MQM for another feudal-dominated province

(28 posts)
  1. asif86

http://www.dawn.com/2012/01/08/mqm-f...-province.html

By Shafqat Tanvir Mirza

All-time ally of corrupt and feudal-dominated in-power political parties, the so-called Muttahida Qaumi Movement (formerly Mohajir Qaumi Movement), has through its minister in the centre Dr Farooq Sattar moved a resolution for creating more provinces in Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa on the plea that “his party did not want Balochistan to become another Bangladesh and south Punjab and Hazara as another Balochistan of present day where people felt alienated and deprived.

The MQM forgot to mention the first and the foremost reason which forced the Bengalis to go independent.

That was Urdu and Urduwallas who wanted unchallenged hegemony of Urdu language and did not want to share power with the language of a majority of the population i.e Bengali.

And the second and the immediate reason was the feudal class of the West Pakistan represented by Sindhi landlord Z.A. Bhutto whom the MQM had been accusing of dividing the country.

The bill suggests that the people of 21 districts in the south Punjab should decide through referendum if they want a large Seraiki or more than one province (What about Bahawalpur?)

It has included the following districts of the Punjab – one more than the demand of the Seraiki protagonists: Bahawalpur, R.Y. Khan, Bahawalnagar, Multan, Khanewal, Lodharan, Vehari, Toba Tek Singh, Jhang, Chiniot, Khushab, Mianwali, Sargodha, Bhakkar, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Sahiwal, Pak Pattan and Okara (The last one added by the MQM itself perhaps expecting a seat of Rangharrs for the MQM).

To assure the Sindh PPP, Farooq said that there was no need for creation of a new province in Sindh, which is the ultimate end of the fifth nationality, as envisaged by Altaf Husain at earlier stages.

The idea of referendum in south Punjab speaks loudly the intention of the MQM which could not give a national image without the support of Karachi settlers as is the case of Azad Kashmir, where its candidate Tahir Khokhar could not get a majority of votes either from Azad Kashmir or from Punjab; he got all votes from Karachi.

ANP members opposed the separate province for FATA while the next day the veteran PPP member and former deputy speaker Syed Zafar Ali Shah said the creation of any new province now would not stop the process and warned against the creation of a Northern Ireland-like situation in Karachi, where, he said ethnic Sindhis had been treated badly over the past 15 to 20 years.

Zafar Ali Shah never found favour with the past and the present PPP leadership. President Zardari, being the joint chairman of the PPP, always surrenders to the MQM even at the cost of being a Sindh nationalist… waving Ajrak and Sindhi cap time and again.

On the other hand, Zardari after being elected as the head of the state, avoids to visit interior Sindh even his home-district because of his personal security.

On the one hand he proudly claims that he has surrendered powers voluntarily through constitutional amendment while on the other hand he has violated the constitution of the PPP by appointing second president of the party for the Punjab.

This division of Punjab attracted the attention of PPP co-chairman Zardari when he felt the changing position of his “friendly opposition” led by PML-N.

Before that after the fall of Dhaka even, Z.A. Bhutto used to suspect the majority of Punjab which might have challenged the Sindhi supremacy and in his early period the first and so far the last All-Pakistan Seraiki Conference was held in Multan.

It was sponsored by the then Sindh chief minister Ghulam Mustafa Jatoi. But it was spoiled so far Sindhis were concerned, by a map of Seraikistan in which Seraiki-speaking areas of Sindh were also included.

The Sindhi writers and intellectuals including Rasool Bukhsh Paleejo lodged strong protest and walked out of the conference. Since that conference, the Seraikis of Punjab never dared to include Sindhi areas in their map.

Zardari and the MQM are of the opinion that Seraikis are being ruled and exploited by the Central Punjab and they should be freed.

About the backwardness of the Seraiki belt, a former MPA from the area and former adviser to the chief minister of Punjab, Mahmood Hayat Khan, has been quoted by Husain Ahmad Khan in his book ‘Rethinking Punjab… the Construction of Seraiki Identity’ (70) “… the feudal lords must be held responsible first than bureaucracy and military rulers, as they are not letting the schools and colleges to open in this southern belt.

For instance in my area a parliamentarian did not let any programme of education be completed… we got our first intermediate college in 1970s, when that feudal lord was defeated in the elections and took another 20 years to get the status of a degree college.

They (northern Punjabis) have high literacy rate that is why they have greater share in and stern control over the bureaucracy. In every town or village of northern Punjab you will easily find at last one bureaucrat or military officer.

Here in our region (southern Punjab) you seldom find any high ranking official, our representation is so less that you may count the officials from southern Punjab on fingers”.

Tariq Rahman in his book ‘Language and Politics in Pakistan’ is highly critical of the present feudal leadership and feels that a separate Seraiki province would be dominated by similar people”. P 185
    And MQM wants a feudal -ominated province. What a fall my countrymen!

Posted 4 months ago on 09 Jan 2012 22:20 #
  2. Dusky

By the logic of article, southern Punjab should never be a separate province because they have big feudal presence. And anyone supporting such a motion can not be friend of the people of the area.

Does it even make sense?

Posted 4 months ago on 09 Jan 2012 23:47 #
  3. Rohail Taqi

"That was Urdu and Urduwallas who wanted unchallenged hegemony of Urdu language and did not want to share power with the language of a majority of the population i.e Bengali."

This shows the mentality of the bogus blogger. Probably he forgot the massacre that happened in B-desh. He forgot that Ayub and Yahyah Khan were not urdu walas.

I think this is fabulous politics by MQM. First remove the constitutional binding of 2/3 majority of provincial assemblies and then ultimately go for a divided Sind.

InshahAllah after Hazara and Siraiki another southern Sind province will not be difficult.

Posted 4 months ago on 09 Jan 2012 23:54 #
  4. expakistani

wow so if MQM ask for due rights of Seriki people then they are at fault

why not ask people from southern punjab directly if they care to live under "Takt-e-Lahore"

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 2:59 #
  5. bsobaid

I am against creation of new provinces by center.

That should be a provincial decision and current constitutional clause requiring two third approval is a good one.

I als support n.league's idea of first creating a formula and then creating provinces.

Assembly should draft a formula and then leave iton province to create sub provinces based on that formula.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:14 #
  6. expakistani

@bsobaid

its like leaving NRO case up to Hazart Janab Asif Ali Zardari sahib.

OH bhi, why not ask people from south punjab if they want to live with people in upper punjab

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:19 #
  7. Dusky

@bsobaid: "I als support n.league's idea of first creating a formula and then creating provinces."

Completely agree.

"I am against creation of new provinces by center.

That should be a provincial decision and current constitutional clause requiring teo third approval is a god one."

That's the catch 22 situation. First of all, next to impossible for any political party in Provence to go for such a division especially when they are sitting at majority.

Second, division should be more on administrative bases, which might go beyond boundaries of one province. In such cases you need approval from more them one province... and believe me, in Pakistan's political scenario, that never gona happen.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:27 #
  8. bsobaid

Sir,

Kal punjabi center Yaa koi punjabi general agar balochistan aur sindh kay pieces karnay beth gaya tou aap sab hee yehaa naaray maar rahay honga y.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:30 #
  9. insaftak

I agree with Bsboaid on this.

Right now there is no formula to create a province and first we need to fix the formula.

I am from potohar region and fully support a new province in my area too.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:42 #
  10. Dusky

Exactly, that's why I agree with your statement about the policy. With consensus make a national policy and define factors for new provinces and make that part of constitution.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:44 #
  11. bsobaid

Problem yeh hai kay laalchee ppp aur mqm waloo kee nazar south punjab kay vote bank pay hai.

N.league should have taken the initiative and presented the formula to constitution ammendment committee but they could not make a decision.

Shareefs ko hurr baat time nikalnay kay baad samajh aati hai.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 3:52 #
  12. Dusky

میاں صاحب کے لیہ ایک پرانا شعر

مرے جاگنے سے پہلے ہا یے ری قسمت سو جا تی ہے
    میں دیر کرتا نہی دیر ہو جا تی ہے

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 4:05 #
  13. quaidkamazaar

MQM is never supporting feudal domination in South Punjab....
    the whole idea behind this article is FAILED

Altaf Bhai says clearly that he wants the middle/lower class, the real owners of South Punjab to stand up. It is time to take matters into your own hands for Seraiki awam.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 4:11 #
  14. Hussain Farooqui

Blaming national language for the chaos is something not understandable. It was the ruthless savagery by our army which angered the Bengali masses. However, the support to the army by Biharis was a blunder for which they are still being punished.

Urdu was declared as the common language of the Muslims of the subcontinent. The languages of Arabic, Persian, Turkish and Urdu have been mainstream languages of the Muslims. Replacing a mainstream language by a regional language is an out of question matter. The common Bengalis were not against Urdu. Only a mischievous class of Hindu backed Bengalis put that demand. Mainstream languages like Arabic or Persian can be better replacement of Urdu but not any regional language.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 6:00 #
  15. quaidkamazaar

Hussain Farooqui,

I think you got your analysis right... the disagreement was more on injustice, racist attitude, poverty and lack of care. urdu was a minor issue for Bengalis compared to the bigger issue of lack of acceptance as real Pakistanis.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 9:47 #
  16. Hussain Farooqui

qkm

The only mistake which the Urdu speaking Biharis made was their support to Pakistani army and Pakistani administration. The Biharis should have been rather voicing protests on the excesses of Pakistani army and administration.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 10:41 #
  17. asif86

expakistani"wow so if MQM ask for due rights of Seriki people then they are at fault

why not ask people from southern punjab directly if they care to live under "Takt-e-Lahore"
    //////////////////////////////////////////

When MQM cannot safeguard the rights of seraiki people living in karachi then how will they do it in punjab.

More than takt-e-lahore the feudal lords are responsible for backwardness of southern punjab because they oppose projects like schools and colleges in their areas.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 14:57 #
  18. Ghost Protocol

MQM has again won the political race by presenting resolution in national assembly on creation of new provinces.
    No doubt, no other political party would support this Idea based on MQM's resolution as it would strengthen MQM however, by opposing the idea, they are in big trouble as they are getting exposed in the eyes of people benefiting MQM.
    MQM has won this round and timing could not have been better i.e one year or less to Elections.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 15:55 #
  19. zingaro

قائد کے مزار صاحب سچ فرما رہے ہیں کہ ایم کیوایم اصل میں جاگیردارانہ صوبہ جنوبی پنجاب کیلئے نہیں کام کر رہی ۔ کیونکہ بھائی لوگ کی نظریں تو دور کی منزل پہ لگی ہوئی ہیں جو سرائیکی صوبہ بننے کے بعد شاید قریب آجائے۔ اصل کام تو پھر شروع ہوگا۔ ابھی تو سندھ کی تقسیم کی جو بھی بات کرے گا بھائی لوگ سے بھی گالی کھائے گا ہاں مستقبل میں انتظامی بنیادوں پہ بڑے منطقی دلائل آئیں گے جناب سندھ بارے بھی ۔ لوگ تو ایویں سمجھتے ہی نہیں ۔

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 16:00 #
  20. aftab arif

With 20 million people people living in Karachi, two provinces should be carved out of Karachi for better governance.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 17:26 #
  21. runaway

Why are people against the division of Sindh?

MQM should include that in their demands.

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 17:43 #
  22. quaidkamazaar

runaway,

division of a province should happen only if there is widespread resentment amongst people and feeling of alienation.

there are active Seraiki and Hazaara tehreekein that exist... where these people ask for right to have a separate province.

in Sindh case, there is no real tehreek that exists that is asking for division of Sindh... the public of Sindh does not want to divide Sindh as they feel it will not solve their problems.... however, there are factions of public in Punjab who want to divide Punjab to fight injustice.

MQM is only echoing and making louder the appeals of the people. thats all. there is no growing demand for division of Sindh yet coming from within Sindh, that is why MQM has not voiced that idea yet.

MQM is appealing for South Punjab province/provinces because such demands have been coming for ages since creation of Pakistan.... this is a very old plea of poor Seraiki people. if no other party is taking step, then MQM will take this step for the poor people.

If one day, majority of Karachi wants a seperate Urban Sindh province, there is no doubt in my mind that MQM will vouch for this idea in national assembly.... but situation is not like that as Karachi/Hydrebad folks want to remain within Sindh and call themselves "Sindhi"

Posted 4 months ago on 10 Jan 2012 21:58 #
  23. I support the idea of new provinces; we should have at least 18 provinces, i.e. 1 province for 100 million population.

Posted 4 months ago on 11 Jan 2012 3:19 #
  24. siddiqi73

@QKM,

Do you consider yourself to be a Sindhi or a Mohajir? FYI, I consider myself to be a Mohajir and Mohajir only, even though my domicile is from Sindh.

Posted 4 months ago on 11 Jan 2012 6:38 #
  25. Ignore one zero from my previous post. What I meant 1 province for every 10 million population.
    And it is a wonderful idea to fomr more provinces to provide better services at local level.

Posted 4 months ago on 11 Jan 2012 11:16 #
  26. Ghost Protocol

Siddiqi bhai, wah g wah

Posted 4 months ago on 11 Jan 2012 15:57 #
  27. quaidkamazaar

@siddiqi

i consider myself to be urduspeaking... i am technically not "mohajir" or migrant. however, people use urduspeaking and mohajir interchangeably so in that case i am mohajir and urduspeaking.

I am not Sindhi by blood... I have never worn ajrak, but I have worn kurta pajama a lot :)

But this does not mean that I do not respect Sindh... me and you can be "geographically" Sindhi only. You can keep your mohajir identity in tact while being geographically Sindhi, there is no harm in that in my view. we need to respect everyone coming from everywhere.

Posted 4 months ago on 12 Jan 2012 3:52 #
  28. Hussain Farooqui

Interestingly. the people belonging to non-Baluch races in Baluchistan are now calling themselves as Baluchistanis. Before the independence of Pakistan, we were only united Muslims, but thenceforth new and newer identities began to grow from time to time. Separate countries and provinces are now in demand.

Posted 4 months ago on 12 Jan 2012 5:23 #