PKPolitics Discuss » Future of Pakistan

On Pakistan’s 62nd Anniversary, is their anything to Celebrate?

(45 posts)
  1. shahzad1924

On Pakistan’s 62nd Anniversary, is their anything to Celebrate?

Adnan Khan

On the 14th August 2009 many in Pakistan will be celebrating Pakistan Independence Day. The overseas Pakistani diaspora of nearly 4 million have for weeks been planning Pakistan’s 62nd birthday. Whilst many in Pakistan will be celebrating on the 14th August, for many this will be an a welcome distraction from the dire situation Pakistan is in. The dream of an Islamic state that many sacrificed their lives for has never been fulfilled and today the US is doing all it can to ensure it never materialises.

Pakistan today is mired in poverty, 52 million live in poverty, which is the equivalent of the whole of South Korea. According to the latest world development indicators report by the World Bank 72% of the Pakistani population live on just $2 a day.

The nation lives in almost constant darkness as load shedding has become part of life. Mukhtar Ahmed, energy adviser to the Pakistan government, mentioned in an event titled ‘Fuelling the Future: Meeting Pakistan's Energy Needs in the 21st Century,’ organised by the Woodrow Wilson international centre for scholars in 2006 that ‘40% of Pakistani households are not even connected to the electric grid. In the middle of the soaring summer heat many are without electricity

These are however the least of Pakistan’s worries. When General Pervez Musharraf placed Pakistan at America’s disposal in the war on terror on the basis that Pakistan would be bombed back to the stone age, the US spread its war to Pakistan and now the US army, secret service and military commanders have all been deployed in Pakistan. The Pakistani army who was originally assembled to defend the people of Pakistan, today they are actively engaged in fighting the people they have been defending.

The sad reality is that whilst many will be celebrating Pakistan’s independence in reality there is very little to celebrate. The undeniable truth is that since 1947 successive Pakistani rulers have failed the people, democracy and dictatorship have been two sides of the same corrupt coin. Both democrats and dictators looted the nation and sold the people to foreign nations with interests in Pakistan.

The truth is that such politicians have established a system in Pakistan that caters for them and protects their interests. Such corrupt politicians have passed one national ordinance after another and constitutional amendment after the other too. In this way they have ensured the system protects them and caters for them. It was this system that allowed Mr 10% to become Mr 100%.

It is this reality that allows countries such as Britain and America to use Pakistan for their own ends. Many analysts highlighted at the time of the US invasion of Afghanistan that the USSR poured nearly 320 000 troops to conquer Afghanistan and not only failed but departed in humiliation. The US initially sent 20 000 troops and after 7 years and 60000 troops the US is in fact bleeding to death. Experts on US foreign policy explained that the aim of the invasion must be wider than Afghanistan as with the number of personnel involved, US could never win. Over the last 7 years tensions with an aggressive Russia and a more assertive China have all but proven that the war in Afghanistan was never about Afghanistan it was always about central Asia.

Many have questioned South Asia has nothing to do with US aims in central Asia, however South Asia has everything to do with Central Asia. The US now views Central Asia and South Asia through the same lens. Condoleezza Rice confirmed in January 2006 that South Asia and Central Asia are high on her list of global priorities, and the State Department is adjusting its bureaus so that the same teams of experts and diplomats are focused on both regions. “One of the things that we did in the State Department was to move the Central Asian republics out of the European bureau, which really was an artifact of their having been states of the Soviet Union, and to move them into the bureau that is South Asia, which has Afghanistan, India and Pakistan.” “It represents what we’re trying to do, which is to think of this region as one that will need to be integrated, and that will be a very important goal for us.”

The US is in reality at war with China and Russia and the battle ground is Afghanistan and Pakistan. Our rulers rather than frustrating US plans and rather than protect their own people, they have pulled out all the stops for the US to ensure it can continue its war. It is Pakistan that is acting as a supply route for the US war, Both Musharraf and currently Zardari provide the US with 80% of their oil needs and allowed over 500 trucks to supply Americas daily war needs. This is nothing but treachery, both Zardari and Musharraf are not fit to be called Pakistanis, they have betrayed everything and everyone for which our elders sacrificed in creating Pakistan in 1947.

The only problem standing in America’s path to gaining a grip on Central Asia is Pakistan, the elements in Pakistan which America usually describes a rogue elements are frustrating US aims. America sees Pakistan as a threat because it fears Islam is in the hearts of its people. It fears Pakistan because it knows it has a powerful military, an atomic power and all it needs is a sincere leadership to harness these resources for the people. With the US bleeding to death in Iraq and Afghanistan the return of Islam is a lot closer as stated by many US think tanks.

To ensure such a prospect never materialises, the US has begun terrorist attacks inside Pakistan. The regular suicide attacks inside Pakistan suits America as its creates chaos, weakens Pakistan and divides Pakistan as America continues to label Muslim groups as the perpetuators of such attacks. The US used a similar styles to build its case against Iraq.

Before 9/11 there were no suicide bombs in Pakistan, there was no war with the Taliban and there was no militant problem. 30 years ago America supported these same groups by calling them ‘mujahedeen’, ‘freedom fighters’ in order to fight the Soviet Union. America lit this fire in the first place.

Today America is lighting more fires inside Pakistan, both the FBI and CIA are active in Pakistan and from history we know wherever US intelligence services ago instability follows. There is much obscurity about Pakistan’s militant problem, who is actually supporting them but America’s presence since 9/11 has brought nothing but misery for Pakistan.

With America creating so many problems the solution is obvious; America needs to be expelled from the region

However our rulers have established a rotten system to preserve their treachery which allows such a situation to continue. It is our rulers who have brought Pakistan to its knees, economically today Pakistan stands bankrupt, this is why they can’t pay to have electricity produced. The Ummah has to endure the humiliation of our rulers running to the IMF just to survive; like a drug addict for his next fix.

Pakistan needs change and it needs it now.

A new system can only be tenable if it is based on the people’s common emotions and values, where legitimacy is from the people not Washington or London. Pakistan’s values and emotions are Islamic, even the West recognises this.

The people of Pakistan need to rise up and uproot the rotten system that brings the likes of Zardari to power. The people of Pakistan must on the 62nd anniversary of the nation look to change the situation rather then celebrate, they need to look to change the misery that all Pakistani’s face not preserve and celebrate it.

Source: http://adnan-globalissues.blogspot.com/2009/08/on-pakistans-62nd-birthday-is-their.html

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 1:29 #
  2. IJay

I WISH ADNAN WOULD BORN IN INDIA INSTEAD OF PAKISTAN ! LAG PATA JATA! HUM CELEBRATE KYUN KURTAY HAIN

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 1:36 #
  3. IJay

WHENEVER IN MY CHILDHOOD I ASKED MY LATE FATHER WHAT WE HAVE ACHIEVED AFTER INDEPENDENCE! HE ALWAYS REPLIED ME WITH SMILE!
    ASK YOU FATHER WHAT IT LIKE TO BE WHEN YOU BORN AS IN A
    OCCUPIED LAND! AND LIVED AS 4TH GRADE NATIONALS

THIS IS THE REASON I ALWAYS CELEBRATE 14 AUGUST!

HIS AND MANY PPL LIKE HIM MESSAGE FOR US:

HUM LAE HAIN TOOFAN SAI KASHTI NIKAL KAY
    ES MULK KO RUKHNA MERE BACHO SANMBHAL KAY

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 1:42 #
  4. Anonymous

People, please dont be ungrateful. Pak sarzameen is a gift from god. It is our home. It is our destiny. It is our identity. Please dont spread hopelessness and pessimism.

Pakistan dunya kaa lohaa banay gaa. Pakistan azmat kee bulandioo koo choey gaa. bass dekhtay jaoo. Pak sarzameen zinda bad!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 2:49 #
  5. shahzad1924

i don't see any ungratefulness, hopelessness and pessimism in the article.

its just a reality check.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 2:51 #
  6. Anonymous

nations kee zindagee mein kuch lamhaat khushioo kay hotay hein. onn lamhaat mein sirf khushiaa hee mananee chahiyay. reality check hum saara saal kartay hein. yum-e-azaadi kay lamhaat khushioo kay hotay hein. inn lamhaat se hum taqatwarr hokay nikaltay hein. aisay lamhaat mein aisee baatein karnaa aisay hee hai jaisay ghareeb kee beti kee shadi mein oss ko qarzay kaa yaad dilaana.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 2:54 #
  7. IJay

es ko palestine ya lebonan bhejo pher pata chale ga reality chck ka

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 2:58 #
  8. shahzad1924

how can we rejoice in such times?

ret mein sar chupanay say billi chali nahi jaye gee.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:09 #
  9. amin1924

I hope and wish that with these high patriotic emotions a group of Pak Army take over from corrupt generals and over through zardari govt to establish a righteous government!

Then we will show to the world how powerful this country is! InshAllah.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:12 #
  10. Adonis

Yeah ... Like a group of patriotic soldiers took over on 12 October, 1999 and we saw the fruits of their patriotism for 9 years.

When will we learn?

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:18 #
  11. amin1924

No, not like that group of generals who had personal interests because nawaz fired their buddy chief.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:21 #
  12. Adonis

Any soldier who disobeys the oath he took of not getting into politics and remaining loyal to Pakistan and its legitimate government cannot be patriotic.

We have seen this drama so many times. These army men take over power in the name of patriotism and then destroy this country.

The nation is not that stupid to allow this to happen again. If the army tries to do any adventure again, there will be a civil war.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:24 #
  13. amin1924

no that would be a revolution... if done by good people for good cause!!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:28 #
  14. IJay

No place of army in politics!

army will never come again

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:41 #
  15. IJay

Army took power because of kargil debacle

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:42 #
  16. zia m

Some morons think Taliban are good people.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:54 #
  17. shahzad1924

sadqay jaon sir aap pay. kitna relevant comment diya hai aap nay :)

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 3:56 #
  18. IJay

You have to punish musharraf for his crimes at any cost!

even if he was COAS! GHALAT GHALAT HAI!

so army generals never take over again!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 4:00 #
  19. zia m

People praying for army coup are Pakistan's enemies.They should be tried for treason.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 4:07 #
  20. amin1924

what do you say about those who want to keep Pakistan under zardari loot for 5 years then under nawaz gang for 5 years and then under bilawal womanizer for 5 years?

Hint: awareness of history on each of above's past/present is prerequisite for any comment.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 4:36 #
  21. zia m

People have the right to vote in whoever they like,PPP,PMLN or JI.Try to convince peopleto vote for your party instead of coming to power by illegal means.I know the history Zia did more damage to Pakistan with the help of JI than anyother dictator.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:04 #
  22. amin1924

Zia may have done more damage, possible, but another discussion.

Are you saying it is fair coming in to power through international brokers and NRO?

Who supported your military dictators to serve their regional interests? Believe me if you could swap Mushy with Zia both would have done exactly the same -obey the pentagon- Mushy would have been murd-e-momin and zia a "enlightened" thug.

It can easily be proven that both those military dictators had extensive backing from white house due to their interests in this region.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:12 #
  23. zia m

All dictators are thugs.We have to give the political process a chance.Let the people decide who they want.People will learn from their mistakes.We have to stop forcing our views on others.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:25 #
  24. zia m

Yusuf Islam(Cat Stevens) is on Charlie Rose right now.
    What a wonderful personality.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:31 #
  25. amin1924

What kind of political system is that where you bring in self exiled criminals, wash off their crimes against nation, and then force/impose an agenda through financial restrictions??

Why should one accept your process of politics to bring criminal gangs in government, other processes are political too, but only not per your dictionary!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:33 #
  26. zia m

Go find a Khalifa and let the majority vote for him/her.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:42 #
  27. amin1924

Zia M,

See it is not about finding or exploring a person for a post.

A statement asking "Go find a president and let the majority vote" doesn't make sense?

I asked many rational questions in various posts and all I got back was go find a person. Problem isn't in finding a person, problem is in the process, problem is in the system -which you overlook stubbornly.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 5:56 #
  28. zia m

JJ Khan
    We can't drag it back into religious discussion.So,i will let it go at this point.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 6:16 #
  29. amin1924

Not sure why you brought religion in to the discussion while we were deliberating on political issues.

Anyway it is good, if you can not hold yourself back from bringing in religion than better not continue.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 6:26 #
  30. latentry

shahzad1924

You are spot on mate. There is nothing to celebrate when country is in total chaos.
    These politicians are using Patriotism as an Umbrella to hide there corruption and to keep on fooling people. Shouldnt we Pakistanis be asking question what independence we have. Ramadan is coming and we seeing a shortage of Sugar. All politicans in govt or opposition making money out of it and they want poor people of pakistan to celebrate

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 11:03 #
  31. IJay

SHOW ME ONE POLITICAL PARTY WHO ASKED PEOPLE TO COME ON STREET AND CELEBRATE INDEPENDENCE! ITS PEOPLE OF PAKISTAN
    DID YOU FORGET HOW PEOPLE CAME OUT WHEN PAKISTAN WON T-20
    WORLD CUP.NOWADAYS PAKISTANI PEOPLE ARE MORE PATRIOTIC AS
    COMPARED TO 5 YEARS AGO!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 12:25 #
  32. quaidkamazaar

Ijay, i think you are sensationalising the question raised in this topic with your answer.

It is not a sin to be born as a Muslim in India, infact they are doing better than us in many many spheres of life. be humble enough to expect the pros and cons.

There is nothing to celebrate in this 62nd anniversary, lets be straightforward and hope for the best.

never loose hope, if you are patriotic that is. good times will come.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 12:41 #
  33. @IJay
    would you please mind not using 'all capitals' in your posts as they are considered ethically rude.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 12:46 #
  34. IJay

quaidkamazaar

if you don't want to celebrate 14 august!

THEN CELEBRATE 15 AUGUST OR 4TH OF JULY! its your call!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 13:17 #
  35. chechen

This whole celeberation stuff is joke.

How on earth you like to celebrate? As I said earlier it is Kuffar who sing, dance and celebrate. What is the difference bwten 1JAY and Indians if they are doing the same thing.

What is best to do is to pray and remember the shaheeds. Go to graveyard and pray. For heavens sake don't celebrate.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 13:49 #
  36. Anonymous

http://jang.com.pk/jang/aug2009-daily/14-08-2009/col2.htm

THERE IS LOTS TO CELEBERATE ONLY IF YOU WANT TO CELEBRATE THE BIRTH DAY OF PAK SARZAMEEN.

Those who do not want to celebreate can shut up!!

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 19:04 #
  37. izbaek

happy independence day to pakistan.even though it was the day of division for india where millions of people died due to cheap politics

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 19:25 #
  38. chechen

Izbaek, cheap politics or machinization of British colonial divide and rule policy?

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 19:31 #
  39. Adonis

Division of india?

India was an un-natural country created by the British. It was bound to dividie even if all the residents in British india were hindus.

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 20:24 #
  40. latentry

chechen

You keep your kuffar fatwa to yourself. People sing or dance its there choice. You celebrate your peacefull life in states

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 20:45 #
  41. chechen

fatwa cmes with lashes. I have fatwa and a whip too

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 20:47 #
  42. latentry

chechen

I hope u get lashed by your american buddies in america. But naa you are on they paying your wages so you bark what they want you to say.
    So carry on son your hatred ive no doubt u an american agent

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 22:01 #
  43. Indian irish man and pakistani are sentenced to 20 lashes and each get 1 wish indian asks for a pillow to be tied to his back but the pillow burst after 10 lashes irish man asked for 2 pillows but they burst after 15 the whipper says to the pakistani you come from a beautiful country the others get 1 wish u get 2 the pakistani says give me a 100 lashes crikey the whipper replies whats your second wish pakistani says tie that indian to my back!!
    pakistan zindabaad !!!! LOL

Posted 2 years ago on 14 Aug 2009 22:15 #
  44. quaidkamazaar

Izbaek and Chechen,

I hope you can start speaking some sense nowonwards because people are getting tired of you.

Pakistan was made on demands of the muslims of the then British India. Is it so hard to swallow even now 60 odd years later?

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 1:26 #
  45. quaidkamazaar

IJay and BSobAid,

there is nothing wrong in celebrating,

but there is something wrong in celebrating when you feel mischievously shrewdly good about Indian Muslims suffering in India and then celebrate and feel proud of Pakistan on 14th Aug. thats what Ijays first comment in topic pointed towards.

we could very very easily have been in their shoes so think about it!

Posted 2 years ago on 15 Aug 2009 1:31 #