PKPolitics Discuss » Sports BAR

Miandad was the brain behind Imran's success - Aamir Sohail

(64 posts)
  1. msohail83

Now that he's joined the league he can't help but talk rubbish :)

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 14:35 #
  2. bsobaid

bs.
    miandad is a whiner.

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 14:48 #
  3. zingaro

lolsssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

that is the only comment on such a news :)

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 14:50 #
  4. No doubt, Miandad played a big part in Imran's success in cricket and especially cricket world cup of 1992. Miandad was a very good cricket brain and game strategist.

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:07 #
  5. butt jee

@ Sweet truth

.........:) Imran Khan ko to bat bi nai pakrna aata tha..........

Dont be silly yar.......jis ka jo credit hea usy dooooo.......jo ghalat hea uski nishandahi karoooooooo......

IK is IK & Mdad is Mdad.....

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:18 #
  6. @butt jee

Correclty described about Imran and Minadad; both played key role in Pakistan's cricket success.

One should do what they are best at, like army should do protection of borders and politicians should do politics.
    It is like asking a butcher to do a heart operation.

Will you like a butcher to operate you?

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:24 #
  7. butt jee

Lagy Raho Sweet Truth Bhai............:)

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:26 #
  8. @butt jee

That is the reason I prefer to tell "sweettruth" because you and I know truth is very bitter.

In my view, at the moment, our country is a patient in acute pain and suffering and our doctor (army) is a butcher. Whole nation is being (forcefully) operated by this army butcher.

Oh God mercy on our nation and save them from army doctors

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:32 #
  9. scandinavian

There is no doubt that Miandad was a tremendous player and a good team man under Imran. He also has a good cricket-mind, but to insinuate that Imran was totally relying on Miandad is ridiculous. Miandad was good but Imran was in another and (higher) class!

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:34 #
  10. scandinavian

Maybe Aamer Sohail has found the right party to let his BIG mouth play the role he wants. I remember how well Pakistan was going against India in a semifinal match and he started to use his big mouth against and Indian bowler after hitting him for a four and got himself out just afterwards, because he couldn't control himself. It looks like that not much has changed with age. Recently he had verbal brawl with Shahid Afridi too.

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:37 #
  11. PTI tola is out again proving Imran is the lonesome duck who rose to success on own [invisible shoulders of others like Miadad, Akram, Inzamam and Aquib Javed]. Of course these figures to Imran and his tola are equivalent to Adnan Kiyani.

Great job tola, keep it up!

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:45 #
  12. @Scandinavian

Today, you are calling Aamir Sohail a LIAR, BIG MOUTH and he has joined a party which lets him tell his lies.

What if tomorrow, same big mouth Aamir Sohail joins PTI. Will you and Imran Khan accept him in PTI ranks?

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 15:55 #
  13. Pakistani84

If that is the case, then why didn't Miandad lead Pakistan to victory in 1996 World Cup???????

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 16:00 #
  14. Pakistani84

@ST,

Amir Sohail joining PTI will mean he has corrected his path.

A human being can and change, improve. This is the redeemable quality of human beings.

You can also change and stop speaking lies as if they earn you "sawab"!

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 16:12 #
  15. pacemaker

so the next PM should be Miandad, lol,

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 18:02 #
  16. Anwer Kamal

Imran was the dirty conspirator against his captains.
    Asif Iqbal ,Miandad and Zaheer Abbas

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 18:05 #
  17. expakistani

Well it was team effort, yes JM was a best VC have in team but if you look how team performed under leadership of JD ( after 92 world cup ) that will give u slim idea why IK was better then JD.

Any one remember 92 semi final, when JD requested for Waseem Akram and IK send Inzimam ul Haq to bat at # 6....?

or once IK sent Abdul Qadir at # 4, or saleem Yousuf to open in sharjah..... he was really a good skipper.
    But deo there was a VC to advice for as well.....

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 21:32 #
  18. expakistani

Imran was the dirty conspirator against his captains.
    Asif Iqbal ,Miandad and Zaheer Abbas

wow showing your cricket know how here !!!

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 22:45 #
  19. Sharif Aadmi

why 92 world cup vicotry is so important ?

Pakistan has won 4 hockey world cups. Number of squash world cups.

If thats the criteria to lead the nation , i think there is no match for Jehangir Khan who won 10 consective british open. Or even Akhtar Rasool who has 3 world cup gold meadals and was also skipper of world cup winners in 1982.

Sports , Social Work and poliics are very different things.

Posted 4 months ago on 03 Jan 2012 23:27 #
  20. sipahi

@Pakistani

Javed Miandad was not Captain of Pakistan in 1996.
    Maybe you are too young to remember.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 1:51 #
  21. Sharif Aadmi

expakistani

If i remember correctly , after 92 WC , there was only one test tour of england under JM and which pakistan won 2-1.

Then there was a tour of australia for B&H series which pakistan lost badly and on return from there JM was replaced.

I still remember that IK , who refused to play under JM in 1982 on the plea that he is junior to him , hailed the junior guy Waseem Akrams appointment as captain.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 2:57 #
  22. expakistani

Sharif admi
    yes you are right, English tour Pakistan managed to win 2-1 in test but ODIs were lost

worst was B&H, which gave me hint that JM is no longer in control...if you remember Pakistan was getting all out under 100 constantly.

You have point on 1982 and later Waseem Akhram stuff, No doubt IK was wrong first time....... Players cant pick their own captain.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 4:56 #
  23. sultanalikhan

We are unnecessarily barking a tree that doesn't drop apples or any other fruitS.....

Javed Miandad and Imran Khan both are our cricketing heroes and their contribution to the Pakistan cricket is immense, unforgetable and a source of pride & joy....Why must we indulge in tarnishing that proud image and malign our cricketing heroes?? Bugh-e Mawiya perhaps???

Miandad and Imran are giants of pak cricket in their own rights, and any comparison between them is not only unfair but misguided too.......

Maybe Imran proves to be a failure in political arena and ends up disappointing many, but that will never undermine his feats in cricket fields that the whole cricket world recognizes and admires!!!

We never get tired of blaming our leaders, but look at ourselves we are bent on destroying anything good that came our way.....SHABASH JAWANO, don't stop until we hit rock bottom, GOSH!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 5:13 #
  24. siddiqi73

What a moronic thread and initiated by an equally brilliant poster. Aamir Sohail might have a problem with keeping his emotions in check but one thing is for sure; the dude will never bet on a cricket match either for personal gains or to pay off his party debts ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 5:45 #
  25. zingaro

well said Sultanalikhan. It is true that whether we oppose IK in politics but his capabilities and feats in Cricket can't be undermined.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 5:56 #
  26. msohail83

Siddiqi, bring it down a notch buddy! I know nobody can match the intellectual capacity of yours at this forum, but I've only stated what your new youth adviser said in the program.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 6:29 #
  27. Pakistani84

@siddiqi,

He will do worse - be a mouthpiece for the corruption kings of Pakistan!

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 20:39 #
  28. Pakistani84

@sipahi,

No, I am not too young to remember that. You failed to get the point like you do on every thread.

Javed Miandad wasn't captain in 1992 either. But according to the "genius", Amir Sohail, he was the "brain behind" behind IK and consequently Pakistani triumphs under IK.

So I asked - where was this "brain in the backyard" in 1996?

Makes sense?

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 20:41 #
  29. Pakistani84

@SA,

Squash is different from cricket as in cricket you have to lead a team, while Squash is all about individual performance.

Secondly, I would never say that we should elect IK only because he won the World Cup as captain. To me, IK's cricketing track record is one of the glimpses to his leadership qualities which are greater than sports and charity and can actually take Pakistan forward.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 20:44 #
  30. Sharif Aadmi

Pakistani84

Whats about hockey ?

I think that needs a lot more of team effort ? Doesn't ?

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 23:08 #
  31. Pakistani84

If a hockey captain had the guts to come into politics and struggle for Pakistan, then you can show me.

If you read the second para of my previous posts, you will get my point.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 23:20 #
  32. Sharif Aadmi

meeray piyre bahi

u didn't read my first msg's last line

'Sports , Social Work and politics are very different things'

In the above post , i was just referring to your point about squash being individual game.

I think we r pretty much on the same page. IK was a very good sportsman (One of the best pakistan ever produced) but at the same time pakistan has also produced even greater sportsmen.

Again i repeat , sprots and politics are altogether different ball games.

Posted 4 months ago on 04 Jan 2012 23:26 #
  33. sipahi

@Pakistani84

I agree you are more political savvy.
    You wrote:
    "If that is the case, then why didn't Miandad lead Pakistan to victory in 1996 World Cup"

You know how to "spin". You wrote "lead" in reference to JM and now you are saying that you "really" meant "providing brains" to the captain. May be your fingers type faster than your brain can think.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 1:16 #
  34. siddiqi73

People born in 1984 were a bit too young to remember the 92 or for that matter even the 96 world cup.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 7:02 #
  35. @Pakistani84

What a reocket science! You are a rocket scientist.

According to you "Amir Sohail joining PTI will mean he has corrected his path.

A human being can and change, improve. This is the redeemable quality of human beings."

So joining PTI is like correcting path; what a logic!

I feel sorry for you and your mental state of health. What tablets does Imran give you? Imran should change his party name to Lota party. This name is logical and will suit this party of lotay.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 9:17 #
  36. siddiqi73

^^^^ Tables are hazardous for kids hence Hakeem Imran is prescribing Sharbart-e-Khawabgaan these days to his serfs.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 9:36 #
  37. Pakistani84

@SA,

Comparison must be one in one's own league. IK is one the best cricketers and the best captain produced by Pakistan. You can't say Jahangir was a better sportsman than him because there is no way to compare as cricket is a different kind of sports.

But again go back to my reply to your first post. I said I do not support IK because he was a great cricketer and won Word Cup. To me this is is simply one glimpse into his leadership qualities which I believe can lead the whole country. I admire his politics and political vision - that is the reason for my support to PTI.

I think he is much more able than Zardari and Nawaz combined.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 13:21 #
  38. sultanalikhan

@pakistani84........I second the last line of your statement, a remarkable punch line you wrote up there!!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 22:07 #
  39. stingingnettle

Aamir Sohail is entitled to his view not matter how outrageous it may be. This opinion does not and should not revise our opinion of him as a national hero, just like Sarfaraz, Miandad and Imran.

From a political point of view, Imran has had the greatest impact on our national life in recent times and it would be fair to say that Sarfaraz, Miandad and Sohail are no where near Imran in political stature.

So lets leave the cricket of yester years alone and focus on who has the best ideas on the table for the future of Pakistan.

My personal view is that Miandad lacked the interpersonal skill, charisma or the presence to mentor Imran in any way.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 22:30 #
  40. Rizwan Qaimkhani

it would be fair to say that Sarfaraz, Miandad and Sohail are no where near Imran in political stature.

It is true sarfraz and Miandad are no where near like this imported shite; of course they did not have that kind of colourful life to begin with. One need to have political acumen to have political stature, in 16 years he could not organized a party and now have turncoats in its cadre with no clear vision. Yes that kind of disciplined leader Pakistan 'deserve' after musical chair between az and ns: the third option.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 0:18 #
  41. Sharif Aadmi

Pakistani84

If u worship IK , then obvioulsy he can't be compared to any human being let alone a sportsman.

Cross sports , sportsman comparisions are pretty much common and one around the globe. Even if u just take the cricket , cricket has produced some very fine sportsmen of which IK is definately one.

'I think he is much more able than Zardari and Nawaz combined. '

What he has delivered in politics on the basis of that he is better than both , i m not aware of that. But u r definately entitled to adhering to your oponion.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 0:29 #
  42. No doubt both Imran and Miandad played great role in our cricket so did Aamir Sohail and Sarfraz provided their services to our cricket.

As fas cricket is concerned, it is okay. However, politics is totally a different game and Imran is dancing at the tunes of army generals to achieve his goals and they are supplying him lotay after lotay. This lotaism will continue to grow in this year and before election more lotay will be supplied to PTI by army generals.

Now the question is: Can you bring inqilab with the help of lotay? Why all these lotay are jumping on PTI bandwagon? PTI should now be replaced with Lotay Party of Pakistan (abbreviation, LPP).

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 10:55 #
  43. siddiqi73

@ST,

Please take the "L" out as an abbreviation. Us Pakistanis tend to be very "chichoras" and the alphabet "L" can be given a lot of other meanings!!! Hope you understand what I'm talking about.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 10:59 #
  44. Pakistani84

@SA,

The very first quality he has is what puts him in his own league and any comparison with criminals like NS and AZ is not even on. He is honest. His biggest contribution to politics is the introduction of principled politics which had died in Pakistan. And having witnessed his accomplishment and listened to his views, he has proven he is much more competent and has better solutions to the problems of Pakistan.

Actually comparing him with NS and AZ is an insult to him as I said. And this is not worship, it's a fact.

But you are entitled to your opinion.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 14:01 #
  45. pacemaker

^^^^ "@ST,

Please take the "L" out as an abbreviation. Us Pakistanis tend to be very "chichoras" and the alphabet "L" can be given a lot of other meanings!!! Hope you understand what I'm talking about."
    what about "L" of PML-N?

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 14:54 #
  46. @pacemaker and siddiqi73

Decency is the word which I always maintain in my comments. And I expect others to do the same especially personal attacks on politicians and their close family members are very inappropriate and uncalled for.

We all should keep our favourite blog PkPolitics clean and acceptable for all the users.

Long Live Pakistan

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 15:26 #
  47. Sharif Aadmi

Pakistani84

Thats the typical thinking that u call the representative of masses , criminals. Please quote the case in which AZ or NS have been convicted.

'
    His biggest contribution to politics is the introduction of principled politics which had died in Pakistan
    '
    Principled politics is that Awais Leghari who was held culrpit by SC in the biggest robery in pakistan history( Pakistan steel mill case ) , is sitting on the stage. Wah sahib waah , kiya principled politics haai.

'having witnessed his accomplishment and listened to his views'

Which accomplishments ? Please enlighten us as well ?

Gentleman , u r of the breed that has been brain washed against the political process and politicians and hence hold no regard for the masses & their reprs. U guys consider yourself (like your leader) aasman saay utray howey & consider it your right to malign the opponets without any proof.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 15:39 #
  48. Pakistani84

@SA,

Even if the whole world says the earth is flat, I will not respect this false notion.

Even if the whole world says that Hitler was a great leader, I will not respect the mass murderer.

That is what puts suckers of power apart from ordinary people like me. That is the difference between "darbaris" and a person who listens to his conscience.

And NS and AZ never had true public mandate. NS became a prominent politician on the shoulders of the army that you rightly have issues about. AZ is the product of NRO (agian the army!) and rotten politics of lineage.

The mandate that you talk about consists of an elections brought under the deal of NRO and in which 45% votes were bogus (actual vote cost might even exceed this count!).

And what have they given Pakistan nation for the last 4 years? Nothing but misery, destruction of every public institution, escalation in terorrism, slavery to foreign powers, rejection of SC's verdicts, which is tantamount to insulting the constitution.

We have had our PM and president tell the Americans that civilian causalities, resulting form drone strikes, might be your problem but not ours, that you may keep on conducting illegal drone operations in Pakistani territory and we will keep protesting it in the parliament to fool people.

It is the government that no true democratic country in the world would stand for a day anymore.

It is as if enemies of Pakistan had taken over Pakistan.

Mein Nahi Manta! I don't accept his farce of a mandate.

I can say the same for you. You are the breed that wants to exonerate criminal politicians because of some irrational hatred for Pakistani army and for Pakistan's ideology. You can have genuine reasons to hate the army, or even both, but don't let it tilt your judgment.

I don't exonerate anyone, just like IK. I condemned Musharraf when he was at the helm of affairs, just like IK did. And I condemn Zardari when he is the head of the state. I don't espouse intellectual and ethical dishonesty of forgoing the misdeeds of politicians on the basis of the misdeeds of generals.

In fact, I put greater responsibility on politicians, because I expect more from them given the constitution of Pakistan and the nature of democracy.

If you want to be condescending to me, I will say learn the abc of democracy before you type on this forum and defend criminals in the name of "masses voting for them".

Imran's accomplishment? Giving a real democratic alternative to this nation who is left at the mercy of criminals mafias.

You are so much hung up about Awais Leghari yet beseech our respect for the likes of NS and AZ whose lives are ridden with corruption scandals.

Awais Leghari has joined a party which will form institutions in which nobody, not even Imran Khan, will be able to escape accountability. An ordinary person will just have to file a complain in the NAB and an independent NAB will conduct an impartial inquiry even if it indicts Prime Minister or President, Judge or General.

Thus I have no concern!

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 17:00 #
  49. raheb

"Miandad was the brain behind Imran's success "

............YET THE LEADER'S NAME WAS iIMRAN KHAN AND NODOBY CAN TAKE CREDICT AWAY FROM HIM AS HE WAS THE LEADER OF THE TEAM...........
    BOTH SOHAIL AND SARFARAZ ARE NOW POLITICAL PERSONES SO THEY ARE TRYING TO DEGRADE THE LEADERSHIP OD IMRAN HERE.........SO SAD.....AND SOOOOOOOOOOOO BAD........... OF THEM

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 17:59 #
  50. anyname

@Pakistani84

Excellent response. I need not anything more except on the cricketing matter.

Javed Miandad was a genius of a cricketer. This is recongnised by all international cricket critics. But he was not a leader a quality a captain must possess and that Imran was a very good captain and one of the best all-time allrounders is also a fact recognised by the internatal cricket critics.

Anyone who refuses to accept this fact does not understand the game of cricket.

Posted 4 months ago on 06 Jan 2012 18:21 #