MQM - Analysis. An Emerging New MQM....

(110 posts)
  1. I would like to share this analysis done by Gibran Peshimam a year ago. Now that MQM has decided to expand starting from Punjab, I find this analysis interesting especially the last three paragraphs about the emerging new MQM.

MQM : An Analysis
    Wednesday, March 18, 2009
    By Gibran Peshimam
    Karachi

What is it about the acronym “M-Q-M” that stirs up polarized views of either unbridled apprehension or unquestionable devotion? What is it about this party and its leader that has made it so potently vilified or sacredly defended that even the most innocent of discussions on the topic end up in heated debates?

As the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) celebrates the silver jubilee of its establishment amidst the fanfare of its new calling card of ‘development’ — backed by flyovers, underpasses, water projects and mega-parks — it has, despite all efforts, been unable to shake the tag of terror — backed by hellish stories of torture, killings, extortion and intimidation. The 90s are not only known as the decade of democracy, but the darkest years of the country’s largest city.

It was, however, not always like this. MQM was not always a euphemism for intimidation.

In its initial years the MQM was not merely a party — it was a phenomenon. Its leader, a young, outspoken and enigmatic twenty-something saying things that struck home for a huge chunk of the lower-middle class Urdu-speaking population — a majority of whom were relatively apolitical and docile. It was a political movement whose success was fuelled by social and ethnic causes. Until the MQM came around on March 18, 1984, these causes were discussed only in the drawing rooms of 100-something square-yard plots of Karachi’s suburban heartland. Suddenly, there was a young, charged man who was saying all these things in the open.

The whispers of discontent regarding newly-imposed quotas, the anxiety over the language riots — articulated by Raees Amrohvi’s “Urdu Ka Janaza Hai, Zara Dhoom Sey Niklay” — the outrage over the infamous ‘three-naught-three’ (303) controversy, were all suddenly no longer mumbles of complaint; they had become topics of charged speeches.

The MQM drew unprecedented crowds, the first example of which was the mammoth and exceptionally-organised rally at Nishtar Park on August 8, 1986 — a day which the party still celebrates as the moment the MQM came to the fore as a political force. Tens of thousands attended that memorable rally, and stayed despite the rain.

So instant was the party’s success that, three years into its existence, it swept the local bodies’ election in 1987.

How then did it go wrong? How did the MQM go from the party of the oppressed to a party seen as oppressors by many, from ardent activism to marauding militancy? Why was the need created to call the Army in to launch Operation Cleanup, which led to the bloodiest days in the city’s history?

The MQM and its supporters fell into the classic trap that consumes many similar socio-ethnic political movements. The politics of repression, on which such movements’ initial popularity hinges, transmogrifies into a kind of paranoid obsession. The world around begins to be viewed through the lens of mistrust; siege mentality creeps into the movement’s thinking. Encouraged by the massive response to a novel movement, instead of asking for rights, they begin to believe it can just take them. Voluntary contribution by supporters soon becomes mandatory donation.

Not unlike the stereotypical outcome of a meteoric rise to fame, success and support become addictive. To feed this addiction, rhetoric is replaced by the use of weapons — which were plenty available after the flow of arms into Pakistan for use in the Afghan Jihad against the Soviets during the eighties.

That many of those who had crept into the top tier of the MQM were not the same people who had joined the cause when it was in its purest form — i.e. the Students Action Committee, which then became the All-Pakistan Muhajir Students Organisation (APMSO) — made the party’s transmogrification even more possible.

The MQM may not see it this way, but its move to remove its excessively militant political leadership in 1991, including Amir Khan and Afaq Ahmed (who would go on to form the Mohajir Qaumi Movement–Haqiqi), clearly reflected the realization that this was happening.

The loss of identity following the expulsions and then the departure of Altaf Hussain into self-exile threw the party into a tailspin in terms of leadership. With one leader miles away and the other, Azeem Ahmed Tariq, seeming to have changed his mind about the movement amidst a crackdown on activists, the party did not seem to know what to do.

On June 19, 1992, the operation against the MQM would begin and further fuel the new violent and paranoid nature of the party. Reaction to state aggression was even more potent, and gripped the entire city. For its detractors, MQM was soon a synonym for violence; its activists viewed as thugs. The jubilant cheers of mass gatherings was lost in a barrage of gunfire; the cause consumed by the cancer of fear – seemingly forever.

Yet, despite it all, MQM continued to appeal to a majority of those who believed in it, despite the allegations of terrorism. The movement’s support proved too strong, too deeply entrenched to wipe out. This is something not even the harshest and most devoted detractor of the MQM can deny. Whatever its image, the bulk of MQM’s support remained steadfast.

Post-2002, however, the MQM made a political comeback. A resurgent party, bent upon changing its image (having already changing the M in MQM from Mohajir to Muttahida in 1997), re-entered the political arena after boycotting the 1997 general elections and the 2001 local government polls. The party has made concerted efforts to transform behind slogans of development and progress, and the people of Karachi are clearly rallying behind them in even larger numbers.

The MQM’s policy to concentrate on its local government wing, Haq Parast, has proven to be a brilliant one; one which has not only pulled the party out of the morass that promised to asphyxiate it forever, but actually won over even more support in Karachi.

The organizational restructuring of the party by Altaf Hussain and the induction of heavily educated and fresh faces has gone a long way to change the perception of the party in the eyes of many. The MQM has begun to shed the moniker of ‘un-criticizeable’ — with its new faces willing to face criticism and defend party policies. Most of all, they are no longer self-professed victims.

The new generation, as evidence of this re-transformation, does not fear the MQM the way the last did.

Yet, incidents of violence, such as May 12, 2007, and April 9, 2008, have surfaced time and again, threatening to the pull the party back into its role in the darkest days of Karachi. In addition, a vast majority of its young activists remain aggressive and willing to resort to violence on the streets and on educational campuses.

The MQM’s past makes it an easy target. In a situation where two parties are equally to blame, the MQM will bear the brunt of criticism.

However, those living in Karachi will testify that the MQM is a resurgent force; their political representation is now full of non-Urdu speakers evidence of their rising above a purely ethnic party. Like them or not, today they have given a voice not only to Mohajirs, but to the people of Karachi — now a teeming polyglot urban centre.

Many, especially the older generation and detractors outside Karachi, will be unwilling to accept this — but the MQM’s vast and growing popularity, particularly among the youth, is evidenced by the fact that a majority of the people of Karachi have thrust Altaf Hussain and the MQM into mainstream national-level politics.

Labels may be hard to shake and moulds hard to break, but the MQM is doing a damn good job of it. And this is just the beginning — the true limits will be reached once its breaks free completely from the shackles of the 90s. Given that most political parties in Pakistan have already hit their potential ceiling, the MQM’s future is perhaps the brightest — no matter what Rasool Bux Palejo may say.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 10:05 #
  2. Hussain Farooqui

Political maturity is required to be developed in almost all the political parties. Good that sings of growing political maturity are apparent in some political parties.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 10:29 #
  3. aftab arif

As i have said previously if they shed violence, extortion, kidnappings and of course zero tolerance for corruption then i don't see any reason why MQM should not make it's way to the very top of the political arena.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 10:45 #
  4. I myself am a witness to the stated observation.

The unit incharge of my area was a Karachi born and raised Pashtun, fluent in Pashtu. People used to come to him all the time, even non-MQMers including Sindhis, for he used to solve their problems.

When major political parties are multi-ethnic, we would know we have outraced the racial differences, and then the only agenda would be issues.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 11:24 #
  5. Anonymous

Their is a mentality of people in Karachi and I know many Sindhis who come to units to solve their problems but they vote PPP only for Bhutto...Even though you will find them supporting MQM but vote for Bhutto this is another dimension of Karachi politics that some people are loyal till death to some party but now a days this trend is changing as realization has came to the people due to regional language media has started and we have seen some difference in their understanding as well so in Karachi MQM is getting more and more appeal from peoples...

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 11:35 #
  6. ali-pk

Just another political party with a secular/liberal ideology!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 11:49 #
  7. Anonymous

Here is a link of this artical...

http://thenews.jang.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=167749

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 13:17 #
  8. yahya

More political options are good. It will make political parties work harder for people's vote.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 18:28 #
  9. shriq

Yahya,

I agree that more political options are good and its good to have MQM in Punjab, I hope it would have positive impact on other parties.

I want to see how PML(N) would react. One thing is very positive about MQM and they rightly boast about it that "they have not given any party ticket to any wadera, jageerdars etc". and this one is tough to beat for other parties.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Apr 2010 18:38 #
  10. wantinsaf

In Pakistan,the easiest path to do politics is using ethno-nationalism as smaller ethnic group are frustrated with Punjab centred politics.MQM was bound to get little success,15-20 seats but it doesn't ffer any solution to Pakistan's problems.Does it want to solve our problem by voting Zardari?
    Does it want to solve our problem by becoming American servants?
    This all clealry shows MQM is neither honest not has anything to offer to depressed people of this country.And its involvement in target killing since its inception clearly shows what they stand for.
    It is nice to belong to middle class but one has to be honest,credible,capable and peaceful to become leader.Hazrat Usman Ghanni did not belong to middle class but he made a great leader due to his moral values.
    I being Punjabi welcome MQM in Punjab as it's their ultimate right being Pakistanis.But it don't see it offers anything to Punjab or Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 9:35 #
  11. Shock

@wantinsaf

Once you have created a perception about someone on an organization, there is no way you are going to change that. Just as you think that it is easy to do politics using ethno-nationalism, I also think that using religion to gain popularity is also a problem. I being a Karchiite would welcome Imran Khan in the city, but I also don't see anything different in him than other politicians, nor does he offer anything positive.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 14:17 #
  12. Altaf hussain's slogan:

"Zalimo tussi theek ho jao altaf araha hai"...

hmm, well this didn't work for qazi, but lets see what it does for altaf.

Anyway, altaf bhai, beware! this is punjab and not karachi, yahan pe bhatta khor aur dakku aksar police muqabalay main maray jatay hain...

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 14:19 #
  13. Shock

@Umer

Punjabi Army kaa to bura haal tha Karachi mein. Two army trucks full of punjabi army man never came out when they went into haidri. Punjabi Army MQM ka kuch nahi bigar saki, police kiya kerlay gi.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 14:28 #
  14. An Impartial Analyzes:
    MQM, starting as a Pressure Group, no doubt, is emerging as a potential Political Party at the political horizon of Pakistan.
    As compared to some other political parties MQM has certain advantages:
    1. It emerged from middle class.
    2. Most of its members are very good orators and vocal.
    3. Most of its leadership is well educated.
    4. The performance of MQM spokespersons at the Media is comparatively more logical, argumentative, impressive and convincing.
    5. The desire to make Pakistan, a welfare State, cannot be questioned without any proof.
    6. The organization of the party is not hereditary.

Disadvantages:
    1. The past history of Communal philosophy.
    2. MQM always supported Military Governments.
    3. The violent and aggressive behavior against the rivals.
    4. An expression of intolerance about certain National Heroes.
    5. The controversy about the murder of Hakeem Saeed.

Jamaat-e-Islami, another Political/Religious Party, has more or less the same advantages, disadvantages and similarities.

MQM could manage to achieve more success on politics and win the public opinion, as compared to JI, due to its flexibility, balanced and progressive approach.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 14:48 #
  15. Anonymous

@javedsheikh

Their past is a disadvantage for them but since they are entered Punjab if they able to control their workers this misperception will automatically removed as people themselves observed on the basis of their action and also how and what they are doing....The biggest stain they need to wash on their head would be MUSHARRAF support which they should start addressing because that would be an ultimate weapon used against them by PMLN...They have started their operations in Punjab but their are so much to be done to clear their perception but one thing is for sure that if local bodies elections are held in Punjab this would check their actual approval rating that how much people have approved them because Mustafa Kamal's performance in LB system is an important factor due to which they gained some support here so they need to prove themselves in LB elections first if they are held in Punjab...

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 21:13 #
  16. @yahya87
    MQM's political future is bright in Punjab and it may take few elections before they establish them as a competitive force. Frustrated and angry PPP/PML-N voters will look for alternative party to vote. MQM's effective performance in Local Body system is MUST and it will immensely help them establish their presence in Punjab. Their popularity could go up faster If MQM leadership can overcome electricity problem in Pakistan or reduce inflation.
    Mustafa Kamal may play a big role for MQM in the future.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Apr 2010 21:42 #
  17. wantinsaf

@Shock
    The problem with your answer or undertanding is,you thought what I wrote was due to the fact I am a PTIians.But what you forgot was I am Pakistani and Punjabi too.
    How can you speak against corruption when you yourslef have voted for Zardari in presidential election?
    How can you talk of Pakistan when you supported Musharaf who in Punjab is seen as monster or even traitor in some circles?
    MQM had done nothing for Pakistan except voting for corrupts and dictators.Can you please elaborate what it has done for Pakistan in recent two years despite being in Govt?
    The answer would be rationally;
    voted for zardari
    Target killing in Karachi
    Threatening Govt whenever masters ask it to.

Being in Govt,what's their input on issues like inflation,loadshedding,target killing,terrorism and political stability.

As far as PTI is concerned,it's not a religious party so there is no question it uses relgion for political purposes.What it says is it's out duty to practice religion being Muslim otherwise we are bound to doom as promised by God.

As far as politics in Karachi is concerned,we know how much MQM is tolerant.Why did they ban Imran from coming Karachi three times?MQM is just a party for sending money to London throgh money laundering,looting and plundering.And anyone who would create hurdle in their way will be threatened and then killed.A terrorist organization in the guise of political party.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 8:20 #
  18. atleast they should thank Punjab Government plus the masses there that they allowed them to peacefully conduct their political activites in punjab when they being ethnic lovers, ONCE UPON TIME STOPPED A POLITICAL LEADER FROM ENERTING SINDH....you see the difference in ppl nd their mentality?...plus whether they do such 100 conventions in punjab in future,i dont think so they will b able to get a huge vote bank here in elections..major reason being the fake speeches and slogans of their fake leader ALTAF HUSSAIN..that dont convince ppl in punjab to a greater extent...he seems so so FAKE! ppl laugh when he talks! grr

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 13:12 #
  19. LalBichoo

RhyMe,

At least MQM can't be called an ethnic party now !
    They have representation in AJK and Gilgit-Baltistan Assemblies !
    And now yesterday's conventions in especially Lahore and Multan should be an eye-opener for N-League and especially PTI !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 13:16 #
  20. lalbicho i can assure you without the support of Punjab Government,MQM could not have been able to conduct these conventions in three cities at a time...if it was so easy for them why didnt they did this in last 62 years? how now?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 13:24 #
  21. LalBichoo

"""i can assure you without the support of Punjab Government,MQM could not have been able to conduct these conventions in three cities at a time...if it was so easy for them why didnt they did this in last 62 years? how now?"""

First of all MQM was formed in 1984/85 and it's only 24/25 years since it's been formed not 62 yrs as you've wrongly mentioned in your post !
    Secondly tell me if Punjab government ordered police to catch people and force them to attend MQM's meeting ????

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 13:29 #
  22. toamin

mqm without uk/us support would be nothing just like mushy once very powerful had to run away after us/uk pulled back their support..

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 14:17 #
  23. Anonymous

Who said MQM didnt allowed any party to work????Did any one saw second last nazim of Karachi who was non other then jamatee....remember 1993 elections when MQM boycotted NA election but participated in PA elections which were held under Army monitoring what happened then???Can any one like to tell me???Recently even Nawaz Sharif Visited Karachi for photo shoot purpose with those who effected by Boltan Market arson did he came to Karachi by obtaining MQM's permission????Last but not least Imran Khan who think he is Maharaja or something wanted to come with rally when Govt. had already imposed daffa 144 on rallies due to security reasons but thing is that if some kid start crying then the only thing can satisfy him is his demand so same applied on Imaran Khan as well....
    The reality is that people of Karachi dont even like to see PMLN because of their past roles in creating rifts in Karachi as Aligarh calony massacre in Karachi was happened when Cheif Minister of Sindh was non other then PMLN member Ghous Ali Shah and also due to their history of 1992 operation and also setting up military courts back in 1998 so people here hate PMLN and its not because of MQM but its because of their roles in situations when Karachi was burning....PTI didnt able to enter Karachi is because their place is already filled up by JI, Sunni Tehrik and ANP(In case of Pashtun votes) as well....
    This is why its look like MQM never let anyone else enter in Karachi but reality of this allegation is "lossers start blaming the winner" in Karachi so its nothing but political allegation which has nothing to do with reality....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 15:26 #
  24. tamaazkhan

"MQM is just a party for sending money to London throgh money laundering,looting and plundering"

That is why every town nazim is trying to emulate the work done by Mustafa Kamal?

Maybe you cannot see beyond your own bias and hatred, but I am sure most Pakistanis can.

Any activity that MQM has been involved in the past ALL PARTIES in Pakistan have been involved in the same.

However, apart from Shahbaz's diversion of state resources to better Lahore, who has done as much for their own constituents than the MQM?
    (despite constant harrasment and lack of funds from the Zufliqar Mirza, Agha Siraj Durrani group)

Which party is most representative of their constituents?
    Not waderas representing poor people.
    Not Chaudries, Mians, Industrialists, representing middle/lower classes.

Like it or not people do see a benifit for voting from their own class especuially for those that can actually demonstrate the ability to make change.
    Not those that just talk about change, but spend most of their time changing their minds.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 16:15 #
  25. yahya

"MQM is just a party for sending money to London throgh money laundering,looting and plundering"

How much money do Nawaz Sharif, Zardari and Chaudaries have in Pakistan? Ishaq Dar did money laundering for Nawaz Shairf, this was in BBC programme. There is an affidavit by Ishaq Dar in court records somewhere too. As far as money goes MQM are not in the big league yet.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 18:14 #
  26. freeman1

MQM being blamed for money laundry hahaah!!

I think you mistook PML-N with MQM. For your kind reference:

plus 1992 operations, supreme court attack, kargil, hijacking, hudaibiya paper mills, aiding and abeting zia-ul-haq, he shd be tried for treason. and he also deserves it!!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Apr 2010 21:43 #
  27. wantinsaf

@TamaazKhan
    Who wants to emulate Mustafa Kamal?
    You did not tell me the name.I yet have to hear any Pakhtun,Punjabi,Sindhi and Balochi saying that.
    The points I raised you did not answer any of them.What's your response to MQM's use of weapon in politics?What do you think of MQM voting Zardari?What's your take on MQM being American servants?
    As far as development is concerned,it's not a big deal.Sheikh rashid is famous for development in Rawalpindi.Is he a leader?To become a leader,you need to be independent,honest,credible,courageous and pro Pakistan.What of these qualities MQM has?
    Don't follow Imran Khan and use words like change.You want to bring change by abusing Pakistan that too in India?You want to witness change by killing people and voting for Zardari?
    MQM is a terrorist organization in guise of political party.MQM is widely suspected of having links with CIA,Mosad and Raw and that's why Altaf Hussain visits India more than Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 7:35 #
  28. LalBichoo

wantinsaf,

""""What's your response to MQM's use of weapon in politics?"""

Here's PTI's response !!!

http://www.imrankhanexposed.com/IKE/Pages/OpenArms.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 7:37 #
  29. nawaz sharif, Beynazir Bhotto, Ch. Shujaat, Musharaf, Zardari, all are corrupt and made money while in power.

MQM has been part and parcel of all these governments.

Fact is fact. and stop hypocracy and politics of lies.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 7:59 #
  30. TIP IK also supported Musharaf marshal law. he has no exception.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:01 #
  31. JI also supported all military marshal laws/dictators.

MQM is hire of JI in karachi.
    all are same.
    is hamam mein sub nange hein.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 8:02 #
  32. wantinsaf

@truepakistani
    Imran Khan categorically admits that supporing Musharaf initially was a big mistake and has apologised for that.We did not hear any apology from MQM and other parties despite making blunders like abusing Pakistan that too in India.
    I agree most of the parties are similar to when it comes to corruption,dishonesty,and insincerity but that doesn't make MQM or anyother party right.
    If one has to conculde what MQM is in one line then it has to be 'A terrorist group in guise of political party'.Being from middle class doesn't make you right,what makes you right is honesty,credibilty,integirty and sincerity.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 10:08 #
  33. @lalbicho

you were not believing me that Punjab Government made a smooth way for MQM by allowing them to organize their political activites in punjab,it was impossible for them to do any of such thing in punjab without their help.....yesterday night in "Dunya Today" with Dr Moeed Pirzada,Babar Ghuari especially thanked Shahbaz Sharif nd Punjab Government for helping them in carrying out these political activites...

http://pkpolitics.com/2010/04/26/dunya-today-26-april-2010/#comment-308710

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 13:15 #
  34. tamaazkhan

@wataninsaf

"You did not tell me the name.I yet have to hear any Pakhtun,Punjabi,Sindhi and Balochi saying that."

Do you live in Pakistan?

Even your Chief Justice has praised him. He is both Punjabi and Balochi(settler).

I often go to Faisalabad and Sialkot for work, where the topic often becomes one of "we don't like MQM, but its amazing how the local boy has done so much for his city"

So please, try harder to hide your bias.

Imran khan can call his fan club a "political party" all he wants and you can call others "terrorist organisations" all you want.

At the end of they day one group has demonstrated their ability to provide for their constituents and stakeholders.

While on the other hand you have ONE MAN who has built a hospital from money taken from Zionists (goldsmith), Corrupt Politicans (bhutto and sharifs), Smugglers (adbid seth), Indians and Americans, and today bashes those same people for popularity.
    Who has only won 1 seat by the help of a dictator that too of an area he doesn't even live in (so how can he know the issues there).

Whatever, I'll take the 'terrorist organisation' over the often mistaken and flip-floppy brown sahib who visits Pakistan to give self-righteous 'honest, credibile, and sincere' whinging speeches.

At least I know where to reach the 'terrorists'.

They live in the same neighborhood as me, drive on the same roads as me, attend the same functions as me, shop in the same stores as me, and live in the same Pakistan as me!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:17 #
  35. freeman1

Tamaaz khan brother I agree with each and every word of yours. I hope and pray rest of the pakistanis also start thinking like you. Amen

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 19:47 #
  36. LiberalKarachi

People on this forum can think what the like, the truth remains MQM is the only political party which is INCREASING its vote bank. MQM was the second highest vote taking party in Gilgit Baltistan and now it has flexed its muscles in punjab. I am very confident that South Punjab (specially Multan) will recieve MQM.

Regurgitating the same points about MQM being terrorist party, bhatta, anti-islam/anti-pakistan, pro-india/pro-usa, anti-aliens/pro-flying elephants etc. is failing to convince people...so you might as well face reality and come up with decent rebuttals.

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 20:55 #
  37. freeman1

Brilliant analysis by LiberalKarachi.

BTW Nice nick as well..I am liberal too...and from Karachi too..

Too bad can't name myself as liberalKarachi :P :P

I will stick with freeman!!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 21:53 #
  38. freeman1

BTW moderator:

My comments under najam sethi program (the latest one!) are still under moderation. Its been over 7 hours.

I have seen some extreme blessedness on this forum. You claim to be moderator....then be one and let me post my comments!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 21:54 #
  39. LiberalKarachi

lol freeman1, most Karachiites are born liberal...we can hardly have 18 million LiberalKarachi now :P

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 22:24 #
  40. freeman1

Too bad that there can't be 18 million liberalKarachi or else this country would have been a much better one!

Posted 2 years ago on 27 Apr 2010 23:05 #
  41. wantinsaf

@TamaazKhan
    Last year,three books were written about Imran Khan.People say little knowledge is dangerous.And obviously all these three books were in praise of him and one of them titled as "Why Pakistan needs Imran Khan" written by an Australian author.You had better contact Google to know who is polpular on this palnet and who is Pakistan's most widely googled Pakistani.Facebook recently held elections and PTI alone had beaten all the parties even their votes were combined altogether.
    I yet have to meet a person who is all praise for MQM and Mustafa Kamal.As far as MQM's presence in Punjab is concerned they intentionally did not take part in Bi elections in Punjab as they would not have got even hundered votes.For your information,in one contituency of Okara MQM candidate could grab just 46 votes and MQM gave him 10 lac for standing on MQM's ticket in election.
    Imran Khan wants polularity?Agains little knwoledge is dangerous.Just check out IRI 2007 where Imran with large margin was contended as "the most honest Pakistani".Girls stood in lines for getting married with Imran.
    SKMH since very first day has been running on Pakistanis and Muslims money and as charity begins from home so Imran started charity by giving his own wealth first otherwise this all would have been impossible.
    These were the questions I asked you earlier but you did not answer;
    "The points I raised you did not answer any of them.What's your response to MQM's use of weapon in politics?What do you think of MQM voting Zardari?What's your take on MQM being American servants?"
    You don't have answer beacuse you have only been taught to use weapon for political gains.That's what MQM is all about.
    An ethnic party based on hatred,voilance and American service.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 13:04 #
  42. wantinsaf

@LiberalKarachi
    We all know how much MQM is polular in this country.
    How would you prove MQM is not a terrorist organization?
    How would would you prove MQM did not vote for a corrupt feudal like Zardari?

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 13:07 #
  43. freeman1

What's your take on Imran Khan favouring Mush. Atleast Zardari is democratically elected!

How would you prove MQM is a terrorist organization? Prove it!
    I guess Imran khan filed a case in britain. Do you know what happened to that? The case wasn't even admissible!! hahaha
    Watch Imran Khan v Haider abbas rizvi on capital talk from couple of years and see how haider bhai blasted taliban khan out of the park. If you want I can post links

You know IK contestes Gilgit-Baltistan elections. Do u know how many seats he won? forget seats do u knoe how many votes he won.

BTW MQM became the second biggest party over there. Care to answer how???? Why couldn't IK apparantly get votes from pathan dominated region?

How about IK performance in bye elections. Even JI guy defeated his candidated. He couldn't even muster up a mere thousand votes.

What the hell are you talking about. COME TO YOUR SENSES. MQM has two seats in AJK and one seat in Gilgit-Balochistan.

How is it managing that. Plus 25 seats in NA 6 seantors, 51 MPA. What has IK achieved so far......one seat thanks to Musharaf that too from a constituency where he doesnt live.

IK IS A JOKE!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 14:35 #
  44. freeman1

Oh wow since girls stood in line waiting to get married, IK should be our next PM.

ROFLLLLLLLL!!! HAHAHAHAHAHAAH

Brilliant logic, I accept defeaT!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 14:36 #
  45. freeman1

and BTW it took MQM five years (1984-1989) to sweep first even National assembly elections it contested.

Ik's one man party already have had 15 years. What has been his performance other than celebrating removal of democratically elected government, unconditional support for Mush, then unconditionally against Mush, against NS, then favoring NS, Favoring Taliban when whole country is against them.... I pity IK supporters.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 14:40 #
  46. tamaazkhan

"You had better contact Google to know who is polpular on this palnet and who is Pakistan's most widely googled Pakistani.Facebook recently held elections and PTI alone had beaten all the parties even their votes were combined altogether."

Hahahahahahahaha!
    This is the calibe of IK fan club thinking. No wonder PTI is where it is.
    Google and Facebook. Hahahahahahahahaha!

Chalo bhai, you can give your votes to who an Autralian thinks is best for Pakistan and who girls want to line up to marry.

I'll give my vote to those who can demonstrate some degree of capability to deliver progess. Even if girls are not standing in line to marry them.

I go for volunteer service to Dar ul-Sukun once a month, most of the children there are honest as well, just like IK. But I wouldn't vote for them.
    http://www.darulsukun.com/

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 16:25 #
  47. freeman1

Tamaaz bhai kion yaar IK is so handsome we should vote for him.......in a beauty contest not in elections :P

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Apr 2010 16:34 #
  48. our politics is devide into linguistic, regional, provincial and sectarian bases.

all the devided communities are strict to their community leader.

No one is national leader at present.

Big bosses have easy excess to buy the community leaders for their purposes.

One example:

Small parties like JUIF and MQM have been part and parcel of all regimes since 80's.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 0:10 #
  49. Shock

@freeman1

Have some mercy on wantinsaf. I mean, if we go by this guy's logic, Shoaib Malik or Younis Khan can also become PM.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 2:45 #
  50. wantinsaf

@Freeman1,TamaazKhan,Shock
    I never expected that MQM supporters would be able to answer my questions as MQM loves using weapon rather than rationality and intellect.Leadership requires character which MQM has shown again and again by voting for corrupts like Zaradri and Musharaf.
    To become leader,one has got to be honest,credible,competent and intellectual.We all know how much MQM posses any of this.We all can sense how much Younis Khan and Shaoaib malik posses this and PCB has recently banned for being incompetent and dishonest.But I do say both Shoaib Malik and Younis Khan are better than any MQM guy as they have never killed any innocent.
    Imran Khan is popular,it is world wide recognized fact.He is not polpular just because of his look,but due to his competency,honety and integrity.How can killers be compared with our national hero?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Apr 2010 8:18 #