Nawaz Shareef... A Regression in Political stature!

(36 posts)
  1. Forget Zardari, Altaf or Maulana Diseal for some time! What has happened to Nawaz Shareef?

Why is he so satisfied and happy to be the leader of Punjab and punjabis only? I don't hide my hatred for a traitor like him but still!!!! I can't understand that why would you lose that political power (A Potential one) to be the leader of Pakistan then a leader of Punjab!

During my visit to Peshawar, swat, Buner, Mardan, Tank (Waziristan), Shabqadar (Mohmand Agency aka FATA) and Bajuar.... I met hundreds of youngsters and elders and I every one was so critical of Nawaz Shareef..

I remember when an old lady (in her 70's) came to me and said that are you from Nawaz shareef Party? and When I asked her the reason (mind you it was a medical camp) of asking that question? Her reply was... ka tasoo da agha gangee dalla partye na hey nou matta stassoo imdad kabool na day! Zamonnga zwannan pa dashakoo(a kind of small missile) aou pa da amrekano bamouna mraa sho kha da zamonga leader da lahore na bahir raa na lay! manga pukhtanyee hee aou manga da dalaganou aou buzilano margrataya na kaou! (Translation: If you are from that bald pimp's party then I don't accept your help. Our young kids are killed by DASHAKA (a small missile called dashaka in pushtu)missiles (here she meant by Drone attacks)and by american army bombings but our so called leader didn't bother to come out of lahore to visit us. We are pukhtoons and we don't get friends with pimps and cowards.

As I been away from net etc except some mobile browsing, I am surprised, that Nawaz has taken a back seat and will let Zardari do any thing he wants as long as they let him rule on punjab... There was some rumours that a bird from Uncle sam has whispered some sweet song in his ear.. Allah knows the truth.... lol

But I can see him becoming a regional and Provincial leader unless he changes dramatically.. At the moment, I don't see any leader taking the lead and try to bring some thing positive in this morally and economically dying country..

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jul 2009 17:01 #
  2. Anonymous

And people criticise me when I call him Lahore Badshah!

There could be 2 reasons:

1) In next elections he can say we gave Zardari a free hand to govern and they still failed

2) (god forbid) he thinks new Pakistan will comprise mainly punjab and some other areas and he thinks it does'nt worth the effort to go national and hence he is happy being Lahore Badshah

He is criminally wrong no matter what the case. He should act like opposition. He should voice his opinion on national policy matters and use his muscle in the assembly.

He should join cabinet and help Pakistan by helping the government. I know international players do not want any political problems in Pakistan at the moment but no one has stopped him from giving any positive suggestions but he is just refraining. Thats why I say he needs to get rid of his cheap mentality and I metaphorically call it he should quit having siri paya breakfast.
    I hope that explains my name calling to Lahore badshah is not for any ethnic reasons.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jul 2009 18:06 #
  3. New Pakistan

@bsobaid I have often wondered about that but your reason is now clear.

I also am interested in what you say here:

He should act like opposition. He should voice his opinion on national policy matters and use his muscle in the assembly.

He should join cabinet and help Pakistan by helping the government...

I wonder if too many people like to encourage problems between political parties so that there is not progress in cleaning up corruption in Pakistan.

USA has many lessons to teach - some bad, some good. One lesson that is good is how even though they are opposition to the other, political parties do work together on important items.

We need more of this. Zardari has done some good things and is much better than under Musharraf. But if people try to make the government fail it will fail. We should be trying to correct the government when it makes mistake, and support the government when it does good. How else can we move to the future?

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jul 2009 19:58 #
  4. Anonymous

"But if people try to make the government fail it will fail."

You are quite right here. I think this is an excellent opportunity for Nawaz Sharif to make a mark. He has an open invitation from government to come and join cabinet but Nawaz Sharif knows problems are so big that even he cant resolve them so he is rather staying outside of it all and letting PPP handle all this. Once situation is somewhat better, and that cant happen before 4 years, he will come back with a bang saying PPP failed and now people should elect him. This is very selfish behavior. He should work tirelessly to improve the situation rather than securing his position as a future prime minister. Leaders dont do this. He needs to act like a national leader rather than acting Lahore Badshah. He also needs to get rid of Chdhry Nisar.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 Jul 2009 20:49 #
  5. Audit-Manager

MR NEW PAKISTAN
    HOW ZARDAI GOVT IS GOOD AS COMPARED TO MUSHARRAF?
    1.HE MEETS WITH AMERICANS MORE THAN HE USED TO MEET.
    2.WE HAV MORE DRONES ATTACKS THAN HIS ERA.
    3.WE FACE MORE POWER FAILURE IN WHOLE COUNTRY.
    4.INDUSTRY AND TRADE HAS BEOM STILL AND DEAD.
    5.INVESTMENT HAS FLOWN AWAY FROM PAKISTAN
    6.NO OPPOSITION EXIST VIRTUALLY FOR PEOPLE.
    7.DEARNESS AND INFLATION IS ALSO RISING.
    8.PAKISTAN HAS BEEN INCLUDED IN THE MOST FAILED STATES.
    9.WE CAN NOT DO ANYTHING WITHOUT TAKING LOANS FROM IMF AND WORLD BANK.
    WHERE IS THE BETTERNESS?
    I AM LOOKING TO U MY BRO.WAKE UP UR EYES.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jul 2009 1:27 #
  6. expakistani

bahut pahale se un qadamo.n kii aahaaT jaan lete hai.n
    tujhe ai zi.ndagii ham duur se pahachaan lete hai.n

I would never trust any of PML ( A-Z ) group,

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Jul 2009 4:50 #
  7. New Pakistan

How is this even a question? Okay, because you are clearly confused, I will try to help you.

1. Meeting with Americans is not inherently bad. If Pakistan is an important power, it will have to have relations with other important powers in the world. Do you want to be like North Korea? There is no going backwards to isolation.

2. There are more drones attacks, yes. And this is terrible. But the solution is for Pakistan military to continue to fight Talibani militants and get rid of the need for US forces. There were fewer drones attacks during the Musharraf era because during that time militants were not being opposed. What was the result of ignoring them militants for so long? Look at the events in Swat. This is a direct result of Musharraf doing nothing. Military has finally started to respond. We need to let them do their work and support them so they can wipe out this munafiq disease that is called militants.

3. Load shedding and power failure is also a result of years of neglect. Zardari government has been in power less than one year. How can they be expected to magically fix the situation that has been left untouched for so long? Can the government do more to improve the situation? Maybe so. But to say this is the fault of Zardari government is to blame the wrong person. The power crisis is the fault of the Musharraf government.

4. Zardari government has been working every day to improve bilateral trade with EU, USA, and India - the biggest markets in the world! Do you not read the newspaper?

5. Investment problems in Pakistan are a direct result of two things: rise of militancy and global economic crisis. First, no investors will want to invest in a nation that is overrun with Taliban and crazies. How can their investment be safe? The first solution to increasing investment is to defeat militants. Zardari government is doing this. Musharraf government did nothing. Second, the global economic crisis is hurting all nations, and Pakistan especially. What needs to happen? Government should be seeking better investment from rich countried. Zardari government is talking to France about increasing investment. Already France is agreeing to help Pakistan with defense and energy.

6. I don't even know how you can say there is no opposition for the people and keep a straight face.

7. This is a problem all over the world. But as you write this, things are turning around. Already inflation has slowed to 16 month low and the central bank is looking to lower interest rates and further reduce inflation.

8. This is one list made up by an organization. I think the list is completely wrong, but I do not work for this organization, so why would they listen to me? More important are two things: First, this is a wake-up call. Pakistan has many problems that need to be addressed, yes. Look at your own post! You list problems that make Pakistan sound like a failed state. But Pakistan is not a failed state. It is a state that is finally turning around and making the hard decisions that will put her on the right path. But more important is second, Holbrooke himself said in May that Pakistan is not a failed state, but must address the issues that it faces. Zardari is addressing issues, making difficult choices. Musharraf did not.

9. All countries use IMF and World Bank, this is nothing new. But I agree that we must cut our dependence on these. Zardari government has gone beyond IMF and World Bank and managed to get serious support from major nations to help build our economy. In June, the US Senate Foreign Relations Committee passed a bill that proposes tripling of economic assistance for Pakistan to $1.5 billion annually for next five years.

Almost all the problems you claim are actually the result of Musharraf. Zardari government is not perfect (what government of man can be?) But there is so much betterness now than under Musharraf, I think you must be blind if you cannot see it. Do you wish Pakistan to be a "failed state?" If not, why do you talk about her like a street beggar?

Pakistan is much improved in the short time since the people elected Zardari. Yes bhai here is still much work that must be done for Pakistan to achieve her greatness, though. I hope that you will work for the betterment of our nation.

You asked, so now I have told you.

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Jul 2009 20:57 #
  8. misalligned

It is clear that NS has nothing to do with Pakistan, he only wants to see HIMself PM again and for that he need to 18th amendment which is only possible with the help of zardari ghadaari. and i am sure he is waiting for that time and after that he will even stand for non-issues to bring himself back in power. bohat kameena admi hai yea itna acha nahin hai

Posted 2 years ago on 28 Jul 2009 22:19 #
  9. @Khan sahib,
    as long as my take on this is concerned.
    i use to consider him a lesser evil...and use to say it in my posts too ....
    but since his silent spectator policy has came out ,i have changed my thoughts about him .
    he is no more different.
    he is silently waiting for his turn to rule.
    he is not at all sincere with the nation.
    and was using CJ Iftikhar case as a publicity stunt.
    which he en chased properly and became the most popular leader in that period.

since he has changed his behavior towards Govt and USA .
    after constant meetings with Mr.David Miliband . he might have got approvals in US and UK ratings but has lost his popularity in ppl of Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 5:08 #
  10. It is unfortunate to see every one buying into the conspiracy theories that ever so often circulate our blog sites and news papers. Whether NS "hijacked" the lawyers movement or was sincere in the restoration of the judiciary, he was successful. He will not be able to become the Prime Minister unless there is a change in the constitution (currently it only allows for a person to be PM twice). It is rather interesting to see how when NS was on the streets protesting, everyone was enthusiastic. Now that he may be allowing the government to run its course, we are criticizing him. What if he really wants this government to succeed? What if he approves of the job they are doing? Has anyone thought of that? Please do not see this posting as one from a supporter of NS, but rather a Pakistani who is tired of listening to conspiracies and negative hypothetical situations. It really wouldn't hurt to have a positive image of the future.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 5:27 #
  11. khayal

Nawaz is not sitting quitely. He is making his moves behind the scene. The only reason that Zardari had to create the Musharraf issue at time was to cool off Nawaz. Recenty, after a very long time, all of a sudden, Zardari went to Lahore to meet Nawaz. The only thing that entices Nawaz more than Power is thumping Musharraf. Nawaz is banking on the fact that there are cracks in PPP ranks and the conditions in the country are worse than before. Soon Nawaz will be in the parliment and then he will play his cards. He can't afford to wait five years to get in power. He is under too much pressure from the power brokers in Punjab to get to the center and help them out. If Nawaz decides to wait five years, all his heavy weight supporters will go elsewhere (PPP, PMLQ, Musharraf??).

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 5:59 #
  12. Adonis

@ AHR

Becoming a PM for the third time would not need a constitutional amendment, it needs just an executive order.

The 17th amendment did not make two terms for PM as a part of constitution. It merely declared as legal all of mush's previous asministrative decisions including election order 2002 that barred anyone from becoming a third term PM.

That is why NS has shown no interest in overturning that executive order at this moment because he would not want to be a PM in this assembly in which his party does not hold majority. If he gets a majority in the next assembly then obviously he would not need a constitutional amendment but simply an executive order to assume PMship.

He has given a long rope to zardari because he knows very well that the boots are waiting in the background. establishment has always tried to make politicians fight with each other and then impose martial law. Its a good thing that politicians have learnt their lesson now.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 18:35 #
  13. Anonymous

Nawaz Sharif is opposition leader. Someone needs to go and teach lahore badshah what does opposition leader mean. opposition leader does not mean you sit in raiwind and eat siri paya in breakfast every morning and use PML-N journalists to create differences between PM Geelani and Zardari.

Opposition leader is supposed to voice his concerns and provide suggestions and alternative policies. If he is so much sincere to Pakistan then why does'nt he join the cabinet??? So NS thinks country is bad situation and he also an opportunity to fix this situation by joining the cabinet. Why is he not doing this???
    With all other huge problems why is he only focused on Musharraf? just because of his personal gruge against him? I mean what kind of politician is he?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 18:46 #
  14. He appears to be deeply in touch with foreign dignitaries, still he has no future. His future has always been tied with the army. The army is looking the other way, and not towards him. He is out of the picture.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:11 #
  15. Anonymous

David Milliband, Brit foreign minister, has said this on the floor of the parliament that for past one or two years he has been talking with Nawaz Sharif on phone twice every week and because of his (David Milliband) efforts Nawaz Sharif now gives statements against Taliban.

During Milliband's recent visit to Pakistan he openly asked PML-N leadership to have baraylvi and other sects stand up against deobandi Taliban. Nawaz Sharif and his whole PML-N leadership were sitting there and taking notes of the suggestions from their master. Its okay if he wants to meet with foriegn leaders and note down their orders but please dont accuse government of taking foriegn dictation.
    Stop this hypocracy and cheap mentality!

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:19 #
  16. Anonymous

I am pretty sure Nawaz Sharif will be the next prime minister or president if army itself does not take over. Professor sahab, why do you think army does'nt like him anymore?

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:20 #
  17. Army is wise enough, at least for this time. They will remain behind the scenes. NS, if you recall when he returned to Pakistan, he was in touch with the army, and now he is not. Looks like the army is not ready yet 'to spill the beans'.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:32 #
  18. Anonymous

At the moment, no one wants new elections or political unrest because of the army operation in Northern areas. I was talking 4-5 years from now when next elections will be held.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:34 #
  19. You are trying to be optimistic. If Mr. Zardari continues at the same pace, surrounded by his 'select' lot, than it seems more likely he would be replaced. Anything could happen as he himself holds not a good reputation, and his select lot as well.
    Remember, Bhutto was murdered not because of his own doing, but also due to the blunders committed by his close associates that contributed greatly to his loss of popularity, arrest and ultimately death.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 19:45 #
  20. Anonymous

yes, thats right and probably this is why there is this campaign running against Zardari and Rahman Malik and his other associates. Shahid Masood's article in today's jang is a proof of that.

So yeah, even without elections and too much political unrest, they may try to remove Zardari and his associates out of power.

Posted 2 years ago on 29 Jul 2009 20:05 #
  21. New Pakistan

This is interesting, but I think an attempt to remove Zardari by any means but elections will be a terrible thing for Pakistan. Look at what is happening in Honduras. The President is removed, and immediately the whole world cuts off aid and turns its back. I think that if there was an attempt at another coup, the world community will not let it happen.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:39 #
  22. Adonis

"During Milliband's recent visit to Pakistan he openly asked PML-N leadership to have baraylvi and other sects stand up against deobandi Taliban. "

And of course no one knows more about this meeting than you as you were present there writing the minutes of this meeting !!!! (before you woke up)

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 13:46 #
  23. Anonymous

Adonis, this is a fact!

Read Milliband's statement and US officials statements around that time. Milliband openly said on house of commons floor that over a hundred thousand sunni militia were on american payrol in Basra and they helped allied forces deal with Al-Qaeda. He said we need to employ same strategy in Afghaistan and Pakistan. Exact same words were repeated by a US army top official in a TV interview.
    Some Pakistani columnists also mentioned this in their columns.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Jul 2009 15:00 #
  24. @Rasheed..
    Also ask your Big Bald Boss... How did he buy this Palace??? Has he declared this property?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 1:33 #
  25. liv_2_die

@ beenai

ditto ... i have the same sentiments as you (before and now about NS)

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 1:49 #
  26. Rare video of Raiwind Palace, it takes 5 mins to the actual building from after entering the main gate!!!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 5:32 #
  27. siddiqi73

@dell,

Tum ko Raiwind bathroom saaf karnay bhaija tha, videos bananay kay liya nahi, bachay!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 8:02 #
  28. Truthlover

NS is history, he will never become a Prime Minister again. People of Pakistan have enough of his deceptions!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 8:44 #
  29. Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 12:24 #
  30. msohail83

khan,

iske dil ki kya report hai? Aap ke avatar mein NS ka dil to nahi?

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 12:26 #
  31. Truthlover

A HEADLESS Man!
    But equals Zardari in Money making!

Posted 1 year ago on 05 Apr 2011 12:30 #
  32. @Sohail..
    His lies are now open to everyone. I exposed him and his spokesperson still have to come and reply to my questions on other threads

Posted 1 year ago on 22 May 2011 14:37 #
  33. coolbema

I beleive Khan_sahib is in love with Mr.Khan, that's alright we all know that khans are well known for not using their "brains". It reminds me of an old joke i will share with you.
    Once there was a man looking for a new brain. He went to doctor and requested him to change his brain with better one. Doctor showed him different types of brains like British brain was very cheap and African was little expensive and so on. In last he showed him a very expensive brain. The man was surprised why it is so expensive doctor told him this is "KHAN's" brain and is never been used so its new !!

Posted 1 year ago on 22 May 2011 15:16 #
  34. coolbema

Sorry dears i dont mean bad was just a joke take it easy just fun !!!

Posted 1 year ago on 22 May 2011 15:18 #
  35. goobema,

Why do you have to copy and paste the same answer on all threads? This shows your pea size brain. Why don't you come up with answers about the questions raised about your spineless leader?

Posted 1 year ago on 22 May 2011 15:34 #
  36. scandinavian

There was no trust in NS about loyalty towards APDM. Mr. Bean is on record that he would leave PML-N if NS didn't keep his word. At the end of the day both of them LIED.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=HkOnhWIzo7M

Posted 1 year ago on 22 May 2011 18:50 #