Military Salaries and Expenditure

(10 posts)
  1. Assalamu Alaikum.

I'm trying to establish how much our armed forces earn and if it's excessive. Could someone here help a bit?

1/ How much does a brigadier, general, major-general earn on a monthly or yearly basis? How much land are they allotted over their whole career? Are there any other sources of income?

2/ Is land allotted to the military brass legal? Don't other organisations, WAPDA and others, engage is similar activities?

3/ Are the salaries of Pakistani army's top brass much greater than comparable armed forces?

Thanks for your help.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 2:21 #
  2. Sharif Aadmi

I m not sure about salaries but as far land being allocated , i can give few examples.

a) Gen.Aslam Beg retired in 91 and he was alloted a plot near GHQ & PC on pindi mall and reported worth was 65crores.

b) Gen.Kakar retired in 96 and it was reported that he was alloted corps cmd quetta residence.

c) Gen.Mush , when came into power in oct 99 , he declared that he holds 7 plots in different parts of pakistan.

d) Just to give a tip of the iceberg , ASKARI Housing X , near lahore airport consists of around 3500 homes and its being alloted to retired officers . Price of a 4 bedroom one is around 80 Lacs at the moment.

e) As far as legality is concerned, no other department (wapda, railways , pia indulges in such looting).

f) I don't know about other countries but in Australia , when an ex service person applies for a home in DHA (yes, in autralia there is DHA as well ) he gets 2500$ discount.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 2:55 #
  3. Thanks a lot for the information, Sharif Aadmi. Very useful. I'd be very grateful if other people can chip in too.

I want to add two more questions though.

The above information is useful, but a point could be made to give the armed forces a plot each - it could be argued that it's not too much. Hence, I am interested in understanding all income/assets a general gets to get a holistic picture.

Surely WAPDA and other organisations have their own colonies in different areas in Pakistan and allot them to current or retired employees?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 3:37 #
  4. Sharif Aadmi

****.revolution

Surely WAPDA and other organisations have their own colonies in different areas in Pakistan and allot them to current or retired employees?

Not at all sir. Who told u so ?

Its absoultely wrong.

The above information is useful, but a point could be made to give the armed forces a plot each

Why ? R they not paid salary for their job ? Why plots ? If to armed fores then why not to a municiplity worker who cleans the drain ? He is also an employee of the state ?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 3:44 #
  5. hypocrite

Sharif Aadmi sahib

If to armed fores then why not to a municiplity worker who cleans the drain ? He is also an employee of the state ?

------------------
    Your question is valid and though it seems easy to answer it is very difficult to answer this question. It seems rude to answer a question by asking more questions but still my questions are:

1) Who does the state belongs to?
    2) Who is the ruler of the state?

The day it is established that the state equally belongs to all Pakistanis and the rulers are elected by all Pakistanis, then we will not see the different tiers of treatment as we currently see in Pakistan.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 3:54 #
  6. khanseena1

Read Ayesha Siddiqui's book Military Inc for details about Pakistan military industry.

http://www.amazon.com/Military-Inc-Inside-Pakistans-Economy/dp/0745325459

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 4:00 #
  7. hypocrite

Well the same thing happens when our highly paid cricketers get big amounts of money or plots or other benefits when they win games.

It seems that we dont believe in salaries as a fair compensation for our work and efforts.

Those who dont get these extra compensations, expect the poor public to grease the palms.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 4:09 #
  8. Sharif Aadmi

Hypocrate
    The day it is established that the state equally belongs to all Pakistanis and the rulers are elected by all Pakistanis, then we will not see the different tiers of treatment as we currently see in Pakistan.

Totally agreed.

Well the same thing happens when our highly paid cricketers get big amounts of money or plots or other benefits when they win games

Yes, but they are awarded for some achievements. Inn kii kiyaa achievement haai apart from conquering Islamabad multiple times ?

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 4:18 #
  9. hypocrite

Sharif Aadmi sahib

Thanks for agreeing.

I would like to differ with the following portion of your comment

"Yes, but they are awarded for some achievements".

I think a policeman, a teacher, a doctor, a nurse, a civil servant etc all achieve something and they only get salaries. Our cricketers are paid to play and as such they shall not be rewarded over and above.

The moment we cosndier certain things as achievements, we create these double standards or compensation. No where in developed world any sports person or team gets extra money (apart from their salaries) for winning in their sports.

Our system shall have fair compensation for all the roles.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 4:40 #
  10. Sharif Aadmi

hypocrite

I agree in principle what u r saying but

Don't u think that Jehangir Khan , Jansher Khan have done some achievements ?

Leave cricketers aside who are very heavily paid, take the example of national game hockey. Do u know what they are paid.
    500Rs per day in camp and 100$ per day on internatonal tour.

So , there are some cases where achievements come.

Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 5:30 #