"Once Upon a Time" …

(34 posts)

1. Once upon a time this was the Baghdad skyline

Once upon a time, Iraq had the finest education system in the Arab world.

Once upon a time, Iraq exported its expertise in education to many countries.

Once upon a time, Iraq was considered by the UN "illiteracy free."

Once upon a time, Iraq led the Arab world in scientific development.

Once upon a time, Iraq had the most modern and efficient highway system and public transport facilities in the Middle East.

Once upon a time, Iraqi women could dress however they desired: in sweat shirts and jeans, in mini-skirts, with stylish fashion, or, if they preferred, with a veil.

Once upon a time, the Iraqi public listened to rock and heavy metal music.

Once upon a time, professional and amateur sports flourished in Iraq.

Once upon a time, the arts (of all kinds) were visible all over Iraq.

Once upon a time, Iraqi homosexuals were not condemned to death because of their sexual preferences.

Once upon a time, it was a criminal offense to kill Christians or Palestinians. The term used for any crime of this nature was "murder."

Once upon a time, world experts on archaeology and antiquities were welcome to Iraq in an effort to discover the history of the country and then preserve it.

Once upon a time, veterans of the Iran-Iraq War were highly revered by the Iraqi government and public.

Once upon a time, 55% of the Iraqi work force consisted of females.

Once upon a time, females held important positions in the government, business and the fields of engineering and science.

Once upon a time, foreign workers were welcome in Iraq. They provided many services in the areas of agriculture and the construction of the Iraqi infrastructure.

Once upon a time, any scholar of Arab history was welcome in Iraq as a guest of the government. They were allowed unlimited access to historical documents so they could enhance the writing of Arab culture and share books and articles with the world.

Once upon a time, Baghdad was called "The Paris of the Middle East."

Once upon a time, Baghdad had many parks and recreational areas that families safely used.

Once upon a time, the citizens of Iraq were called Iraqis, not Shia or Sunni or Turkomen or Kurds or Chaldeans or any other designation.

Once upon a time, Iraq had no depleted uranium that was responsible for the deaths and birth defects of thousands of children.

Once upon a time, Iraq’s drinking water was safe.

Once upon a time, diseases such as hoof-and-mouth disease and malnutrition had been eradicated from Iraq.

Once upon a time, Iraqis did not lock the doors to their houses and left them wide open.

Once upon a time, Baghdad nightlife was vibrant with street performers and the smell of mouth-watering food, not the odor of blood and death.

Once upon a time, Iraqi citizens could safely walk the streets with no thoughts of harm occurring.

Once upon a time, Iraqi children were not obliged to turn to prostitution to earn enough money for their families to buy food.

Once upon a time, a gallon of gasoline cost less than one cent in Iraq and there were no long lines at petrol stations.

Once upon a time, electricity was available 24 hours a day in Iraq.

Once upon a time, Iraqis were not worried about poisoning themselves when they drank water from their taps.

Once upon a time, Iraq led the Arab world in technology.

Once upon a time, Baghdad’s streets were clean, not strewn with garbage and human bodies.

Once upon a time, Iraq had a functioning government that addressed the needs of the citizenry of Iraq.

Once upon a time, Iraq was great.

Once upon a time is the opening phrase of many fairy tales. In the case of Iraq, once upon a time was once true. For today’s young Iraqis, the facts are hidden from them and they may consider them to be fairy tales because their Iraq differs greatly from the one depicted here.

By Malcom Lagauche at uruknet.info

[Maybe it' time we added another "Thanksgiving"]

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 16:35 #
  2. That Iraq has been thrown back centuries in time by puppet regimes of the region backed by their masters who had installed them.The same who divided Iraq 'once upon a time' and are planning to divide it once more.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 16:45 #
  3. Once upon a time afghanistan....
    Once upon a time Pakistan????

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:04 #
  4. gv

@khan sahib

yeah Afghanistan was really this paragon of social progress before the americans moved in... i think its quite clear that afghanistan has been a socio-political basket case since the 70's if not earlier.

We've been skipping merrily along a steady decline for the past 60 years as well in terms of political infrastructure

so yeah while the yanks may have screwed things up royally i dont think they had to try very hard when it came to afghanistan/pakistan

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:07 #
  5. @gv
    Good job of ignoring the elephant(s) in the room... :)

From the Summer of '69 -- "Paris of Central Asia" aka Afghanistan:

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:19 #
  6. I know that in 60's and early 70"s people from Upper punjab, Khyber and even from India and Iran used to go to Afghanistan (Specially kabul) to spend their vacations as people do now in dubai etc... Same was in Iran in Shah's era.... but when you forget your creator and get yourself indulged in all behayayee, Alcohol, Prostitution as a norm (which was allegedly very common and in demand then) then your creator will pull the carpet underneath your feet.. rest is history and I am afraid that despite we claim and shout the slogans of Pakistan ka matlab kaya? is not going to save from the azab from ALLAH

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:19 #
  7. gv

dude that was just kabul that was the problem - besides as you would probably agree - mini skirts and bikinis do not a progressive society make

(sorry i saw pool scene and i assumed bikinis )anyway i think you get my point

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:20 #
  8. @gv
    Bikini? Where do you see a bikini?? :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:22 #
  9. A good site for then and now afghanistan
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/adamcurtis/afghanistan/

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:39 #
  10. Are all of you serious above? Is this all you find to say about Iraq, it's utter destruction as a model state, its millions of victims and its DU-legacy? Is this all you find to say about brave beyond imagining Afghanistan, its millions of victims and its DU-infested territories? I can't believe I'm reading this right.

And, no doubt, this is all you'll find to say when the last of the Palestinians disappear from their God-given land. As for Pakistan, if it comes to utter destruction, we'll be saying the same unthinking things, no doubt. We never did really deserve a country of our own. We are cowards through and through.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:44 #
  11. MG Sahib... It is true that with every "Azzab" there is always a reason of ALLAH.. In time like this, one has to remember his or her Sins and ask for forgiveness and not to be proud of the glory we had once upon a time.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 17:55 #
  12. gv

@mg

puhleeze spare us the sanctimony - everybody does not wear the same tinted spectacles as you do

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 18:00 #
  13. @MG
    Let's blame this too on the Blasphemy Law. Remove it and Iraq, Afghanistan, Pakistan will all revert back -- even Palestine will be free!! :-)

P.S. Some of us don't wear tinted glasses but some of us DO wear prisms ;-P

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 18:03 #
  14. gv, you with your US-worship don't wear tinted glasses? How come? And sanctimonious me? Ah, well. Perhaps you don't quite understand the meaning of the word. Better by far we talk about bikinis, takes our minds off the millions we've sent to their deaths so that the masters of the West could get satisfaction. In the process at least they've also sent the dollar and euro down **** Street faster than it would have gone anyway.

Nota, Keep your Blasphemy Law, what do I care? Neither maintaining it or repealing it will get us any further. You think I run after rainbows and you are all so down to earth and realistic? Well, perhaps you're right.

I myself am demoralised beyond belief. Perhaps I'm just taking it out on all of you for no reason. Sorry for that.

KHAN_Sahib's explanation perhaps makes the best sense. We've deserved it all. He's right to say we should ask God for forgiveness, both individually and collectively.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 18:25 #

15. Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 19:17 #
  16. gv

dude at least im being consistent with what i say (and what you usually argue for which is fairness and equal treatment for all ) not hopping around just being contrarian to look and sound cool

@mg

when on earth was i being a us worshipper?

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:23 #
  17. @gv
    WHAT THE HELL DOES THIS THREAD HAVE TO DO WITH THAT FREAKING LAW? Yeah you are being consistent *******! (Consistency certainly is nothing to be proud of in this case) And you know where to shove those "sanctimonious" and "contrarian" titles and that law too that is giving you the viagra-like hard-on. I have no interest in what a PARASITE banker has to say (and yeah, I am sure "equal treatment for all" to you only means robbing all equally -- without bias -- of their hard-earned monies! Sorry but I DESPISE people like you!

"when on earth was i being a us worshipper? "
    Now that's another ******* joke. Next thing we know, you'll (again) say bankers HELP people and are not blood-svckers!

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:45 #
  18. gv, what disturbed me so much above was the facetious tone being used for wars one might regard as great tragedies. Somehow the impression was given that Iraq and Afghanistan did all this to themselves. The only enemy to be deplored was they themselves. And, in any case, it hardly mattered. We could laugh if off like a good practical joke.

About being a US-worshipper, gv, this was a return to a quarrel of old: 9/11. That is where the tinted glasses come in which have prevented you from facing the truth of what really happened on that ill-fated day. It probably permits you to excuse some, if not all, of US war barbarity.

In any case, now that I have swallowed my earlier pain, I unreservedly apologise for my earlier emotional outburst. It was wholly unnecessary. After all, it was not not on your say-so that first Afghanistan, then Iraq got bombed to kingdom come. I don't know why I should be blaming you for it. So sorry. I did say "we", though. I hold myself as guilty of what happened and is happening as anyone else.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:46 #
  19. gv

man you are one saaaaad saaad man.... cant stay civil can you.... whenever you dont have an argument so you turn into a pms-ing vicious bitter little hag... please read your comments.. you brought it up first....

@mg

just because i don't believe in the big bad 9/11 conspiracy does not make me a us worshipper no matter what our friend nota http://www.google.co.uk/imgres?imgurl=http://machosteakjet.files.wordpress.com/2009/04/hag.jpg&imgrefurl=http://machosteakjet.wordpress.com/category/god/&usg=__SgtCvTXZckHLPUCDKtegg6ZDgZc=&h=640&w=480&sz=49&hl=en&start=0&zoom=1&tbnid=4Xc1fk8GkDMKPM:&tbnh=153&tbnw=115&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dhag%26hl%3Den%26biw%3D1362%26bih%3D583%26gbv%3D2%26tbs%3Disch:1&itbs=1&iact=hc&vpx=771&vpy=52&dur=187&hovh=259&hovw=194&tx=119&ty=150&ei=dR7wTKWUN4qBhQfQ36y4Cg&oei=dR7wTKWUN4qBhQfQ36y4Cg&esq=1&page=1&ndsp=23&ved=1t:429,r:4,s:0

says in his *** ********* moments..

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:55 #
  20. @MG
    Oh come off it! It is criminal NOT to have "emotional outburst" at such things (It might be criminal to apologize for them...)

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:56 #
  21. @parasite
    At least learn to post an image without a stupidly long url or not interested to learn it as there is no "interest" in it?

Again this topic is NOT about you (or me). It is about IRAQ.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 20:59 #
  22. gv

errmmm sure twisty whatever you say... oops they're so tightly twisted i think i see some blood... you better take a deep breath.. i didnt make this thread about me genius - you did...

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 21:01 #
  23. @gv
    that's your mama's. Now go blow Obama ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 21:03 #
  24. gv

oh and twisty just wanted to point out that unlike certain people i dont have mommy and daddy to sponge off by spending their money on a fancy us education and then go live an oh so contrarian life thumbing my nose at real jobs..because capitalism is sooo 20th century...

i unfortunately have to live in the real world...

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 21:17 #
  25. @parasite
    i dont have mommy and daddy to sponge off
    1. Wow! Amazing that right out of the womb you were on your own (At least have the courtesy to give your parents the credit for raising you and sending you to school and college)
    2. You don't sponge off you mommy and daddy but the whole world ;-)

BTW: Have you ever produced anything in your life? Grown anything? Built anything? Bet NOT!

i unfortunately have to live in the real world...
    Ah what self-serving logic! An excuse used by every scoundrel. In other words, a willing *****...

But enough wasting time with you...Excuse me if I don't respond to whatever other gems you come up with. ;-)

Posted 1 year ago on 26 Nov 2010 21:30 #
  26. gv

uhh yeah twisty whatever you say.. do get in touch when you stop living off mommy and daddy and when you get a real job..

p.s. my parents didnt pay for my education so dont jump to conclusions..

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 2:13 #
  27. @parasite
    I'll take that as confirmation that "you have never produced anything, grown anything? built anything in your life! Hence a parasite on society, living off of others work.

"p.s. my parents didnt pay for my education so dont jump to conclusions.. "
    OK, continue with the lie that you started work the second you were born, got yourself admitted to KG and paid the fees even then. You sir are a miracle-worker! :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 3:42 #
  28. toamin

here you go gv

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 16:31 #
  29. @Salam
    Oh so nice of you to help a friend! Didn't know gv needed help holding his d!ck to pee. But so nice of you to oblige! Old habits die hard, eh?

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 17:51 #
  30. gv

oooops heeeeeeeeeeres TWISTY again!!! someone let him out of his box...

knickers a bit knotty again?? or did your mommy cut your allowance today twisty ???

well mommy sure didn't teach you any manners now did she..

i mean how old are you now twisty??? 44? 45? haven't you learnt how to defend yourself verbally without using any cuss words..

you are such a little hypocrite... you jump to peoples defence any chance you get regardless of their point of view.....as long as the person on the receiving end is on your sh!t list..

Salam thanks for the picture... it warms the heart to see twisty in all his glory...

by the way twisty im not going to bother responding to any predictably puerile and foul mouthed retort you will come up with after this because this is all becoming frightfully dull now... so good bye and good luck managing all that endless supply of venom you have bottled up inside you..

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 18:58 #
  31. toamin

once upon a time in the west by sergio leon is my favorite movie :)
    gv why did you let the twisty out of the box?

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 19:25 #
  32. @parasite
    Still have not responded to my earlier questions:

@parasite
    I'll take that as confirmation that "you have never produced anything, grown anything? built anything in your life! Hence a parasite on society, living off of others work.

As for my age, ask your mama.

"by the way twisty im not going to bother responding to any predictably puerile and foul mouthed retort you will come up with after this because this is all becoming frightfully dull now... so good bye and good luck managing all that endless supply of venom you have bottled up inside you.. "
    Wish I were so lucky! But even then, you d!ck-yanker will be around, so don't worry ;-)

P.S. What was the name of that 'Think-Tank'? Make sure you recruit Salam to it for he can come in real 'HANDY' (pun intended, of course!)
    :) :-P :) :-P :) :-P

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 19:27 #
  33. toamin

@Mirza Ghalib

kaaba kis munh se jaaoge Ghalib, sharam tumko magar nahi aati

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 19:35 #
  34. Moderators sahib...
    Do we really need this thread or we are waiting for some more mess?

Posted 1 year ago on 27 Nov 2010 19:51 #