PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Muslims Contributions to Science or Philosophy during last 1000 years.

(246 posts)
  1. Red-Scorpion

We have heard name of Ibn-e-Sina, Ibn-e-Rushd, Farabi, Ibn-e-Hashem, Jabir bin Hayan, and Ghazali. They were Mulim Scientists/Philosophers of early Muslim era.
    What happened to Muslims eight/nine century? Why Muslim world stopped producing scientists/philosophers?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 10:48 #
  2. rocketrevolt

Why you have not become bin sina,ibn batuta,ibn ul hasim?
    Why not you become one of them?Why not you could become one of them?What new revolutionary theory you gave?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 11:11 #
  3. mylove-Pakistan

I think the reason is that 'our culture has dominated religion'.

The basic as for as I think is that we are not concentrating on female education (proper education - what is this, is a long discussion). Our females are normally fully dedicated to kids and are supposed to better conditions for learning and making then better human beings, but unfortunately, they themselves are not very well educated and don't know what to teach the kids.
    I think the proper education for the females can play a very good role in this.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 11:36 #
  4. Justapakistani

Awesome post Croco.....yee bass ye bhaghoray batain kaay ghazi hain.....warnaa patila khali.......agar inki logic itni powerful aur convincing tu inbhaghoroun aaab kiyaa oukhar liyaa hai ......

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 11:42 #
  5. shikra

All the attempts to invent or discover in the fields of science and philosophy would be discouraged in the name of religion and would be declared as Haram.
    Just read the Khutba of Molvi Soofi Mohammad of Swat, the preachings of Mullah Omer who never faced any camera.
    They destructed the Girl's Schools and put the women folk under house arrest.
    Unfortunately there are a number of supporters of this type of state of mind at the forum Pkpolitics who cannot digest any innovation or progress.
    They will declare an innovator as Kaafir, Murtad, Westernized and bla bla bla.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 12:49 #
  6. Getting inspirations from the west is not harmful but getting impressed is harmful. Look at the history of mankind, the scientific innovations only came from those nations which were politically stable.

This nations which are going down will not necessarily stay there longer, they have equal chances for coming up and for Muslims Alhumdullilah i see lot of potential. They are still wealthy, they are not completely backward in education. I see number of muslim scientists working in NASA, ESA, Automobile industry, info-tech etc.

Secondly doing lot of innovations in the field of science is not the only merit or measure of the development of the nations. Do you remember any chinese scientists, please would you give me name of any one? Without having big names or innovators China is the third country of the world who has sent human in the earth orbit. It is only because chinese are more patriotic than us and they do not waste their time in only plain criticism.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 13:04 #
  7. religion never stops a nation to progress .
    and our religion is all about science and research .

DIN AUR RAAT KAY ANAY JANAY MEIN AQAL WALON KAY LIYE BARI NISHANIYAN HAIAN . (AL QURAN )

all the time our holy book ask us to go out and do the research ,think ,observe ,learn and lead .

but unfortunately ,we have lost half way .
    and has decided that if we are believers ...
    we are not suppose to do anything .
    everything Allah has to do for us .
    even we expect Allah to put the piece of breed in our mouth.

so how can we progress?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 13:53 #
  8. chechen

Red Scorpion question has errors. It was not 8/9th century but rather 19th century. If you did not know Arabic you could not do research in Europe until 19th century. Medical encycopedia was in Arabic and was used until early 20th century. The European inventions and discoveries until 19th century were indebted to those Arabic manuals and research.

What really happened after the fall of Al Andulus- the paradise lost in 1492 was the fault of Muslims themselves who gradually abandoned Quran and Hadith. The date 1492 is an epoch making date. King Abdullah known to Spaniards as Boabdil handed over the keys of the last Muslim bastion- Granada to Queen Isabella and left for Morocco. The same year 1492 Christopher Columbus set sail for New world and discovered Americas. His ship was manned by Muslim mariners who guided the ship through the Atlantic ocean by using astrolobe which was invented by Muslims.

Although in the year 1492 Muslims lost Spain but in the East, Ottoman Muslim armies advanced to Vienna in Austria in Central Europe and most of Eastern Europe including Yugoslavia, Bulgaria, Romania , Greece was part of the Ottoman empire which extended from Moroco to Iraq. No other empire in history of mankind has such a vast empire like Ottoman Khilafa.

The Ottomans and Muslims started blaindly aping the Western model of politics and secular education blindly. The Muslims, rather than evaluating what went wrong simpley thought that the western secular model was the way to go thereby abandoning the Quran and Hadith that really propelled Muslim discoveries. And that aping of Western secular model in realm of Science and economics and politics continues to this day. The West had abondoned their Bible and relegated it to Sunday worship as the Scientific discoveries were conflicting with their religious dogmas. Muslims never had and will never have that kind of inconsistencies. Everyone knows how Galileo was sentenced to death by clergy for his scientific discoveries. The West developed after abandoning their religion and separating religion and politics and science. Even that progress was indebted to Muslims. We should not be baffled by the scientific progress of west as it was purely in materialistic pursuit. InshaAllah time is on our side as West is lost in its quest for material progress devoid of God which has played havoc on their civilization that is having its last throes.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 15:40 #
  9. skyfacts

chechan,
    Assalamo Alaikum,
    You are very good at history and keep it up.I think you would like the decision recommended by me about moderator....:)

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 15:52 #
  10. chechen

Walaikum Salaam wa rahmatullahi barakatuhu

Insha'allah we are all good at history. I am learning from all on this forum. Sure, some people were taking your comments personal but I feel it was your sincere desire to oppose shirk and fitna that prompted your post. You are in fact their well wisher by pointing their fallcies.

Good mothers raise their children with dushman ki nazar tthat is the best way to raise upright children

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 15:57 #
  11. shikra

Every discussion ends up at the Zero Point.
    I am fed up with the repetition of such sentences:
    Islam dosn't allow............
    Islam allows...............
    Islam doesn't allow...........
    Islam allows.............
    What is the ground reality?
    Then why most of the scholars are lost and confused?
    At one stroke of pen they support Mulla Omer and Soofi Mohammad and at the second stroke they say something else?
    They support and defend the suicide bombers at one thread and contradict their writings at the other thread.
    Please print and publish a final version what Islam allows and what disallows.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 16:18 #
  12. chechen

No one is confused except shikra.

It is not what Islam allows but rather what was prohibited by God Almighty. No need to publish it here. You go figure it out yoursleves as you figured out brain surgery. Where there is will there is way. You studied brain surgery for materialistic desire and some human aspects but chose to ignore allah's command.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 Aug 2009 16:22 #
  13. Red-Scorpion

Guys, why Muslim world has stopped producing scientists/philosphers ?
    I would really appreciate if someone could name some scientific discoversies/inventions by muslims during last 1000 years ?
    Moreover, how many muslims have so far won Noble Prize ?
    What about Jews how many of them have won Nobel Prize so far ?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Aug 2009 9:55 #
  14. Red-Scorpion

@chechan

"If you did not know Arabic you could not do research in Europe until 19th century. Medical encycopedia was in Arabic and was used until early 20th century. The European inventions and discoveries until 19th century were indebted to those Arabic manuals and research."

Tell me the source of this information.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Aug 2009 11:09 #
  15. Red-Scorpion

@rocketrevolt

"Why you have not become bin sina,ibn batuta,ibn ul hasim?
    Why not you become one of them?Why not you could become one of them?What new revolutionary theory you gave?"

I might have done something bigger, have I not born in a muslim family !

BTW pls tell me what invention/discovery 'ibn-e-batuta' made ?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 Aug 2009 11:12 #
  16. mangomilkshake

@red scorpion; no doubt muslims have not contributed anything of value to the human race in a long time.

but it is very unfortunate that we have completely forgotten the achievements of our ancestors in Islam.

I could start making a list here - but i think its better if you see for yourself - go to the following link- scroll down to the year 600 A.D.- and then read on the names and the inventions - it will be an education for you.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Timeline_of_historic_inventions

P.S. Ibn batuta was a man who travelled and wrote a travellouge of the entire known world - he was before - and his travels encompassed a larger area than marco polo.

have some pride man

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:12 #
  17. Revivalist

RS,

Despite of all the post that proves Muslims did contribute to the humanity in all aspects RS is coming up with the same point. In fact he has nothing to say and in unable to prove his ideas, that’s why he has started a useless thread. What if you prove that Muslims have not invented anything in the last 1000years??? Will you give credit to the Muslims for the work and inventions they have done in the initial 400years?????

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:28 #
  18. Red-Scorpion

@Revivalist

"""Despite of all the post that proves Muslims did contribute to the humanity in all aspects RS is coming up with the same point."""

Which posts are you referring to ?
    Why don't you tell us what Muslims have contributed to the humanity ?

"""What if you prove that Muslims have not invented anything in the last 1000years??? """

I was wondering what Europe and North America look today if Muslims had conquered them 1000 years ago !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:33 #
  19. Revivalist

RS,

I also said "Will you give credit to the Muslims for the work and inventions they have done in the initial 400years?????

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:38 #
  20. Muslims has started contributing to create the huge forces of slaves .
    thats why they stopped contributing on the other side.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:49 #
  21. JW

@Red-Scorpion
    "I was wondering what Europe and North America look today if Muslims had conquered them 1000 years ago !"

We wouldn't know anything about the existence of a North America if muslims had conquered Europe.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 8:59 #
  22. Red-Scorpion

@Revivalist

"Will you give credit to the Muslims for the work and inventions they have done in the initial 400years?????

Definitely, why not !

But the issue is why Muslims stop producing scientists and thinkers ?
    There was a time when Ibn-e-Sina, Ibn-e-Rushd, Jabir-bin-Hayan and Farabi made contributions towards science & philosophy which every sane person acknowledges !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:00 #
  23. Revivalist

Just one example;

Abū al-'Iz Ibn Ismā'īl ibn al-Razāz al-Jazarī (1136 – 1206) (Arabic: أَبُو اَلْعِزِ بْنُ إسْماعِيلِ بْنُ الرِّزاز الجزري‎was a prominent Arab Islamic mathematician polymath : a scholar, inventor, mechanical engineer, craftsman, artist and astronomer from Al-Jazira, Iraq who lived during the Islamic Golden Age (Middle Ages). He is best known for writing the Kitáb fí ma'rifat al-hiyal al-handasiyya (Book in the Knowledge of Engineering Tricks ) in 1206, where he described fifty mechanical devices along with instructions on how to construct them.......

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Al-Jazari

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:00 #
  24. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

""Muslims has started contributing to create the huge forces of slaves .
    thats why they stopped contributing on the other side. """

You are spot on !
    Muslims not only became imperialists but they also persecuted thinkers and scientists !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:03 #
  25. @Red-Scorpion
    Your question 'What happened to Muslims since eight/nine centuries'? Is a frequently asked question. From the sixteenth century onwards (fall of Spain) and till date there has been a retreat by the Muslims following colonial occupation of Muslim lands far and wide. Independence was given only after making sure the religious/social/educational values of their subjects have been thoroughly polluted and restrained considerably.

This all happened when Muslims stopped being Muslims and trusted hypocrites and munafiqeen more than having faith in Allah (ST). They got kicked out of Spain. They got cheated by the same in the guise of traders in India. And now we are a group of states that are headed by installed puppet regimes by the same colonial masters. No country was able to continue ahead as all fields of research and advancement were severely marred by the colonial masters who had successfully converted institutions that churned out scientist before were billowing ‘clerks’ at the maximum for the services of their masters.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:12 #
  26. Revivalist

RS,

Joke of the century.... Could you please enlighten us about any verse of the Quran or any sahih hadith of the prophet (Saw) that stops Muslims from scientific development and acquiring best technology??? BTW which scientist has persecuted? I hope you don’t mention AQ.Khan :).BTW what is the reason according to you? As your post clearly shows that the more Muslims were close to Islam the more they were advence in all fields, isnt it???

Beenai, which force of slaves are you talking about?? In fact it was US and UK that developed its industry solely on slave trade from Africa, please see a documentary ‘THE WRONG EMPIRE’…..

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:13 #
  27. Red-Scorpion

@Revivalist

Let me simplify your question

Why your Muslim Ummah has been sufferring with acute constipation of Ideas and Inventions for last 1000 years ?

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:16 #
  28. amin1924

Why don't you prove that?

Tell us about your research or analysis of history, if any?

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:17 #
  29. Red-Scorpion

@Janu Jerman

I'm Iblees, why should I tell you :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:24 #
  30. amin1924

Right, and I know a couple of tricks to cut iblees short.. LOLzzz

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:26 #
  31. Revivalist

RS,

Just one example;
    Abū al-'Iz Ibn Ismā'īl ibn al-Razāz al-Jazarī (1136 – 1206) (Arabic: أَبُو اَلْعِزِ بْنُ إسْماعِيلِ بْنُ الرِّزاز الجزري‎was a prominent Arab Islamic mathematician polymath : a scholar, inventor, mechanical engineer, craftsman, artist and astronomer from Al-Jazira, Iraq who lived during the Islamic Golden Age (Middle Ages). He is best known for writing the Kitáb fí ma'rifat al-hiyal al-handasiyya (Book in the Knowledge of Engineering Tricks ) in 1206, where he described fifty mechanical devices along with instructions on how to construct them.......

Besides, let us know what you want to prove and as i said your point proves that the more Muslims were close to Islam the more they were advance in all fields of life, isnt it????

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:29 #
  32. Red-Scorpion

@semirza

""From the sixteenth century onwards (fall of Spain) and till date there has been a retreat by the Muslims following colonial occupation of Muslim lands far and wide. Independence was given only after making sure the religious/social/educational values of their subjects have been thoroughly polluted and restrained considerably.""

What's stopping Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Turkey, Brunei, Qatar, Iran, Pakistan, Indonesia, and Malaysia to invest in education and compete with other developed countries now ?

Why Muslim Ummah did not produce thinkers and scientists like Newton, Voltaire, Rossueu, Kant, Edison, Einstein, Graham Bell, Marx, Darwin, Freud, Locke, J.S.Mill ???

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:30 #
  33. Revivalist

RS,

"What's stopping Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Turkey, Brunei, Qatar, Iran, Pakistan, Indonesia, and Malaysia to invest in education and compete with other developed countries now?"

AHHH you have exposed your self again and your understanding of world political affairs. In fact it is your hypocrite west which talks about democracy and freedom but when it comes to suppressing Muslims they are the closest friends of the dictators and frauds in the Muslim world i.e. Abdullah, Hosni Mubarak, Zardari, Karimove etc. This is your hypocrite west which came to loot oil in Iraq and lied to the world about the WMDs. Hence it is western colonialism that stops us from developing with the help of the traitor rulers. But let me assure you that the situation will no longer remain the same as secularism/capitalism/democracy has failed the world. Just to give you a latest example of Japanese newly elected PM, he said "Hatoyama wrote an opinion piece for The New York Times last week, noting that US hegemony was coming to an end in different parts of the world.”As a result of the failure of the Iraq war and the financial crisis, the era of US-led globalism is coming to an end," Hatoyama wrote.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:38 #
  34. Red-Scorpion

@Revivalist

""Hence it is western colonialism that stops us from developing with the help of the traitor rulers.""

Wow, so Muslim Ammah won't produce scientists and thinkers until Khalifahs come into power !

نہ نو من تیل ہو گا
    نہ رادھا ناچے گی

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:46 #
  35. @Red Scorpion

1-Muslims not only became imperialists but they also persecuted thinkers and scientists !
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    2-Why don't you tell us what Muslims have contributed to the humanity ?
    ------------------------------------------------------------3-What if you prove that Muslims have not invented anything in the last 1000years?
    ------------------------------------------------------------
    Kindly explain No.1

No.2 and No.3 are proof in themselves that:

-you do not hold any knowledge at all of Muslims history and are totally unaware of the Muslims and their inventions that had been of great service to humanity,and they still are.
    -From where you got this much propagated false figure of 1000 years. Muslims were still in Spian in fifteen hundereds and that is the same period when European dark ages were converted to the age of renniance by the same Moors of Spain!

If you are interested I may be able to provide some books on this subject so as my brother will be able to fare better in such discussions.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:48 #
  36. Red-Scorpion

@semirza

"""Most historians agree that the ideas that characterized the Renaissance had their origin in late 13th century Florence, in particular with the writings of Dante Alighieri (1265–1321) and Francesco Petrarca (1304–1374), as well as the painting of Giotto di Bondone (1267–1337).[17] Some writers date the Renaissance quite precisely; one proposed starting point is 1401, when the rival geniuses Lorenzo Ghiberti and Filippo Brunelleschi competed for the contract to build the bronze doors for the Baptistery of the Florence Cathedral (Ghiberti won).[18] Others see more general competition between artists and polymaths such as Brunelleschi, Ghiberti, Donatello, and Masaccio for artistic commissions as sparking the creativity of the Renaissance. Yet it remains much debated why the Renaissance began in Italy, and why it began when it did. Accordingly, several theories have been put forward to explain its origins.""

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Renaissance

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:54 #
  37. Red-Scorpion

@semirza

"""2-Why don't you tell us what Muslims have contributed to the humanity ?
    ------------------------------------------------------------3-What if you prove that Muslims have not invented anything in the last 1000years?"""

These are not my questions, pls read the thread !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:55 #
  38. Red-Scorpion

@semirza

"""you do not hold any knowledge at all of Muslims history and are totally unaware of the Muslims and their inventions that had been of great service to humanity,and they still are."""

But, I really don't need anyone's certificate !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:56 #
  39. @Red-Scorpion
    Similar threads with the same topic had been discussed here before.Thread topic is in fact a too often 'beaten track' by those who whant to refute the historic reality of Muslim achievements. Even the questions reek of the same rhetoric

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:57 #
  40. @Red-Scorpion
    You require a certificate or not remains a different matter.You have initiated a discussion. Than let us discuss.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 9:59 #
  41. We use cars, airplane, x-ray machine, cat scan MRI machines, penicillin, electricity, telephone, computers, internet etc. What have the Muslims done for humanity in the last 1400 years? If I can get one thing that has benefited mankind that would really educate me.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:04 #
  42. Revivalist

RS,

Just one example;

Besides, let us know what you want to prove and as i said your point proves that the more Muslims were close to Islam the more they were advance in all fields of life, isnt it????

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:04 #
  43. I am really slow what did Abū al-'Iz Ibn Ismā'īl ibn al-Razāz al-Jazarī made for man kind?

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:05 #
  44. @Red-Scorpion
    A reference from wiki is not worthy of comparison to a book that is hundered to two hundered years old, or even from a much earlier age. This is an age of misinformation/disinformation and we should source our facts with caution. Wiki is the producet of the disinformation era. Not all what it says is truth but quite the opposite. Members may remember a thread 'Address of Tariq bin Ziyad to his army' sourced from wiki. This address was tailored/altered and we proved it. Personally I would prefer another source/various sources than bank on what wiki says.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:07 #
  45. Red-Scorpion

@semirza

"""Tricks ) in 1206, where he described fifty mechanical devices along with instructions on how to construct them.......
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Al-Jazari """

>>>>

You are right, I don't know what happened to Khalifah group, why they have started quoting from a Kafir source ! :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:11 #
  46. Revivalist

Lota do take some energy drinks!!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:12 #
  47. Revivalist

RS, at least you should take it a valid source :)

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:14 #
  48. amin1924

red-scorpion,

You are a preacher of argumentum ad hominem, what happened to you? ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:14 #
  49. I have just asked for one simple thing that Muslims have invented for the benefit of humankind. Is that so hard to name? I am sure there is one and while I am getting my energy drink please be so kind as to name it and educate me.

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:15 #
  50. Red-Scorpion

@Revivalist

Yes, as I don't believe in conspiracy theories ! :)
    Wiki may not be cent per cent authentic but it is a good source of information for learners like me !

Posted 2 years ago on 31 Aug 2009 10:16 #