Mubashir Luqman is exposing MQM or is he??

(60 posts)
  1. In a latest episode of Khari Baat Mubashir Luqman "tried" to expose MQM by breaking a story of Ishrat ul Ibad's house at 709 Palm St, Mississauga "Wancouwer" Canada.

Let's analyze Luqman's modusoperandi here; he broke this news to negate perceptions (truth) that he is an MQM lota. In this case, this story is complete bull**** because their is no Mississauga in Vancouver, and their is no Palm street in Mississauga.

Now what does MQM gain out of this, you may ask?

A lot, first of all they would launch a farcical investigation into this matter and after the "investigation", they would break the news that this is a complete lie as this address doesn't exist hence Ishrat is completely innocent. Than it would be utilized to gain sympathy and support by MQM for next 50 years as an example of how people tried to defame "Haq parasat Qiadat" led by "Mazloomo kay Saathi Altaf bahi"!!!

So, they are basically trying to kill two birds with one stone which are; first of all Mubashir is an "honest and unbiased journalist" even after receiving an SUV worth RS 9 million from MQM, secondly MQM is a transparent political party that has high traditions of self accountability, but are people going to buy this??

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 5:22 #
  2. @dell
    Good one :) Mississauga (in Ontario) is some 2000 miles from Vancouver (in British Columbia). And this guy is pretending to be an investigative journalist? Wow!

The bit I saw of the show last night, he was holding up this story:
    Pakistan governor got UK benefits

A senior Pakistani politician received UK state benefits for months after returning to the country as a governor.

Dr Ishrat-Ul-Ebad Khan sought asylum in 1992, said the Sunday Telegraph, and claimed benefits from 1999 to 2003.

His spokesman said authorities were told when he left London to become head of Sindh province in 2002, but admitted his wife kept receiving the cheques.

The Department for Work and Pensions said it could not confirm Dr Ishrat's claim that he had repaid some money.

The Sunday Telegraph alleged Dr Ishrat had been in receipt of Income Support worth around £1,000 (59,680 rupees) a month, for 10 months after leaving the country.

The newspaper said Housing Benefit also funded the £244-a-week rent on the north London home in which three of their four children still live, after Dr Ishrat left.

The governor had "unambiguously" offered to return whatever money he may still be owing to the UK authorities, his media advisor Salahuddin Haider told the BBC News website.

A spokesman for the DWP said they could not discuss details of individual cases, but said they took allegations of benefit fraud very seriously and would be looking in to it.

They were first made aware of the allegations when contacted by the Sunday Telegraph, she added.

Mr Haider added that Dr Ishrat's wife had written to the authorities and asked them to stop the payments but she kept receiving the cheques in the post.

Karachi mansion

When asked why she continued to cash the cheques, Mr Haider said she was not sure about Dr Ishrat's status in Pakistan.

"She felt that Pakistani politics was so unpredictable that her husband may have been forced to return to England within a few months.

"Had she discontinued the arrangement at the time, she would have had to go through the whole bureaucratic process to get the payments restarted.

"That was why she kept cashing the cheques till such time that she was certain that her husband was not returning to England."

He said once the cheques were stopped, the couple returned whatever excess money had been drawn.

Mr Haider added that did not know the amount of money that had been returned or what was still left unsettled.

The Sunday Telegraph said since Dr Ishrat's return to Pakistan and his inauguration as a governor in December 2002 he had lived in a two-storey mansion in Karachi.

His wife joined him in October 2003, and currently divides her time between Pakistan and the family's rented home in Edgware, London, it added.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 7:34 #
  3. toamin

Clearly Ishratul Ibad seems to be another Shah Mahmood Qureshi, MB & Farooq both are on SAME PAGE, so it is misleading to say MB exposing MQM

MB is a supporter of MQM and is helping MQM by bringing this story to destroy Ishrat's character-

Simple "politics"..

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 7:56 #
  4. d0ct0r

Now what does MQM gain out of this, you may ask?

A lot, first of all they would launch a farcical investigation into this matter and after the "investigation", they would break the news that this is a complete lie as this address doesn't exist hence Ishrat is completely innocent.

They should 'investigate' Babar Ghauri's foreign assets as well in US etc. He too is completely innocent just like Ishrat Ibad.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 8:23 #
  5. sasherwani

Missassauga is a city in Ontario
    Vancouver is a city in British Columbia
    Palm Street is in neither of these cities. Its in Ottawa!

Investigative journalism at its best by Mobashir Luqman!

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 9:06 #
  6. toamin

میں بھی کہوں کے نوے لاکھ کی گاڑی لینے والا اپنے آقا پر سوالیہ نشان کیسے لگا سکتا ہے، ظاہر ہے مقصد گوگلی کرانا تھا

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 9:39 #
  7. ajhons

Salam Bhai don't tell me,is this Mubashir Liqman who took 9 million car.My God!!!!.I heard about that in Talat's programme(I guess)did he get it from MQM??

My Good GOD.

بے حیائی کی کوئی حد ہے بھی کے نہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 9:52 #
  8. toamin

جی جی یہ بات اب عام ہو چکی ہے کہ ایم کیو ایم نے مبشر کو نوے لاکھ کی گاڑی ہدیہ کی

یہی ہے وہ کمینہ جس کا ذکر طلعت حسین اپنے پروگرام میں کر رہا تھا اور کاشف عباسی نام لینے سے کترا رہا تھا

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:08 #
  9. ajhons

and the other day I was watching a dawnnews programme where the host was talking about "Rehmani Haj" as posted on the main page on PKP.And I was shocked to see this Hijab Clad Asma Shirazi too in the list.

ویسے یے اینکر پرسن بننے کے لیے کیا کرنا پڑتا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:17 #
  10. toamin

جی اور اس پردہ نشین دو شیزہ کا جواب کتنا معصومانہ تھا کہ مجھے پتا نہیں تھا کہ میرے ساتھ کیا ہوا اور پھر ایک ڈھیٹ بچے کی طرح ضد پر اڑھ گئی کہ میں نے کوئی غلط کام نہیں کیا

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:22 #
  11. @salam
    جی جی یہ بات اب عام ہو چکی ہے کہ ایم کیو ایم نے مبشر کو نوے لاکھ کی گاڑی ہدیہ کی

یہی ہے وہ کمینہ جس کا ذکر طلعت حسین اپنے پروگرام میں کر رہا تھا اور کاشف عباسی نام لینے سے کترا رہا تھا

I thought those two were talking a 90 lac BMW (News Night - 28th January 2011 -- and my guess was it was Dr. Shahid Masood)...And didn't Luqman get a Range Rover Sport that he drives around with a full motorcade security escort. Who pays for that?

BTW: His son drives a Porsche Boxter which I am sure was a gift too. I know anchors make a lot but not that much.

On Edit: Just checked -- Range Rover Sport is about Rs 95 Lacs here in Lahore. Porsche Boxter is Rs 114 to 132 Lacs.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:26 #
  12. toamin

جہاں تک میری معلومات ہیں تو ایک ہی اینکر ہے جس کو نوے لاکھ کی گاڑی تحفے میں ملنے کا چرچا ہے اور اس میں ابھی تک بل اتفاق مبشر لقمان کا ہی نام آ رہا ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:52 #
  13. ajhons

There is also a rumor that Asma Shirazi took a car from Sheikh Rashid.I think someone mentioned this here in PkP also.

مجھے پتا نہیں تھا کہ میرے ساتھ کیا ہوا

جانے ناجانےگل ہی نا جانے باغ تو سارا جانے ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 10:57 #
  14. Anonymous

Drig road all the way upto NIPA is all postered with ML's shows advertisement banners.

MQM have picked the wrong guy, they could have found someone better. ML is as big a goof as sarfaraz nawaz.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 11:07 #
  15. ajhons

And what's the defination of right guy.Do u really see any right guy in the current electronic media?

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 11:13 #
  16. shirazi

Next Mubashir Laqman will pick Haider Abbas, Mustafa Kamal or Farooq Sattar to expose MQM's corruption. Dr. Ishrat ul Abaad is from middle class and is as clean as you can get in our politics. This story seems to be released by MQM media cell for propaganda purpose.

If someone has balls to go after MQM they should expose people like Babar Ghori and Waseem Akhter.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 13:05 #
  17. truths

mubashir lubqman, 100% on mqm payroll

mostly tv channels under mqm pressure or on pay roll which operate from karachi

as mostly channels operate from karachi they must be run as say mqm otherwise roll back

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 13:50 #
  18. shirazi

Yesterday Najam Sethi went after MQM on their calls for revolution and invitations to Generals. Now that was hard ball not what Mubashir did ...

http://pkpolitics.com/2011/03/01/aapas-ki-baat-1-march-2011/

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 14:49 #
  19. toamin

چلو اچھا ہوا سیٹھی کی خبر دے دی، ورنہ پتا نہیں کہ یہاں کوئی اس کو پڑھتا سنتا بھی ہے کہ نہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 14:55 #
  20. Dusky

@truths: "as mostly channels operate from karachi they must be run as say mqm otherwise roll back "

Agree,

Question is, who is stopping channels operating outside Karachi to go after MQM?

باقی رہی بات انکورس کی تو مرا بھی " اس حمام میں یہ سب ہی ننگا ہیں اور کسی نہ کسی کے لیہ بکے ہوائیں ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:00 #
  21. bsobaid

The address may be wrong but there must be some truth in the story i-e Ibad owns an expensive house in Canada. Some journalist needs to get the facts right and uncover the scandal properly.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:02 #
  22. shirazi

@Salam

I know he is not popular among right wingers on pkp. But remember he moved up from Dunya to Geo, more viewers -:)

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:05 #
  23. toamin

جب متحدہ کا چمچہ کوئی کہانی متحدہ کے خلاف دکھانے کی کوشش کرے تو سمجھ جائیں کے دال میں ضرور کچھ نا کچھ کالا ہے

بہت جلد اصلیت سامنے آ جائے گی

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:18 #
  24. @shirazi
    "I know he is not popular among right wingers on pkp."

Ah, labeling all who see Sethi for the scvm he is as "right winger" is rich! (but to be expected from a Sethi's .....)
    :-P

Flashback:
    Raymond Davis: Facts and Fiction by Najam "shirazi" Sethi

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:20 #
  25. bsobaid

That is true though. It is suspicious why a known MQM ghulam is writing against its masters. Is it MQM's media trial against its own Naheed Khan??
    but frankly, Altabbhai can simply remove Ishrat from office from one phone call. He does not need to do a media trial or other actions of this sort.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:26 #
  26. toamin

@shirazi
    now sethi and his ilk are wingless ;)

Fiction: Mr Davis is not a diplomat because he doesn’t have a diplomatic visa or status registered with the Foreign Office. Hence he cannot claim diplomatic immunity under the Vienna Conventions.

Fact: Mr Davis has a Diplomatic Passport. His visa application by the US State Department to the Pakistan Embassy in Washington DC of 11 September 2009 lists him as a Diplomat who is on “Official Business”. The US government has claimed diplomatic immunity for him. This is the norm.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 15:48 #
  27. Hussain Farooqui

Threads on the topics of MQM, Imran, Shariff Bros. are tired up topics. I request my friends of this forum to find topics which can be brain storming with great new ideas.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 16:24 #
  28. bsobaid

@Farooqi,

There is lots of opportunity to brain storm on issues related to MQM, N-League, PPP but we tend to brush it off by saying "sab chor hein". This is our escape route and then we say lets bring a new Mr. Clean guy, which is another escape route from problem solving. This is our laziness and shallow mental approach.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 16:36 #
  29. @Hussain Farooqui
    Brother, agreed 100%.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 16:46 #
  30. syedhussain

I am sure most of canadian members of this forum knows that its not a big deal to buy a house in canada. First of all, the house he showed is not a mansion at all. Infact the house even looks way cheaper than my house. Any one can buy a house by just paying 10 to 20 thousand dollars in canada. The rest of the cost would be mortgage from bank. Usually people rent out the house by paying 5 percent down payment and when the prices went up high , they sell it to make profit. If a middle classia of pakistan like me can buy a house which is fairly newer than ishrat house, then why not ishrat could buy. the only objection would be he should declare this house or do not buy any property outside of pakistan if its against party policy.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 20:36 #
  31. shirazi

@nota & salam

I still stand by Najam Sethi's original argument that RD has immunity. As SMQ said paper work doesn't show he has blanket (diplomatic) immunity but he holds a diplomatic passport and official visa. So if he was associated with consulate he still enjoys counselor immunity.

Instead of arguing nota started abusing my family with the blessing of SE Mirza Sb. .

This whole RD saga is stirred by same ISI that invited CIA operatives in Pakistan. If someone is speaking ISI's language it's not me or Najam Sethi.

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 23:12 #
  32. toamin

شرم تم کو مگر نہیں آتی

Posted 1 year ago on 02 Mar 2011 23:57 #
  33. shirazi

@Salam

Establishment ke zuban app bolein aur sharm o haya ka durs hamein -:)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 0:04 #
  34. lannay hai es mubashar luqman py....

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 1:01 #
  35. I am sure most of canadian members of this forum knows that its not a big deal to buy a house in canada. First of all, the house he showed is not a mansion at all. Infact the house even looks way cheaper than my house. Any one can buy a house by just paying 10 to 20 thousand dollars in Canada. The rest of the cost would be mortgage from bank.

---------------

That's very misleading, this applies to people LIVING in Canada, just go to any Canadian bank and apply for a mortgage and tell them you don't live in Canada? Would they give you a mortgage? Obviously not!! You have to show your income and tax returns filed to Canadian government!!

But Ishrat lives in Karachi and has no businesses etc in Canada, How can he apply for a Canadian mortgage? Even if he did get a mortgage than his payment would be at least $2500 which is more than RS 200000. How does a "middle class haq parast charsi looking" goon afford that? It's any body's guess!! Not to mention he was once on welfare in England.

That house is easily worth half a million $, which is a lot of money in PKR. But that is not the point and no one is arguing about the house or it's value etc, Mubashir Luqman deliberately broke this false new story for the reasons I mentioned in my opening post!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 1:17 #
  36. @salam
    شرم تم کو مگر نہیں آتی

yahan expose hua to Baysharam nain yahan say bhaag ker aik aur thread shuru ker di hai...
    After Davis, what?

@shirazi
    "Instead of arguing nota started abusing my family with the blessing of SE Mirza Sb. ."

Let people be the judge. I did argue my case -- and very well I think for it was you who changed your story from claiming "Davis had immunity" to stating "it didn't matter whether Davis had immunity for all you knew Davis was going to go free" (and now you are back to your old bs that "RD has immunity")
    The thread is here:
    Raymond Davis: Facts and Fiction by Najam Sethi

As for abusing the family, oh you little innocent fella. Let's see ... wasn't it you who wrote:

shirazi wrote

It seems like after wasting 15 years in Texas you moved back straight to your roots in Lahore's bazar e husan. You spill out the same filth in the middle of political argument that perhaps your mom, dad, siblings and cousins use with you and kids at ease. Please try not to expose your family back ground 10 times a day here on pkp
    Posted 2 hours ago on 12 Feb 2011 15:31

This one I had saved (cause I knew you'd play a virgin soon and I was right :) (You had some other abusive ones too that I did not get to see but which S.E.Mirza had removed according to what you told @dell so maybe dell can tell us how classy -- I am sure they represented your class -- they were)

BTW: My VERY APPROPRIATE reply was (also removed):

nota

@shirazi
    Hira mandi too aap ki family ki jageer hai aur aap hi kay abaoo ajdad nein usay abad rakha. Aaj thora parh likh ker wohan say move ho gai hain -- hum aglay din hi baat ker rahay thay us ki -- per insan ki fitrat to nahi badlti. Farq sirf itna hay kay aap ki ama rupay ko sub say ziyada ehmiat dayti thien (un ka pasandida gana ab bhi yaad hai: "MaynoN note wikha mayra mood barain") to aap dollar ko, aur aap ki aulad yen aur yuan kay peechay kapray ut@ray gi. Per chalain, aap khush rahiN.

Wasay hairat hai aap ki ghairat sirf zain ki support mein jagi. Kiya chakar hay???

P.S. Telling @salam "Establishment ke zuban app bolein aur sharm o haya ka durs hamein " is very interesting coming from one admittedly unashamedly speaking Sethi's and US's Zaban. :)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:09 #
  37. toamin

شیرازی کی بےتکی باتوں پر یہی کہوں گا کہ جب انسان کے پاس دلیل نہیں رہتی تو وہ ضد پر اتر آتا ہے، اب ضد اس بات کی ہے کہ ریمنڈ کے پاس استثنیٰ ہے، ٹھیک ہے جی آپ ضد پر لگے رہو، حقیقت دنیا کے سامنے واضح ہو چکی ہے

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:25 #
  38. @Nota et al.

Lets talk about issues on hand and not each other. We can have difference of opinions on issues which is perfectly alright.

Regarding Ray Davis, we must not forget that the biggest conspiracy that was exposed is his involvement and support to TTP. TTP, which is a darling of many hardliners of this forum i.e. Nota, Salam, Sufisoul, Hariskhan, Supersoldier et al.

Now you guys should also admit that you have been chasing a mirage or barking down the wrong tree all along!!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:48 #
  39. toamin

ٹی ٹی پی تو سب سے زیادہ آپ کے عمران خان عرف طالبان خان کی ڈارلنگ ہے، کیا آپ کو نہیں پتا؟

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:53 #
  40. sub say bara jhoot hai yeh!!

Imran never condoned TTP. In fact he condemns them but he also says their hands are strengthened by these drone attacks because it disgruntled end up joining TTP to vent their anger in the form of suicide attacks.

He points out the reasons behind TTP's popularity and strength and people label him as pro Tali.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 5:58 #
  41. toamin

جھوٹ نہیں ہے جی، بلکل سچ ہے

ٹی ٹی پی کا کیا مطالبہ ہے؟

کہ پاکستانی فوج اس جنگ سے نکلے، قبائلیوں سے لڑنا بند کرے، امریکہ کی مدد کرنا بند کرے

اور عمران خان کا بھی یہی مطالبہ ہے، ابھی کل ہی تو کاشف عباسی کو عمران نے کہا کہ وہ نوے دنوں میں اس دہشت گردی کو ختم کر سکتے ہیں

کیا آپ نے وہ انٹرویو نہیں دیکھا؟؟

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:10 #
  42. @dell
    "Regarding Ray Davis, we must not forget that the biggest conspiracy that was exposed is his involvement and support to TTP. TTP, which is a darling of many hardliners of this forum i.e. Nota, Salam, Sufisoul, Hariskhan, Supersoldier et al."

Stating that "his involvement and support to TTP" is really stretching it. That has NOT come out yet. They have a list of his contacts. They have been making arrests. Let's see what organizations they belong to:
    Forty-five arrested for having links with Davis
    ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:13 #
  43. Daikha tha Kashif Abbasi ka show!!

But you have to see who is pulling their strings, TTP top leadership is CIA puppet.

Imran said in Kashif's show that he can control terrorism in 90 days if in power inshallah.
    Now how is he going to achive this?

Let me answer that, first of all Pakistan would pull out of US WOT. That way TTP would loose all it's credibility and support amongst the people of tribal areas. Than Pak Army can attack them and get rid of their remnants very easily with the help of people of FATA. TTP is a CIA puppet whose modus operandi is very simple, they harness the anger and despair of people of the tribal regions and strengthen themselves.

The only reason why Pak Army is not successful is because people of FATA see TTP as a friend because of it's anti US and Anti Pak stance because of drone attacks.

TTP and people of FATA are two different issues, they must be dealt with separately. Imran always talks about people of FATA and their misery not about TTP like many on this forum who can't seem to differentiate between TTP and people of FATA.

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:20 #
  44. toamin

چھوڑو لمبی بحث اور دلائل، مجھے صرف ہاں یا نا ناں میں بتائیں کے جو میں نے پہلے عرض کیا وہ بنیادی طور پر ٹھیک ہے کہ نہیں؟

کم از کم عمران کے انٹرویو سے تو مجھے یہی سمجھ آئی ہے، پھر اس کے بعد ہم دلائل اور وجوہات پر بحث کرتے ہیں، پہلے ذرا اپنی پارٹی موکف کی تائید تو کر دیں

مہربانی

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:31 #
  45. Hargiz teek nahi hai, aur mein is ki wazahat ker chuka hoon kay kuyun theek nahi hai.

Challo ji, dalail aur bahes say aap hameecha der jatay hain.

Issi wajah say aak tak jo laug Khilafat ki baatain kertay hain un ko kisi nay ghaas nahi dala. Kuyun k un kay paas koi strategy ya vision nahi hain.

Bas khilafat khilafat ki ret lagayi hoti hai!!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:36 #
  46. toamin

اس کا مطلب ہے کہ عمران خان کا انٹرویو آپ کے اوپر سے گزر گیا ہے، کیونکہ اس میں عمران نے واضح طور پر یہی کہا ہے جو میں پہلے اوپر لکھا ہے، یقین نا آئے تو پہلے پندرہ منٹ دوبارہ دیکھ لیں

مجھے تو سمجھ نہیں آتی کے عمران سے محبت بھی کرتے ہیں لیکن ان کو سپورٹ کرنے سے ہچکچاتے بھی ہیں

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:40 #
  47. Mein nay pehlay bhi daikha tha aur abhi pir daikha hai laikin aap ka mokaf samaj nahi aya. Kis taraf ishara hai aap ka??

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 6:52 #
  48. toamin

@3.40
    @4.20

Didn't Imran suggest to pull out of american war, stop military operations, stop drones?

I don't care what reasons he puts forward, but this is exactly what the ttp is also demanding -period

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:04 #
  49. And I totally agree with that!!

But TTP is a whole different ball game which I explained earlier!!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:15 #
  50. toamin

Imran also spoke about that "ball game", fine, no problem, I have no disagreement with these analysis, but when I say similar thing I get labels from people like you!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 03 Mar 2011 7:31 #