PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Moin Akhtar to be waxed for Madame Tussauds

(29 posts)
  1. oneUp

LONDON: The world famous wax museum Madame Tussauds has expressed its wish to include a statue of a Pakistani actor for the first time. The actor who has made up to the list is none other than the legend comedian late Moin Akhtar.

The one of its kind museum is famous for displaying waxworks of historical and royal figures, film stars, sports stars and famous murderers.

Considering Akhtar's extensive work in the field of arts, the museum has contacted his family in Pakistan.

With his unmatched acting skills, production and singing, Moin Akhtar entertained the audiences for 44 long years.

The late actor will become the first Pakistani whose statue will be included in the Madame Tussauds.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=24498&title=Moin-Akhtar-to-be-waxed-for-Madame-Tussauds

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:17 #
  2. @oneUP

I hope you don't start worshiping his statue...and thanks for creating a thread for such an important issue facing Pakistan.

"log bhookay nangay mar rahay hain..aap kou moin akhtar kay statue kee pari hay"

Moin Akhtar...who cares...

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:22 #
  3. chalo acha hay
    unko kisi Pakistani ko tou izzat denay ka khayal aaya
    agar yeh khaber gup na hoye
    tou its a great thing for Pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:24 #
  4. @W Durrani,
    bhai jee
    he he he
    jab 4 taraf se buri khaber mil rahi ho
    tou kisi choti se achi khaber pe hi khush ho jana chahiye.

itna tapnay se maslay nahi hal hotay.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:28 #
  5. mangoman

We do care about "Moin Akhtar"...who was a "legend"...gave so much to Pakistan and its people in the form of his acting...brought smilies and some light moments to us...good old 50/50, half plate, his various stage shows, loose talk with Anwer Maqsood...all in all he was a legendary performer of our times...we all remember him in our thoughts and prayers...Rest in Peace!

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:33 #
  6. saladin89

I hope that his family reject the idea of a statue. It is islamically incorrect to indulge in such activities.

They will be doing him no favours at all, if they really do care for him, open an islamic school or feed the poor on his name. Prayers and helping poor will help him, not a lousy statue.....

@ w durrani

"log bhookay nangay mar rahay hain..aap kou moin akhtar kay statue kee pari hay"

If u really cared for these people than u would be condemning Nawaz Sharif for his ill doings, not IK all the time who is not in government.

Why this hypocrisy?

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:40 #
  7. @choosy

Why should the making of someone's statue be considered a good news? I think its a very very bad news.

Prophet (salAllahu alaihi wasallam) said, "…the people who will receive the greatest punishment on the day of judgment are those who compete with Allah in creation [those who make pictures or statues]" (sahih bukhari & muslim)

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:44 #
  8. saladin89

I agree with w durrani, a statue is a no goer and hope his family reject this ridiculous idea. He is in his grave, we need to remember him in our prayers.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 7:46 #
  9. mera kehnay ka matlub tha
    aik artist ko humary agar recognition mil rahi hay tou wohh achi baat hay
    mujhay pata hay butt banana mana hay humary religion mein
    magar masla yeh hay kay unka tareeqa yahi hay recognition ka.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 8:02 #
  10. saladin89

It is a no go zone brother, if u were in your grave believe me u would want prayers and feeding the poor on your name etc.

This recognition is not required, our beginning is the grave.

un ki aurte mini skirt ke saath chalti hain sarko pe, kya is ka matlab yeh hai ke hum bhi woh kaam shoro kar de

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 8:07 #
  11. banjarbayabaan

W Durrani said:

Prophet (salAllahu alaihi wasallam) said, "…the people who will receive the greatest punishment on the day of judgment are those who compete with Allah in creation [those who make pictures or statues]" (sahih bukhari & muslim)

I think the above Hadith was regarding the people who used to paint personalities/idols to worship.In the current time every Muslim/non Muslim takes photoes.
    We have Jinnah's photo on coins/currency, every Muslim scholar/Aalim has his photo on passports/ID cards.
    ایک طرف آپ حدیثیں لکھتے ہو اور دوسری طرف دن رات جھوٹ اور بہتان بازی سے باز بھی نہیں آتے. ذرا اس چیز پر بھی غور کر لیجئے گا شاید کچھ سمجھ آ جائے

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 8:14 #
  12. ajhons

"un ki aurte mini skirt ke saath chalti hain sarko pe"
    aur hamari aurte yeah karti hain

http://www.dawn.com/2011/04/02/fashion-week-in-lahore.html?pid=15641#mgimg

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 8:19 #
  13. saladin89

lol but it is not as widespread as those countries.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 8:23 #
  14. It is an honor to be remembered in a such a way, people coming there will see his statue and know him.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 11:29 #
  15. sasherwani

Was at Tussad's just 4 weeks ago. If Im not wrong, the only Pakistani wax figure they had was of Benazir Bhutto. Moin Akhtar was a true legend and I would visit the museum again just to see his statue.

P.S. No offense intended to those who are not supportive of creating wax figures for religious reasons. I personally believe taking or displaying pictures is no different than creating wax figures as in both cases you are 'copying' a God-made human-like entity. I dont see any issues with it as long as the intention is not to worship these figures.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 11:36 #
  16. shaagird

this is a very good news. the actor deserve universal appraisal, and this is one way of doing that.

just to correct you, he wont be the first pakistani. that meuseum already has BB's statue

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 12:17 #
  17. mariabashir

Moin akhter Son has refused for the sculpture saying that sculpture-making is prohibited in Islam.
    So I guess this topic is done with.
    No doubt Moin was the greatest artist .

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 12:47 #
  18. Anyone sensible know who to worship and worth of statues or pictures. To be worshiped is a stupid argument against idols.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 12:48 #
  19. mariabashir

@LifeH2O
    Well these are teachings of a religion so are you questioning the rationale of these teachings or you are unsure about whether it is really prohibited or not.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 13:07 #
  20. shaagird

WORSHIPPING idols is prohibited, but statues are not prohibited

why do people make very fancy, stylised houses then, and huge, beautifully architected buildings???? are they not like giant sculptures which men take pride in??
    whats wrong with making a statue of moin akhat? it wont be worshipped... it will only serve as his memory, to keep his legend alive... and promote his cultural and intellectual work

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 14:44 #
  21. @mariabashir
    "WORSHIPPING idols is prohibited" NOT the statues themself. Killing with knife is prohibited but not knife itself.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 17:30 #
  22. oneUp

@W Durrani
    It's a good news that one of our artists is getting acknowledged internationally.I'm not sure why you sound so peeved.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 17:35 #
  23. oneUp

" hope you don't start worshiping his statue..."

Hope you use some common sense in the future. If making wax statue is prohibited then so is displaying photographs.

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 17:46 #
  24. expakistani

@W Durrani

Unfortunately we cant have Nawaz S or Shabaz S statue any where...
    would be nice if such politicians are dead and we put their statues in

Hall of shame

Posted 7 months ago on 13 Oct 2011 17:58 #
  25. shaagird

whats the progress?????
    has his family agreed to it or not?

nazia hassan is one artist from pakistan who also deserves to be recognized globally.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 2:31 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

whats wrong in this statue?

is it being created with the intention to worship in a mandir?

does intention not count in Islam? this is just for remembrance of a personality, not as any divine figure, but just as a funny person. people are getting confused too much.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 8:56 #
  27. quaidkamazaar

sasherwani is saying right thing, then why do we have pictures and cartoons all over the TV.... awaam should make that haraam as well. how different is a picture from a sculpture in the message it can send... both pictures and sculptures can be worsihpped as idols.

In reality what counts is intention... niyat.

Posted 7 months ago on 24 Oct 2011 8:58 #
  28. Great honour for a great artist/entertainer of his time. Someone in Pakistan should build an academy in his name to honour him. Some jealous people above think his statue will be worshipped; what a load of rubbish!
    He is being acknowledged for his life long service to TV and art through his great sense of humour and quick wit.

In my view, he has been the greatest comedian artist our country has produced.

Posted 7 months ago on 25 Oct 2011 0:32 #
  29. shriq

He deserves it.

Posted 6 months ago on 06 Nov 2011 10:29 #