PKPolitics Discuss » Elections 2008 - National Assembly Seats Analysis » NA-61 to NA-90

NA 69 - Khushab-I

(11 posts)
  1. Posted 8 years ago on 18 Dec 2007 3:39 #
  2. gm

    Results of 2002

    1 Hafiz Muhammad Bakhsh Muttahidda Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan 17558
    2 Mrs.Sumera Malik National Alliance 71925
    3 Malik Umer Aslam Pakistan Muslim League(QA) 58247
    Valid Votes 147730
    Rejected Votes 5041
    Total Votes 152771
    Registered Voters 274728
    Percentage of Votes Polled to Registered Voters 55.61 %

    Posted 8 years ago on 25 Dec 2007 20:35 #
  3. gm

    This area consists of Soon Sakesar valley and (sub tehsil nowshera) and Quaid abad and surrpunding area on the khushab mianwali road.

    traditionally Malik Naeem had been the winner from this constituency since 1985, untill 1993. He got seriosuly ill and had to leave politics ( he is still in same condition for alst 10 years or so and can only nod his head , not much movement).
    In 1997 his nephew umar aslam wonthis seat on PMLN ticket but later moved to PMLQ and contested on PMLQ ticket in 2002.

    Sumaira Malik is contesting as PMLQ candidate this time where as Umar Aslam is independent candidate with PMLN support after his ticket was changed to suamira mailk who (sumaira malik) was not awarded PMLQ ticekt initially untill direct involvement of musharraf

    Another strong group of district kHushab is Tiwana group and thier candidate Tanweer Sultan is also contesting from this seat as independent candidate.

    In 2002, Tiwana group supported sumaira malik and this time their grop is not supporting her. Morever, MMA candidate bagged about 18000 votes and these votes are least likely to go for sumaira malik.
    SUmaira malik , however has some increased vote bank because of development works and mainly the supply of natural gas to major towns of area like Quaid abad.

    Overall, will be a tough contest and at the moment, Umar Aslam is having edge.

    Posted 8 years ago on 25 Dec 2007 20:46 #
  4. hassanijaz

    Umar Aslam will take this seat with a comfortable margin.

    Posted 8 years ago on 12 Jan 2008 18:21 #
  5. Anonymous

    is Umar Aslam independent candidate or PML-N ticket holder?

    Posted 8 years ago on 12 Jan 2008 20:20 #
  6. gm

    Umar Aslam is independent candidate but has PMLN backing though.
    Although voting in this constituency is not on party basis except some urban pockets of Noshera,Qaidabad.

    Posted 8 years ago on 12 Jan 2008 22:51 #
  7. Jee

    Malik Umar Aslam is going strong and the position of Mrs. Sumaira Malik is weak. She is trying despretely but at the moment momentum is with Malik Umar Aslam but still its a lot of time between the election so things can change very quickly.

    Posted 8 years ago on 23 Jan 2008 4:15 #
  8. Malik

    In this constituency the real battle is between former Minister Mrs. Sumaira Malik and Malik Umar Aslam. At this point of time Malik Umar Aslam have definte edge over Sumaira Malik. If no major change arise then Malik Umar Aslam will difinitely take this seat.

    Posted 8 years ago on 06 Feb 2008 8:30 #
  9. Adonis

    I agree. Umar Aslam is definitely the favourite. Would be interesting to see which party he joins after winning.

    Posted 8 years ago on 06 Feb 2008 8:42 #
  10. Malik

    Malik Umar Aslam is gaining support from lot of areas of NA-69 but the last couple of days could be decisive because Mrs. Sumaira Malik is trying hard with her storming visit in the constituency but still Malik Umar Aslam is favourite to win this seat

    Posted 7 years ago on 14 Feb 2008 9:22 #
  11. eers99

    MNA Sumaira Malik from N will be contesting against PTI's Malik Umer Aslam (ex-MNA ) who narrowly lost to Sumaira Malik in 2002 and 2008.

    Again, PTI and N will have a close contest here

    Posted 3 years ago on 04 Sep 2012 19:40 #

RSS feed for this topic


You must log in to post.