Lal Masjid commandos seek Supreme Court’s intervention

(190 posts)
  1. ISLAMABAD: Two Army commandos of Zarar Company, who had allegedly opposed the Lal Masjid operation in 2007 and were subsequently court-martialled, have been denied the right of appeal in superior courts.

The Judge Advocate General (JAG) Branch of the Pakistan Army has also refused them copies of the verdicts, considering it as “prejudicial to the safety and interests of the State”. Lance Havaldar Ghulam Ahmad, ex-Army number 3260368, and Sepoy Shahid Shehzad, ex-Army number 3261567, were arrested allegedly for opposing the Lal Masjid operation on May 2, 2007, two months before it was launched.

They were kept in solitary detention for 15 months before they were court-martialled in August 2008, sentencing Ghulam Ahmad to 14-year rigorous imprisonment and Shahid Shehzad to seven years, said an application sent to the Chief Justice of Pakistan. “That the applicant wants to challenge the controversial verdict of unjustified punishment delivered by Field General Court Martial before the honourable High Court but JAG Department of GHQ has denied the copy of proceedings and judgment,” Ghulam Ahmad has written to the Chief Justice.

The convicts were under the subordination of Lt. Col. Haroon, who later died in the Lal Masjid operation. The News sent the ISPR a list of nine questions relating to the Army’s justice system besides the cases mentioned in the report. The ISPR offered ‘no comment.’

According to details gathered from family sources and others related to the case,

Ghulam Ahmad was averse to the idea of operation and informally discussed his thoughts with colleagues. As the word travelled to the chief of the Zarar Company, Ghulam Ahmad was taken into custody, allegedly tortured and detained in Attock Fort. Shahid, who held the same views, was the next to face arrest.

But as they were brought out of the Fort for trial, a Colonel-rank officer allegedly asked them to submit a statement before the court that they were in contact with the Lal Masjid administration and updating them about the operational detail, a family member of Ghulam Ahmad told The News. They were badly shaken after spending 13 months in the Attock Fort, totally disconnected with their families. The Field General Court Martial sentenced them to rigorous imprisonment of 14 years and seven years respectively to Ghulam Ahmad and Shahid Shehzad. The Army court of appeal upheld the verdict.

They are not the first being denied the right of appeal in a superior court. Abdul Islam Siddiqui, a soldier of the Pakistan Army hanged in 2005 after an in-camera military trial for his alleged involvement in the December 2003 attack on former president Pervez Musharraf’s convoy, was reportedly also denied the right to file a writ in any superior court.

Five other convicted, Lt. Col. Abdul Ghaffar, Lt. Col. Khalid Mehmood Abbasi, Lance Havaldar Arif Hussain Shah, Sepoy M. Afzal and Assistant Warrant Officer Safdar Ali, have also been denied proceedings on the same grounds in the recent past. Lt. Col. Ghaffar was released in 2006 after completing three-year sentence apart from dismissal from service delivered by court martial. Lt. Col. Khalid, jailed for six months besides dismissal, has also completed his jail term.

According to Pakistan Army Act’s section 133-A and 133-B, the decision of the Army’s appellant court ‘shall be final and shall not be called into question before any court of authority,’ Col. (retd) Akram, a lawyer who appeared before the court martial, wrote in the petition filed before the court, challenging the discriminatory Army Act. He has challenged these controversial clauses in the Supreme Court since 2004 but the petition is yet to be taken up by the apex court.

Contrary to civilian appellant courts that can only confirm or commute sentences, the Army’s appellant courts can enhance sentences as well. For example, an accused in Pervez Musharraf’s attack case, Rana Naveed, was granted life sentence by the court martial but the Army’s appellant court converted it into death sentence.

Below is a list of questions that was returned by the ISPR, offering no comment.

1) Lance Havaldar Ghulam Ahmad (ex-Army Number 3260368) and Sepoy Shahid Shehzad (ex-Army Number 3261567) were court-martialled allegedly for their views averse to the Army’s decision of waging operation against Lal Masjid clerics. Now when they have been awarded sentence and the Army’s Court of Appeal confirmed it, they want to move a civil court of appeal but have been denied copies of the Court Martial proceedings ‘being prejudicial to the safety and interest of the state’. Is it true?

2) Five others convicted namely Lt. Col. Abdul Ghaffar (WP No. 2614/2009), Lt. Col. Khalid Mehmood Abbasi (WP No. 2646/2009), Lance Hav Arif Hussain Shah (WP No. 3449/2009), Sepoy M. Afzal (WP No. 97/2007) and Asst Wrt Officer Safdar Ali (WP No. 131/2010), have also been denied copies proceedings on the same grounds. Is it true?

3) The Constitution of Pakistan guarantees fundamental right of every citizen for having access to impartial and independent courts. Don’t you think these convicted persons are being deprived of their fundamental right by denying them copies of the court martial proceedings required for moving a civil court?

4) Is it true the officers constituting the Court Martial and the Court of Appeal are subordinates in the chain of command of the executives?

5) In order to eliminate the element of command influence in dispensation of military justice, Court of Military Appeals exists in USA, UK, Canada and Australia that are constituted by civilian judges of the superior judiciary. Why has no such step been taken by the Pakistan Army?

6) Under the Army Act, the sentence of death in all cases, and the sentence of dismissal and above in the case of an officer, is confirmed by the Chief of the Army Staff. Is it true?

7) Is it true that if the Court of Appeal wants to release a person whose sentence is already confirmed by the Army Chief, the appellant court has to obtain concurrence from the Army Chief before pronouncing its judgment?

8) The Pakistan Army Act states that the decision of the court of appeals shall be final and shall not be called in question before any court or authority. Is it true?

9) Under the Pakistan Army Act, the Army’s Court of Appeal can remit a punishment in part or whole, reduce or enhance or commute it to lesser punishment. Is it true?

source

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Jun 2010 5:06 #
  2. This is purely Madness of British Based Society.

How the right people are suffered for their right decisions

مرے خاک و خوں سے تونے يہ جہاں کيا ہے پيدا
    صلہ شہيد کيا ہے ، تب و تاب جاودانہ
    تري بندہ پروري سے مرے دن گزر رہے ہيں
    نہ گلہ ہے دوستوں کا ، نہ شکايت زمانہ

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Jun 2010 6:02 #
  3. Hussain Farooqui

Our religeous matters were badly diturbed by foreign funding and foreign intervension. Quite often, the foreign fights are fought on Pakistani blood and soil.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Jun 2010 17:03 #
  4. Hussain Farooqui

Quite often, the foreign fights are fought on Pakistani blood and soil.

what do u mean by Quite often, alway the foreign fights are fought on Pakistani Blood and soil

مسلماں کے لہو ميں ہے سليقہ دل نوازي کا
    مروت حسن عالم گير ہے مردان غازي کا

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Jun 2010 17:50 #
  5. raheb

I fully support Lal-Masjid action taken by army. It was justified and correct. Nothing should be tolerated on the cost of Nation and specially on the name of "distorted" islam, things which have nothing to do with islam.

raheb

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Jun 2010 21:24 #
  6. Sharif Aadmi

Psycho,

Just don't go on abusing british system.

For your kind memory , Air Marshal (Retd) Asghar Khan refused to bomb Hur civilians in 1940's (in British raj) as he saw only civilians and was not given any penality.

So , its not the system which is faulty in this case.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 0:48 #
  7. Shock

Would the supreme court react, if the soldiers refuse to fight against India in a war?

@psycho

British system has nothing to do with this. It just shows your jealousy.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 1:28 #
  8. #Raheb

I fully support Lal-Masjid action taken by army.

infact u r saying that i fully support the mass murder of innocent children by the Army

and what do u say about this??

Nothing should be tolerated on the cost of Nation and specially on the name of "distorted" islam, things which have nothing to do with islam.

What the innocent People of Lal majid have done with Army, Only they demand Khilafat (the system of Allah) That's why they were punished by the evil army for their great demand,

Soon u will see the horrible end of devil Mushraff for what he had done with innocent people

ترے سينے ميں دم ہے ، دل نہيں ہے
    ترا دم گرمي محفل نہيں ہے
    گزر جا عقل سے آگے کہ يہ نور
    چراغ راہ ہے ، منزل نہيں ہے

Sharif Aadmi

or what do u want to say that i abuse Islamic system, their is no Islam here my friend, only pure Britishe based society
    Lance Havaldar Ghulam Ahmad (ex-Army Number 3260368) and Sepoy Shahid Shehzad (ex-Army Number 3261567)

what is fault with these innocent people, why they suffered????????????????

@Shock

Would the supreme court react, if the soldiers refuse to fight against India in a war?

@psycho

British system has nothing to do with this. It just shows your jealousy.

They will never reject against India????????????

why they reject Lal Masjid, Because Masjid is house of Allah, only an army of evil can attack on House of Allah.

How silly for Army why they attack on House of Allah???????

shock this sher purly determine ur modernism

اس قوم ميں ہے شوخي انديشہ خطرناک
    جس قوم کے افراد ہوں ہر بند سے آزاد
    گو فکر خدا داد سے روشن ہے زمانہ
    آزادي افکار ہے ابليس کي ايجاد

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 4:59 #
  9. Shock

"They will never reject against India????????????

why they reject Lal Masjid, Because Masjid is house of Allah, only an army of evil can attack on House of Allah.

How silly for Army why they attack on House of Allah???????

shock this sher purly determine ur modernism"

Well 90000 of them did in 71, including a four star General. I don't read or have any interest in poetry, nor does it determine my modernism. What are you modernism analyst in Mansoora?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 5:48 #
  10. Shock

@psycho

Why am I arguing with you? You were telling people to stop watching cricket.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 5:50 #
  11. Well 90000 of them did in 71, including a four star General. I don't read or have any interest in poetry, nor does it determine my modernism. What are you modernism analyst in Mansoora?

Shock go and research, their is contradiction in ur words

900000 obey the Army, they didn't obey Allah????????????

here in Lal Majid these commandos don't obey army, they obey what is right???

they are really man of honour???????

پوشيدہ ہے کافر کي نظر سے ملک الموت
    ليکن نہيں پوشيدہ مسلماں کي نظر سے

Why am I arguing with you? You were telling people to stop watching cricket.

open a thread in religious section about cricket, i will prove u and all the follower of cricket,

How cricket is evil?????????????????

and u will agree with that????????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 5:53 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

psycho

You are right to great extent. Like, there is no rift between common Shias and Sunnis in Pakistan, but the Iranis and Saudis fight their trouble in Pakistan with their repectively backed organizations. Our country is like a play area for Iranis and Saudis. Our own people have made it a play area of the foreign countries.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 6:17 #
  13. Shock

@psycho

You haven't proved anything. BTW, I don't watch or play cricket. I am a fan of other sports. It is like you yourself declaring a winner. You can never ever convince me, nor can I do the same.

Not obeying the army is a crime and goes against their oath. So it doesn't matter whether they were obeying Allah or not. Frankly, I wouldn't obey Punjabi Army myself.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 6:32 #
  14. Hussain Farooqi

What do u think the so called pakistani is Army is fighting for Pakistani blood and soil, no brother they are fighting for foreigners.

Look in 1971 how they surrender for foreigner.

Look in 1965 how they leave the occupied territories on the call of UN

Look in Kargel how the they lose the wining War,

and know look how they are supporting Drones attack in tribal area of Pakistan???????????.

They never attack on Drones?????? Why ???????????

----------------------------------------------------

Shock

what do u want to say??????

Not obeying the army is a crime and goes against their oath. So it doesn't matter whether they were obeying Allah or not.

what is their oath?????

It always matters if u disobey Allah????????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 6:53 #
  15. The army did a good job in lal masjid and its the ones that got away that are creating all the fasad.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 6:55 #
  16. Lota6177??

The army did a good job in lal masjid and its the ones that got away that are creating all the fasad.

Who was the Cheif of Army at that time????????

Mushraff, all credit goes to him, All fasad belong to him,

He was coward soldiers in his whole life, He is still coward and hiding in the shadows,but can't escape from his death,

He is worst man attacking on house of Allah

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 6:59 #
  17. mushi maybe a coward but he did not run off in a burqa. I never get tired of this.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:01 #
  18. Lota

One day in the life of a lion is better than 100 years life of a jackal(like devil Musharaff)

The Lions of Lal Masjid

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:06 #
  19. Lal Masjid Kay Ghazio ko Salam

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:07 #
  20. Are these females or more burqa clad ghazies?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:11 #
  21. How shameful for ur beloved army attacking on the House of Allah

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:14 #
  22. What is the new favorite dress of terrorist?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:21 #
  23. Lota

Why u r running from truth???????????????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:27 #
  24. psycho are any of the above videos fake? Why are your freinds dressed up in burqas?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:31 #
  25. Lota

Why ur Friend Musharraf is so blind in killing innocent children of Lal Masjid.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:40 #
  26. As far as I am concerned mushi can burn in hell with all the terrorists of Lal masjid.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:44 #
  27. Lota

Why u r running is don't know?????????????/

attack on Lal Masjid directly goes to Muhsraff, because he was the chief of Army, and he is responsible for that attack,

and u r indirectly supporting him????????????????????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:49 #
  28. reality of lal masjid watch the good deeds of these extremists for yourself.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 7:53 #
  29. think of it this way the enemy of america (ghazi) is shaheed...and the friend of america (musharraf) is alive, and smiling.......dont worry pharohs time came...and ur ending will insallah be horrendous

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 8:04 #
  30. I know what is meaning of Lota,

a Lota is always a Lota,

U can't change his thinking

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 8:07 #
  31. psycho dont be mad:) did you run out of arguments?
    You did not had any arguments to begin with. It is hard to decide who is more brain washed? Psycho or the little kid in the video
    Mulana Abdul Rasheed Ghazi Rahmatullah's son Hamza Rasheeed in crowd of people

zinda haie ghazie zinda haie.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 8:10 #
  32. May God save this innocent kid from the shackles of distorted and fanatic moulvis.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:15 #
  33. sweet truth who are you talking about? which kid? We have a couple of them.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:18 #
  34. What is even more disturbing and a big slap on our judicial system is this burqa-clad coward begharat Ghazi Aziz is still at large and doing Imamat. Nothing happened to him after all this fasad which he and his other terrorist brother created in Lal Masjid Islamabad. Moulvis like him and others are responsible for today's Paksitan where extremism based on religion is killing innocent people day in day out. No one has damaged this country more than these fasadi moulvis. Not all clergymen are extremists but some are Fasad-creator and they are doing great dis-service to Islam.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:26 #
  35. @lota

I am talking about this little kid in the video whi is son of Ghazi Rasheed. May God protect him from extremism and give him wisdom.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:28 #
  36. Sweettruth

Soon u will see Khilifat will established in Pakistan, the sacrifies of Lal Masjid People can't be forgotten,

The blood will bring Khilafa in Pakistan

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:31 #
  37. sweet thruth
    These CIA funded molvies have become fat on CIA dollars doing jihad since the 1980's. They are remote controlled by CIA to cause mayhem and anarchy in Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 9:33 #
  38. Sharif Aadmi

psycho Bahi,

when someone becomes psycho , he can't comprehend the things but still i give it another try.

Bahi , Asghar Khan was not given any punishment by British for disobeying the orders so why u r blaming the system in this case. ?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 10:07 #
  39. @Sharif Aadmi

When some become sharif, he become sho sho sharif, that he can't understand things

This is beauty of ur British based system that false people can't be punished, and people who are true were/are always punished......................

The whole Pakistan political system is British?????

Ur Justice system is British

Ur Punishment system is Justice,

Ur army is running on Britisher rules.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 10:37 #
  40. LiberalKarachi

I think Lal Masjid was no more than a media drama. For those who think its wrong then:

1) What about the operations in Swat and S.Waziristan? Why are the ok but the operation in lal masjid is wrong? In both instance, terrorists had infiltrated and challenged the writ of government. What's the fundemental difference between lal masjid and swat operation?

2) What other country in the world would suffer terrorists challenging the writ of government? apart from Afghanistan and Somalia, which other muslim country would tolerate that? Turkey? indonesia? saudi arabia? Jordan? Bangladesh? NO!

3) There is a UN convention which states that no state can protect or give hostage to terrorists. If they do so, then actions can be taken against that country by the other countries...imagine drones in Islamabad or attack in india traced back to these terrorists somehow

4) For those who think that the Lal masjid operation could be handled better: it's not like the army would kill those innocent people on purpose. If our drawing room analysts are so better at choreographing military operations, they are cordially invited to join the army and offer their 'expertise'.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 11:21 #
  41. Sharif Aadmi

Psycho,

So , u think that Asghar Khan wrongly denied the orders to bomb hurs ?

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 11:23 #
  42. ajhons

Lal Masjid was the drop scene of what our Army, subcequent Govts of PML and PP, Mullahs and our intellegience agencies were doing since the Afghan war.The Qazi Brothers, their Father, Ziaulhaq, Naqaz Sharif Musharraf, they all are responsible for the tragic death of innocent girls and boys in Lal Masjid.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 11:28 #
  43. ajhons

Sometimes I feel anger for JI.They've runied their power.They should not indulge in the politics.They should remain a religious party and whenever required they ply like a presure group.They will get immense support.Hight Time for JI to re establish and re organize their idealogy

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 11:31 #
  44. ajhons

Sab Chalay gaey kia.Koi reply nahi aa raha

"Hameesha dair kar deta hon main"

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 11:43 #
  45. ajohons

Libral Karachi

Lal Masjid is not a Drama, it's pure fight of falsehood and Truth,

The Truth is always a victor as usual

So , u think that Asghar Khan wrongly denied the orders to bomb hurs

I don't know

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:21 #
  46. ajhons

psyco bhai
    I may be agree with you but I can't find justification for the death of innocent boys and girls.And you see the outcome, Mualana Aziz and released by this "Azad Adliya" as not Guilty against all the charges.And after his release he said I Pardon Musharraf and will never stand in trail against Musharraf.

Isn't it a Drama which cost a lot of innocent lives

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:29 #
  47. Mualana Aziz and released by this "Azad Adliya" as not Guilty against all the charges.And after his release he said I Pardon Musharraf and will never stand in trail against Musharraf.

Brother we are not Talking about Maulana Aziz, as u know their are always sheep in the battle of truth,

1.Let's talks Why they stand against the whole Army??????????????

2. Let's talk what are their demand

3. Let's talk why they challenge the government

4. Let's Talk the counrage of Ghazi????

Only those can stand who are on truth????????????

and when two parties collide one party is always on truth???????

and what do u think who is on truth???????????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:35 #
  48. achtung

lal masjid walas invited action on them due to there foolishness. they are responsible for death of people in masjid. if they act wisely many lifes could be saved

also government action was not justified. they could adopt some other strategy.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:36 #
  49. achtung

a man who have nothing but challenges the whole army of Kuffar,

is a foolish man according to terms of democracy,????

I agree??

but in the language of faith he is matchless???

do u have courage to stand on the truth against falsehood of Zardari???

Only brave can do that, and u r not?????

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:42 #
  50. ajhons

I also heard that some mullah's who were asked by the govt to talk to Gazi's were busy eating and chating in nearby rest house and baralvi's and Shias were very much in favour of this action infact putting prssure on govt. to start the operations.It is also said that Ch. Shujat and Ejaul haq did some serious efforts to defuse the situation but at the end uncle SAM's decision was final

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Jun 2010 12:42 #