Looks like a police operation against the extremists has started in Punjab.
Operation in Punjab would create more mess.Talibans are evrywhere.USA deliberately started war from Afghanistan and then has tried to lead Pakistan to civil war.Talibasn since very first were everyhwere.Initially according to US propaganda,they were in Pakhtun dominated areas and were Pakhtuns ethnically.Now we are coming across Punjabi talibans,then sindhi talibans and God knows what would come next.
But one thing is for sure.neither US and its servants,so called liberals nor talibans are right.
If Pakistan can afford military operation,it should launch against liberals too.Or we should make liberals collide with talibans.It would be a win-win situation for Pakistan.
I consider Imran Khan a liberal.He just needs to come out of the shadow of JI.
yes extremist are every where. they enjoy support of mullas. they enemy of humanity. they enemy of pakistan. they want push pakistani people in dark ages.
so operation against them justified. they must be crushed along with there supporters.
similarly operation against corruption is justified. corrupts must be crushed also. honest liberals are only hope for pakitan.
@wantinsaf
Once again PTI mouthpiece wantinsaf (which you are on PkPolitics) is opposing operation against extremist militant groups just like his leader Imran does against Taliban mafia. PTI is the biggest Taliban lobby in Pakistan and you guys do no want any operations against militants no matter what they do in Pakistan.
Punjabi Taliban is growing in South Punjab and it is high time we take swift action against them before they grow. We made serious mistakes in FATA and NWFP and due to our inaction and lukewarm response Taliban mafia grew faster and have become a greater nuisance for the people of FATA and NWFP.
Rise of extremism is the biggest threat to Pakistan’s national sovereignty and only liberals can stop advances of Taliban mafia. Fasadi moulvis from Jamat Islami and some tiny political pressure groups like PTI have long been supporting talibans and their terrorist activities. That is the main reason these two tiny groups PTI and JI lack public support.
Mr. Wantinsaf! Stop supporting Taliban and other militant groups
Their is a growing trend of Engineers, Doctors and others with such respectable professions are joining this mess in Punjab what ever might be the case but one thing is for sure that Pakistan needs to take care of them but I would say this isnt a bad strategy to as if few people from respectable profession got caught by Law enforcement agencies then this could be a big example for them to get themselves away from those terrorist as they have got future ahead of them but the real once who are the biggest concern for Law enforcement agencies are Madarsa students or very poor people specially those who are living in Villages who came under their influence so their should be a Policy for countering terrorism, in Pakistan by inviting everyone for their input like MQM, PTI, PMLN, JI etc and all representatives of Law enforcement agencies to make a whole Policy to counter terrorism so that no one in the end could complain about their input in countering Terrorism...
wantinsaf,
Paukhtoon taliban, punjabi taliban and sindi taliban and then A VERY STRONG CASE IN UNITED NATIONS TO ATTACK THIS COUNTRY FULL OF TERRORISTS!
Good luck to all of us!
@SweetTruth
Terrorism in Pakistan is a muti dimensional problem which can never be solved with one-dimensional policy.
How many are Punjabi Talibans?
How many are Pakhtuns Talibans?
How many are other talibans?
None of us know that.There are more than hundered groups which sometimes have been seen fighting against each other.You are so much unfamiliar with the problem that you have no idea even about a sigle group.What are their agendas?Does each one of them have different agenda?
Listening to American dictation and reading Time magazine doesn't provide any guarantee that you are well familiar with the problem.
Why were there no suicide boming before 2004?
Why military operations and drone attacks led to suicide bombing?
Why have we allowed militant groups like Blackwater working in Pakistan?
Why are we allowing Nato supply chain to cross our border for Afghanistan?
Sovereign countries don't fight other's war.
You had better study history.And never forget to study US's war in Vietnam and how much Combodia suffered because of being US ally in Vietnam's war.
How many terrorists have been killed?And how many innocents have been killed?A war which kills only innocent would only lead us to civil war.But how can you be concerned about all this as your leader is a British citizen.
@Shriq
Zaker nayak has been banned to enter UK meaning he too is now a terrorist.Zaker is a person who has always advocated peace in India and all over the world.
One day,we all will be considered as terrorist because we disagree with US and rather agree with Islam.
I don't think that there is going to be any operation in southern punjab.
These taliban /sectarian terrorist are creation of ARMY and only those groups are under pressure / attack which are not following directions.
Now, please don't deny that these beasts were trained and fed by ARMY for decades.
The term of Punjabi Taliban, Pashtun Taliban or Afghan Taliban is not an appropriate language to define Taliban in Pakistan as a whole as same Taliban respect Hamid Gull as their "teacher" and same Taliban also had respect for few former ISI workers as well....Its an ideology which has started to destroy our Society and we are confusing it with ETHNICITY...In Khaibar Pakhtunkuwa the dimension of Taliban is like a "Gorilla Force" while in Punjab they are "Banned outfit" so they should be dealt with the same way as they operate as in Punjab they are operating covertly like other banned organization but in Khaibar Pakhtunkuwa especially Tribal areas they are operating in the form of full fledged Gorilla force against Pakistan and USA Army as well...They are not just confined to Punjab and Khaibar Pakhtunkuwa only but instead they are also operating in Urban Sindh as well particularly Karachi where they from Both Punjab and Khaibar Pakhtunkuwa came for managing their FINANCES by Bank robberies and by also collecting Chandas from Sympathetic people or masjids...So we need to understand the exact dimension of both before they start spreading other parts of Pakistan...The next biggest threat to Pakistan from these Taliban are Baluchistan because Baluchistan have same kind of Terrain as in Afghanistan and due to having low population they can easily hide themselves in the mountains unnoticed and if they able to penetrate then Baluch would be outnumbered against them and their capabilities of war and the choice available for them would be to either join them or started getting killed so Pakistan should start taking measures against them as well in Baluchistan by stopping Afghan trade and closing down Chaman border and all Afghan Pakistan border their because Baluchistan bordering Afghan provinces are most worse effected parts of Afghanistan in terms of Taliban activity....So their should be DRASTIC MEASURES planned for them to get rid of them in Pakistan before they started penetrating Our heart...
It is very easy to label anyone an 'extremist', then starting operations against them without any legal oversight.
Tyrants have been doing exactly the same, turning/twisting, abusing this word 'terrorism' to favour their unjust life since the beginning of life on this world.
@wantinsaf
Your whole post above does not mention talibans as terrorist and according to you "Sovereign countries don't fight other's war". So why did we participate in Afghan Fasad of the 1980's? Why did we let Americans use our land to wage a war against USSR? Until US Dollars were coming no one objected Americans and their presence and policies in the region.
As soon as (after 9/11) Washington stopped flow of dollars which were being given to some groups in Pakistan and Afghanistan; everyone has started jumping up and down and USA bashing has become a fashion in Pakistan. We should NOT forget key role of USA during Afghan Fasad which led to the withdrawl of Soviet troops form Afghanistan and in return no one said a single word of thanks to Americans. No wonder why Afghans are the most ungrateful nation on earth.
Well, I have always been opposed to Afghan Fasad and due to the Fasad we have now dozens of uncontrolled extremist groups creating greatest headache for Pakistan. If we can help (and did help) USA win war against USSR inside Afghanistan then we MUST help ourselves win war inside Pakistan against anti-State elements no matter whether they are talibans or some other groups.
Long Live Pakistan
If people of KP can sacrifice for the betterment of this nation then Punjab also needs to play it part. This operation against terrorist factions should have been started mush earlier. But now that it has officially been launched, we must extend our support to the security agencies so that they can conduct it with ease and precision.
This operation is necessary to curb growing activities of Taliban's Punjab faction. We cannot afford another FATA/NWFP in South Punjab. We delayed operation in other parts of the country and paid heavy price but this time a swift and all-out operation is needed to get rid of all terrorists.
How do we differentiate between a person who is and is not a terrorist ?
What rules or laws apply ?
Do we have a definition of terrorist ?
I like your Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL; you do this all the time which is very nice.
Well back to the definition of terrorist, how do we define this? May be we should start visiting victim's house of last major attack in two Lahore mosques or the latest one in a Karachi court where a Policeman killed in the line of fire while he was fighting against terrorists of Jundullah. We should visit his house to ask his family members "the definition of terrorist".
@wantinsaf,
"Why were there no suicide boming before 2004?"
A typical 'Imran-Khan' question. There was a suicide bomb in 1995 in Islamabad when the bomber rammed his truck, full of explosives, into an Egyptian embassy (american embassy was the ultimate target but it was heavily fortified) - killing 14 people. The attack was planned by two of our favourite terrorists out there - yep, you guessed it - Mr. Zawahiri and Mr. Osama Bin Laden. Mr. Zawahiri even writes about this little incident in his autobiography. Here is an image from a newspaper from 1995 showing the news: http://news.google.com/newspapers?nid=1309&dat=19951118&id=1p4WAAAAIBAJ&sjid=tx4EAAAAIBAJ&pg=3683,4472516
There was another suicide bomb in May 2002, which attacked French engineers outside Karachi's Sheraton Hotel. 14 people including 11 French engineers were killed in this attack. The militants were from Harkat Jihad-e-Islami. The News narrates the story: http://www.thenews.com.pk/print3.asp?id=695
In June 2002, another suicide bomber detonated a truck full of explosives outside of American embassy in Karachi killing 12 people. The terrorists behind this attack then issued a warning: "America, its allies and its slave Pakistani rulers should be prepared for more attacks.". According to CNN: http://archives.cnn.com/2002/WORLD/asiapcf/south/06/14/karachi.blast/
In 2003, there was a suicide attack in Rawalpindi targeting Pervez Musharraf, killing 5 people. Source: http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/en/doc/2003-12/26/content_293552.htm
In 2004, there were five suicide attacks, one against the PM. In total, 57 people were killed.
In 2005, there were two suicide attacks.
Please forward my post to Imran Khan himself as I have seen him and his like-minded friends from JI often repeat that there were no suicide bombs pre-2004. Perhaps once he is slightly educated, he will stop repeating these baseless statements on TV.
@Liberalkarachi
check out my answer to the other post by you.
There are contradictions in you comments.Talibanas and extremists are anti Pakistan according to you.
But
how could anyone attempting to kill monster like Musharaf be anti Pakistan?
Get rid of your confusion first dear!
Terrorists are culprits.The culprits of larger degree the ones who produce terrorists. America, India and Britian are producing terrorists. When Israel committed terrorist activities in Uganda and Iraq, the US and the British govts. appreciated the Israeli terrorism.
Bring it on and sooner the better. We do not need any more delays as terrorist activities of Sth Punjab Taliban faction are increasing manifold. Other smaller extremist groups like SSP, Jaish Mohammad, Lashkar tayyaba and Jamat al dawa and the new one Jundullah are getting momentum within Pakistan and their brazen broad day light attacks in different parts of Pakistan verifies my claim.
Please to go and see on other thread (Pak might fight - for a price) the latest posting by Moderator Sahib on the S.Punjab topic.
@wantinsaf,
"There are contradictions in you comments.Talibanas and extremists are anti Pakistan according to you.
But
how could anyone attempting to kill monster like Musharaf be anti Pakistan?
Get rid of your confusion first dear!"
Either you have not understood the premiss of discussion or you are intentionally trying to divert the topic of discussion. I never made an argument whether terrorists are anti-Pakistan, my premiss was to HISTORICALLY REFUTE your/Imran Khan's/PTI's/JI's CLAIM that there were NO suicide attacks in pakistan BEFORE 2004, specially as per YOUR statement "Why were there no suicide boming before 2004?". I hope my attempt of childishly using capitalisation has conveyed the point to even you this time.
Secondly, suicide attack on Musharraf is not the only suicide attack out there, as i already showed there was a suicide attack in Islambad in 1995 by Zawahiri and gang, a suicide bomb in Karachi's American Embassy in 2002, a suicide bomb in Sheraton Hotel in 2002 and a suicide attack in Rawalpindi killing five INNOCENT civilians in 2003. All of these BEFORE 2004.
no operations would be needed once amrika sahib bahadur leaves afghanistan with a defeat
at the moment it appears that pakistan has all the power & control over afghan situation, amrika bahdur is so weak & dependable on pakistani help
Salam Sahib, I wholly agree with your views. US out, peace in for Pakistan and even more so for battered Afghanistan. I hope you enjoyed the downfall of McChrystal as much as I did and the new rise of Petraeus who comes to us with bags full of dollars. They might make an impression on Pakistanis, some of those dollars, it might even mean a resurgence of violence in our country, but I can't see anyone in Helmand, Kandahar and other Afghan provinces allowing themselves to be bought up against the Resistance, can you?
yes, pleasure indeed alhamdulilah, enjoyed every bit of it
too many things got exposed, clear signs for those who can see
The year is nearly up, and the insurgency has only gained in strength. McChrystal has gone now. What will most likely end, with his going are secret death squads and proxy operations in both Afghanistan and Pakistan.
Under the radar in Pakistan
A major offensive in the Taliban stronghold of Kandahar province has been delayed for at least two months, in part because of Pakistan's reluctance to crack down on militant bases in the North Waziristan tribal area. These bases serve as crucial feeders into the Afghan war.
McChrystal's relatively low-intensity approach has been complemented with hit squads made up in part of private spies and contractors. Their targets have been anti-American figures in Pakistan and Afghanistan. In copycat fashion, the militants formed their own secret cells to kill pro-American figures in Pakistan and Afghanistan, especially in Kandahar.
The US military has also relied on a clandestine grilling system in Pakistani jails, using handpicked Pakistani police officials to extract information.
McChrystal's Zarqawi unit, Task Force 6-26, had used a similar approach at Baghdad's notorious Camp Nama, where prisoners were interrogated - some human-rights reports say tortured - to give up information. High-value detainees were interrogated in The Black Room, "a dark mostly bare room with large metal hooks hanging from the ceiling. The guards often used loud rock 'n' roll or rap music to torment prisoners during interrogations". 1 Information extracted from prisoners at this facility led to the death of al-Zarqawi and the capture and subsequent hanging of former president Saddam Hussein.
Adyala jail in Rawalpindi, the garrison city that is twinned with the capital Islamabad, is Pakistan's largest detention center for Muslim militants, with more than 2,000 inmates. According to well-placed security sources who spoke to Asia Times Online, many of the militants have been acquitted by the Anti-Terrorism Court, but they are still being detained.
"These militants have high-profile links with al-Qaeda, therefore a syndicate of international intelligence agencies has always been interested in interrogating them," a senior Pakistani security official told Asia Times Online on the condition of anonymity.
"Since direct accessibility and interrogation is difficult under the law, police officers were illegally hired by these intelligence organizations to grill prisoners, and information was then passed onto these foreign agencies," the official said.
This unofficial conversion of some Pakistani jails into secret American detention centers - a process that began before McChrystal took over in Afghanistan - stung the militants. According to Pakistani security agencies, the attack in March 2009 on the Sri Lankan cricket team in Lahore was aimed so they could take hostages to exchange for jailed militants. Similarly, the attack and hostage-taking of policemen at a Lahore police academy, also in March 2009, sought to win the release of prisoners.
A Pakistani Frontier Corps spokesperson has confirmed that militants have demanded a swap of prisoners for 33 paramilitary soldiers they abducted last week in Mohmand Agency.
According to the militant sources Asia Times Online spoke to, a new wave of violence is likely to kick off to get prisoners released, especially those in Adyala jail. Several dozen militants began a hunger strike on June 16 in protest against illegal interrogation. There have also been clashes between inmates and wardens, with several militants seriously injured.
The jail could become a serious flashpoint, much like the Lal Masjid (Red Mosque) incident in July 2007. The Islamabad mosque, which had become a haven for militants, was stormed with the loss of more than 100 lives, including militants, security forces and civilians. The Lal Masjid siege gave hardliners a rallying point and prompted al-Qaeda and the Taliban to launch retaliation attacks.
This is not something Pakistan would want to see happening again, and it will be reluctant to see a continuation of the interrogations under McChrystal's replacement.
(Excerpts from Syed Saleem Shahzad's article: McChrsytal's war goes to the White House, 24.6.10)
http://www.atimes.com/atimes/South_Asia/LF24Df03.html
(Wherever we look, we see a finger pointing at US interference in our country.)
"no operations would be needed once amrika sahib bahadur leaves afghanistan with a defeat"
I strongly disagree. There is a genuine concern for extremism within our societies that has nothing to do with Afg. We have banned militant outfits openly operating (SSP, Lashkars, etc.), extremist mindset seeking to seize power by brute force (Pakistani Talibans trained in our madarsas for instance), global terrorists organisations which are craving to infiltrate pakistan because of its nukes (e.g. Al Qaeeda, militant pan-islamists movements).
An example of this is the suicide bomb in 1995 in Islamabad (by Al qaeeda and pakistani-talibans) when USA was not in Afg and there was no 9/11. Another example is the constant stream of religious/sectarian violence in Pk post-Zia era. Surely you don't deny that our madarsas are producing armed Talibans seeking to use brute force for their 'religious ideology' aims?
Though I agree that the presence of USA has exasperated the problem.
No problem at all LiberalKarachi if you disagree to what Salam has expressed but a responsible authority that is IG Punjab has issued a statement that was relayed through media since three days ago:
No operation is needed in Southern Punjab.
@semirza,
Time and circumstances will dictate whether operation IS necessary or not. I think it is far too early to speculate about that right now. Similar was the situation with Swat: in the end we were left with no choice but to launch an operation there.
I certainly hope that things are resolved peacefully and diplomatically, and we are able to achieve our goals or removing terrorism from Pk w/o the bullet, but if military warfare turns out to be the only option then it would have to be conducted unfortunetly - for the sake of a modern and progressive Pakistan.
They wanted to create a new faction of taliban through propagada banking on some social outcasts lured into anti state activities blowing lavish amounts of dollars thinking they could repeat what they had done in 1980s. Much time has gone over thus a misjudgement as usual.
Now they are as good as a sitting duck in Afghanistan busy shuffling their own generals!
Any more talk about South Punjab. You guessed it right. NO!
Record quantity of ammunition recovered
LAHORE: The intelligence agencies have recovered record quantity of explosives today from Ferozwala area of Lahore on information provided by two suspected terrorists Imran and Bilal, nabbed couple of days ago.
The agencies recovered two trucks full of explosives, 300 hand grenades, 15 lands mines, 15 suicide jackets, 15 anti air craft guns, 30 rockets, 24 Kalashnikovs, 16 walkie talkies and thousands of bullets.
This in the middle of Lahore. Where do terrorists get so much weapons from (anti air craft guns and missiles are not made in tribal areas)?
Under PMLN, Punjab is fast heading to become swat.
And it was all recovered under the watchful eyes of Rehman Malik assuming this load was meant for Ahmadis.
And your addition to the actual news is quite interesting dumping all blame on PML-N.
Never seen you participating in any other topic except highlighting terrorist and terrorism?
PML N,a corrupt and incompetent party,can never help us in getting rid of terrorism and radicalism.We only need a person in power who should not be American puppet and must be inclined towards religion.That's the only solution to terrorism.In the very similar manner solution to corruption is an honest man at the helm of affairs.This is what is required.
Parties like PML N,MQM ,PPP,PML Q,JUI F and ANP can not help us in this regard as they are the prime reason for our disaster.Getting rid of these parties would help us getting rid of terrorism and radicalism,otherwise there is no solution.
Find of anti-aircraft guns in Lahore is very serious, terrorists can bring down any airliner they want. No prize for guessing that caught terrorists are from one of the affiliates of PMLN; sipah-e-sahaba, lashkar-e-jhnagvi, jesh-e-muhamamd and so on. PMLN took it easy with the terrorists and now experiencing the results.
It’s time to cut the proverbial cord
It takes some kind of stupid to arm and fund the very people trying to destabilize your region. Perhaps the leadership of PML-N hopes to buy out militancy itself – an equally flawed idea. There is no guarantee that JuD or other religious extremist outfits are going to seize activities in exchange take for money. It also sets a dangerous precedence. Funding these organizations, as a matter of policy can lead to the possible demand for greater funding with the threat of violence in the future.
In a time when funding is sorely needed on multiple projects from electricity grids to securing drinking water in rural communities to reworking Pakistan’s failed public education system, it is absolutely astonishing that the government of Punjab has chosen to bypass these problems and fund the JuD.
This clearly irrational and highlights the delusions of our ruling elite. The problem of increased militancy is not going to go away if you close your eyes. Unless the government of Punjab blocks funding for extremist groups and treats them as persona non grata, then attacks on civilians will continue.
http://blogs.tribune.com.pk/story/238/it%E2%80%99s-time-to-cut-the-proverbial-cord/
@wantinsaf;
Parties like PML N,MQM ,PPP,PML Q,JUI F and ANP can not help us in this regard as they are the prime reason for our disaster.Getting rid of these parties would help us getting rid of terrorism and radicalism,otherwise there is no solution.
Bhai, khudda na khwasta saarey corrupt maar doe gay tou phir pakustani kiss corrupt leader ko vote dain gay? The nation has voted these snakes & have implemented the suffering themselves.
Unless they come out together against these corrupt politician n corrupt system, ignoring n pushing aside the differences on the basis of ethnic or religious sect, the suffering will continue... Bloody Revolution can only bring the change n not the present dhoolkee chaal!!!!
@Quote
Find of anti-aircraft guns in Lahore is very serious, terrorists can bring down any airliner they want. No prize for guessing that caught terrorists are from one of the affiliates of PMLN; sipah-e-sahaba, lashkar-e-jhnagvi, jesh-e-muhamamd and so on. PMLN took it easy with the terrorists and now experiencing the results.
Now you the most wise educate us about anti aircraft guns and what they were doing if not fill in the gap to make all what was relayed as discovered more dramatic!
Would you kindly provide some solid evidence that pml-N has affiliates as what you have mentioned from; sipay-e-shaba, lashkar-e-janghvi, jaish-e-Muhammed and so on..
I would be waiting for a response from you!
The agencies recovered two trucks full of explosives, 300 hand grenades, 15 lands mines, 15 suicide jackets, 15 anti air craft guns, 30 rockets, 24 Kalashnikovs, 16 walkie talkies and thousands of bullets.
LOL
atleast these Morons should issue a press release which one can believe. Who on earth will move so much arms n ammunations in two trucks where the corrupt traffic officer stops every truck in big cities for bribe??? If I want to move this amount of arms, I would use small consignment or use of train as a passanger not a bloody truck... I wonder why govt agencies can hire people who can issue a better press statement. Saying that, the discovery of rocket launcher & anti aircraft guns (if
it's true) means a BIG hand like india or Israel via afghanistsni puppet govt. Anyways, just like Rehman Malik, the news sounds dodgy
some dumbo mod deleted my last post i guess... ):
but wih all fiarness i think that its imposible to use Punjabi army in Punjab.....
fighting against Pashotons, Bangalies, Balochies is one thing but using guns against own people take balls...
@expakistani
You are advised not to use abusive words for anyone over here.
Take it as a WARNING if you may.
@ expakistan
sir h ... the Pakistani Army is Pakistani and not punjabi sindhi kashmiri or pashtun ... although from historic reasons and lessons the people from Pothohar and NWFP (Pakhtoonkhuah) are preffered because of there atmospheric and cultural reasons ...
Seizure of large and dangerous ammunition in Lahore is just the tip of the iceberg and once again our authorities especially Punjab Govt is not taking serious notice of activities of terrorists in Punjab and big city like Lahore are at their mercy.
I have been long advocating an all out operation against any terrorist group no matter where they are operating. It is absurd to think Army action will not be taken on the basis of ethnicity. Army took action against two badmash loafer brothers in Islamabad’s red mosque. A united and concerted effort is required to take action against terrorists no matter where they are.
In my view, we are delaying action in Sth. Punjab and letting these terrorist organisations to re-group.
The extremist elements are gaining strength in Punjab while the government is busy funding Jamat-ul-dawa ! For crying out loud these are the very same people who are responsible for the chaos in Punjab. The yesterday Hall road blast reminds of Swat where the militants started off by attacking the CD shops. An action is Punjab is unavoidable
Already seen what happened in FATA, Sawat, Afghanistan, but it is pleasing to see punjab repeat mistakes of past which will bring its end.
@semirza
"Would you kindly provide some solid evidence that pml-N has affiliates as what you have mentioned from; sipay-e-shaba, lashkar-e-janghvi, jaish-e-Muhammed and so on..
I would be waiting for a response from you! "
PMLN provides almost free hand to terrorists no doubt about it, watch Najam Sethi's programme on 29th. Of course both PMNL and terrorists will never come forward on their own and admit that if that's what you are expecting.