MQM has LESS THAN 20% Support in Karachi: WikiLeaks

(99 posts)
  1. (Sorry to start another WikiLeaks thread but I think this needs special attention)
    KARACHI: President Asif Ali Zardari told the then US ambassador Anne W Patterson that Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM) hardly enjoyed support of 20 per cent population in Karachi, the capital city of Sindh, Geo News reported, quoting WikiLeaks.
    According to leaked diplomatic memos, the party always emerged victorious only on the basis of delimitation of constituencies, Zardari further told her.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/NewsDetail.aspx?ID=6556

(Sure it is coming from Zardari but I DO believe it is the truth)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 5:12 #
  2. Not Possible

@Nota

I didnt know you were a comedian? funny!!

or suddenly just selectively you have started believing Zardari?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 5:17 #
  3. @NP
    Yes, VERY selectively. First of all this -- again -- is hardly a relevation (more of a confirmation). Second, remember this was said behind closed doors and infront of Ga'ay Mata.

BTW: Yes, I am a comedian but somehow Kali Mata worshipers don't find me so funny :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 5:20 #
  4. Not Possible

a confirmation from Zardari? I mean you vow to adhere to his words from now on and support them?

secondly so the words of a Sindhi Nationalist leader, come on lets face it, in Sindh PPP is that

are credible for representing non sindhis

and less than 20% no less, less than 20%!!! wow o wow

you dont live in Karachi or never have been here have you?

its actually the other way around...trust me in time you will see...in time!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 5:58 #
  5. @NP
    Right! (So they plan to kill another 60% of the population...in time?) :-p

Ok, let's ask who people believe more:

Zardari: MQM has 20% support in Karachi.
    NP: MQM has 80% support in Karachi.

Who is closer to the truth?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 6:13 #
  6. Not Possible

why dont you come to Karachi and see for yourself

and now your vehemenlty vouching for Zardari...fantastic!

what do you think the size of Karachis population is?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 6:21 #
  7. @NP
    Thanks for the invite...have to go there anyways to source somethings :)

The size of Karachi's population (~15-20 mil.)? Why? How is it relevant?

BTW: Your "and now your vehemenlty vouching for Zardari...fantastic!" gives rise to another comparison:
    Who does one believe more Kalia or Zard?
    Hmmm...Let's reach a compromise: Zard says 20%. You say 80%. Meeting halfway takes us to 50% and that is probably closer too the truth:

The city's largest community are Mohajirs, descendants of those who fled from south of the border when the 1947 partition separated Pakistan from India. They make up almost half of the population, and tend to support the pro-government Mutaihda Qaumi Movement (MQM). Punjabis and Pathans each make up around a quarter of the population.

http://www.time.com/time/world/article/0,8599,1620818,00.html#ixzz17Dneqo5q

So this proves you are as big a liar as Zardari :-P

(P.S. If anything, the Muhajir percentage is DECREASING...not INCREASING)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 7:46 #
  8. Not Possible

come to karachi and you will see provided you want to see

and the fact that you havent been to Karachi and make assertions about it is a typical sad fact of people who genralise without knowledge

your bias is visable form heavy handed statments like 60% of population of Karachi of 20 million can be killed... wow

so a biased opinion based on assertions and not on ground knowledge is just that.... a biased opinion

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 8:59 #
  9. Hussain Farooqui

Who else is then enjoying the remaining 80% vote bank?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 9:35 #
  10. aayelleye

I live in lhr and i visited karachi last year i felt that most of the ppl like ppp in karachi but i hate ppp too and when i asked my uncle who was the third president of APMSO and nowadays hiding himslf from mqm's ghundas told me that we don't need to cast our votes mqm walay khud dal detay hain sub ghar walo kay...i never found a person of karachi in or outside karachi who says i like mqm.i asked a taxi driver about altaf hussain us nay mere agay hath jor liye and said if u want to go back to lhr then plz never ask this question to anyother...then i decide that mqm is a mafia not a political force...

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 10:00 #
  11. متحدہ نے امریکا و برطانیہ کے دباؤ پر این آر او کی مخالفت کی، وکی لیکس

Share Updated at 1220 PST

کراچی … متحدہ قومی موومنٹ نے این آر او سے متعلق اپنی حمایت امریکا اور برطانیہ کے دباؤ پر واپس لی تھی۔ یہ انکشاف اس وقت کی امریکی سفیر این ڈبلیو پیٹر سن کے مراسلے سے ہوا ہے جو انہوں نے پاکستان میں رہتے ہوئے واشنگٹن بھیجا تھا۔ وکی لیکس نے یہ مراسلہ بھی انٹر نیٹ پر جاری کر کے دنیا بھر میں پھیلا دیا ہے ۔ مراسلے کے مطابق رحمن ملک نے امریکی سفیر سے ملاقات کرکے دبئی میں ایم کیو ایم کے عہدیداروں سے ملاقات کی تفصیلات بتائی تھیں ۔رحمن ملک نے امریکی سفیر کو بتایا کہ دبئی میں ملاقات کے دوران ایم کیو ایم کے سینئر رہنما نے انہیں بتایا کہ امریکا نے کی طرف سے این آر او کی حمایت واپس لینے کا دباؤ گورنر سندھ پر اس وقت ڈالا گیا جب وہ امریکا گئے تھے اور برطانیہ کی جانب سے دبا ؤ الطاف حسین پر برطانوی حکومت کی جانب سے ڈالا گیا تھا۔اس ساری صورت حال میں رحمن ملک نے امریکی سفیر سے درخواست کی تھی کہ وہ امریکی حکومت کی جانب سے پاکستان میں جمہوریت کی حمایت کے لیے بیان جاری کرائیں۔اس سے نہ صرف صدر آصف زرداری پر فوج کی جانب سے عہدہ چھوڑنے کے دباؤ سے تحفظ ملے گا بلکہ اس سے ایم کیو ایم کے ان مسلسل الزامات رد کرنے میں بھی مدد ملے گی جن میں ایم کیو ایم دعویٰ کرتی ہے کہ اس نے این آر او سے متعلق حمایت امریکا اور برطانیہ کے کہنے پر ترک کی تھی ۔مراسلے کے مطابق رحمن ملک ملاقات کے دوران مستقل پریشان نظر آئے،کیونکہ ان کا خیال تھا کہ امریکا صدر زرداری اور ان کے اندرونی حلقے کی حمایت سے ہاتھ کھینچ رہا ہے جس میں وہ خود بھی شامل ہیں ۔انہوں نے امریکی سفیر سے کہا تھا کہ سعودی عرب اور پاکستان مسلم لیگ نواز فوج اور ایم کیو ایم کے ساتھ مل کر صدر زرداری کوکرسی سے ہٹانے کی کوشش میں لگے ہیں ۔مراسلے میں کہا گیا کہ رحمن ملک کا خیا ل تھا کہ ڈی جی آئی ایس آئی شجاع پاشا صدر زرداری کے خلاف کام کر رہے ہیں لیکن شجاع پاشا کو جنرل اشفاق پرویز کیانی کی حمایت کے بغیر کوئی بھی قدام اٹھانا ناممکن ہوگا ۔
    http://jang.com.pk/jang/dec2010-daily/05-12-2010/u54866.htm

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 10:37 #
  12. Not Possible

@aayelleye

most people like PPP?? wow most people in the country dont like PPP anymore let alone Karachi, the overwhelming majority is muhajirs (though yes letely Pushtun numbers have grown significantly and so have sindhis)

why would most people like PPP?

and comon everyone knows Lahoris have a bias against Karachi....If a Karachite came to Lahore amd ,met one taxi wala and gave the impression that he thought most people in Lahore liked PPP, and met an uncle affilated with PML-N who told of the methods of Rana Sanaullah and his ghundas ...how would you feel

taxi drivers by the way a lot of them are pashtun, or punjabis

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 10:47 #
  13. @NP
    "come to karachi and you will see provided you want to see
    and the fact that you havent been to Karachi"

Wow! And why do you presume that I haven't been to Karachi? Of course you are WRONG. As to my coming to Karachi (again) and finding things as aayelleye did, then we already know your response :)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 10:54 #
  14. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

what about the remaining 80%??

G.A MQM

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 11:23 #
  15. aayelleye

@ not possible

first of all let me clear you that i just hate nawaz sharif and i am urdu speaking lahori i mean muhajir,many of our relatives live in karachi and my that uncle is one of the founder of mqm and a student leader. altaf hussain,imran farooq and others used to live in his home but i would not tell his name as he had left mqm and many of his friends from mqm have been murdered who left mqm.

you said most of the ppl of lhr are biased against karachi i agree bcz sometimes i also feel that bieng an urdu speaker but this biasness is limited to cher char but not qatlogharat like in karachi.karachi ppl specially mqm is 100 time more biased for punjabi and pathans and even for sindhis...may be u remember when punjabi's were brutaly murdered in karachi in huge numbers and punjab was recieving bori may bund lashain but thank GOD urdu speaking lahori don't face such things...alhamdulillah

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 11:26 #
  16. aayelleye

i love karachi and karachi is backbone of pakistan and most of the hardworking pakistani live in karachi.karachi is just like elder brother i beg to Allah "ya ALLAH karachi ke mqm kay ghundo or lutero say jan chura day ta k karaci kay parhay likhay or sharif log politics ka hissa bana" bcz only karachi can change the fortune of pakistan single handedly...

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 11:31 #
  17. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

aayelleye
    i know, this is some old tactic of maligning mqm..... my uncle was this and that bla bla!
    try something new now

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 11:41 #
  18. He! Hee! Sach karwa lagta hai... :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 12:29 #
  19. aayelleye

@ sar

the problem is i can't tell everything about my uncle bcz he has two little babies but tell me one thing if they have full support in karachi and they always remain the part of the govt then why altaf hussain does'nt come karachi i ask why please give me the answer kya leader itna he darpok hona chaye? benazir aurat zaat ho k pakistan aye thi though i hate her but she was far better then altaf hussain...

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 13:30 #
  20. NNL

Nota wrote

If anything, the Muhajir percentage is DECREASING.

That is true Muhajir population was always decreasing for various reasons. It rapidly increased after the Bihari infusion.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 14:02 #
  21. The point to pay attention is that President Asif Ali Zardari told the then US ambassador Anne W Patterson.

That explains it, like Patterson is dumbfound to believe Zardari whom nobody in Pakistan believes.

Is there anything in Wikileaks on her expression on hearing that? Bet it would be like what a fcukwit Zardari is, who is not only lacking in clue but is apparently unable or unwilling to acquire clue even when handed it on a plate in generous portions.

Hussain Farooqui
    Who else is then enjoying the remaining 80% vote bank?

SAR
    what about the remaining 80%??

Pashtuns, Taliban!
    Obviously Zardari aimed at scaring the Americans by portraying a grimmer picture and milking them more for aid.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 15:02 #
  22. Not Possible

@ aayelleye and nota

you visit Karachi

we were born and have lived all our lives here

so where can bias out of limited information exist?

I admitted as such that proportion of non muhajir particularly pashtuns and then sindhis have increased but muhajirs are still the overwhelming majority

and most areas of Karachi are populated by Muhajirs, take a tour and you will see.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 15:26 #
  23. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

i can only laugh at the wishes of those who are hellbent upon portraying mqm as not so popular party.....
    fools!

and mqm is no more an ethnical party..... it is widely supported by sindhis and other ethnicities living in karachi... specially after the recent floods.....

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 15:45 #
  24. aayelleye

@NP and sar

sorry i cant believe that mqm is the most famous party in karachi as i am muhajir and urdu speaker i know how they decide and make thier choice specially in giving vote.they can not give there votes to criminals,to bhagora,buzdil aurto say zyada,ghunda,who sings in his adderesses like an old marasi, who claims himslf the leader and never come to pakistan............................................................................................................................................................................

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 17:30 #
  25. truths

i live in karachi i can say mqm populirity less than 20%,

populirty in the name of gunpoint, if election made here under army representive all mqm supporter can see result.

we can see results as little example.

one men gone to polling station to cast vote, inside polling station mqm workers says uncle why make struggle to come here your vote already cast,

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 19:15 #
  26. Who do 7.5 Million Pashtuns in Karachi vote for?
    How come these men at arms let MQM reign?

http://www.pbs.org/frontlineworld/watch/player.html?pkg=rc81karachi&seg=1&mod=0

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 20:06 #
  27. alirazaster
    Disabled upon Request

yes, and the rest of pakistan has genuine democracy!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 20:07 #
  28. @aayelleye spells Ali

first of all let me clear you that i just hate nawaz sharif and i am urdu speaking lahori

as i am muhajir and urdu speaker

What is an Urdu speaking lahori? Punjabis in LHR also speak Urdu, many don't know even Punjabi.

Further, there is no such thing as Muhajir 63 years later. You should adopt to where ever you have sought to settle, i.e. identify yourself as one of the four provinces. It seems you have carried on the Muhajir/MQM mentality in LHR. Bet you opted to refrain from learning Punjabi, because you know a certain higher language which you keep using to distinguish yourself from rest of Punjab.

This is exactly the rhetoric used by Muhajirs/MQM in KHI i.e. they never assimilated in Sindh in six decades and they are religiously against learning the Sindhi language.

If your uncle as a MQM founder had problems in KHI with Altaf Bhai, he could have requested to head MQM LHR wing to do Punjab style 'clean' politics, which also involves 'boris' but of money bills i.e. becoming billionaire out of mediocre business.

Also, have you asked your relatives in KHI to move out to LHR? It would be wise if Muhajirs do not concentrate at one location in the country.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 20:59 #
  29. secularists

Dunno if it is as low as 20 % but it is not what they impress on people. The Urdu speaking populace is at max 5 million, estimating Karachi's population to be 1.5 that's 33 % plus significant part of Urdu speakings vote for jamaat e islami which one seven seats from Karachi last time but boycotted this time.

Indeed constitutional delimitations play a major role in mqm victory eg burns road and defence are in the same NA seat but despite te fact that ppp polled higher in defence burns road had a turnout of above 90% and mqm ended up winning. The same thing was repeated in Tariq road, Malir and even Gadap in which there was polling as high as 100%. in fact no mqm Wala really denies the stuffing of ballot boxes all they say is they ppp does the same in larkana and pmln in Lahore so why shouldn't we do it.

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 21:35 #
  30. progressivepk

In Karachi,there are white color working class and they earn their bread and butter and Do you really think a white color working class fight or can challenge MQM like organised Mafia and terrorist organisation,who run their Bhata khaur business plans in Karachi and Hyderabad??They terrorize people,they harass people,they kidnap and burn people...who will like to challenge them??Even during Mush regime,through Military support,they were organised from dead horse to dirty elephant..I dont know why our establishment save this beast to hurt the lives and peace of Karachi???

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Dec 2010 21:59 #
  31. quaidkamazaar

less than 20%?
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHA joke of the century.

fact is not only urduspeaking, but Balochis Pukhtoons also have started voting for MQM.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 1:49 #
  32. quaidkamazaar

@barackosama

I dont know why you are believing on such myths.

who said "muhajirs" do not identify themselves as one of the four provinces??? on Sindhi Ajrak day, the whole of MQM ninezero was wearing Ajrak as sign of respect and dancing on Sindhi songs... maybe you are too ignorant to notice that.

you want mahajirs to assimilate, start learning Sindhi language ect... but sir, that will not happen as you cannot impose culture by force. Sindhis and Mahajirs are different entities, but atleast they can respect each other living in the same province and thats what its all about. its about time you respect this 5th nationality that exists in Pakistan, because as you say its been 60 something years and they deserve right to hold on to their culture like the other proud sons of the soil.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 2:03 #
  33. @quaidkamazaar

Turn your weapon to aayelleye.

Ain't nuthin wring in paying in the same coin. That was not intended for your comsumption. :)

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 15:05 #
  34. Not Possible

haha jamatis giving opinion on MQM popularity

20% coming from Jamati lying Mullahs is a lot trust me, if Jamatis can say its 20% than its atleast 3 times that

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karachi

http://www.findpk.com/cities/html/karachi.html

According to the census of 1998, the linguistic distribution of the city is as follows: Urdu: 48.52%; Punjabi: 13.94%; Pashto: 11.42%; Sindhi: 7.22%; Balochi: 4.34%; Saraiki: 2.11%; others: 12.4%. The others include Dari, Gujarati, Dawoodi Bohra, Memon, Marwari, Brahui, Makrani, Khowar, Burushaski, Arabic, Persian and Bengali.[51]

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 15:33 #
  35. aayelleye

@ BO

ya i agree many ppl use urdu here even punjabi families like BUTT,ARYEN,BHATII,SHIEKH also like to speak urdu now and i also speak urdu but my family is not basically punjabi as my grandfather migrated to pak from india and not from indian punjab rather from UP.and you are right that karachi ppl are not more muhajir now but but but please tell me why altaf bhayya doesn't come back? why you ppl need guns and bhata why he is bhagora why he is buzdil more then a women. why?please bhai say pooch k bata do...

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 16:50 #
  36. aftab arif

I think Zardari was paying MQM a compliment when he said that they have 20% support in Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 16:54 #
  37. aayelleye

@ NP

well well well a wrong guess again listen NP i hate jamat-islami...anyways please NP my question is can ppl of karachi who are i believe the best brains give there votes to criminals,to bhagora,buzdil aurto say zyada,ghunda,who sings in his adderesses like an old marasi, who claims himslf the leader and never come to pakistan.................................................can they?

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 17:00 #
  38. shriq

"everyone knows Lahoris have a bias against Karachi"

Why our friend from Karachi thinks that Lahoris have a bias....?

Can you define everyone Is it people at Nine Zero? You are again and again asking NOTA to come to Karachi!! Have you ever bothered yourself to know the feelings of Lahoris. We love all Pakistan and Pakistanis. And this is not just a statement, my dear. Come to Lahore and wake up please!

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 17:20 #
  39. shriq

Barackosama,

"Further, there is no such thing as Muhajir 63 years later."

100% agreed. All are Pakistanis!!

Well said!

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 17:27 #
  40. asif86

http://www.pakobserver.net/detailnews.asp?id=65201

According to leaked diplomatic memos, the MQM always emerged victorious only on the basis of delimitation of constituencies Zardari further told her.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 22:32 #
  41. progressivepk

MQM in the garb of being national party protect their Mafia and racist interests.They are known terrorists with suits and boats,shaved ones.They are as dirty as Talibans because both attack poor civilians.12 May like events are common in karachi's history and all fingers point unaniously in Pakistan towards MQM for their terrorist and Mafia activities.They fought with Punjabis,Pakhtoons and even Sindhis (who welcomed them and gave them their land to live and prosper).Their agenda is to stay in power through using black mailing tactics.

Posted 1 year ago on 06 Dec 2010 22:42 #
  42. quaidkamazaar

nope progressive saahab, thats not a very progressive opinion ;)

MQM is trying its best to keep a good environment with Sindhis. MQM PPP alliance is proof for you. Despite all the complaints these two parties have with each other, Sindh remains united, on paper at the very least. Afterall, there are blue blooded Sindhis, Pakhtuns in MQM. and Balochi voters to back it up.

Sindh Day is headed by MQM in Karachi, I wish that you knew this.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 4:04 #
  43. Hussain Farooqui

MQM rose to the political horizon of Karachi after insensitive behavior of the political parties against heavy bloodbaths. Had the political parties of that time played a responsible role, MQM would never rise to the political horizon.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 11:53 #
  44. ajhons

Hussain Farooqui
    Totally Agreed.And infact its was JI who enjoyed the majority here and once was supposed tobe the voice of Karachi.They failed to voice the concern/problems of the city resulting their complete wash out from the politicle canvas.In karachi even today their are two major politicle parties, JI and MQM.PPP and ANP stands nowwhere.PPP is active because their in power, as for ANP, my Pukhtun housekeep very well contributed the fact" All relgious minded pukhtoon are with Fazal u Rehman while rest of them are with ANP.(He was refereing to the fact that most of the Pukhtoon are religious minded)

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 12:03 #
  45. asif86

NNL"
    That is true Muhajir population was always decreasing for various reasons. It rapidly increased after the Bihari infusion. "

THAT INFUSION TOOK PLACE IN THE 1970S WHEN BANGLADESH BECAME INDEPENDENT.IN THE LAST TWO DECADES IT HAS COME DOWN FROM 54% TO 48% ACCORDING TO 1998 CENSUS.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 22:28 #
  46. asif86

BARACKOSAMA"Who do 7.5 Million Pashtuns in Karachi vote for?
    How come these men at arms let MQM reign?"

MANY OF THEM ARE NOT REGISTERED VOTERS IN KARACHI,THEY ARE REGISTERED TO VOTE IN THEIR HOME TOWNS AND VILLAGES.

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 22:31 #
  47. DO the home towns and villages include Afghanistan also? And why do these men impassioned at arms as zewar let MQM reign?

Posted 1 year ago on 07 Dec 2010 22:49 #
  48. asif86

secularists"The Urdu speaking populace is at max 5 million, estimating Karachi's population to be 1.5 that's 33 % "

I dont agree,MQM claims there are 10 million urdu-speakers.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Dec 2010 9:50 #
  49. asif86

Majority of the 20% votebank comes from lalukhet and its adjoining areas.The lalukhetis were the first to jump on the MQM bandwagon.

Posted 1 year ago on 08 Dec 2010 10:00 #
  50. quaidkamazaar

well, its one the few parties which arose from message spreading gali gali, mohalla mohalla, with APMSO recruiting all over Karachi until it became a force.
    If you think only Lalukhet is major votebank of MQM, I laugh at your knowledge.

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Dec 2010 5:27 #