Live Telethon By Syed Talat Hussain nd Kashif Abbasi for Flood affectees!

(33 posts)
  1. A live telethon was arranged on AAJ tv last night which just ended mins ago where both the journalists annouced their joined account in MCB Bank along with their personal cell numbers where ppl can send their donations...

Starting from them,both of them donated 13 Lack rupees plus Talat has also donated his plot for Flood affectees...so far around 1 crore nd 55 lack rupees were collected in this telethon...

Ppl were generously donating as if everyone was looking for someone on whom they can put their blind trust...

Details of contact numbers/account is given below...

Account Details for Flood Relief

Title of Account: Syed Talat Hussain/ Kashif Abbasi
    Account No: 0516616341000689
    Bank: Muslim Commercial Bank
    Branch: Stock Exchange Branch, Blue Area, Islamabad
    Branch Code: 1390
    Swift Code: MUCBPKKAA

For further details:

Tel: +92-51-111010010
    SMS: +92-347-5023842, +92-301–5473521

or u can just visit their website for more info...

http://www.aaj.tv/donations/

Me nd my Family have just donated to Talat nd Kashif....Please Donate generously as every peny means alot for our brothers and sisters in pain....Thanks...

“The best charity is that given in Ramadhan.” [At-Tirmithi]

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 21:49 #
  2. Thanks, RhyMe, Count on us. We'll be sending along our donations, too.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Aug 2010 22:12 #
  3. serial_kisser

I would request all of you to donate as much as you can in the Holy month of Ramdan. Your Zaka'at, Fitrat and Sadqa Jaria would help them. InshaAllah your funds will be transfered to the right hands. Brothers, its not the matter of funds transfer to the right hand only, Allah Almighty knows our right intentions. We always talk about the past events but forget that Allah almighty had saved us from such accidents. WE COULD BE ONE OF THEM………….

In the end, I would like to quote verse from Holy Quran.

Al-Quran:

"O believers, never shall you attain to true piety unless you spend on others out of what you cherish yourselves; and whatever you spend - verily, God has full knowledge thereof” 3:92.

“Believe in Allah and His Messenger, and spend in charity out of the substance that he has given you as his trustee. For, those of you who believe and spend in charity; for them is a great Reward” 57:7

The Prophet Muhammad (Peace be upon him) said:

"The believer's shade on the Day of Resurrection will be his charity." (Tirmidhi)

Dear brothers and sisters: Trials, tribulations and challenges are part of every person’s life. However, to counter that, Allah has provided us a very powerful tool – and that is the tool of du’a or asking Allah for help and his mercy when we need it. And we need it all the time…. Equally importantly, we forget at times that Allah has also provided us the opportunity to dramatically increase the effectiveness of our own Dua’s by encouraging us to make dua’s for other brothers and sisters in Islam. Consider this Hadith by the Prophet (saws):

“The supplication that gets the quickest answer is the one made by one Muslim for another in his absence.”

So please pray for all the Ummah and especially to the people badly affected by recent floods in Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 2:19 #
  4. serial_kisser, now that was just the kind of post we needed in the terrible predicament we find ourselves in. Many, many thanks.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 8:57 #
  5. scindian

Talat Hussain is great man, particularly the way he presents his documentries are so good and ethanically balanced , such a man deserve to collect donations.

People across the contry trust him,he has also worked with Sindhi and Balochi Nationalist Journalists.

May Allah bestow him long life so that he can work for humanity.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 9:29 #
  6. Ameen, Ameen, Scindian. Someone we have learnt to trust at long last.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 13:38 #
  7. Talat, Kashif collected three crore rupees in couple of live hours. Its mean they can make big money. they should start biger project.
    How to ensure aid money transparency?
    Create a website and post donator name and amount of money plus post where and which area they are spending money, update it every hour. more people would trust on them.

سارے کام چھوڑو، امداد مانگو :سفار تخا نوں کو ہدایت

(مانیٹرنگ ڈیسک)وزیر خارجہ شاہ محمود قریشی نے پاکستانی
    سفارتخانوں اور دفتر خارجہ کے حکام کو ہدایت کی ہے کہ سیلاب کی تباہ کاریوں سے نمٹنے کیلئے زیادہ سے زیادہ امداد کی فراہمی یقینی بنا ئی جائے۔انہوں نے یہ ہدایت دفتر خارجہ میں ہونے والے اعلیٰ سطح اجلاس کی صدارت کرتے ہوئے جاری کیں۔ دفتر خارجہ میں قائم فلڈ ریلیف سیل نے اجلاس کو بتایا کہ بین الاقوامی اداروں اور دوست ممالک کی جانب سے بھجوائے گئے امدادی سامان کے علاوہ اب تک دوسو پچاس ملین ڈالر امداد کے دعوے بھی کئے گئے ہیں۔ وزیر خارجہ نے ہدایت کی کہ بیرون ملک پاکستانیوں کو بھی اپنے متاثرہ پاکستانی بھائیوں کی مدد کیلئے متحرک کیا جائے
    http://www.dailypak.com/index.php?pag=detail&id=8750

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 16:07 #
  8. iamsowise, Do send on your excellent suggestion to Talat and Kashif. You can get hold of their E-mail addresses from their various channels. If accountability came to Pakistan through these two young idealists, we'd have taken a big step forward towards renewal.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 17:35 #
  9. shimatoree

Mirza Sahib-

I have another suggestion-

Talat and Kashif should make a quick trip to the West where there are a lot of people from Pakistan.
    They are waiting and wanting to help but they will NOT help the Govt.

In one gathering they could do real well. I am sure they are already thinking about it.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 18:18 #
  10. Ok, shimatoree, no bad idea. We'll send on this suggestion to them, too. Except that it would make them sound a bit like Zardari off on his jaunts, but can't be helped, I suppose.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 18:28 #
  11. @Shimatore

Fakhar-e-Alam who was a part of this telethon gave the idea which u just suggested as he himself is going on a foreign trip in cooperation with PIA to raise donations...he invited both of them too but they preferred to collect funds/donations while living in pak because of some reasons which they explained last night....you ppl can watch it yourself here....

Talat also gave his personal email addy as syedtalathussain@gmail.com....everyone can contact nd send suggestions there...see ya...tc!

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:15 #
  12. shimatoree

Rhyeme-

Sorry to correct. His name is Fakhr E Imam and not Fakhr E Alam.
    He is Shia .-( which is OK)-

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:40 #
  13. shimatoree

RhyMe- and Mirza Sahib.

The reason I suggested contacting overseas Pakistanis is as follows.-

One crore ruppees is 125,000 dollars.

I think Talat and Kashif could collect a lot more money in pounds, euros and dollars in a shorter period of time.

But there is another angle to this-

As Mirza has been saying some sort of change has to be brought about so that we can escaope from the clutches of the thieves.

Well By doing what I suggested- they would start a Network of sorts-( establsihed) and some good can be done on a continuous basis.

Of course keep in mind that the PAID aagents of the PPP and PML-N amongst the overseas Pakistanis will try their best to torpedoe any attempt to remove the crooks but that is life.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:46 #
  14. You dont need credibility assurances from these two people atleast. Proud of them , especially Talat Hussain.

The fund should continue even after the flood crisis is over. They both MUST get into the social welfare sector. People trust them, the basic requirement to run a charity organization.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:54 #
  15. @Shimatore

He is a celeberity nd his name is Fakhar-e-Alam...i think u have mistaken him with some one else...i have no concern with a person's shiasim or sunnism in raising donations for needy ppl as long as sucha person doesn't intend to fuel sunni vs shia conflict... i think thats ok we shouldn't even bring this thought in mind.....

you will know more abt him here or just google his name...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fakhar-e-Alam

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 19:54 #
  16. shimatoree

RhyMe

Sorry- being a Pukhtoon - Bhangra is Latin to me !

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 20:03 #
  17. lolz no problem brother....u might have confused him with Fakhar Imam da politician nd hubby of Syeda Abida Hussain....

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 20:06 #
  18. RhyMe, you've done wonders for us all. How to thank you? As for our two musketeers, Talat and Kashif, they are both absolutely trustworthy. If someone can really make a difference in days to come, it will be them. And now that we have Talat's E-Mail address as well, each one can write up to him personally.

PKpolitics bloggers, don't fail our flood victims. Donate generously. Pakistan ka sawal hai.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 22:58 #
  19. zia m

MG,
    I ditto your above comment.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 23:13 #
  20. Thanks, zia m. This was what we were both pleading GTK to do not so long ago. Well he turned it down, didn't he. Well, luckily, these two have turned up. For the first time in weeks, I see some light at the end of the tunnel. I feel relieved and a flicker of hope burns that we'll come out of this a sadder but wiser people.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Aug 2010 23:43 #
  21. great initiative by Talat Hussain and Kashif .
    they are definitely more reliable than anybody else .
    i myself know many people , who has money ,who desperately want help these flood relief affectees .
    but they does not want to give a single penny to the present Govt ...
    in Standard Chartered Bank ,they started a relief fund thing and get only 17000 (seventeen thousand rupees ) in past 10 days ...

now Talat Hussain and Kashif Abbasi is in action .
    and we can see 3 carores has been collected within hours .

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 6:04 #
  22. bublibangash

Gr8 work done by the men….. As they have deep insight into the problems and needs of the affected people plus are too honest to trust blindly…... people will donate as much as they can…… Inshallah….. may gos bless them .....

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 6:21 #
  23. i have already made my donation to Edhi .
    but will donate in their fund too .

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 6:51 #
  24. i have already made my donation to Edhi .
    but will donate in their fund too .inshallah .

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 6:53 #
  25. MG
    I already forward the sugestion to TH, Transparency would attract those who don't know Talat and Kashif and they can set an example for corrupt govt and other 'topi drama' NGO's.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 11:27 #
  26. Great, iamsowise. I thought you might do that. But just to be on the safe side, I was also going to write to Talat today, conveying your suggestion and that made by shimatoree. Glad you did it yourself. Now we just sit back and pray that all goes well, though the relief task ahead is a gigantic one.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 11:51 #
  27. zia m

It is indeed a huge task to deliver help to the victims.I wonder if they plan on setting up their own agency or use the services of some experienced outfit.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 12:01 #
  28. God knows, zia m. I think this is all new territory to them as much as it is to most of us. Note down their E-mail address and write to them yourself if any good ideas occur. Me, at the moment, I have my head as empty as a poor man's pocket,

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 13:42 #
  29. "Now we just sit back and pray that all goes well, though the relief task ahead is a gigantic one."

lol... excellent sarcastic remark MG, wake up call for those who are sitting in cozy rooms and posting over 200 "articles" a day.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 17:53 #
  30. The sarcasm is all yours, dear iamsowise. Now any idea what we could be usefully engaged in apart from trying to drum up support from potential donators? If you have any better ideas, let us know.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Aug 2010 19:06 #
  31. jab Talak Hussain aur Kashif Abbasi paisay jama kar saktay hain tou hukumat kion nahi jama kar sakti >???

kionkay hukumat popular nahi hay .
    sacha khara jawab.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 7:48 #
  32. choosy, it's even worse than that. There is no government in Pakistan. There hasn't been one for ages. Why doesn't everyone see it, I can't understand. We live in what I'd call controlled anarchy, which is the worst type of living conditions anyone can imagine.

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 8:10 #
  33. jee haan magar abhi tou sailaab pe qabo pana hay .

we are in the damage control phase .
    and no political party including Govt is understanding the need of the hour .unfortunately .

Posted 1 year ago on 18 Aug 2010 8:24 #