PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

MQM PTI alliance on mutual interests

(85 posts)
  1. kulla

I have seen both MQM and PTI bashing each other like imature kids, mostly without enough facts, mostly on historical events without context and mostly opionions.

My family always has supported MQM and I have grown up amonsgt them, but this time I will support Imran Khan for the greater good. However I do not support PTI supporters bashing MQM nor do I see any benefit in MQM supporters throwing dirt on IK from his past.

The only way we can move forward is by accepting each other's point of views, by agreeing to disagree and by playing clean politics. No false acusations or name calling etc etc. Why cant we ever be constructive about politics?

I want to see who else is out there who supports this outlook on co-existance of MQM and PTI on mutual interests of making Pakistan free from corruption, jagirdari and american slavery.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 22:02 #
  2. It would really nice if MQM can put their money where their mouth is but unfortunaly it's all been talk and no actions!!

They are against Jagirdary, Status Quo etc but than they support Zardari, I would have no problem with them if they acted upon their idealogy.

But alas! their old deeds haunt them and they have to be with every government so that their is no legal actions etc against them!

They are in a pickle, we have clean sheet and it would only hurt us by supporting them. But I also want PPP and PMLN gone from the face of Pakistani politicaly scenario. So, alliance between PTI and MQM can't be completely written off.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 22:13 #
  3. kulla

Yes, I think PTI has to chose their battles. PTI also needs to tone down if they want to survive the politics.

Here is an analogy which PTI supporters ignore. I am not equating MQM with Taliban .. but only analogy here.

If IK talks about talking to the Taliban and says that due to repression and agression against the ppl in FATA/NW,the ppl have turned against the state and have resorted to violence and terrorism...

Then on the same conotation, what is wrong with talking to MQM (lets say that they resort to extreme violence at times). There is history behind all of this.

In both circumstances, i think there is no justification to the outcomes (violence) but without understanding the root causes, we cannot just turn a blind eye to the problem and only focus on the outcome. There are blacksheeps in all parties, communities and even families. No one is dood ka dula. MQM has a lot of short commings but they represent masses in Karachi who TRUSTS them. They are like the Union lol. Cant live with them or without them.

Both MQM and PTI have to tone down their agressiveness towards each other. I believe that we need to make progress in accepting each other and stop throwing dirt.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 22:22 #
  4. Sounds good to me....I also appreciate Imran Khan's social work but PTI supporters spoils the whole thing by Mudslinging and ACCUSATIONS that they dont even have any idea of....That requires Change of behavior and I dont think that is happening very soon....though good initiative anyways....

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 22:30 #
  5. Kulla, good point!

But, Taliban didn't kill 10 PTI members in sheer arogance to show their control over Karachi. I think that's what caused a big rift between PTI and subsequent mudslinging especially how anti Imran slogans were written all over Karachi. In this case PTI is the one with wounds, what has MQM lost in their enimosity with PTI, nothing!!

We can all obviously forgive and forget and move on as time heals all wounds.

This "childish" mudslinging on the internet is not a big deal, as the leaderships of both PTI and MQM have toned down their rhetoric against each other as I think they found a mutual enemy in the form of PMLN.

Nonetheless, PTI is also a threat to MQM as it tries to make inroads into Sindh especially urban Sindh. Also, they can work together to get rid of PPP from Sindh than that would be excellent but that's a fool's dream in current politics.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 22:52 #
  6. insaftak

Put Down The Guns MQM

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:07 #
  7. Anwer Kamal

دونوں کو پیسہ چاہئیے ایک بھتے سے کماتا ہے دوسرا چندے سے دونوں کی بیویاں چھوڑ گئیں ہیں ایک خود لندن میں ہے سدوسرے کی .... لندن میں ہے اور بہت کچھ ہے کامن

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:13 #
  8. @dell

I dont think it was MQM who started animosity cause I never heard anything or read any anti Imran stuff from MQM before he started his DRAMA of Filling case and bringing Altaf to justice and after that I never seen Imran without repeating same old ACCUSATIONS against MQM in Talk shows......When he stopped then his Fan club started....what is the real issue of Imran Khan and Fanclub with MQM anyways??????I never found a single point of conflict between their Manifesto and their Objectives then what went wrong?????

MQM has a lot of support and they represent majority of Karachi who elects them isnt Imran Khan and his fan club should have known about that before starting Mudslinging and accusations on other Parties or leaders that could PISSED THEIR SUPPORTERS OFF????Things should be learn on both sides.....MQM has to learn not to bring Personal stuff in public while PTI should also learn that spitting venom against Other Leaders cant make Imran Khan any popular but does makes other Party's supporter Furious about his attitude.....

I think frequent exchange of Visits among them could make a difference so that is where it should be started......

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:18 #
  9. kulla

@dell and @ghazi.. see this is what i am talking about. We all can live with each other. Trust me there is a lot to gain by accepting each other as a political party and political harmony.

MQM and PTI can work together to drive PMLN/PPP/ANP out.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:32 #
  10. Anwer Kamal

They are comfortable with Q. Their old partners.
    As tangay ki swarian pori nhin honay walin.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:39 #
  11. kulla

@AnwK why are you afraid of IK and MQM cooperation? I can bet that likes like you are always trying to create fasaad.

I think MQM and PTI can coexist, PTI is not a significant threat to MQM. They are mostly percieved threat. I think a good mix of PTI and MQM in urban sind would be really good.

PTI and MQM both need to campaign and go to their voters on what they can do/will do for them.. not by throwing dirt at each other.

JI/ANP/PMLN/JUI/PPPP are the most corrupt. They are the elite who exists in every department of life in Pakistan. We need to get rid of them. PTI and MQM have similar agendas. They need to cooperate..and respect each other.

Posted 1 year ago on 16 Feb 2011 23:52 #
  12. quaidkamazaar

MQM never started all this mess. It is a sole creation of Imran Khan and him only.

He is trying to sideline a whole party by calling them terrorist, but ineffect he has only sidelined himself from Karachi forever.

MQM never started this mudslinging game until PTI made it part of their party agenda to declare MQM terrorist outfit.

MQM and PTI might have similar agendas, but until PTI cannot accept MQMs mandate like other parties, then there is really no point in expecting cooperation.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 2:49 #
  13. Rizwan Qaimkhani

There is an atmosphere of distrust for Imran + gang as to what are their aspirations for Karachi and its residents. Time and time again, we were betrayed over the years by the so-called national-level parties, once they got the vote, they forgot our needs and valid demands and started looting with both hands. Imran's efforts to win the city lie in the secret wish of controlling Pakistan's economic hub hence he cannot resonate with the voice of Karachiites. Regardless what he says, action speaks louder than words. I haven't seen anything he has done for my city and he certainly does not deserve my vote.

As to work with PTI, I see him as right-winger (That can be witnessed his inclination towards JI) as MQM more leftist revolutionary party. Being on the opposite side of the spectrum just shows that it will be recipe for disaster. MQM makes thing happen and they have proven track record where Imran even being elected does not carry any credibility. Just only bringing few thousands people in jalsa does not indicate any radical change.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 2:56 #
  14. quaidkamazaar

exactly,
    actions speak louder than words,
    beautifully said, point made.

Mustafa Kamal Bhai used to say that a lot in his mayorship days and lead by example. thats how you win support.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 2:59 #
  15. Billa

@quaiskamazaar

well said
    actions speak louder than words.

boys come and join Goga thread.he is making his point.

we khi born and raise know him so do you.donot deny

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 3:25 #
  16. @Gassy & barbadkhani

اب کے تجدید وفا کا نہیں امکاں جاناں
    یاد کیا تجھ کو دلاییں تیرا پیمان جاناں

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 4:30 #
  17. kulla

@rizwan et al. I disagree. MQM is not left at all. None of their actions are left. Left does not mean just opposition to the govt. This all crap. The best way is to be at the center anyway.

Secondly, IK hasnt been given any chance. He needs to be in the Govt with majority to do anything. It will unfair to weigh him like that. His party is completely innocent until proven guilty (unless they come in power and become corrupt).

Also you have to look at the entire picture and not just karachi. Specially all the national issues such as education, foriegn policy healthcare etc. In the same conotation, what has MQM done other than making road, parks etc...woo bhi it just did what its supposed to so. Security and crime still havent been addressed.

I also dont see any solid evidence against IK why MQM shouldnt make progress, and similarly PTI should do the same.

Getting back to the point that its in the greater interest of MQM and PTI to live with each other rather than constantly point score with the public.

MQM cannot live in isolation, and i can bet you that one by one, it will lose its support if things dont chance and we see status quo. Same with IK. He cannot act stupid and try to clean sweep a city which supports MQM for all kinds of reasons.

IK and MQM combo would benefit Pakistan, and definately Karachi.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 4:50 #
  18. quaidkamazaar

@ kulla

you seem like a neutral guy, very few exist.

brother, I ask you to be practical. How exactly do you see a potential PTI and MQM, forget about merger, even collaboration? when PTI boys are stubborn enough to not even accept MQM being Karachi's majority mandate and making allegations of terrorism on this party? its as if they are blind and cannot accept reality.

such allegations are not mere jokes and a collaboration as such is almost impossible realistically. Imran Khan hardly ever has balls to call Taliban terrorist but calls MQM terrorist as if he is earning sawaab.

i know your intention is correct in suggesting this idea, even i believe in it as PTI and MQM stand for similar concept being nonrivaayiti parties, together their power will be immense. but it cannot happen as Imran Khan and his party are not even accepting MQM and are playing same old mudslinging game since ever!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 4:55 #
  19. Billa

@quaidkamazar talk about terrorism check Goga bahi thread if you are so young at that time or your memory is too short.

jayahh mohajir

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:00 #
  20. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@KU
    I don't know what definition you follow for left-wing but in general term it means an entity tries to reform an established system. MQM has a clear liberal ideology and it has been actively seeking social change. On the other end of spectrum, Imran has been busy talking of bringing revolution that he himself cannot fathom or know how to manoevour, he has frequently tried to fall back on JI's conservative policies. It may be he trying to ride on JI's crutches but his promised revolution is nothing but what we see in Egypt where common person is clueless as what to do with the newly-found freedom. You need ground work and grassroot efforts just bringing people to jalsa does not ensue a movement for change. He should stick to become Edhi rather becoming Bhutto, he just doesn't have charisma. It is his celebrity status that brings people to see him not listen to him.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:02 #
  21. kulla

thats why im saying both pary supporters and leaders have to stop this rubbish comments and act from their heads.

Even if there is no collaboration, what i am saying is to start creating a conducive environment for the next elections so that there is some harmony amongst both the supporters. There is no friction when the time comes for making coallations.

It about preparing the grounds...building a foundation where both parties can work together on common issues and support each other in parliment/senate.

Im not syaing give away your votes. Each party still has to campaign for votes but not by throwing dirt at each other.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:06 #
  22. QK

I Altaf announces that Imran is his "bahi" and he will work with him to make Pakistan a better place, are you going to quit MQM??

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:09 #
  23. kulla

@riz. yoru left defintion doesnt talk about policies. Can you point out what MQMs policies are that are Left or which it has actually implimented which are left. Will your definition still hold if your desired system was in place, and some other party decided to change it.would they become the new left? lol.

Dont use the egypt example...we dont know about the future.

Whatever IK's policies are, I think he has a good moral ground and has the charisma to lead. As i said again, no point demafing others while you cannot look within. Finger pointing will lead no where. This thread is about looking ahead, not behind.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:11 #
  24. kulla

lets focus on future and playing nice.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:11 #
  25. Rizwan Qaimkhani

MQM is ideology and sprit more than an organization, it is reason of our existence that roughly means no MQM no Muhajir.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:13 #
  26. MQM and PTI has gone too far in enmity ,i fear they wont get in the friendly terms ever to reach to an alliance .
    plus target market and objectives of both the parties are quite similar.
    so its even harder now.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:16 #
  27. Billa

@RQ its a big bull shi@t
    MQM is MOTHIDA no mohajir anymore.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:16 #
  28. quaidkamazaar

@ dell

quit MQM?
    yaar mainey MQM join hi kab ki jo quit karoon? :/

I support MQM for its ideology and what it has proven by changing representation culture, its not about just one guy Altaf and mahajirism. for me, its bigger than Altaf Bhai personally, although he was crucial in starting this movement. I am not a typical guy who will believe every word of Altaf Hussain and say "yes sir" to it, i have my brain to think and more often than not his points make sense.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:18 #
  29. Billa

@MQM lovers
    kamm pay janaay ka waqat hay dokaann kohlanni hayy.
    donot forget Gaga bahi he is comming to kick ur a$$

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:19 #
  30. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@KU
    Good question, I was expecting it. MQM talks about releasing people from clutches of Jagirdars, vaderas and whatnots. What do you call that? It is about the voice of the common to be heard and counted.

As for the Egypt revolution, it is faux revolution, it is just change of hands like it happened in first French revolution.

As for your third point, I did not defame it is what he has to offer. He does not have firm voice and he does not believe in collaboration. He very much like himself to be centre of the publicity—typical of playboy image (no pun intended).

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:21 #
  31. quaidkamazaar

ya, Imran Khan does not believe in collabaration, that is for certain, if there is a fire, Imran Khan started it with his own hands just to gain few cheap points. i hardly ever heard Altaf Bhai giving any "lift" to Imran Khan who barely even has seats. Its Imran Khan and his boys who are making this idea of this thread fail.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:24 #
  32. if Altaf never gives any importance to Imran.
    then why MQM resist his entry to Karachi?

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:40 #
  33. Rizwan Qaimkhani

I believe Imran lives in Lahore; first make some inroads there before jumping on the bandwagon to conquer Karachi, everyone has their eyes on Karachi shows what the intent is.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:43 #
  34. toamin

There is no doubt Imran Khan is more popular at national level than Altaf Hussain

A BASIC FACT

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:53 #
  35. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@Salam
    Agreed. It is due to his career and his philanthropic efforts which lately he is trying hard to cash in.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 5:56 #
  36. toamin

ٹھیک ہے، پھر اسی طرح الطاف حسین صاحب کی بدنامی کی وجوہات میں ان کا ٹارگٹ کلنگ، بوری بند لاشیں، بھتہ خوری، وغیرہ میں ملوث ہونے کے الزام قرار دی جا سکتی ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:11 #
  37. so formula goes ;if Imran lives in Lahore , then Altaf lives in London.
    so what he has to do with Karachi?
    he should try conquer England...

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:15 #
  38. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@Salam
    Agreed again but with caution as these are just claims not proven in courts.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:15 #
  39. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@Benai
    Probably your short-sightedness could be cured by Lasik Eye Surgery, forward me your address I will send you their coupon.
    What I meant was Imran has much bigger task at his hand. He should try to bring change to his area where he lives first before opting for crusade around the country. Isn't that what his favourite JI scholar Maudodi taught him; first bring change to your family, than mohala than city and vice versa.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:20 #
  40. insaftak

@ Rizwan

by that logic zardari, Gillani and Rest are not corrupt either. no court has ever proven it.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:21 #
  41. Rizwan Qaimkhani

@insaftak
    Agreed with you as well but there is a conflict of evidence, the places they live or the luxury lives they enjoy is not possible without the illegally gained money. It is in common knowledge how much Zardari has inherited from his father and family.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:26 #
  42. insaftak

@ RQ

the argument remains that they haven't been convicted in any court and I am 100000000% sure that they will never get convicted in couts in 5000 years either.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:30 #
  43. Rizwan Qaimkhani

Agreed!

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 6:31 #
  44. Anonymous

Yes .. the canadian courts are also jealous of altafs popularity and declared his whole gang as terrorists.

Atleast come to terms with mqms real face.

PTI and mqm would have been a handful alliance but saying that, mqm would need to abandon its terrorist activities.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 8:12 #
  45. aayelleye

I dont think it can happen and it shouldn't be happen bcz the didderence starts from leaders of both parties i dont go in the details of boths.mqm+pti will harm pti may be.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 8:20 #
  46. @aayelleye

That might be because of Imran Khan has got Cheap Point Scoring against MQM and as far as I can understand by reading most PTI members here Imran Khan's major attraction was that cheap point scoring as I found most PTI members are more interested in MQM bashing instead of Imran Khan or PTI....This is a biggest hurdle which leads to continues failure of Imran Khan as its people are more interested on teaching MQM lesson instead of lifting Imran khan in Politics which cant be overcome till their is a positive feedback from Karachiite on Imran Khan in elections which I dont think happening very soon....

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 10:11 #
  47. ajhons

Time Out Please:

Those who are anti MQM(PTI supporters specially) cannot see any goodness in MQM and Those Pro MQM cannot see any single wrongdoing of MQM.

And yet everyone talks about Inqalab.

Now please Resume the play

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 10:19 #
  48. salaudin

Regardless of MQM's activities (and MQMers, please do NOT try to fool me explaining how "good" MQM is. I am a Karachi-wala and I am fully aware of their criminal acts) I, as a PTI supporter, am willing to see PTI extending friendship "IF" and only "IF"
    - MQM/MQMers admit their past mistakes
    - Stop their criminal/terrorist activities (bhata khori, threatening anyone criticizing MQM/Altaf)
    - Punish members which are indulged deep into criminal activities ( I know punishing everyone involved would a little difficult for MQM)

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 11:26 #
  49. @salaudin

Oh yes you want MQM to be CLEAN UP their odds but not ready to hold your own Party on Personal Attacks, Mudslinging and Accusations.....Yes good Joke...This is what I expect from PTI supporter they think they are FARISHTA while others are SHAITANS....

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 11:36 #
  50. kulla

ok guys, we arent getting nowhere. I still dont see any issue. MQM and PTI can come to common terms.

if MQM can work with PPP which killed and margenlized them during bb power. while ANP and PPP both have actually been physically and politically most damaging and yet MQM is in hakoomat with PPP...

PTI is the least of MQM's worries. PTI on the other hand has isolated itself from reality. It also needs to distance its self from the most corrupt JUI. I would say JI as well, but its upto PTI....

I see too many times PTI supporters being too arrogant about how sensible and educated they are...I think both sides have good educated and sensible people who are driven by an ideology, vision and passion.

Posted 1 year ago on 17 Feb 2011 14:51 #