Musharraf starting a new Party?

(43 posts)
  1. msohail83

In these uncertain times, Musharraf has re-emerged on the scene. Asia Times Online has learned that he is pondering the formation of a new political party and that he recently funneled large amounts of money into the coffers of former aides to promote his cause. These include former minister of information, Sheikh Rasheed, whom some reports say has been paid US$1 million - the same amount that went to a public relations team to boost Musharraf's image.

Insiders say that Musharraf has vast wealth, much of it accumulated through donations from individuals (these, some say, include Libya's Muammar Gaddafi) and corporations to aid previous election campaigns. There are reports that Musharraf received US$30 million from the United Arab Emirates via one of its top bankers, and $3 million from a Pakistani cellular phone company.

Musharraf believes that with his contacts - especially to the Saudi royal family - and being internationally known, he could play a decisive role in the South Asian "war on terror" theater in which the Americans are looking for new ways to approach the Taliban for reconciliation, along with the elimination of al-Qaeda.

The militants, meanwhile, are not standing idly by.

http://atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/KK20Df08.html

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 8:17 #
  2. Adonis

Mush starting a new party!

Dance party or Tabla party?

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 8:19 #
  3. msohail83

If he hires sheikh, he may be able to do some stage shows. lolz

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 8:21 #
  4. toamin

He must be receiving green signals from 'somewhere', just like he did around 1999.

We know whose pet he is.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 8:32 #
  5. the devil and his disciples must be handed over to TTP. let him come first so many people are waiting for him.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 9:47 #
  6. TTP is a brainchild of ISI same as the Taliban, The Sipah-e-Sahabah and Jaish-e-Mohammed.

Musharraf is a former army general/COAS and a former president too.

Something more unexpected will happen when he comes to Pakistan. It will be nothing short of chaos and political upheavel where former foes will be friends and bridges would be built forming completely new alliances.....Good for removing political stagnation we are facing right now.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 10:37 #
  7. msohail83

He can never come to power through public support. Someone will have to 'install' him there. The way Zardari is running the show, I wouldn't be surprised if he makes a comeback.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 12:19 #
  8. The way Rehman Malik was provided an opportunity as an advisor and than a minister.

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 12:29 #
  9. toamin

If he opens a wedding singers party, he can be a super hit because he can sing quite good.

Mushy aur humnawa :)

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 13:50 #
  10. expakistani

it would be better if he join PML and unit all factions.....
    but unfortunatly we dont have elections at party level...

Mush party not going to be any different then other "short tail " of big animal... aka PTI, pakistan therek e istqlal etc

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 14:33 #
  11. jaypk

dnt think its gonna happen..!!

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 18:07 #
  12. who cares!! We have one man parties under every stone in Pakistan. One more wouldn't do us any harm

Posted 2 years ago on 21 Nov 2009 18:12 #
  13. zeshaan

SHAHEEDOON ki list main apna naam likhwanay kaa shauq utha hoga uskay dill main.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 1:21 #
  14. quaidkamazaar

Musharraf I salute you.
    Sheikh Rasheed I salute you.

yeah you guys are rich, but I dont care, you are better than others and alteast will take this country towards a better course.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 2:45 #
  15. toamin

That is the support Mushy is banking on -Urdu speaking people + PML-Q lota group + Amreekaa bahadur!

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 4:03 #
  16. quaidkamazaar

I think if Musharraf makes a strategy to take Pakistan back to a golden age and relays his ideas to awaam nicely, he will get support from all corners of Pakistan.

I dont think Urduspeakers have that much of a craze for Musharraf apart from what he did for country's economy... yeah for Mustafa Kamal people like me openly pledge trust and allegiance!!! MK over anyone.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:02 #
  17. toamin

Tell me brother, which policy of Musharraf is missing now? Isn't Zardari continuing with not only the policies but also with the same team?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:06 #
  18. quaidkamazaar

Zardari is a looser JJ,

He let Taliban come into Swat,

If Musharraf was there, He would have not let that stage come at all.

Musharraf kept the militancy to a low back then compared to now. Atleast Peshawar was not being bombed everyday.

How can you compare Zardari with Musharraf?
    Musharraf was not begging for money, he was making trade deals and increasing Pakistan's economic activity.

Now you will say im urdu speaking im supporting him thats why, let me make clear, thats not the reason. I dont care about Musharraf and I accept he was a dictator.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:13 #
  19. toamin

QKM,

Brother it was Mush's double game that gave blind eye to Taliban.

There is no change in the policy or role of Pakistan in America's war of terror. Same thing is going on, do more, do more.

Of course Mush was begging for money, that is why he made a lot by selling Pakistanis!

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:16 #
  20. quaidkamazaar

I think Musharraf was playing real double games with USA actually.

he was shaking hands with them but he only had Pakistan's longterm task in mind which is to make his country powerful so that it could stand up on its own against all big guns.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:22 #
  21. quaidkamazaar

another difference between Zardari and Musharraf is that Musharraf will be willing to die for this country any day.... while Zardari would back off because of his corrupt nature like other crafty men.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:23 #
  22. toamin

He was playing double yes, I agree, but only with people of Pakistan for the sake of Americans.

Did you not read seymour hersh's report?

Come on brother, please read to learn his traitor role.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:23 #
  23. toamin

QKM,

Brother let us not forget that it was Mushy bhai who brought this curse of Zardari/PPP on the people of Pakistan through secret deals.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:25 #
  24. quaidkamazaar

yeahh...

Musharraf made huge mistake of NRO.
    I agree, I am not stupid enough to defend him on that.

what a crazy move.

I mean its not like urduspeakers are blind to not observe Musharraf's dumbness.... its just that the final outcome he was creating was good for the country mostly, more channels, more expression, more happiness, more stability, more progress, image of a forward moving Pakistan.

But he made big blunders also, i cant just accept one side on this. But I think mostly he was honest otherwise he wouldnt have Pakistan move ahead. but he was power hungry dictator at the end, I hate him but i also liked him its weird.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:36 #
  25. toamin

He helped eat up 1.2 Trillion rupees of Pakistani Nation and you say 'mistake'?

He brought in Zardari on people of Pakistan and you say mistake?

Furthermore, currently there is no difference in any internal/external policy of Mushy or Zardari.

Only zardari doesn't have military backing while mushy had military backing -rest is all the same.

Isn't it enough to know that Mushy dances on the tunes of Washington orchestra?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:39 #
  26. quaidkamazaar

there is a difference between Zardari and Mushy policy bro, its not the same at all, its quite different.

anyways, i hope you can see both sides. I am just coming to conclusion that you cant just tell one side of the story. most people hate Musharraf, I dont think he'll do good in politics.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:45 #
  27. toamin

Of course there are many personality differences. Who cares about personal/facial changes.

We care about internal/external policies and implementations. From that perspective no difference between Mushy/Zardari.

Some may argue that Zardari was more successful at selling war of terror to people than mushy who failed to sell that war.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:49 #
  28. quaidkamazaar

to me, outcomes are more important than anything.

Musharraf failed by bringing Zardari back.
    Musharraf passed by making 16 billion$ reserves and giving media boom that is stil going on.

they are two sides of the same coin, but ultimately Musharraf failed longtermwise.

Now Zardari is failing, he did nothing good, atleast Musharraf was doing something good if he was doing something bad also.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:52 #
  29. toamin

Do you know that zardari regime passed beyond $16 billion reserve, furthermore do you even know what this reserve mean to a common man?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 7:56 #
  30. toamin

Also do you know that the economic policy team under zardari is same as the one under Mushy?

Ever heard about Hina Rabbani Khar?

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 8:09 #
  31. zingaro

Looking at the very recent scenarios, i don't expect Musharraf to dare to come back to Pakistan. He is not a commando but a hypocrite and a loser. He has also earned a lot of wealth through corruption and now will not come back in the near future. May be after 25 years, he will pay a visit to Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 9:07 #
  32. quaidkamazaar

no mann... he will come to Pakistan before 25 lol, hopefully Pakistan would be existing unless PPP gets another term and breaks this nation again 2nd time what shame that would be. expect anything.

Posted 2 years ago on 22 Nov 2009 9:57 #
  33. Adonis

If parvez musharraf could not break Pakistan inspite of his best attempts, inshallah Zardari would not be able to do that either.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 10:29 #
  34. inzi
    Proxyman

I have always thought that musharaaf would reappear from the platform of pml q or mqm.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 13:58 #
  35. @inzi
    Welcome to pkpolitics 'discuss' forum.
    I think what you said is quite likely and seems more realistic than something out of the blue, happening as a sudden surprise. I have mentioned this in my earlier post.
    But than when talking about Pakistani politics anything should be expected. This is what they call POLITICS in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 14:31 #
  36. inzi
    Proxyman

semirza thank you, the amount of money musharraf has looted he should have no problem taking over or creating a new party within mqm or pml q and if the establishment gives him the green light we would see him back in action. I dont see that happening for now because there are signs obama is keeping his distance from musharraf and betting on the present setup.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 14:35 #
  37. inzi
    Proxyman

The people who will vote for musharraf would be ethnic based or rural voters that is if he comes back.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 14:36 #
  38. jaypk

@inzi...inzi bhai..first of all..the boys played well...jonsay yeh musharraf hay na...jonsa lagta naee k yeh ayega...!!

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 14:48 #
  39. inzi
    Proxyman

jaypk. haha ..pehlay bhi lagta nahie tha kaie martial law aiye ga aur woh a giya tha..musharraf ki pass pasia kafie haie. musharraf ka beta saudi prince talal kaie saat business partner bhie haie kuch ventures maie.. us kaie pass arabic, british, american contacts bhie hain. Aur once you are in the army you always stay in the army bunda kabhie retire nahie hota. Lagta nahie aur kiya aigaa nahie dou alag alag topic hain.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 Nov 2009 14:56 #
  40. quaidkamazaar

jj khan,, you commented earlier on reserves,

so if Zardari suprassed 16 billion $ reserves,

why is Pakistan back under IMF loans??? and getting more and more in debt. Atleast Mush Bhai took Pak away from this situation.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 4:48 #
  41. toamin

Brother, tell me how was he able to take Pakistan away :)

Thank washington for rescheduling the payments while forcing PPP govt to make payments -thus resulting in imposition of IMF conditions to control Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 4:51 #
  42. Revivalist

Bussharraf+Abdullah yousaf Ali can make a good party as one will sing and the other will dance, i hope you have seen AYA dancing :)???

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 6:20 #
  43. toamin

Sure, they can form a good band for 'Wedding Singers'. I hope he doesn't miss this idea as wedding season has already begun.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 Nov 2009 12:49 #