was Nawaz Sharif deal with Musharaf also a NRO?
hummm thats why we dont have NOONErs today ... no post to help Nawaz bhgora here?
maafi nama has been exposed a long time ago..
why is it still a news?
Shareef himself confessed the ban was for 5 years....after earlier claiming that there is no ban or maafi nama and then claiming the ban is for 2 years only.
Because the shameless Nooners on TV still deny the maafi naama and media doesn't adequately expose it.
showing/discussing mafi_nama/contract at this stage just seems to be useless and peace of crap. Everyone knows that Sharif family went to Saudi after a deal with Musharraf. We know and the detained person always tries to get released regardless of he is guilty or not. But, it means, Musharraf has committed much bigger crime by releasing a 'terrorist'(as it was 'proved' in the court).
I think RM wants to deviate nation's attention from real issues.
@Admin Bhai/Behn,
Thora sabr karain hazoor, Mian Sb. ka naam suntay hi aap stuntoo ho jatay hain. Here is the source of this thread:
Siddiqi Bhai,
Easy bro, why this kolaverdi? Abhi tou Mush Lahore land karay ga pir aur bhi mazza aye ga!!
;)
Few points about deal for Musharraf fans:
- Nawaz Sharif was falsely locked up in Attock Fort on hijacking charges. The hijacking was challenged in Supreme Court and Nawaz Sharif was proven innocent.
- Brothers, Children and Nephews of Nawaz Sharif also benefited from the deal and they were let out of jail. Funny thing is that all family was in jail for 14 months yet they were not even charged with any crime. How can you make a deal when you have not even committed a crime? No cases were withdrawn since Musharraf could not even find any case. This is totally different from NRO for PPP where cases were withdrawn.
- Lets assume Musharraf pardon Sharif family, under which authority he gave pardon? Musharraf was Chief Executive at time of illegal-deal and only President Rafiq Tarrar at time of deal was the authority to provide pardon. CE has no authority.
- The deal itself has been proven illegal by Supreme Court and arrests of Sharif family has also been proven illegal. As per 18th amendment, the 17th amendment has been reversed and Musharraf is now also guilty of 12th October 1999. This means Musharraf was actually a criminal and if there was any deal, it was a private deal to save his family from a kidnapper.
@rasheed
Bhutto was also in the jail when Nawaz Shareef's master hanged him but he didn't run away like coward Nawaz Shareef. Nawaz Shareef's masters offered better deals for Bhutto but he didn't beg for pardon.
@Rasheed
If the agreement/contract was illegal (which I have no doubt was), why NS opted to sign an illegal document rather than opting for due Legal process?
Has the deal document itself been released? Would be interesting to read it.
I agree with anas bhai. No doubt the agreement was illegal, but why was NS and SS compelled to sign it? (I remember hearing around that time that thier father was against them signing it).
I think Zardari is plenty corrupt, but at least he didn't run away and did his time in jail.
I thought NS was the lion of lahore....turned out to be a pussycat
Shariff Brothers are not even as iron-nerved as Zardari. Zardari spent couple of years in a jail, but did compromise after a long time then. Shariff Brothers lost their courage within a short period of time.
Title is deceptive. Mushraf in this video clearly avoids talking about this so called 'deal' and he says that as SC have already given a verdict about this issue(declared it null and void and thrown it in trash bin) so i would not like to comment about it..!
A sitting PM who was legally allowed sacked the army chief and appointed a new CAOS. The sacked retired CAOS 'highjacked' the karachi bound PIA plane . While ironically the PM was illegally framed in a concocted and ludicrous hijacking case by illegal dictator who himself abrogated the constitution(which is punishable by death under constitution). PM was sentenced to 21 years in that fabricated case. Now when the case was fabricated and dictator was the one who broke the law and constitution by overthrowing a sitting government then how could he go around distributing maafi namas to others. Dictator's own crime was it self beyond maafi as
abrogating the constitution carried a death penalty (and this dictator Musharraf unlike previous dictators has a distinction of abrogating constitution not once but twice).
In contrast NRO is an insult and a slap on the face of 180 million poor pakistanis. Plunderers and terrorists and murderers like MQM absconding from justice had been shamefully given a clean chit and now supreme court has declared NRO illegal as well.
p.s. @Admin/Moderators This topic has been discussed countless times in past too..
anasyounus
Your armed security guard sitting at your gate kicks you out of your house on gun point and occupies your house and tells you that he is issuing a maafi nama for all the fudged up crimes you've allegedly committed against him(sign on the dotted or else your head will be blown off) and you need to stay away from the house indefinitely otherwise you should be ready for the brutal consequences .
What would be your reaction to that?
you are seriously being naive to even compare something like that with a shameful,immoral and disgraceful thing like NRO
Let me tell you what will be your reaction. You will readily sign on the dotted line on gun point. Transfer your family to a safe place and come back to fight another day.
Now if you're too naive and still want to compare it with shameful NRO then i don't have much to say about that other then that you are being ignorant.
@d0ct0r
First of all I havent compared this deal with NRO or anything, I only quashed the argument floated from PML-N and Rasheed here that since the Deal/Contract/maafinama was illegal, NS has done nothing wrong by signing it..
you completely missed the argument and are now ranting for no reason....
ok now lets discuss this aspect of the deal.. comparison with NRO..
following are the differences I could see between NRO and this deal
1. NRO was a general "Maafi Nama" where as NS "maafi Nama" was specific to NS
2. Mush had no power to issue such "maafi nama" when it was issued, while NRO was Issued through a legal process (although was thn canceled because of its content and not due to process)
If you think there is any other difference, please tell me ...
the second point makes the signing of NS even a bigger crime thn taking any advantage from NRO..
NS had the right to dismiss Mush, the hijacking case was bogus.. but tht is not the question here... the question is why NS signed the deal and not waited for supreme court's decision? If you think supreme court was not independent enough at the time thn who bears the responsibility for that?? was NS not twice at the helm of the country in 90s?? Does he not share any responsibility?
@anasyounus,
NRO was a general "Maafi Nama" where as NS "maafi Nama" was specific to NS.
Incorrect ... NRO was specific mafi nama for cases related to PPP regime. Otherwise all prisons would have been emptied in 2007.
Mush had no power to issue such "maafi nama" when it was issued, while NRO was Issued through a legal process (although was thn canceled because of its content and not due to process)
The NRO was not only cancelled due to content, but it was a Presidential ordinance that got cancelled itself since parliament did not approve it.
NS had the right to dismiss Mush, the hijacking case was bogus.. but tht is not the question here... the question is why NS signed the deal and not waited for supreme court's decision? If you think supreme court was not independent enough at the time thn who bears the responsibility for that?? was NS not twice at the helm of the country in 90s?? Does he not share any responsibility?
There was no constitutional supreme court at that time as everything was under PCO .. and also let me remind you that Imran Khan supported the PCO and sacking of judges in 2000. Nawaz Sharif did not know if Muharraf was going to hold elections after 2 years or 20 years.
The Supreme Court was actually legalized at time of 17th amendment much later after elections.
Does it have any importance whatever Musharraf says? And how did Musharraf save his own neck and was "allowed" to leave the country?
A 23 Aug 2008 Wikileaks says, "the ambassador A. Patterson in seperate meetings with Zardari, Gilani and Kiyani pressed for quick action on immunity for Musharraf. Ambassador stressed Zardari that only the promise of indemnity had persuaded Musharraf to step down as President."
Link: http://wikileaks.org/cable/2008/08/08ISLAMABAD2802.html
According to official documents, President Rafiq Tarar on Dec 01, 2000, ‘remitted’ the sentences of imprisonment in response to a request from the former prime minister Nawaz Sharif that the sentences ‘may be waived’ to enable him to proceed abroad for medical treatment.
Now if the Ilzamis or their piplee brothers want to call this as 'maafi naama' or "nikah naama" or "talaq naama" or whatever else they can think of, they are welcome to do so.
@Rasheed..
NRO was not specific in the sense that it didnt named people who can benefit from it, that is why you see people from most parties benefited.
Oridnance is also a due constitutional process, and its expiry later has no significance here since all the benefits were taken during the time it was applicable
The above are only technical points and my view point on these, but these have no significance to why NS signed the Deal.
As for supreme court be under PCO, the criminal laws were nither changed nor were subverted under PCO..
It all comes down to NS's resolve, courage against Pragmatism..
Personally I think he made the right decision to opt for pragmatism.. the only thing I am objecting on is to give history a twist after all these years... just come out and say that we opted for pragmatism and not the undue courage or audacity
@Adonis..
So technically the 'maafi nama' was not issued by Mush, it was done by President and it was a ligitimate one.. right??
no need for the 2nd point thn.. makes it more similar to NRO ;)
@Anas
".. the only thing I am objecting on is to give history a twist after all these years.."
Unfortunately this (twisting) is in the "nature" of N-supporters.
@anasyounus,
With all your explanations, it seems you are trying to defend the NRO of Musharraf.
So technically the 'maafi nama' was not issued by Mush, it was done by President and it was a ligitimate one.. right??
Again wrong.
For PPP, there was no conviction and therefore no presidential pardon was required. Pardon can only be done after conviction.
NRO was unique in such case that it withdrew all pending cases for PPP politicians from court.
For Nawaz Sharif, there was a big difference:
1- There was already a pseudo conviction on hijacking charges
2- There were not even any charges against brothers, children and nephews of Nawaz Sharif, yet they still benefited from Presidential pardon.
This is a unique pardon or deal in history of mankind when you are pardoned, but you are not even told what was your crime in first place. This tells how fake was this deal it the first place.
@rasheed,
I have no intention to defend NRO,
the statment about maafi nama was a question only and was in response to the post that actually maafi nama was issued by Tarar not Mush..
Yes you are right, technically NRO and presidential pardon are too different things and are not compareable as the NRO withdrew cases not pardoned the sentences..
But bhai the question is.. why NS signed it? if signed it why denied it? and why trying to twist history now.. accept tht he made tht decision and that it was a pragmatci decision and may be not the most courageous of decisions and he chose a path different to bhutto.. good for him and good for pakistan i think.. otherwise the poor nation would have to pay the penalty of giving chance after chance to sharif family in reward to the "GREAT SHAHADAT" as they are already paying in bhutto's case..
@anasyounus,
If the deal was purely to save NS himself against a mad kidnapper, it would have been a different story. This deal saved his children, his brothers, his nephews and even his parents were let out of house arrest and they all were exiled. Any person in the world would do anything to save his family, specially innocent kids and aged parents.
If NS was dying to enjoy his life, then he would have done a deal on 12th October 1999 and left Pakistan, yet he faced fake cases and was locked in attock fort for 14 months, something that does not happen in this century.
If few people like you can happily accept Imran Khan sitting in Musharraf's lap while entire Sharif family and top PMLN workers are arrested and tortured by military regime, then this alleged-deal is nothing in compared to that.
Majority of people of Pakistan, including Imran Khan had no issue with Nawaz Sharif's alleged-deal and they proved by voting for PMLN in the 60% population province of Pakistan and Imran Khan himself came to receive Nawaz Sharif at Islamabad airport in 2007.
Nawaz doesn't care for Pakistani nation, that's why he left for Saudi Palace and we didn't here from him until he jumped on the Lawyers bandwagon.
the topic is not wheather FRO (family reconciliation option) was legal or illegal, Nawaz Shrif family did benefited from it becoz Musharaf was under pressure from Americans & Saudi Shiekhs and on thr other hand Nawaz was finding it impossible to negotiate with mosquitos ( machar) in Attock Fort
@aftab,
NS cares about nation or not, that should be left to the nation and it will be proven soon in election.
Imran Khan is actually worse, since he jumped into Musharraf's bandwagon, followed by lawyers and Nawaz Sharif's bandwagon, before resting in General Pasha's.
@Aftab,
The other name of politics is opportunity. Just like NS jumping on the Lawyers bandwagon, another wannabe politician named Imran Khan also jumped on the establishment bandwagon back in 1999 by openly supporting the coup, endorsing the PCO judges actively canvassing for a dictator during a fraudulent referendum.
First of all we are not supposed to believe whatever Mush says in media. Should we also believe his plane hijacking fabricated story? Should we also believe his other bullshits about his earnings? He is a corrupt person himself.
Now coming back to NS deal with Musharraf. In reality that was a guarantee paper signed to give way to Musharraf. We all know about the personality who played key role in this agreement. In my personal opinion NS did it to save his future politics and even life. Do you guys wanted that he should have been hanged on the basis of a baseless case of plane hijacking. Certainly NOT. The mistake which NS did was to hide this agreement. He could have modified the situation in his own favor by saying that they were forcefully asked to sign papers by Musharraf. Even he could have mention the tenor mentioned in papers. I am sure that people could give him margin of sympathy. But he lied to nation.
But why you people forget the very recent statements of Musharraf in which he also used the word deal with Benazir and he blamed that Ch. brothers insisted him to make deal with BB. That was the actual deal.
@ rasheed
Nawaz Sharif is a 'selfish' person and does not care about Pakistanis and left them to deal with the brutality of a dictator, whilst him and his family were enjoying they time in a Saudi Palace.
not long a go Nawaz sharif was of the view that Zardari as a President enjoys immuninty against NRO cases in the court becoz he was then making a deal with Zardari for the 18th amendment to become eligible for the Prime MInister office once again,
here is the link, watch specially after 4:00
I do not know why PML-Q2 (PTI) and PPP raising unnecessary documents..
We being Muslim Leagi know all these deals and we supported and will support PML-N.
Do not waste your time on expired issues!!
what you expect from NS worshipers? that is the reason that political leader of Pakistan behave like Cult leaders or Guru Baba and dont care about public opinion becoz they know that whatever we do our humble subject will always support us, but these die-hard deciples are a very small minority, majority of voters who have sense will kick out any politician who is found involved in deals like that or failed to deliver even if his name is Imran Khan
NS clearly opted for an option which circumvented law by having a deal with a dictator. The justifications of his supporters does not change this point.
And why wouldn't he do the above? When his government was sacked, not a single person took to the streets in protest, however, many people took to the street to celebrate - this was the height of public's mistrust on NS.
He was the Prime Minister who ordered attack on Supreme Court, an unconstitutional act. He was introducing 15th amendment to end democracy through democracy! He showed incompetence on Kargil and other foreign policy issues.
His government faced many corruption charges too.
The lesson is clear: these incompetent, corrupt, fake "leaders" do not have a leg to stand on. They are not there to improve things but to fill their pockets. They are the least deserving of controlling any institution, thus they can never do so.
@ilovepak,
So even if N-league robs the country, you will support it?
I would drown myself if I followed a leader as corrupt, as incompetent, as idiotic as NS.
@Pakistani84 "So even if N-league robs the country, you will support it?
I would drown myself if I followed a leader as corrupt, as incompetent, as idiotic as NS." --> Jisney bh NS se naffret ki hai wo Pakistan ka dushman hei sabit hua hai.. Musharraf.. Zardari.. I hope IK bhi Pakistan se dushmani hei kerraha hai!!
Ab apke pagalpan ka ilaaj WAQT hei karey ga ALLAH ke fazl-o-karam se!! gustakhi ki maafi!!
tab tak .. apka .. ALLAH hei Hafiz..