MQM has LESS THAN 20% Support in Karachi: WikiLeaks

(99 posts)
  1. wiki leaks maybe wrong .
    maybe exaggeration of the reality .
    but , being a Karachtie , i can see .
    there is a fast and steep down fall in the popularity of MQM .
    people who use to support MQM .
    now are saying that they are done with MQM .
    reasons being :
    1.terrorist activities
    2. Bhatta Mafia
    3. pressure politics
    4. using the precious votes of the educated class as a tool of black mailing
    5. leader of the party is absconder and has no plans to come back and see what his followers are suffering with
    6. failing in achieving the basic promises to the Urdu speaking community i.e end of quota system , end of feudalism , tax on feudal income , increase in quota of Karachties in every Govt office etc .

this all has made Karachties , start loosing hopes with MQM as a party , they can trust with .

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Dec 2010 6:24 #
  2. aayelleye

@ beenai

what do you mean by starting losing thier popularity do you think that mqm had ever got popularity in karachi i don't think so rather thier popularity is increasing day ba day in a sense k "budnam agar hongay to kya naam na hoga".....

Posted 1 year ago on 09 Dec 2010 14:46 #
  3. aayelleye

bhag gaye mqm k supporter...

Posted 1 year ago on 12 Dec 2010 17:11 #
  4. nsdap

well if you think that MQM has less than 20% support, why don't you send the pakistan Army to finish off the few supporters that are left.

Why don't you people have the confidence that the armed forces can eliminate the seemingly "last pockets of resistance". The answer is either you are afraid or the armed forces know our strength.

We got stronger after 1992 operation. Another military operation would certainly strenghten us more than ever.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 7:21 #
  5. nsdap

It will be painful day for the haters when our youth will join the ranks of the Armed Forces in considerable numbers.

A new strategy needs to be implemented. We must establish training centres for people willing to join the Armed Forces to aid them in clearing ISSB and other recruitment tests.

20-25 years on, we will have considerable numbers in the higher ranks of the armed forces. It will be unimaginable for the haters to see 15-20 Major Generals and 5-6 Lt. Generals hailing from Karachi-Hyderabad.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 7:27 #
  6. junaid

"It will be painful day for the haters when our youth will join the ranks of the Armed Forces in considerable numbers."

indeed, it will be a painful day for karachiets, as how we remember the british trained army massacre the youth in 92 operation

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 7:36 #
  7. zardari has a **** guy and also retart only those people will belived his statement who think about like zardari

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 10:08 #
  8. spruce

@sara khan

<<<<<Zardari has a **** guy and also retard only those people will believed his statement who think about like zardari>>>>>>>>

Zardari is hungry man in power of politics he knows the nerve of international politics and their intentions especially he discern how to deal with USA with bargain policy. Same time he deal Pakistan establishment according to their will because he well familiar with both powers in Pakistan politics. America deal directly to Pakistan establishment then any democratic force in regime he has to oblige their policies other wise he is no more in power. Zardari has past experience so that he learning many things from history and he put in his mind that without support of these both powers none can run the government in country.

So that we should not blame any Pakistan leader until we not put hands on the grab of establishment who is dictating our leaders according to their will.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 10:25 #
  9. this WikiLeaks have surely crushed some of the nerves carrying sensory impulses to the brain of few of our Giant turned Monsters turned Politicians! :)

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 14:54 #
  10. shriq

Hate, hatred, hate hatred......

Only thing they can think and do.
    I wish they could recognize the real looters!!

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 16:36 #
  11. aayelleye

@ irshad

(Zardari is hungry man in power of politics he knows the nerve of international politics and their intentions especially he discern how to deal with USA with bargain policy.)

very funny i think greedy is a suitable word instead of hungry...zardari does not know even the nerve of pakistani politics don you c how he met with british PM don you remember how he met with sara palin?he is famous as mr ten percent in all over the world and most of the leaders is ko mun he nahi lagatay bahir say farigh kar detay hain...

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 17:16 #
  12. Rizwan Qaimkhani

The news come as no surprise Pakistan as a suppressive state always finding ways to misrepresent Muhajirs and MQMs as minority in Karachi. Publishing of misleading figures of Karachi's population to a merely 13 million is keep the dominating forces checked.

As I still remember there were times and still it is happening, my name never made to the voters list issued by Election Commission of Pakistan though I was born and raised in Karachi. It has been a deliberated action on part of Government of Pakistan; it is a racial and discriminatory tactics to keep us away from our fair share.

Karachi roughly accounts for 1/2 of Sindh's population; the current population of Sindh is around 45m where Karachi is being resided by over 18-20m. If compare the representation in National Assembly: every half million is represented by one MNA, 3/4 a million people are represented by one MNA in Sindh, conclusively every million is represented by one MNA in Karachi. Come to Provincial Assembly, 297 thousand peoples are represented by one MPA in Punjab, 346 thousand peoples in Sindh and where representation for one MPA per million residents. If every in this forum considers themselves just, shouldn't he or she back the opinion the opinion that Sindh and more importantly Karachi gets its rightful representation comparatively to Punjab, there should be 40 MNAs and 67 MPAs for Karachi. It will also increase the likelihood of elected persons of other ethnicities other than Muhajirs themselves. It will positive effects on Pakistan's economy and progress. I hope it clarifies confusions of many of what they regards for residents of Karachi.

There is another concerning factor that is the population belongs to other part of Pakistan. They still carries their identity and domiciles from other provinces, I have strong suspicion about them double dipping in our election system, they may be casting votes in their native places and they may very well be active in elections in Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 18:47 #
  13. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Muhajirs account for 75% of Karachi's population not 48% as Wikipedia states.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 19:28 #
  14. SufiSoul

100% mahajir community cast votes for MQM due to Badmashi of MQM.
    Mahajir are Sharif Log.But buzdili and Sharafat should have a very clear LINE......

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 21:12 #
  15. @SufiSoul

It doesnt necessary that Muhajirs vote MQM because of Badmashi because MQM do have some appealing factors as well for Muhajir community and also for Karachiite as a whole......Their Stands on Taliban Issue has grab them alot of support among different Sects in Karachi like Barelvi, Shia and other anti taliban sects etc. and due to good marketing of Mustafa Kamal many Youths also inspired from MQM as well(Besides many Youths also inspired by MQM's street power as well) and their middle class leadership is also motivating factor for white color work force having good experience working in their particular fields.....These things does matter a lot in Karachiite's decision to Vote along with negative factors of Ethnicity and Violence......

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 21:30 #
  16. asif86

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:23 #
  17. asif86

Qaimkhani"
    Muhajirs account for 75% of Karachi's population not 48% as Wikipedia states."

Do you have any source to back up your claims.The census which was started in 1991 and later declared null and void showed sindhis with a clear majority.

http://worldsindhicongress.net/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=42&Itemid=50&limit=1&limitstart=4

The infamous Census of 1991 which was designed to officially reduce Sindhis into a minority in their homeland, was suspended after it was realised that true population figures of Sindhis were beyond everybody's expectation. The unofficial figures leaked to the press showed that there are approximately 40 million Sindhis living in Sindh, inspite of the manipulation by the agencies and the fact that many Sindhi villages in and around Karachi and Hyderabad were not even registered in the process.

It is estimated that their are about 1400 Sindhi villages within the boundaries of the Karachi Metropolitan Corporation, with approximately 5 million Sindhis living there, who are denied the basic amenities of life including education, healthcare, electricity, gas, clean drinking water and the right to vote. Some of these centuries old villages are being demolished, evicting the rightful owners against their wishes and without due compensation or alternate arrangements, to build modern high rise buildings for commercial gains. World Sindhi Congress demands that all the Sindhi villages within and around Karachi, should be registered and the residents provided all the essential basic amenities of life and the right to vote.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:23 #
  18. @asif86

Looks like you are expert in demographics.....I heard that their are 30 population of Interior Sindh identify themselves as Baluch and their are also so many Baluch Tribes which are mixed in Sindhi culture(Sindhi Baluch) like Zardari, Magsi, Kolachi etc.....Is that true????

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:29 #
  19. asif86

it is true that many sindhis are of baloch origin like talpurs,magsis,zardaris.But thats different

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:32 #
  20. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@asif86
    The practice to show less Muhajir population has been prevalent since Ayub's era since he was being brushed off by Karachities. Another by-product of punishing residents of Karachi, Ayub shifted the capital to current location called Islamabad.

I am strongly wishing KMC to come forward and do the head count and provide a better picture for Karachi's demographics instead of solely relying on misleading figures issued by Election Commission.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:51 #
  21. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@asif86
    If Sindhis are living without basic amenities, they should blame it on their Vaderas who do let them avail such necessities. It should also be blamed at Benazir who parted their areas from Karachi Metropolitan. Probably you should look into the facts prior to blaming on others.

Posted 1 year ago on 13 Dec 2010 22:55 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

RQ

I agree with your viewpoint that racism was first boosted by the first dictator of Pakistan 'Ayub Khan'. His wicked son Gohar Ayub was the one to start up Pathan-Mohajir riots in Karachi. Ayub punished the Karachities for their opposition to his dictatorship by shifting the Capital to Islamabad.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 14:01 #
  23. salaudin

Before I comment related to the discussion, let me assure you that I do not believe in ethnic BS. To me every Pakistanis is the same and I would do anything possible to neutralize this ethnic crap. Now back to the discussion;
    Anyone who has ever lived in KHI would tell you that Sindhis are surely NOT a majority in KHI.
    Now quoting "World Sindhi Congress" is like asking a PeePeePee JAHILa if BeeBee was really a shaheed.
    I have come across World Sindhi Congress members in Toronto and they are more of an anti-Pakistan group than a pro-Sindhi group. I wouldn't trust them !

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 14:21 #
  24. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@ Hussain Farooqui
    Ayub has done such crimes that he and his offspring should be punished. It is fact and irony that such people like Gohar Ayub who was a thug and master planner of riots in 1965 has served as a speaker of our National Assembly. If Ayub was really a just leader, he would have made Gohar served prison time.

Actually Ayub punished people of Karachi for their support to Fatima Jinnah in referendum. Interesting fact is he provided BD Members for the rest of Pakistan Rose symbol made out of Gold (It was his electoral mark) and threatened Karachi BD Members with "Agay samandar hai". He was master of conspiracy and a firm believer in Orwellian / feudal politics. He did win election with vote rigging. So one can claim he was main culprit of demise of democracy in Pakistan and incidentally he was also the first Martial-Law administrator in Pakistan. Later people of Karachi were punished for their support to Fatima Jinnah; Ayub has transferred the capital from Karachi as unilateral decision. It wouldn't be out of place to say, Gohar Ayub brought thugs from NWFP to make the residents bow to his father's unjust demands. They used to attach Muhajir areas at the time with stones and sticks. But thank God there were many people like my father were there to defend people from state terrorists as the police were siding with Ayub's ghundays.

In retrospect, MQM did not come out of nothing, it was a reaction to what others have done to Muhajirs.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 17:19 #
  25. Rizwan Qaimkhani

One more thing about Ayub, he was the father of Nepotism in Pakistan unlike the popular belief that Punjabis were the ones. They sure followed it. And Bhutto gave the rise to Nepotism by introducing quota system.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 17:40 #
  26. asif86

rizwab qaimkhani"I have strong suspicion about them double dipping in our election system, they may be casting votes in their native places and they may very well be active in elections in Karachi."

Many pakhtuns who have been living in karachi for the last 2 or 3 decades are not registered voters in karachi since their registered to vote in their home towns and villages.The election commission draws electoral boundaries on the basis of electoral lists.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 22:26 #
  27. asif86

rizwan qaimkhani"
    Muhajirs account for 75% of Karachi's population not 48% as Wikipedia states."

Wikipedia got the 48% figure from 1998 census.On what assupmtions your 75% is based on?

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 22:28 #
  28. Many pakhtuns who have been living in karachi for the last 2 or 3 decades are not registered voters in karachi since their registered to vote in their home towns and villages.

2 to 3 decades and still registered to vote in their home towns and villages???? wow, are they expatriate?? and why still relate to their home towns and villages after this long?

That sounds they are Mohajirs, so to speak.

Posted 1 year ago on 14 Dec 2010 22:56 #
  29. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@barakosama
    I can respond to your question. It is to get the advantage of quota system.

@asif86
    I can ask the question to you, what is the basis for wikipedia facts?
    First wikipedia is not a reliable information tool; no university approves their students to use wikipedia as source. Second, whoever input the information must have a hidden agenda since wikipedia organization does not research, collect or verify every information bit listed on the website. If it is coming from from Election Commission, we all know what kind of politically biased institution is that.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 0:08 #
  30. Trust me, they might register to vote in own province but would carry dual domiciles. So playing both cards, when KP/FATA could give advantage use it, when Sind/Karachi can give edge, use that. For some, when Afghanistan tickles, they could use that wildcard too.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 0:15 #
  31. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Good point barack. Triple-dipping, even better : )

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 0:38 #
  32. MQM is loosing its grip on the rope .
    fall time has to come any day .

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 6:35 #
  33. asif86

rizwan qaimkhani"The practice to show less Muhajir population has been prevalent since Ayub's era since he was being brushed off by Karachities."

There may be some truth that muhajir population has been undercounted.But other communities and provinces also have felt that same thing has happened to them.As has been mentioned earlier that sindhis rejected the 1998 census because the population of sindh was shown less than the census done in 1991 and which was later postponed.A pakhtun writer has written an interesting article about census manipulation of his community.

http://21centuryreforms.blogspot.com/2010/04/linguistic-census-reduce-pakhtuns.html

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 10:05 #
  34. asif86

rizwan qaimkhani"If it is coming from from Election Commission, we all know what kind of politically biased institution is that."

The election commission gets its figures from the government and its not its job to do headcount.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 10:06 #
  35. ajhons

It fair elections ever held no single party will get 20% support.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 10:11 #
  36. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@asif86
    So you agreed with me and it is factual that it is common practice for the government to manipulate the numbers to get what they want. As far as for Sindhis, I can agree with you. For Pashtun, I would never, because their migration flux is quite higher as it is the case for Punjabis.
    It is evident that due to their mass migration, Karachi is feeling the burn. It is almost the same as their brethren moving from Afghanistan in '80. They were and they are still responsible for disruption and chaos in Karachi. These people are menace and criminal-minded if anything.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 12:23 #
  37. ^These people are menace and criminal-minded if anything.

?????.....

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 12:28 #
  38. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I was referring to Afghanis as their majority did bring corruption and arms to Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 12:35 #
  39. Rizwan Qaimkhani

They are also involved in armed robberies.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 12:37 #
  40. Not Possible

really Benai?

please do entertain us who do you think the people of Karachi would vote for?

The naswar eating rakshay walas and terroists?

The all beard confrence and terroists?

Zulfiqar Mirza and Corruption and Co terroists?

Or Punjab the Rana; the Taliban Loving terrorist?

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 14:57 #
  41. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I also would like to include those Pushtun moved to Karachi to incite riots in the time of Ayub Khan in this category without any regards to the length of their stay in Karachi. It also include ANP elements who were against Pakistan's inception even before it came into being. So if they are involved in the riots it shows their real face and the fact they still do not accept Pakistan as their homeland (Contrary to popular belief of Pushtun being muslims, their are still a large number of Pushtuns who are hindus and part of ANP and living in KPK). Do we need any more proof for their lack of loyalty as whenever they refer to KPK, they call it "muluk". So what is the rest of Pakistan for them—enemy territory.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 14:57 #
  42. asif86

rizwan qaimkhani
    which areas benazir parted from karachi

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 17:10 #
  43. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@asif86
    It is good to ask question. Please refer to following link, it will definitely enlighten you:
    http://www.jang.com.pk/thenews/may2010-weekly/nos-23-05-2010/kol.htm
    According to the article, PPP government adopted the Gerrymandering principle, they carved out Sindhi population areas from Karachi to avail electoral benefits. They created Malir District, Harbour District etc. To take further step to contain Muhajirs in Sindh, they also divided Hyderabad as well, for any concerned Sindhi it was also dominated by Muhajirs.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 17:39 #
  44. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I would like to make revision to my last post:
    Division of Hyderabad was matter taken care by Arbab's government but it was not a mutual but Sindhis' decision.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 17:51 #
  45. d0ct0r

MQM has 20 % support in Karachi : Zardari

Zardari haven't said a word about Muhajir population in Karachi. Guy is simply saying that MQM has far less support then what it goes around touting and bragging.

REMEMBER not all Karachiite "muhajirs" support criminal mafia gang MQM Altaf like some MQMized dorks would want you all to believe. Muhajirs are peace loving people who actually have to bear the brunt whenever MQM Altaf's terrorists go amuck and mercilessly wipe out other ethnicities so you can easily understand the kind of enigma they're facing.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 20:56 #
  46. Firstly this is the word of Zardari and we can understand how much truth it could have....Secondly if we even accept this assessment of Zardari then how come MQM got more then 200 offices in Karachi?????how come they have hundreds of thousands of workers in Karachi only????It does seem strange to me that how come a party that have only 20% support able to be elected by 80% of the city by Votes......I think he might be talking about the strength of other parties in Karachi in terms of Mandate cause just having 20% support cant give anyone the representation of 80% of the City.....and since MQM had survived Army operations and other kind of State actions this also tells that they do have a lot Genuine support in Karachi cause I dont think that any other party in Pakistan could have survive if they were in same situation as MQM had in 1992 in Karachi......

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 21:53 #
  47. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Ditto to you gazi23.
    It is the other parties are envy of examplary support behind MQM that no other party in Pakistan enjoys. Whenever you see a JI representative comes on TV, they only talk about 'boriband lashain', they and the rest of parties representatives never talk about policy issues or the resolution for any issues; they only come for MQM bashing. Well, guess what, any publicity is good publicity. I am proud to be Muhajir and I will never be apologetic for anything MQM has done or is doing; it is the reflection of what rest of Pakistan has been thinking and committing against us.

Posted 1 year ago on 15 Dec 2010 23:01 #
  48. asif86

rizwan

If the creation of malir district was wrong than the bifurcation of hyderabad into 4 districts was also wrong and done on bad intentions.Karachi which had 15 million people its 5 districts were merged into one city district.Hyderabad which only had 2.7 million people according to last headcount was devided into 4 parts.The sindhi speaking tehsils were separated from hyderabad city to allow MQM to win local bodies in 2005.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Dec 2010 10:00 #
  49. @asif86

The reason for separating Hyderabad district was to differentiate between Urban and rural Hyderabad and it was a requirement of the whole Local Bodies System as local bodies system cant work effectively in the old setup because Hyderabad district was too big to be managed under one head office which was located in Hyderabad city.....I think you should come out of ethnic biases and try to check how much PRODUCTIVE that setup was.....If Hyderabad City was the only requirement then why division in 4 districts????this could have also done in division in two districts as well like Hyderabad district and Jamshoro or Tando Muhammad Khan or Tando Allahyar why four separate districts were made after division?????because when you have Grass root setup it requires smaller setup in order to provide services effectively that would be another point that wrong people are running the system as LB system was governed by Elected people instead of selected administrators......About Malir district then I have lived in Malir as well and what I see is that in Malir their is a large urban along with huge rural area so no differentiation of Urban and rural populations are done due to which whenever Malir is budget the requirement of Rural areas are influenced hence Urban population dont get any benefits out of that.....

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Dec 2010 10:57 #
  50. I do not live in Karachi but visited the city 3 years ago and noticed lots of support for MQM. If MQM has 20% support then who has the rest 80%?

I am sure Jamat Islami does not have support of majority of public.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Dec 2010 12:10 #