:47 #
  28. siddiqi73

@sweettruth,

>>>>Just visit Karachi to see yourself how immensely popular Mustaf Kamal is<<<

I really don't know about choosy and psycho but I'm a born karachite of the highest pedigree, a mohajir who has lived in this city since my born day. No matter how many heavens fall but Altaf Kallia and his chamchas like Mustafa Kamal would forever remain terrorists and bhatta khors in the eyes of sane human beings for as long this party exists.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 11:52 #
  29. LiberalKarachi

@siddiqi73,

you remind me of the saying "it is not love that is blind, but jealousy." But your hate against MQM is unimportant because people of Karachi are the best judges and they have given their verdict at every election in favour of people like Mustafa Kamal.

@ Sweettruth,

I am glad there are still unbiased and open-minded people like you still left in pakistan!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 20:49 #
  30. shah87

I think those who hate MK should see the situation of Karachi now as tanker mafia along with Police protections have made so many water hoarding sites in Karachi that even water supply to the city is effected by their theft of water all around Karachi, Projects which suppose to be completed now are taking a huge amount of time, even citizens are concerned about their problem and another thing is that before departure MK started a CNG bus service even their is a question mark on it as well....If we compare to current situation to the situation under MK we it is easy to say that MK was thousand times better then today's administrator....

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 21:32 #
  31. tamaazkhan

"I'm a born karachite of the highest pedigree, a mohajir who has lived in this city since my born day."

So you are seriously telling me, that while living in Karachi you dont often hear pariase for MLs work?

Are you seriously telling me that the majority of the people you meet in Karachi do not appreciate MK's work and consider him a terorrist?

So where in Karachi do you live?

Maybe that would explain what you can't see with your own eyes!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 21:34 #
  32. @siddiqi73

With the stated rhetoric, don't call yourself Mohajir. Try to find acceptability among the Pashtuns and Punjabis, they will love you for such strong anti-MQM stance, but at the end of the day you would remain an Indian immigrant among them.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 21:43 #