Mustafa Kamal lecture in Harvard Columbia

(72 posts)
  1. quaidkamazaar

SalaamAlaikum All,

We had a discussion on Mustafa Kamal somewhere couple of days ago.

Here is the news of his lecture in Harvard and Columbia.

I dedicate this to those who think Mustafa Kamal is sold to the US for their objectives.... you will find out that is not true.
    -----------------------------------------------

Pakistan don’t need aid from America instead it needs trade,Mustafa Kamal
    “Don’t give us aid- give us trade”
    Good governance –key to win in “War on terror”
    City Nazim Karachi's lectures to Harvard and Columbia Universities

Karachi- 14 Nov 2009: City Nazim Karachi Syed Mustafa Kamal has said that Pakistan don’t need aid from America instead it needs trade so that Pakistani products could get duty free access to American markets. “Don’t give us aid- give us trade”, “don’t give us fish- teach us how to catch fish”. War on terror can not be won by army actions, drones attacks and more forces in Afghanistan and Pakistan this war can only be won through good governance in both Afghanistan and Pakistan.

He expressed these views while giving his lecture at Harvard and Columbia University where he was invited for lectures. Nazim Karachi is the first mayor of Pakistan who has been invited to give lectures by these American Universities. Nazim Karachi said that Karachi plays key role in the national economy and also considered the main supply line in the region as 95 percent of the supplies to NATO Forces in Afghanistan go through Karachi Port. He said that the enemies knew this fact and therefore they wants to cut this supply line.

Nazim Karachi said that “In today’s phenomenon when we are fighting war on terror in Pakistan where 2600 Pakistani officers and soldiers have given their life and more than eight thousand innocent civilians in Pakistan have lost their life in a couple of years while the casualties suffered by the United States forces in Afghanistan have lost fifteen hundred soldiers so we have given more lives in this war on terror. We as a world can not fight this war just through the hard forces or just through sending more armies and drones. The ultimate solution has to come through the good governance in Afghanistan and in Pakistan. If the people in both countries don’t have the basic clean drinking water available to them and if they don’t have the education facilities and basic medical facilities for their own kids than the bad governance would play a breeding ground for all these militancy and extremism. We have to provide our people the basic necessities of life which is the prime job of the governments.”

Replying to a question he said that my ideal leader in Pakistan is my own leader Mr.Altaf Hussain. He said that every leader of any small or big party in Pakistan is a candidate for Prime Minister or President of Pakistan and they struggle their whole life to get there

whereas Mr. Altaf Hussain has never contested in any election instead he has given all these posts to his workers.He said that our leader Mr. Altaf Hussain could also have easily made his own brother the Mayor of Karachi instead of Mustafa Kamal and he would have made his other brother as a Governor of Sindh instead of Dr. Ishrat-ul-Ebad.

We and our political party and my leader has created the awareness about Taliban and we have been talking about these menaces in Pakistan especially we have been pointing out these things in Karachi and all over Pakistan and now the people are on high alert. We have the system where we have a watch and warn system in neighborhood watched in Karachi where everybody has to take care within his own vicinity and through this human intelligence, the ISI of Pakistan and the military intelligence in Pakistan have done the commendable and phenomenal job that eight gangs were busted in just last three weeks and they have prevented suicide attempts and explosions in Karachi and on top of that they have captured a gang at the right spot who were trying to blow up the oil refinery and the port site of Karachi and the whole gang was busted.

Answering to a question on why he is meeting Americans and American officials he said that we are part of Pakistan and we are marketing Pakistani product that is why we are meeting with all these US officials.

He said that if countries like India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Cambodia could have duty free access to markets in Unites States than why not Pakistan – the country which has given maximum sacrifices in war on terror can not allowed duty free access to American markets.The Dean of the Columbia University department of International Affairs John Coatsworth and Professor Ester Fuchs also spoke on this occasion.Professor Ester Fuchs said that “I am impressed with what Mayor Mustafa Kamal has shared with us. We tend to underestimate and undermine the issues a mayor has to face due to the fact that we spent more of our life in developed cities but we are glad that we now get good information and knowledge about the challenges and problems of global cities.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Nov 2009 17:58 #
  2. quaidkamazaar

he is a great marketer indeed,

he wants to bring investments in Pakistan rather than bheek.

he gets invited for these lectures only because he has the track record, and the ability to market very well.

Pakistanis should learn rather than point fingers.
    ------------

video of HArvard lecture

Mustafa Kamal
    "I was not selling Pakistan to neegro Ponte, I was marketting Pakistan, I was preaching the good things about Pakistan, the talent success model of Pakistan"

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Nov 2009 18:02 #
  3. toamin

QKM,

If you don't mind, here is my analysis on Altaf Hussain aka MQM.

He has been given political asylum by British. In UK he was not only allowed to carry out political activities but also allowed to remote control and micro management of the party.

When one joins British camp then he has to 'payback' at times when 'needed'. Pull back from NRO was a british move to show their weight in American controlled Pakistani establishment.

Now on the lectures part, the reason why Americans invite key political players for meetings is to pull them away from other camp into their camp. For that they have to establish relationship and create network so that they could exert influence.

When we analyze our puppets, we have to see which master is backing them and providing cover and support. And then we have to analyze the game plan of the master so that we can better understand movements of puppet in public.

I hope you don't mind.

Thx

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 4:12 #
  4. sasherwani

Kamal's speech was actually very impressive till he started sucking Altaf Kalia's toes. It was all downhill post that. Anyone who supports a power-hungry, corrupt and characterless killer is not trustworthy.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 4:39 #
  5. zingaro

QKM .. maan gaey bhai ... Mustafa Kamal aik call center mein job karta tha .. right ? mera khyal hay us nay us compnay kay liay itni "investment" akithi ki kay us "company" nay us ko Karachi ka city nazim banwa dia ... well done ...

In one of his interview Altaf Hussein himself said that "When Mustafa came to him, he even had no suit. So Altaf took him along to buy a suit for him". QKM kis ko bata rahay ho bhai kay Mustafa was a best marketer..

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 8:48 #
  6. quaidkamazaar

JJ Khan, thanks for your views.

we are not on the same boat but its ok.
    differences in thinking should not lead to violent arguements. and when there is no hope of resolution, there should be no bickering anyways.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 8:50 #
  7. toamin

QKM,

Thanks, nothing personal, just political analysis.

I understand Altaf Hussain's movement gave sense of identity and strength to the people who were deprived of even basic human rights, but after gaining initial success and foothold in a couple of areas we can see that how they played their role in national level politics.

Now that they can play even heavier role at national level, so their moves carry weight and need to be understood in correct perspective.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 10:12 #
  8. quaidkamazaar

Here is MK in Columbia,

I really like this one

@Zingaro,

yes he used to work in call center, and but he also went foreign to get education... i like educated bright politicians. MK for president.

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 19:34 #
  9. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

Foreign "education" also makes them mass murderers. Like Ariel Sharon, Hitler, Bush, Blair and Obama.

Harvard invites criminals and dictators. No big deal if MK got invited. What are his credentials as a Muslim? Does he pray 5 times, Fast? What is his ideology? Nationalistic MQM?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Nov 2009 20:42 #
  10. quaidkamazaar

Ghareeb Bhai,

Mustafa Kamal wants to see a prospering Pakistan... thats his ideology. A Pakistan that is not run by the waderas but real Pakistanis all over the country. He wants to build a good image of Pakistan so that humaara mulq aik tarakki yaafta mulk banke dikhae.

And whether he prays and fasts is between him and Allah... all what we can judge on is whether he has done good for people or not.

Harvard invites dictators and criminals???
    I dont think so brother. it invites intellectuals who have done something in their lives.
    it must be a privelege for first Pakistani mayor as speaker to set foot in Harvard.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 0:31 #
  11. quaidkamazaar

Most of you dont seem to have a problem with Pakistanis studying abroad in US and West to gain education... its seen as a privelege for many to study in US especially if its in Harvard or Columbia.

if thats not problematic, then how is Mustafa Kamal giving a lecture over there problematic? Its all about learning and teaching, its about representing Pakistan internationally, time to be proud of MK.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 2:46 #
  12. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

Quaid, The ones who educate themselves in Harvard or Columbia are mostly apologetics who wish to earn fast buck and are not at all patriots. Bhuttos got educated there but went to loot Pakistan claiming they serve Pakistan. Name some who studied there and RETURNED to Pakistan to serve the poor and destitute.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 4:44 #
  13. how many threads ,has to be started on the same topic of Mustafa Kamal giving lecture in Harvard ?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 5:00 #
  14. toamin

Yeh to Quaid Ka Mazaaq hee ban gaya hay bhai.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 5:28 #
  15. sasherwani

"Quaid, The ones who educate themselves in Harvard or Columbia are mostly apologetics who wish to earn fast buck and are not at all patriots."

:|

Are you serious? Have you ever BEEN to Harvard?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:19 #
  16. toamin

Sherwani,

May be you can provide us a good example of a graduate who served the nation while sacrificing his/her self-interests?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:27 #
  17. We should appreciate if someone invited to lecture in harvard.

Mohammad PBUH advised to get knowledge even you have to travel upto China.

Non muslim POWS were directed to teach muslims and doing so POWS were released.

Some lements in pakistan are so regid that they like to remain illiterate or like to be used by madrissa molla but refuse to be educated by non muslim.

By the way, people are waisting their time criticising MQM or PPP.

Both these have sorted out their differences in Dubai talks and rezulting in lifting ban on land/plot transfers in karachi.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:34 #
  18. sasherwani

@ JJ,

Yes they DID. I am from UT and my brother is from MIT. My dad's brother is from Harved Med. He doesnt live in Pakistan and nor do we but we try to do as much as we can for Pakistan. We do not call ourselves 'religious' but I take strong offense if someone doubts my patriotism.

My uncle left his job during the Pakistan earthquake in 2006 for 6 months and went to Balakot/Abbotabad to treat the victims. Leaving your job for 6 months might sound easy, but it isnt especially when you have a family to feed and mortgages to pay. We also did the biggest relief camp in UAE both for the Earthquake victims and the IDPs earlier this year. Yes we did seek education for fast bucks but NO we haven't forgotten our roots.

Religion is a personal affair and I would laugh off if someone has an issue with why I do or do not pray, but calling ivy league graduates 'unpatriotic' is a lousy statement and the poster needs to be spanked!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:36 #
  19. quaidkamazaar

@beenai
    "how many threads ,has to be started on the same topic of Mustafa Kamal giving lecture in Harvard ? "

I did not know there were other threads specifically on this topic. if there are, im sorry.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:40 #
  20. quaidkamazaar

Ghareeb, the bhuttos went to Oxford or whatnot because they were zamindars... they had the millions to do it.

If some ordinary Pakistani studies abroad, there is nothing wrong in that. its all about representing your country the right way. if studying in foreign countries as Pakistani is okay, then giving lectures in foreign countries especially top univs solely because of achievements as mayor must also be okay.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:53 #
  21. toamin

Sherwani sb,

I am not discussing middle class working people. We get education to feed ourself and our families.

The subject of discussion is 'educated' rulers, please read my question carefully again and then answer.

No need to get personal.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 6:57 #
  22. usayd

“don’t give us fish- teach us how to catch fish”.

The funniest part!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 8:10 #
  23. Mustafa Kamal has been following Zardari,he said the same thing at his first Kashkol visit to USA.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 8:54 #
  24. msohail83

Musharraf aslo gets invited to lecture in the WEST :o)

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:15 #
  25. all the stooges has been awarded ...by getting invites of lectures and money making ventures .
    like BB and Mush ...
    so as MK ...so called No2 mayor of the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:17 #
  26. toamin

Right, we have history of witnessing these 'awards' bestowed upon stooges, but what is new in this case is that award was bestowed upon stooge of a stooge!

A second class stooge.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:30 #
  27. Sirf Pakistani

Iftikhar M. Choudhri also received awards from west by this logic he's also "A second class stooge"

Imran Khan gave lectures in British university so he's also "A third class stooge"

arnt they????

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:45 #
  28. msohail83

Is Imran holding an office? Are you so blind to not see what IMC was given an award for?

That was a poor attempt, my friend!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:47 #
  29. toamin

Sirf Pakistani,

If these personalities that you have mentioned above behave in same way as Mush...Altaf etc etc then yes.

So it is too early to apply it on others, but yes Altaf Kalia Don is a stooge and MK is his little poddle :)

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:50 #
  30. Sirf Pakistani

maybe he's planning to grab a high post in future & he also wanted to present himself as SHAH SE ZIADA SHAH KA WAFADAR

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:51 #
  31. msohail83

LOL

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:53 #
  32. Sirf Pakistani

They are worst then Altaf & Mush beacuse they are hidden personalities. Nowadays you can listen what ALI AHMED KURD is talking all about. And everybody knows who was the biggest supporter of TALIBAN KHAN

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:57 #
  33. toamin

lolzz

don't divert to other things now ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 9:59 #
  34. msohail83

"they are hidden personalities"

How so?? Do your mentors even come close to his achievements for Pakistan singlehandedly?

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:00 #
  35. Sirf Pakistani

msohail
    As far as acheivements are concerned yes he's doing something good for the country but it doesnt mean that you started supporting the Anti Pakistan elements (TALIBAN).

BTW he also acheived others milestones :)))) u know what i mean ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:07 #
  36. msohail83

What makes you think he's a hidden personality? I fail to understand. Please elaborate.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:17 #
  37. toamin

Hidden are the ones who are thousands of miles away from their people, yet micro control through telephone wire.

Cowards don't want to be with their people but want to lead their people through terror and manhandling.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:25 #
  38. Sirf Pakistani

Please bring something new :)
    Old Tactics:)))

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:31 #
  39. msohail83

What's your definition of hidden personality? I'm still waiting. You contradict yourself too much.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 10:38 #
  40. We Don't need Bheek we need Trade ki Bheek
    A city which is suffring 18 hours power cut That city Nazim want access to America europe trade markets.....lolzzz.
    O meray bhai pahlay Bijli tu porri karo

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 12:05 #
  41. quaidkamazaar

iamsowise,

just because you dont have electricity it means we should stop asking for more trade?

Brother, there is corruption in KESC whole world knows, but CDGK will not be able to handle this alone. It is not responsible for power generation in the first place. I wish it was then things would go well.

Yes i know its a basic necessity but electricity problem needs a long term solution and in the meanwhile, you cannot stop getting access to trade markets and image buildling because those are also very important for the livelihood of a cosmopolitan city.

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 22:12 #
  42. baqi batain chorooo... aysey tou jannab MUssharaf sahib nay bhee bahir ja kay khitaab keeya tha aur sulman Rushdee nay bhee! SO wat?
    Tell us, when is your AQQA returning back to Pakistan? Now he has a seat in G-B too! Come on yaar.. Ask him to return. I will sponsor a one way first class ticket for him and all his chamchay! FREE OFFER!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 22:57 #
  43. expakistani

Khan_sahib...
    App to free ticket offer ker rhey ho UK to Pakistan with 2 suitcase... Pakistan main kuch log offer ker rhey hain Pakistan to Jan'ah / Dozakh...
    woh Altaf Bhai ko pershan kerta hey....

Personally i think enough is enough and Altaf Hussain should come back to Pakistan or pass on " Quid e Thareek" title to
    Dr Farooq Sattar...

--------------------------------------------------

wtih all the flaws and problem Muatafa Kamal is doing alright as Mayor of Karachi.... this is what Mayors of Metro city do .....
    - Bring stability and investment... investment in power sector.
    - Do something for street crimes
    -Protect Karachi from Land mafia ( whic run by some guys in MQM or ANP )
    - Let Pvt citizens and NGO have bigger role in KMC schools and Hospitals systems.
    - Karachi main duhan etna kion hota hey us ko kam karo yaar!!!
    -Bring cricket back on Karachi streets...

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 23:40 #
  44. I suggest shoot every land mafia and gang mafia members! Regardless of their ethnicity or political back ground!
    I miss karachi kee night cricket... specially in Ramadan! Kaya Din thay! Karachi will never be the same again!

Posted 2 years ago on 16 Nov 2009 23:44 #
  45. quaidkamazaar

expakistani,

to stop street crimes, CDGK needs to have control over police.... we need city police then.

you cannot tie their hands and expect them to swim, and if they cant swim blame them for it.

It is the police itself which is causing all this crime trust me. There has to be more power for law and order in Nazims hands, he cant do much about this except beg ministries.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 0:48 #
  46. expakistani

Provisional govt main ho... Governor bhi apna hey, why not fight for your right....I know City Govt need control over Police but you think PPP or any other provisional Govt in sindh with let you take over karachi police with much fight. ... they must need to put up some fight, kab tak hum dosron ko blame kertey rhey gey

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 0:53 #
  47. MQM has been in power for for years now but till date, they blame PPP,PML,ARMY for their failure and ask for more and more rights for their Naazim. Police is not corrupt but the people who are using POLICE for their evil motives are to be blame for!

POLICE should not even be under Provincial Govt, let alone under city Govt. Police is a separate force and has nothing to do with City Naazim. Why do u need Police under a Naazim control? TO build bridges? to build Roads? for water sewerage system? For cleaning on the city and our neighborhood? LOL

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 0:59 #
  48. Ghareeb
    Old-chechen

Getting invited to Harvard for a speech is no big deal. The traitor Musharraf and his wife are regular invitees to various universities. America and its universities love to engage such traitors.

Khan_Sahib, You know well that big American cities have mayors that are either mafia thugs or Zionist thugs. The mayor of Chicago is Daley, a known hustler and a thug. The New York mayor Bloomberg is a hard core Zionist thug. The qualification for a mayor in American cities is either big bucks filthy rich mostly Jews like Bloomberg or mafia thug like Daley. I wonder where the mayor of Karachi fits.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 1:15 #
  49. quaidkamazaar

expakistani,

kahaaan ki fight yaaar??

you know what putting up a fight will do???

headlines like "conspiracy to form independent state" will spring up.

already MQM is seen as biggest traitor of "hindus", and you expect things will go smoothly if they put up a fight for their own city police, i dont really think so.

anyways, what you are pointing out is the real solution but it cant happen all of a sudden, only slowly it can happen by gaining strength... more strength is needed.
    just a governer does not do the job.

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 2:06 #
  50. expakistani

Bhai i am talking about radical change.... yeah slow slow kaam nhi chalney wala.... they have to put demands on table after next elections.....

people of karachi are ready to burn choor and dakkos... its ggod time to mobilize people and get thing done.. other wise
    Kamal Bhai will end up like Abudl Sattar Afgnai... ( good guy but failed to deliver )

Posted 2 years ago on 17 Nov 2009 2:22 #