Musharraf hints at Pak return, wants to contest polls

(50 posts)
  1. Musharraf hints at Pak return, wants to contest polls

Wednesday, Feb 17, 2010 at 0216 hrs

Nearly 10 months after he left Pakistan, self-exiled former President Pervez Musharraf has said he is willing to contest elections as it will give him the “legitimacy he never had” during his nine-year rule.

“I love my country and I would do anything for Pakistan,” said Musharraf, who was forced to quit last year, hinting at his possible return to Pakistani politics. “I have to come through the political process, through the process of elections. But I think it’s very good ...because I think I will have that legitimacy which I never had,” he told a meeting at the Chatham House think-tank here Monday evening.

“For Pakistan one would be prepared to do anything. However, it is for the people of Pakistan who need to decide... I’m a civilian now, I’m not a military man, I cannot take over anything,” the 66-year-old former military ruler said in a reference to his seizure of power in 1999 when he ousted the elected government of prime minister Nawaz Sharif. He did not say if he has decided to return to Pakistan to face trial over his 2007 detention of judges as he attempted to cling to power.

http://www.indianexpress.com/news/Musharraf-hints-at-Pak-return--wants-to-contest-polls/580754

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 8:36 #
  2. toamin

also read Lord Ahmed, Musharraf lock horns again

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 8:40 #
  3. Mush wapis aye ga...MQM ka head ban jaye ga ..
    Altaf ko marwayee ga ...
    Urdu speaking ,Karachi kay vote lay jaye ga ...
    aha ...:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 8:53 #
  4. toamin

akhir 8 saal politics ka experience hay merasi kaa... kuch na kuch to karay gaa hee...

shaid tabla baja baja kar bor ho gaya hay

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 8:55 #
  5. Mushrraf is a loser ...
    he should come back so we can have a ceremonial execution.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 8:56 #
  6. toamin

he can only win in karachi on a MQM ticket, i don't think he could win any where else in pakistan, but Altaf bhai got to be careful because this merasi commando has bad history of staging coup against his sponsors :)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:01 #
  7. he he he ...
    i want Mush to come and eat up MQM ...
    by keeping his record ...:):):):):):):):)

suna hay sanp apnay hi bachon ko kha jata hay...:):):):)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:03 #
  8. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

There's 'Hadees' in Islam which says what kind of RULE will come, before Khilafah returns. The last rule on Muslims before Khilafah comes back will be 'dictatorship'.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:07 #
  9. A snake in the grass, he is, that man. Look at him: "For Pakistan one would be prepared to do anything." Like what? Steal, kill and sell out to the enemy? But if he did get rid of Altaf Ahmed for us, that would be a great day. We might even begin to feel a touch of gratitude to the traitor.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:09 #
  10. Mush is going to come and face his fate .
    no US friend can leave Pakistan ,before dying.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:11 #
  11. LalBichoo

hariskhan,

"""There's 'Hadees' in Islam which says what kind of RULE will come, before Khilafah returns. The last rule on Muslims before Khilafah comes back will be 'dictatorship'. """

Sir jee, please quote the Hadees !
    Moreover, was Mush first dictator in the history of Islam :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:12 #
  12. Mush aye ga ...
    Altaf ki ghunda party ko hijack kar lay ga ...
    Altaf london mein dekhta rah jaye ga ...:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:12 #
  13. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@LalBichoo: No. Perhaps he'll be the last.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:15 #
  14. LalBichoo

hariskhan,

"""@LalBichoo: No. Perhaps he'll be the last. """

LOLzzz

So Islam is limited to Pakistan :))
    What about dictators ruling other muslim countries ? :)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:27 #
  15. @Jackal ,Choosy and Lal Bichoo,
    avoid off topic posts .

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:34 #
  16. Please tell MQM, PML-Q, army and the international community to pull off their support of Musharraf. This quadri would like his figure as a democratically elected leader which will hurt the domesticated like hell.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 9:58 #
  17. @barakobama ,
    MQM and PMLQ are yateem bachay ...
    PMLQ kay Bani bhi Mush tha aur MQM ka sarparast bhi Mush .
    Altaf kay hamesha hamsha kay liye bhag janay pe MQM bhi yateem ho gaye hay ...bechari .
    tu aik bhagora dictator tu chahiye in losers ko.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 10:03 #
  18. RajputPuttar

choosy
    MQM was there when mush was not even a brigardier and won atleast 5 elections before mush name surfaced.
    And also MQM 4 elections after Altaf left. So come up with something solid.

Noo , ARMY Dicatator has dared to participate in politics after relinquishing office. Same holds true for mush in my oponion.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:06 #
  19. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@LalBichoo: Islam is not limited to Pakistan. I agree.

However, in ALL the countries of Muslim UMMAH, Pakistan is in the best position right now. It can help, as well as lead Muslims of the rest of the UMMAH.

Plus, when I look at Hadees, I note, we have a lot of work to do for our as well as benefit of the rest of the UMMAH.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:17 #
  20. @choosy

Yateem PTI hai, apne leader ke Pakistan main honay ke bawajood bhi.

Looks like you haven't quite digested the fact that MQM/ANP/Talibans/JI/Al Qaida/US govt. all are supported by the people. So if there's an issue with these outfits, it is with the people who support and elect their members. For MQM it is Urduers/Mohajirs/UPians. Many will be made to fit the MQMer profile quite handsomely.

Al Qaida ran the planes into the towers to show the people there about the decisions their elected officials take can have repercussions.

When the army operation starts, it will be against the people and not a party! Simply you crush the people to pull their support plug. Do it in Balocistan and East Pakistan, but watch out in Karachi and NWFP they emerge back stronger and bigger.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:26 #
  21. @Barakobama ,
    yaar tumko tu US President hona chahiye tha..
    hatred mein kamal rakhtay ho.

PTI yateem nahin ...PTI new born hay .
    new born gradullay chalna seekhta hay .

MQM and PMLQ are really yateem(Orhan) their fathers has gone abroad and left them alone ...:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:33 #
  22. Maybe his return will bring any good news for Pakistanies...remember what happened with BB when she came back...this is the only way we can hang this loser otherwise he is well protected in UK USA by his foreign lords nd friends which is why its almost impossible to even think of touching him let alone punishing him...Death was awaiting for BB so is waiting for Mushy...nodoubt God is the best planner He(swt) has His own ways to punish ppl...

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:40 #
  23. @RhyMe ,
    yahi tu hum sub bhi chahatay hain kay Mush aye tu sahi.:)

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:43 #
  24. RajputPuttar

@Rhyme & Choosy

Noo ex-uniformed has been convicted in Pakistan. They are far above law. U r speaking of mush , our courts can't dare to try hameed gul or asad durrani.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:45 #
  25. @choosy

PML-Q and MQM reps sit in the parliament to be reminded of the patrons.

PTI, the crawler, on the otherhand, tries the long track, no representation in parliament but some supporters in cafes, coffee shops and online forums.

OK, MQM and PML-Q are yateem but by your precedence PTI has to be infertile.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 12:59 #
  26. @Rajputputter

Yeah i know its not possible to even file a case against any ex military man but im just hoping and wishing...you can not stop anyone from hoping or can you? if courts,establishment and Government all these three pillars are unable to punish him still he will be punished in Allah(swt)'s court inshaAllah for all the evils he did and ran away...for how long he will run...curses of ppl who suffered because of him,are still with him!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:00 #
  27. @Rajputt and RhyMe,
    there has to be a first day for everything .
    impossible things happens in this world .
    and Allah make impossible things ,possible for those ,who has got the intention and courage to do so bravely.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:14 #
  28. wantinsaf

He lives in fool's paradise where he thinks he had made good president.But realty is he gave us suicide bombings,more poverty,ethnic violence,injustice,Balochistan issue,water shortage etc.
    He was a monster who worked for his American Masters

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:22 #
  29. @wantinsaf

The issues you pointed out existed before Mr. Musharraf.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:26 #
  30. Anonymous

I think he should be welcomed to come back (to face the music of different type). Don't you agree folks!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 13:41 #
  31. uovervinnelig

Mush might delay his return program now :)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/2010/02/100217_pm_meets_cj.shtml

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 14:33 #
  32. wantinsaf

@BarackObama
    Suicide Bombing started in 2005 when Mush was undemocratic president of this poor nation.
    I wrote down the word 'more'.More poverty,more injustice,more ethnic violence.
    Balcohistan issue is his product.Balochs were not demanding for freedom till 1999.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 15:13 #
  33. @wantinsaf

Wow, you are hung up on more .. while the present setup gives these gifts as much more. The word suicide got attached to the bombing phenomenon on his clock, but bomb on Xtians or faith crowds, political rallies and common people have been there.

BTW, you should also brush up on Balochistan insurgency which has been there since 1947 really, more later in 50's as Bugti Malitia and Baloch Liberation Front in 60s and now BLA.

Lt. Gen Rahimuddin Khan was martial law governor of Balochistan to crush separatist insurgency from 1973 to 1978 under Bhutto and Zia. You meant to say that after Bugti's operation by Musharraf, the insurgency surged. So let's say it but keep the facts straight and give credit/blame where due!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 17:16 #
  34. wantinsaf

@BarakOsama

To keep record straight
    Initially all the movements in Baluchistan were about demanding rights but now they are demanding for separation.Monster Mush widened the gap and worsened the issue.

You are mixing up many kinds of terrorism.Suicide bombings which involve Taliban is simply Mush's gift.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 17:31 #
  35. @wantinsaf

No! Their elected sardars demand rights but when not elected they demand separation. All insurgency in Balochistan has always been about secession since 1950s only to be fueled after Bangladesh success after 1971. Musharraf did what Ayub, Bhutto and Zia did and now what Zardari does.

The bombs that killed thousands of Pakistani before 2005 were not thrown, they were either planted or carried by individuals to the crowd.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 17:47 #
  36. max786

He will be 100% better then thief Zadari and co. I think he should be give another chance.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 21:36 #
  37. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Can we Pakistanis' PLEASE!! struggle to become self sufficient, self reliant, so we don't get treated like SHEEP by people like Mr. Musharraf, Mr. Zardari, Mr. Nawaz Sharif, Mr. Altaf Hussain, others like them, etc etc. ?

Can we PLEASE! end this pathetic, worthless, bickering, this constant whining ?

PLEASE!!! people. Come to your senses.

The people in the west, are moving forward with thinking of creating an unlimited electricity/power.

Look at what we Muslims are still stuck in.

Can't we get rid of ALL this BS!, choose honest, good leaders, so we can get BACK on track to making progress ?

Look at this, THINK on what the heck is going to happen to Muslims if the west achieves unlimited electricity/power, before we do;

Thread: Bill Gates and the 'nuclear Renaissance'

Put an END! to this worthless bickering.

THINK! about the future! people. Common!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 21:54 #
  38. RajputPuttar

wantinsaf
    @BarackObama
    Suicide Bombing started in 2005 when Mush was undemocratic president of this poor nation

To keep record , Mush was "elected" with the support of some "Ganday Aandays" in referendum . Do u remember that ? Do u know the names of those "Ganday Aandays"

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 22:38 #
  39. pakistanvideo

Musharaf coming back: You must be kidding.I hope someone will land him in Attock fort.Nice villa to live his retirement life.Mountains, river bank and lot of shoes walking around.He deserves it.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 22:49 #
  40. RajputPuttar

Khawab deekhaney par koi pabandi nahi haai aur waisay bhi hum tu Faiz kaay mureed haain

" Lazam haai, Hum deikhen gaey"

Allah is capable of doing everything , making every impossible a possible but Allah has also bestowed mankind with some 'Aaaqal' and has advised it to use as well.

I wnat to point thaat as a nation we haven't been using it . We consider Mush a person whereas he was not. He was jsut the frontpage of '-PAK ARMY'. We need to go after instituion not persons. Yes, in that process, persons will also get punished but real culprit is instituion.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 22:52 #
  41. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Now, PLEASE!

Pakistan Army is NOT! an institution. Its a 'state' level 'service'.

PLEASE!

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 23:29 #
  42. RajputPuttar

whats difference between instituion and state level service btw ?

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 23:44 #
  43. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Good! question.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Feb 2010 23:55 #
  44. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

..and what's next ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 0:01 #
  45. RajputPuttar

Mate ,

U have pointed a difference between 'Institution' and 'service' which unfortunately , due to my lack of knowledge ' couldn't pick.

I requested u to elaborate this fine difference and u don't have any answer ? So , what should i do for this typical Jamatia arrogance of yours ?

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 0:04 #
  46. telengr

We shall stop going for or against personalities so much. Imran, Mush, Nawaz none will be here after 25(+-) years. Or even if they are here they will be too old. (So will be I and some of you). We shall try to see our country's position and how it finds its place in the world around us. The truth is, no country can live alone and cut-off from the rest of the world. The world is getting closer everyday that goes by. Everything which happens in one country effects others so no country will be too free to do as it wishes. Internally we need to have a strong adminstration. Good Governance is not an easy thing to achieve. Making a lot of small parties will not bring any postive change in Pakistan. Sorry to disappoint my friends here on this forum, the problems cant be solved by one person. No matter how big of a leader he is. We need a set up in which there are sincere columns of leaders. Otherwise we just go from one dictatorship to another one.

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 4:56 #
  47. Mush ki pitaii kay liye mein ne 7 no ka jota khareda hay .
    Airport jayon ga usska istaqbaal karany ..:):):):)

apkay joton ka no kiya hay bhaiyon?
    kiya ap aik aik jota donate kar saktay hain Mush the great kay liye ???

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 4:59 #
  48. junaid

i think mush has had been living in pakistan. he could has been secretly landed onto sold out army air bases. army kailiye mara hoa kutta cotas bhi baree cheez hota hai.
    happy sadar musharaf returns.!

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 5:08 #
  49. Juniad bhai ,
    meri campaign ,'one sheo each for Mush' kay liye jota donate karo gay na ...:)plz

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 5:15 #
  50. toamin

mushy is already in the trash bin of history, only thing left is to put more trash on top of him :)

Posted 2 years ago on 18 Feb 2010 9:23 #