http://www.dawn.com/2011/05/23/2009-us-assessment-of-karachi-violence.html
MQM exposed in Wikileaks: heads an organized militant wing
(110 posts)-
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:24 #
Wrong heading.
Exposed is something which is not previously known by the public.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:27 # -
MQM is the no 1 terrorist party in Pakistan. I would not be surprised that they had a hand in the recent killings of soldiers in Pakistan.
When are the people of Karachi going to wake up?
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:35 # -
These leaks have been leaked since ages so much to the extent that the Canadian Federal courts know of it.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 11:48 # -
all parites have militants too just like establishment,
in PML N headed by Rana Sanaullah
in PPP headed by Zulfiqar Mirza
in ANP by Shahid Sayeed
in MQM by Babar AwanPosted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:02 # -
"MQM exposed in Wikileaks: heads an organized militant wing"
Maybe it would be more appropriate to say that now it has been CONFIRMED (what most people already knew) by one of their allies (US) that MQM is a terrorist outfit.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:09 # -
@NP
"in MQM by Babar Awan"
What? Do you mean Baber Khan Ghauri?
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:10 # -
we don't need wikileaks to expose MQM.
we already know MQM and its deeds.Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 12:26 # -
yes Babar Khan Ghauri
and Beenai its all political parties not just MQM
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 13:18 # -
Agree or disagree, ethnicity and culture does matter any ones life.
when people from Nothern and central india came to Pakistan in early days they observed quite different culture are merged in single region.
consequently indian refugees during Zia regime wanted their identity, and Zia in his speech in karachi, accepted Muhajirs as fifth nation of Pakistan which exhibited the conflicts of Muhajirs with other nationals of Pakistan.
Large urdu speaking population wanted the ethano-geographical space in pakistan, and they concentrated in karachi,here they have controlled the area through urban fascism but another competitor recently migrated afghans they have realy chalaged thier writ in metropolitan city.
for details read worth reading article ....
THE POLITICS OF ETHANICITY IN SINDH
Research article published in Jastor.
Asian Survey, Vol. 31, No. 10 (Oct., 1991), pp. 938-955Charles H. Kennedy
University of californiaPosted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 14:14 # -
Muhjairs did urban facism in Karachi?
err how?
wheras afghans have challnegd their writ...that too how?
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 14:28 # -
Good Friends = Saathi
Question is what to do about MQM.
Another operation? I dont think our armed forces have energy and resources for that.
The best way is to bring MQM in main stream, which has been happening and all governments including NS, Choudhry Brothers, Musharraf and now PPP has done it, which is a good thing and second is to ensure free and fair elections in Karachi.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 14:49 # -
@bsobaid
They all are are daku's that includes nawaz and zardari.
If these corrupt parties try to expose MQM, there own dirty laundry will come out in public. You do remember what happened when the nooner's tried to expose Altaf Hussain.These boot polisher's can't do anything too MQM.
The parliament needs to be dissolved and a new government needs to come into power. As long as these boot polisher's are in power the only way pakistan is going is downhill.Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 15:50 # -
Saladin, I respect your patriotism but current assembly mandate is for 5 years and we dont need to dissolve at this point. All patriotic politicians can wait till 2013. In the mean time everyone can run campaign to expose bad politicians and build support for good politicians.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 15:59 # -
I respect your point of view, but do not completely agree with you. These fake parties through fake votes are not democratically fairly elected.
We need a change as soon as possible, Pakistan is on the brink of collapse, and Nawaz Sharif and Zardari will be getting ready to deport back to there slavemaster's.
It has been already pre-planned, Zardari runs it for 5 years then Nawaz saab run's it for the other.
The country cannot take much more of this boot polishing.
Let's get on the streets and do peaceful marches and get rid of these dirty politicians. Enough talking has been done, how much crap can we listen too.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 16:06 # -
Thanks saladin, but if voters list work has not been completed then what will be the use of protest? PRobably the first step is to demand and ensure valid voters list which Immu is already doing.
I dont disagree with the idea of peaceful protest to bring down a government you and your party dislike. This is the right of individuals and groups in a democratic society.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 16:18 # -
stop all foreign boot polishing including Saudi boot polishing
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 16:35 # -
Person who posted this didn't even care to read it. Just just too excited and possibly climaxing to know MQM's name appeared somewhere.
The leaks simply say they hold weapons a million licenced ones. The leaks further characterize ANP and Sunni tehrik and PPP MQM(H) and most importantly the pashtons (real terrorists). No I ask you in the presence of corrupt police pashtoon terrorists why do you think people of Karachi will not be prepared to fight back.
The person who posted it is simply stupid who think that defaming party to a handful of people present here would change anything.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 17:08 # -
Great One Taqi
shows how desprate these thugs are to snatch the Karachi that we built and then ruin it so much so that they would MQM in anything even if they themslves are far worse
I must admit i dint read it at first either
thanks for bringing the truth out
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 19:12 # -
MQM is in government. Instead of issuing licences they should have reformed and strengthened police and law enforcement agencies.
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 19:15 # -
Excerpt from the link
******************************************3. (S) MQM’s armed members, known as “Good Friends,” are the
largest non-governmental armed element in the city. The
police estimate MQM has ten thousand active armed members and
as many as twenty-five thousand armed fighters in reserve.
This is compared to the city’s thirty-three thousand police
officers. The party operates through its 100 Sector
Commanders, who take their orders directly from the party
leader, Altaf Hussain, who lives in exile in the United
Kingdom. The Sector Commanders plan and monitor the
activities of the armed elements. MQM’s detractors claim
these armed men are involved in extortion, assassination of
political rivals, shootings at campaign rallies, and the
murder of people from other ethnic communities.
4. (S) Low to middle-ranked police officials acknowledge the
extortion and the likely veracity of the other charges. A
senior police officer said, in the past eight years alone,
MQM was issued over a million arms licenses, mostly for
handguns. Post has observed MQM security personnel carrying
numerous shoulder-fired weapons, ranging from new European
AKMs to crude AK copies, probably produced in local shops.
MQM controls the following neighborhoods in Karachi:
Gulberg, Gulshan-e-Iqbal, Korangi, Landhi, Liaquatabad,
Malir, Nazimabad, New Karachi, North Nazimabad, Orangi Town,
Saddar and Shah Faisal.
**********************************************@Rohail Taqi
The person who posted it was not stupid, its you who are dumb enough to reply without reading.Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 19:15 # -
Common guys at-least read the report before posting your comments. This report is more against pushtoons and other parties than MQM. Read it first before jumping here and there...
Don't just quote the MQM part... why don't you quote the half report which is about pushtoons and talibans etc and call all of them terrorists as well?
Posted 1 year ago on 24 May 2011 20:47 # -
we can sum it up.
they are all weapon holding parties.
with terrorist wings with them.as a Karachitie,i know it well and i don't need a report from stupid wikileaks to certify it.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 6:04 # -
The report does not say that all parties have armed wings.
PML-N has no armed wing.
JI has no armed wing (thought Jamiaat acts as one sometimes).
JUP has no armed wing.And we are talking about political parties who have some electoral success, not fan clubs.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:05 # -
Those MQMers who are issuing smoke should read the report. THe part about MQM is the most damning. It also claims that lower ranking police confirms the suspicions about the terrorism of MQM.
All the other parties' violence in Karachi, as stated in the leaks, has been a response to MQM's militant wing. MQM's militancy is the core of the problem in Karachi.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:15 # -
Just_one,
Why a "so_called" report by a diplomat (American) is so important for PTI ?
And million of supporters/voters of MQM don't carry any vote ?
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 7:26 # -
A "million" votes casted by few hundred Altaf-kay-nokers would never carry any weight for anyone with a brain !!!
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 8:44 # -
salauddin,
U or IK would decide that which vote is valid or not ?
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 9:14 # -
ofcourse... MQM has arms and always did... but they are all licensed and legal. its necessary to have something in hand in case the state establishment and haters of urduspeaking attempt another genocide.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 10:26 # -
Lol at the fan club to dish out such rhetoric against MQM when Dharna Khan himself has forgiven and forgotten everything....
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:05 # -
MQM further exposed.
:)Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:13 # -
@quaidkamazzar
get real, they are the problem for well being of Karachi, they are a terrorist organisation.
How much evidence do u require.Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 11:32 # -
dream on jamatis and mullahs, you will be chuked into the sea from Karachi
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:03 # -
@not possible
the way things are going on in Pakistan, we all may be dumped into the sea.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:14 # -
good id loved to swim before I die
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 12:26 # -
Great to see you flipflopping:
First you claimed MQM terrorist and when you were challenged; you literally confirmed everyone is. It is a fact you are very biased for a moderator but now you have taken a title of certified hypocrite.Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:11 # -
@S89
Your own party is no saint; getting help from Punjabi Student Association and Pasbans (Jamaati ghundays) just shows it well.Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:14 # -
@Sharif Aadmi
No... but NADRA would.
http://www.thenewstribe.com/2011/03/10/37-mn-bogus-votes-casted-in-pakistan%E2%80%99s-2008-election/
"The verification process revealed that 44.02 million of the entries were valid and it left a void of 37.18 million entries that were considered bogus."
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:53 # -
For All Parties.
Prepare for the next election, come out with good programme and let the country become stable.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 14:56 # -
There is only one party that is PTI
you have tasted them all, now taste pti.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:07 # -
@Adonis, JI and JUP has no militant wing? I dont think so.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:24 # -
@saladin89,
"There is only one party that is PTI
you have tasted them all, now taste pti"
I would rather puke.
Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 15:28 # -
@salaudin
http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/voter-list-nadra-missing-voter-dilemma
Please have a read about NADRA performance.
It was honourable CJ IMC , who headed the bench who ordered conducting elections under old voters list rejecting the new lists perpared by NADRA.
Thats one of big issues with our young lads who are very energetic but unfortunately their history and knowledge starts from March 9,2007.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 6:39 # -
@ sharif aadmi
You are absolutely right.
Election commission had removed these 37 million votes (which are now being dubbed fake) before the 2008 elections and had decided that only those votes will remain in teh list that included a valid NADRA CNIC number.
Then Benazir Bhutto filed a petition in the supreme court challenging the EC move saying that many voters did not yet have CNIC and requesting re-inclusion of these 37 million votes. A bench headed by CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry decided in favour of Benazir Bhutto and ordered that these votes be included in electoral rolls.
Now, the supreme court has realized its mistake and decided that its previous decision was wrong.
So if anyone is to be blamed for these "fake votes" it is the supreme court.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 6:46 # -
Adonis
Bahi jee, aap PTI waloon ko bohut tang kartey hoo .Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 6:51 # -
@Sharif Aadmi
From your posted link.
"......asked the Commission to come up with a method to correct the lists."@Adonis
Thank you for admitting my point that "fake votes" exist !!!Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:17 # -
salaudin
BAhi jee, that correction was to include those 30m votes which had been omitted.
Poori baat parh bhi liya karain aur samjha bhi kaarain :)
I would repeat."Thats one of big issues with our young lads who are very energetic but unfortunately their history and knowledge starts from March 9,2007.
"Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:23 # -
"correct the list" would imply that the list should be "corrected" which SHOULD mean that
- has NO bogus votes
- has the names of the qualified voterscorrect me if I am wrong though.
On another note, CNIC was not a requirement in 2008 since some people did not have the computerized NIC. NIC/Passport should be a requirement for a registered voter (standard procedure in democratic world). Since, NADRA has asked Pakistanis to have their NIC computerized, CNIC or computer readable passport (which is linked to CNIC anyways) should be a requirement.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:37 # -
he he he
MQM kay expose honay ko bacha tha kuch?
ho he he ho .MQM kay baray mein sub kuch sub log jantay hain.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:48 # -
salaudin
which SHOULD mean that
- has NO bogus votes
- has the names of the qualified voterscorrect me if I am wrong though.
U definetly need a correction. U need to see in connection with the petition which was under consideration and what remedy was sought.
It was against the elemination of 30m votes and correction meant inclusion of those eliminated votes , duly done by ECP as per orders of SC.
On another note, CNIC was not a requirement in 2008 since some people did not have the computerized NIC. NIC/Passport should be a requirement for a registered voter (standard procedure in democratic world). Since, NADRA has asked Pakistanis to have their NIC computerized, CNIC or computer readable passport (which is linked to CNIC anyways) should be a requirement.
"Should be is your wish list.
Talk of the requirements as per current law which doesn't necessiates a CNIC.
Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 7:53 #