PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

Media slavery? A real and genuine threat for Pakistanis

(21 posts)
  1. IJay

We all know free media is necessary for any development country but calling or some times claiming to be a 4th
    pillar of Pakistan is very scary for people of Pakistan.

Yes we want free media to protect our rights but not hijack
    our minds and hearts.we would like to see them protect our
    civil liberties not to snatch it from us.

Free media is a voice of people is a very wrong and dangerous concept.if allow them to become our voice
    then who will listen to our voices,emotions,condemnations
    and agitations.

We need to empower media but not at the cost of becoming slave of free media.In my personal opinion a 55 minute
    capital talk like talk shows will never become the voice of people of Pakistan.

Don't Allow media to set directions and make policies of Pakistan.Don't make them too powerful that you feel powerless against them!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 7:59 #
  2. sasherwani

True, but who says our media is free?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 8:32 #
  3. aristotle

ijay
    what problem u have with capital talk?????????

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 8:34 #
  4. shahzad1924

"True, but who says our media is free?"

who says the media is free in any country?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 8:47 #
  5. @Ijay,
    i got it ...where are u coming from.
    but matter of the fact is that ...there is no free media all over the world.
    we only ASSUME so .
    every media is partially controlled by Govt or the private owners ,who are businessmen and ultimately look for a sound relationship with present govt in order to let their business in a sound condition.
    same is happening all over and in Pakistan too.
    so its the same for other countries .....

so media is not controlling us .
    u dont worry .

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 9:52 #
  6. aristotle

yes, it seems that every media group and website has hidden agenda and following thier Bosses instructions...

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 10:26 #
  7. @Aristotle,
    i wont say its a hidden agenda .
    i would say ,all private media is still somehow in chains .
    as their owners are businessmen ,and they want only that long of independence of speech ,as long their business interests remain intact .

sach bol kay program masses mein popualr kara liya ...sponsors lay liye ...
    magar kuch sach chupa bhi liya
    takay channel ka liscence na cancel ho jaye .

but that's the approach of businessmen owners .
    journalists ,anchors and reporters are full filling their duties very well and sometimes put their lives on stake while reporting in risky areas or telling truth about dangerous ppl .

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 10:39 #
  8. Anonymous

Capital Talk can not be the vioce of 170 million. Capital Talk is the voice of Lahore Badshah and Taliban.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 15:05 #
  9. aristotle

Hamid Meer is an old lover of PPP. he was affiliated with PPPP since his student life.Talat Hussain, Kashif Abbasi, Dr Shahid Masood r also ppp' fans/supporters and have affiliation with PPP.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 8:20 #
  10. actually nobody is a pious saint out here //////////
    when it comes to media or any other institution of our society.
    there are lobbies,favoritism,non professionalism every where .
    so we cant expect media to be 100% PAAK from these diseases.

having said that,in this day and age ,whatever is doing even 50% good ,should be appreciated as there is nobody who is doing 100% today ....at least in our society.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 9:31 #
  11. skyfacts

Capital Talk is the voice of Lahore Badshah and Taliban. ..

And it tells the story of political awarness of Taliban too,having ur main stream journalists in thier Basket.....So what would you suggest for your political class as you having a great MAAN over them...

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 9:46 #
  12. aristotle

I just wanted to clear this impression (as obaid thinks) that Hamid Meer is voice of NS becoz he is an old lover of PPP. The tragedy or comedy is that all Journalists/anchors who r being assumed as voice of PML-N, they r historically affiliated with ppp (Jiay Bhutto group). Most of them were in PSF and other like Kashif Abbasi by birth a jiala (his late father was a ppp worker). No matter now what he feels abt ppp? But this is fact that Talat Hussain, Hamid Meer, Kashif Abbasi, Dr Shahid Masood,etc, were supporters of ppp not PML-N.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 10:13 #
  13. @Aristotle,
    yes but my take on their previous affiliations ;
    Subh ka Bhola Sham ko ghar aa jaye tu ussay Bhola nahin kehtay ..

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 10:47 #
  14. aristotle

who knows that how many times it will happen? i mean najane ye waqai ghar agay hen ya sham ko bhi ghar anay k bajay kahe aur bhatak rahe hen:)

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 11:57 #
  15. IJay

yOU PPL are very naive in your posts i am not talking about jouranlists but media groups like jang and business recorder who can think that they are now controling hearts ,minds and voices of people of pakistan and claim as 4th pillar of pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 12:26 #
  16. @ijay,
    i got ur point in my very first response to ur thread .
    that u r talking bout business minded owners of the media groups .....not bout the journalists or anchors .
    see my post above ........
    or i paste it for u here again;

@Ijay,
    i got it ...where are u coming from.
    but matter of the fact is that ...there is no free media all over the world.
    we only ASSUME so .
    every media is partially controlled by Govt or the private owners ,who are businessmen and ultimately look for a sound relationship with present govt in order to let their business in a sound condition.
    same is happening all over and in Pakistan too.
    so its the same for other countries .....

so media is not controlling us .
    u dont worry .

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 12:29 #
  17. Media is judged and rated from its credibility and not the scale of its freedom.
    To run and stay in the business, the Newspapers, TV and Radio channels, throughout the World. have to follow a line and take a position according to the desire of the promoter or founder.
    CNN, FOX, ABC, BBC, ZEE, Sony, GEO, PTV, ARY and other Media Channels have to support, defend and promote a particular philosophy for their survival.
    Viewers are free to pick up a channel of their choice and kind, using the remote control.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 12:37 #
  18. @Shiekh sahib,
    majority of our nation is unaware and less educated .
    thats why the chances are they wont make a wise choice .
    as they wont in selection of leaders and keep selecting the losers again and again.
    same has happened with the selection of which media or channel they listen to or believe to.

being an Advertising person,i go through media ranking sheets every month.
    and i can see GEO is on top in popularity in masses .
    why ?
    its style is quite sensational ,language is too inspired with indain news channels and they are good in making mountain out of a molehill.
    thats what a common man wanna see ...
    GEO news has all the mirch masalas of a JASOSI NOVEL.
    thats why its popular among masses .

if its owners are following any particular agenda ?
    who cares ?

and that's what the point Ijay ,the author wants to highlight through this thread .

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:07 #
  19. According to reliable sources 22% of shares on GEO's Stock, is owned by Indian Investors.
    Logically Indian point of view would get 22% coverage.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:23 #
  20. @Shiekh sahib,
    unfortunately ,this is our very own Pakistan.
    logic ,hardly works here .

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:27 #
  21. New Pakistan

This is an important discussion and I began to write a comment but it was too long so I started a new topic about journalism with integrity.

I think we must talk more about this, because what journalists say has very real impact on the minds of the people. If they are telling conspiracies and garbage, or if they are promoting a political party over the truth, they are hurting Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:44 #