Mehmood Khan Achakzai - The Next President

(147 posts)
  1. zingaro

Please don't be surprised that I am not saying that Mr. Zardari is going on some medical leave, etc. But I am just suggesting a name for new President after Mr. Zardari. Certainly one has to become President after him.

In my opinion, Mr. Achakzai should be next president as he is known to be a good person and Pakistani as well. Plus he belongs to Balochistan and it will help to lower the anger of deprived province, as he may also act some good for the province.

Give your opinion please.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 18:04 #
  2. He is another Pakhtun nationalist based in Baluchistan with almost same agenda as of ANP...I would rather want Abdul Qadeer Khan as next one but that would be my dream by watching current situation...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 18:08 #
  3. Why not Dr. Abdul Qadeer Khan is the most suitable for presidential candidacy - Especially I would love to have a Nobel laureate (we think of him as so) as a President of Pakistan,

This way at least we would be repenting for the unjust disgrace we have seen brought on him by Musharraf while we did not even flinch an eye!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 18:20 #
  4. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Dr. Qadeer sb. seems like a good choice.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 18:37 #
  5. d0ct0r

semirza

AQ Khan isn't Nobel laureate,you are mixing him with Dr Abdus Salam. Hypocrites in west would never award him nobel prize. In fact recently a US think tank said that Pakistan should be offered ‘criteria-based’ N-deal by US . The explicit criteria sould be tied to access to A. Q. Khan, greater visibility into Pakistan’s programme, submission to safeguards etc etc

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/us-should-offer-criteriabased-ndeal-to-pakistan-report-260

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 18:41 #
  6. My vote would also go to Dr Qadeer, a man who wakes up every morning and makes tea for his servants and puts a morning jaleebi on their plates. Now that is a man after my own heart, besides his being a great physicist and as honest as daylight. Let's start a campaign for him, all of us: Dr Qadeer for next President of Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 19:19 #
  7. shirazi

@Mirza Ghalib

"Dr Qadeer, a man who wakes up every morning and makes tea for his servants and puts a morning jaleebi on their plates."

If that's the case why does he need servants - to serve them?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:10 #
  8. gv

@mg

where did you hear that hogwash - the man is a parha likha jahil- have you ever read his 'contributions' to the jang group papers... its all faux intellectual bs..

jalebi's and tea indeed....

@semirza

one is 'supposedly' awarded the nobel price for academic excellence in ones field - the man stole existing technology and piggy backed over better men to claim political glory for himself ....

he is another example of what the pakistani nation is today... and a reason for why it is suffering...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:16 #
  9. gv

one thing i ll say for achakzai is that the man is honest and has some sort of principles..

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:19 #
  10. rehanahd

GV u believe what **** mushi told this poor nation to get favours from SAM. U better read n understand facts rather gain knowledge then pass comments.. U r currently passing comments on the basis of information not knowledge dear..

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:36 #
  11. achtung

waisy tou filhaal koi naya president aanay ka imkan nahee hy. laikin ajeeb baat yeh hy keh jo log balochistan kay saath ziad tian honey ki zabani kalami hamayat kartey hein, wohi log balochistan ki kissi figure ko aala muqam par nahee dekhna chahtey.

masalan, laghari kay istefay kay baad naya president appoint karna tha. uss waqt akbar bugti ka naam bhi aa raha tha laikin nawaz shaeef ney (jo abb akbar bugti kay bohat barray hamdard hein) apney walid kay dost ko president bana diya.

abb agar mehmood achakzai ki baat hui hy tou hamein yeh achhi nahee lagi. sirif iss liye keh unnka taaluq balochistan sey hy. warna mosoof aik suljhay huay neutral qisam kay insaan hein aur hamaray bohat sey nami grami siyasat danoo sey behtar hein.

iss liye mera vote mehmood khan achakzai ya ataullah maingal kay liye hy'

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:37 #
  12. Mehmood Khan Achakzai is not bad choice, but to elect president, it need to have majority votes in 4 provencial assemblies, National assembly and senate. But in present political realities it is impossible for him to even think to win this kind of election. specially till he is teaming up with Imran Khan, Nawaz Sharif as tout of present pco judiciary against ppp.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:44 #
  13. gv

@rehana

I have held this opinion of AQ Khan long before mush came to power. So please don't jump to conclusions.

information=knowledge depends which source you depend on - this is the information i have received from first hand accounts of people who know aq khan since the 60's and his own articles/letters etc

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:53 #
  14. aftab arif

I see AQ Khan as a national hero and would love to see him as President, if nothing else just to **** of the Yanks.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:55 #
  15. AQ Khan deserve more respect than any other citizen of pakistan because of his services and pakistaniat. But we must be realistic that in present political and international situation, both larger political parties will not support AQ Khan for president election.

AQ Khan,Mehmood Khan Achakzai as president is just (dewanay ka khawab balkeh yeh un dewanoon ka khawab ha jo corrupt zardari ko ratoon raat ghar bajna chahtay hein).

16. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: How is Dr. Qadeer sb. an 'educated illiterate' ?

(a) He's a simple man
    (b) He lives a simple life
    (c) He never claimed to have developed a 'new' stuff/technology
    (d) what he wants is that his work for Pakistan be acknowledged
    (e) every worker or citizens who achieves something for his nation wants that his efforts be acknowledged. I do too. So does everyone else. What's wrong about it ?

So, what the heck are you on about ?

17. gv

@haris

read his articles and hear his views on the world - also i dont know why you people think he is simple all of islamabad knows about the lavish expenditures on his children's weddings...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:57 #
  18. gv

i mean come on you would rather reward a thief instead of try and establish a system where we can develop the technology ourselves... that's a warped system...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:58 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Lavish weddings ? That'll need to be investigated.

Do you realize you'r showing me your jealousy for the man ? Why ? Because you can't afford the same ?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 20:59 #
  20. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: Dude, rather than thank the guy for ensuring survival of millions of people of this nation, as well as the survival, the well-being of over 1.6 billion Muslims worldwide, your marking him as a thief ?

Have you lost it completely ?! o_O

All of his effort on the work on Pakistan's nuclear capability was done under Govt. of Pakistan's supervision. Everything he did was approved by Govt. of Pakistan. Govt. of Pakistan paid for ALL that was acquired. Plus it was a matter of our survival.

What! the! heck! is wrong with you ?!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:00 #
  21. I wish for next presidential term, best option for president of pakistan will be Choudhary Aitzar Ahsan. He is most qualified and realistic candidate for next presidential term.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:02 #
  22. gv

@hk

im not making the lavish weddings up - ask anyone who knows him or his family - i don't envy him his wealth - i just dont appreciate his disengenuous facade of piety and simplicity

he is a thief - he stole technology - that is a historic fact -

and no i can't afford the same but im content with my position in life..

also as far as i am concerned the threat of india attacking us has been fostered by the military to maintain their own lavish budgets and their hold on power.. i would much rather the money that they spent on the nuclear programme had been spent on education, health, and infrastructure of the country -we would have been light years ahead of where we are now if that had happened.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:04 #
  23. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: Whatever I'v read from Dr. Qadeer in his columns, I have never found him to be talking nonsense.

Something's really really wrong with what your saying here.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:04 #
  24. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: How the heck did he 'steal' stuff ?

Secondly, do you believe 'stealing' is wrong when your survival is at stake ?

We do have a story from Hazrat Umar's (RA, RAA) era of Khilafat on 'stealing' for 'survival' .. as precedent.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:06 #
  25. shimatoree

Quote-

"to elect president, it need to have majority votes in 4 provencial assemblies, National assembly and senate. "

A little FACTUAL correct-

quote "to elect president, it need to have
    A LOT OF MONEY TO BUY

the majority of votes in 4 provencial assemblies, National assembly and senate." end of quote.

Wihtout THAT money- no chance for anyone.

26. aftab arif

@ gv

You say he is a thief which is fair enough but let me ask a follow on question since you maybe able to answer. AQ Khan stole the centrifuge design and that knowledge was shared with his colleagues and if it was does that not make them as much guilty as AQ Khan.

27. gv

@hk

he took classified information from the dutch nuclear power plant he worked for and used it to begin pakistan's nuclear programme (have you never heard that???)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:08 #
  28. gv hello. My turn to say Dr Qadeer is a great man. I recently watched an interview of his done ny the same journalist who not so long ago interviewed Prof Hoodbhoy. Dr Qadeer sat on the pavement and chatted with his questioner. You call him a thief, gv, as though the US were not one too, or the entire west for that matter. In my eyes, any technology they may have developed is ours by absolute right. Ours and that of all the other poor countries they have spent centuries plundering. Why does no one else see this? If his style is not to your liking, well then he never claimed to be a literary giant, did he now?

shirazi sahib, you are the servant of your servants or you are no good master. This too is a small fact which seems to escape many people, I wonder why.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:08 #
  29. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: You haven't answered both of my questions.

..and no, I don't know if he stole stuff or not. I don't understand your problem here.

The west has stolen a lot from Muslims. We needed a piece of technology to 'survive'. Why does Dr. Qadir's effort in this instance trouble you ?

What is wrong with it ?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:09 #
  30. gv

@aftab

yes it does - i think i've made myself clear on where i stand vis a vis pakistan's nuclear programme.

however and admittedly i only know this by hearsay - by all accounts AQ khan was a mediocre scientist but a good politician while apparently the other unsung scientists were the actual brains behind the project

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:10 #
  31. gv

@hk

my problem is that we keep touting ourselves as morally superior - where are we proving ourselves as such....

why is it ok for him to steal stuff...why are we not focusing on building the right facilities so we can develop our own techonology...

essentially he is a hero to pakistan because he used underhanded methods to help build our nuclear programme which apparrently was worked on by other unrecognised scientists.. why single him out for praise..

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:12 #
  32. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: This is nonsense, against a man who destroyed his life so me, you, everyone in Pakistan and over a billion Muslims could live their lives happily.

What! the! heck! is wrong with it ?

There are no rules, no laws in war. Everything's! fair in war.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:12 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: You can question those who run Govt. of Pakistan for it, those who engage in corruption, those who embezzle state money, land, resources.

There's nothing! wrong in stealing when one needs to 'survive'.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:13 #
  34. gv

@hk

how did he destroy his life???

when did he come back to pakistan do you know?

he and his family are rich beyond belief and aside from the last few years of house arrest he has lived an incredibly comfortable life of wealth and power for vast majority ofhis career

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:14 #
  35. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: When did he ?

I believe its your personal jealousy. And on the basis of what ? i.e., here-say ? Nonsense!.

I don't believe on 'here-say'. 99.9999% of the time its wrong. Why do you ?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:18 #
  36. you're not going to win this one, gv, no way. Dr Qadeer is a one in a million person whether he was born into a rich family or not. You can't hold his family backgrond against him as well on top of everything else.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:20 #
  37. gv

@hk

that's a laugh - your opinion of him is also based on hearsay - its not like you know the man personally now do you??

he came back in 1975 so that's 30 years of high living before a few years of trouble

im not jealous im sad that someone with his morality and scruples is a hero in my country

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:22 #
  38. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: No, but I'v seen his interviews. Yes, I haven't seen the other side of the argument.

So far, I have a damn good reason to believe the other side is lying.

30! years of high living ? What is that ? Living under continuous surveillance for building Pakistan a bomb to ensure survival of millions of its people ?

You call that a lavish life ?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:25 #
  39. gv

@mg

he is not born into a 'rich' family - he made himself rich by theft and political manouvering... and yes by gifting us that albatross around our collective necks ... the nuclear programme that we need to defend ourselves against the big bad indians... oh yeah and now israelis...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:25 #
  40. gv

@hk

that's fine you're entitled to your opinion and im entitled to mine.. do try and hear the otherside from more respectable sources whenever you do get the chance...

i've done my research on both sides and come to my conclusion... maybe you wont see it the same way but hopefully you'll realise hes not such an angel as he's painted out to be ...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:27 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: Something is really really wrong with you dude. Work on it.

I don't consider 'stealing' as 'stealing' when its a matter of survival.

Also, those states or powers have stolen a lot from us. They have forced war on us. There's nothing that we owe them for this 'mischief'.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:27 #
  42. @quote
    He is a thief - he stole technology - that is a historic fact.

I will provide all the technology you can ever dream of. Stay with me as long as you want to and then go back to your country and build up a lab as well as nukes.

Go and tell you masters because obviously they have a short memory. They closed all door shut on us (during the times of Bhutto) and when we had all what we desired, the pain should be for America and Israel. Who are you groaning and moaning for?

And also to refresh your memory further perhaps you suffer from memory lapse very often, when the British were rained down upon with buzz bombs (ram jets were unknown to them) there was the worst kind of recession going on in use. Tell me how you stole heavy water (never known till extraordinary number of desalination plants appeared in reco missions) and suddenly from nothing you are a nuclear power the first to hit humanity twice in Japan if once again you have fallen in a lapse..

Now sit back and relax. We did not steal any thing you did and always do.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:31 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@gv: Why don't you share that research or publish it in public domain ?

Let's see it.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:33 #
  44. gv

stealing is stealing and that's that - any existential threat to the survival of muslims is in my humble opinion utter hogwash...

one thing is to steal food/medicine which one is in dire need of

another thing is to steal technology and then use it to negotiate your way into political power and wealth..

its not like he did it selflessly...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:33 #
  45. gv

@semirza

i don't appreciate your tone and insinuation...

if you have a problem with what i am saying - argue the point there is no need to get personal.... you are supposed to be setting examples here... .

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:34 #
  46. gv

and what do you mean go by go back to your country????????

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:35 #
  47. Angoor khattey hain. All doors were shut tight for us not even our students were taken abroad, just good for nothing subjects. Still we managed. When we exploded for some it was a shock expressed clearly by your pentagon or what ever. Don't you remember?

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:37 #
  48. gv

and you a professor according you to you in your fifties... you have really dissapointed me today by your remarks - semirza - i had always held you in high regard until now...

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:37 #
  49. gv

listen to me just because i dont have the same opinion as you does not make me a non-pakistani and i take serious offence at your insinuation....

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:38 #
  50. aftab arif

@ gv

I don't have knowledge of AQ Khan like you but your arguments do hold weight and if someone is a thief then that does put a big question mark over his head but my personal bias still see's AQ Khan as a hero and the bigger picture is that he gave us a piece of the Jigsaw which was siginificant in the overall making of the bomb.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Jul 2010 21:39 #