Musharraf’s trial will cause a ‘crisis’?

(37 posts)
  1. mubasshar

By Kamran Shafi (Dawn Group)

What is so special about an army general anyway, that Musharraf’s trial will cause a ‘crisis’? Let us immediately recall the tribulations of an elected president and prime minister by the name of Zulfikar Ali Bhutto.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 10:39 #
  2. this trail is not going to happen...
    as we have never seen a military man getting trailed .
    so he wont get any...
    he is a seller of human beings .
    but he wont get punished .
    he has ruined our country,our economy,our constitution,our image ,our foreign relations ,our integrity ,our media,our judiciary but he wont get punished ...
    as he belongs to a holy cow .

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 10:45 #
  3. mubasshar

i think why this is a non issue?

Because if this Pandora box is opened then in Pakistan's politics no one will be saved. Everyone has been dealing with Musharaf one way or the other.
    That includes PPP, PMLN, PMLQ, MMA, MQM, ANP, PTI etc. Every one.

Who has a courage to start proceedings against Musharaf?

Billi ke galey mein ghanti kon bandhe ga bhai?

Isi liye yeh aik non issue hai.

but any how i will support the trial.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 10:50 #
  4. sasherwani

Musharraf's proceedings can actually occur but Nawaz or Zardari (being much more corrupt than even Musharraf) will never be able to do anything to him except for "awaami bhaashans". They know that Musharraf will "doobay ga magar unko bhi saath sanam lay doobayga". As for Imran, again a "khaali dabba" that is good only at making noise.. (refer to the Altah Hussain VS. British legal suits drama)

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 11:05 #
  5. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Musharraf's trial is NOT going to bring chaos.

Its ONLY going to bring stability to Pakistan. Why?

Because it will send a clear signal to ALL Pakistani nation and ALL nations of the world that NO ONE in the world will get away with murdering any innocent Pakistani citizen

If we don't prosecute and PUNISH him, if we DON'T convict and HANG HIM IN OPEN PUBLIC, then everyone in the world will think blood of any Pakistani is like water, that which can be easily abused and murdered

Dua go,
    HarisKhan

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 11:07 #
  6. @mubasshar

I say bring it on. OPEN the damned Pandora's box.

Let's START!! IT RIGHT NOW!!!

Let justice be done. LET ALL black shEEP in our ranks be punished to the FULL!! extent.

P.S. I submit myself to justice if I'm envolved as well. I will accept full punishment for my bad actions

Dua go,
    HarisKhan

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 11:09 #
  7. mubasshar

it could set an example to our leaders also so next time they think before looting this country.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 11:57 #
  8. could? There's no could.

It WILL!!!! INSHALLAH

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 11:59 #
  9. I would agree to Beenai that its not going to happen becauz he belogns to "MUQADDAS GAAEY"

In pakistan , politicain have paid for their mistakes by serving jails ,by giving their lives, by living in exile and so on and so forth.

Can anybody tell me how Yayhya Khan died and how he was buried ? He was buried with full national protocol.

What happned to zia ? Burried with Full protocol ?

In my oponion , all these Generals were just front page of the ARMY and these are/were not liable as person. ARMY as an instution is liable for misdeeds .

Example of that is , how many months Mushraf survived after taking off uniform ? Who cancelled/suspended the constitution ? Was it musharaf , a person. If it had been the case , he could have done so as President . He did it as COAS not as president.

Anyhow , "HAANOOZ DELLII DOOR AAST"

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 13:13 #
  10. amin1924

Military can not let the door close on them. Nawaz asks PPP to bell the cat, PPP puts it on "unanimous resolution". Then Gilani out of no where claims military has no objection. Then Nawaz asks military to disassociate her from Mushy.

Mushy has threatened/encourage generals who got promotion because of Mushy's blessing to disrupt the whole setup.

Military knows if one soldier/x-soldier is tried then this will be initiation of new tradition

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 14:00 #
  11. mubasshar

now i think its the time to make military understand that there is not role in politics for them. and they should avoid the previous mistakes done by their generals and focus on country defense.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 16:03 #
  12. As long as politicians play their dirty game within the confines of PAKISTAN, military is there and ever watching till they (politicians) cross their limits and fall for treason; and they already have, extending their corruption deep into the ranks of military. But as military structure always had its own system of checks and balances (still not completly corrupted as this disease if found among some, I repeat some of the top brass)One placed supreme commander remains at risk. Dont expect a revolution coming from the civilian side, but this time it would be within the military itself.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 16:13 #
  13. Anonymous

Dear all, we are all missing the point here. Same people who are demanding Musharraf's trail are also defending and explaining army's role. They are taking great pains explaining and clarifying that army and other generals were not involved in emergency rule and military coup and it was GEneral Musharraf working alone. So ARmy can not be blamed only Musharraf as an individual should be blamed and trialed.

These cheap bas**rds cant give away their dirty and cheap siri paya mentality.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 16:20 #
  14. Migel9

This pimp of america traitor Mussharraf..AKA Rag Darbari should tried and hanged live on MQM TV.Pakistani pimp general livimg in london??****??Arrest him now.Bring this subhuman filth and make him an example.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 17:45 #
  15. msohail83

Obaid,

Don't ridicule the 'paye' so much buddy. It's my favorite dish!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Aug 2009 17:50 #
  16. semirza

I strongly disagree to your view that army has got its own checks.

They have instituionlized the corruption. Isn't DHA a corruption. HOw a retiring army officer has plots worth of millions ? Isn't corruption.

The problem is that we have been brain washed against politicians and ARMY has been made sacred goat.

ARMY is the largest industrial group , land owner and real estate agent at the moment. How is that ?

Was Cantt land was given to army for giving free plots to officers ?

If army has got its own checks, parliament has its own. Let parliament work what right ARMY has to check politicians ?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 5:21 #
  17. amin1924

Asif Khan,

Please don't be harsh on middle ranking middle/high ranking officers. They serve the nation whole their life through postings at remotest places in this country.

If they get a plot after their good portion of life is spent in military, there is nothing wrong.

You have more opportunities, you can go to australia, make a career, earn good and buy plot, that is fine.

But those officers when they retire where should they go? All they have is that plot which they can use for business or residence.

Criticizing top brace may be legitimate in some cases as they are involved in business dealings and may indulge in corruption, but generalizing isn't fair.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 5:28 #
  18. mubasshar

@JJ Khan

i am agree with you bro. the mid rank officer's worked hard for their whole life. they should get this type of incentives.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 5:39 #
  19. Mushrraf trial is a day dreaming.
    our hard core factual world wont allow us so.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 6:56 #
  20. @AskifK
    Read my post and see what exactly I am saying, and what I have highlighted. Agreement or disagreement is for sure part of every discussion, but to miss a point....The checks and balance I have pointed out has nothing to do with civilian affairs, but when I say 'one placed supreme commander(military)remains at risk, from within the army itself as this is from where you will get your revolution and not from the civilian side as they had been driven too numb to feel or even to protest the so called 'fruits of democracy' they are being showered with since the last 18 months.
    If anybody has any doubts than be clear, that army is not/never going to interfer in anything civilian, not now, not in the comming forseeable future.
    They have learnt this lesson the hard way.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 7:13 #
  21. semirza

If army is not interfering then what gen.Kiyani was doing on 16th of march 2009?

What fruits of democracy u speak off ? 9 saal kaa ARMY kaa gand 18 months mein saaf ho jaaey ?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 7:55 #
  22. Achoota

zardari is such an idiot, if i would be him i would have tried musharraf and once he would have got death penaulty by courts i would have pardoned him or converted it to life sentence etc.
    This way he would have got his punishment, nation would have been happy, any general in future would not have dared to try it again.
    But zardari ko to chittar bhee khanay hain aur onions bhee khanay hain....aadat say majboor.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:19 #
  23. AsifK
    Are you just opposing me without paying attention to my words, if that is so than its the end of discussion. Thanks

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:48 #
  24. mubasshar

i think 16th of march 2009 is the best suitable time for any army general to take over the govt as PPP was under immense pressure. but well done to gen Kiyani he done the great job and did not try to derailed the govt again.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 13:53 #
  25. @mubassher ,
    Kiyani is giving ample time to the civilian Govt to work.
    and he is wise in doing so.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 14:03 #
  26. amin1924

Per Shaheen's word, zardari is given enough rope to hang himself, which he is doing. Loop is around his neck already and he is feeling the pressure. Only matter of kicking the chair underneath him!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 14:36 #
  27. quaidkamazaar

i never saw this type of urge for justice when Nawaz Sharif got away with hijacking a plane as judiciary said "thanks" to Sharif for supporting their cause?????

perhaps, justice requires neutrality too, and thats what all of you lack, neutrality in your arguements.

anyways, go ahead and execute the man who belongs to the "holy cow" in style... lol
    its funny how you guys can come up with such amazing names for Musharraf, Indian Born holy cow, perhaps calling him hindu is the only thing left

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 16:37 #
  28. Anonymous

As I said befor, this is personal vendetta. Biggest advocates of Musharraf punishment are also the biggest chaploos of army saying Musharraf did the coup and declared emergency all by itself and army (or any other general) has no involvement in all this. Shameful, dirty and cheap Bhaati gate mentality.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 16:40 #
  29. what kind of crisis we dont have? how many times we will save ourselves from crisis? i guess trial of musharraf will create a situation which will eventually take us out of the crisis.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 16:47 #
  30. quaidkamazaar

i hope Musharraf does get summoned to court and gets hanged.... perhaps it would show you the type of crisis it brings in Pakistan. you would see it to believe it i guess.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 16:48 #
  31. The crisis from which we are passing right now is the biggest crisis and every thing compared to that is nothing.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 17:09 #
  32. Anonymous

haan haan. Nawaz Shareef ko prime minister bana doo, sab kuch theek hojaey gaa.

Musharraf kay khilaaf national assembly mein aik resolution paish karnay kee tou himmat hai nahi, chalein hein mulk kee qismat sanwaarnay. munafiq kahein kay.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 17:21 #
  33. quaidkamazaar

well, pretty much PML-N and the lovers of PMLN in province of Punjab want this man Musharraf dead. perhaps because Mush showed the door to their big daddy Nawaz long time ago... now its time for payback for Punjab... its pretty simple that this is the case. no need to hide anything behind names such as democracy and dictatorship. this is all personal rivalryism. and perhaps, something beyond it.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 18:40 #
  34. mubasshar

we have to do that to stop the interference of army in politics.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 19:51 #
  35. Anonymous

haan tou karoo naa, kon rokta hai?? PPP walay tou nahi karr saktay, N-League waloo se kahoo kay time waste karnay kay bajaey parliement mein resolution lay aaein. Doodh kaa doodh aur paani kaa paani hojaey gaa. Jis ne bhi resolution kay against vote daala woh awam kay samnay khud hee zaleel hojaey gaa.

Nawaz Shareef Qadam badhaoo
    Hum tumharay saath hein

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 19:57 #
  36. mubasshar

jinhon na vote nahi dalna wo to abhi sa is ko non issue kah rahay han

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 20:05 #
  37. Anonymous

aray tou karoo naa inn sab ko zaleel awam kay samnay. Sab kay chahray se naqaab ulat doo. laoo aik resolution, agar itnay hee parsaa hoo tou. inn sab kee izzatoo kee chabee Nawaz kay haath mein hai.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 20:15 #