Over 10,000 jobs and Rs 30 bn lost in Karachi

(81 posts)
  1. runaway

Truly tragic.

Bomb blast is one thing

But the bigger failure is how the criminals were allowed to cause so much damage after the blast.

This stupid strategy of govt to let people 'cool' down by burning down others property has taken new heights.

All those involved in this arson should be severly and quickly punished so this trend of burning down things is stopped

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/front-page/19-over-10,000-jobs,-rs30bn-lost-to-arson-029-hh-05

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 3:00 #
  2. toamin

I condemn the terrorist attack, the loss of innocent civilians and property is irreparable.

But the organized arson & loot activity after blast in Karachi is shocking.

Who were involved? Were these people from shia procession or MQM workers?

Why CCTV camera recordings were not brought to public?

I think people of that area know who did it, I hope some genuine investigative journalist researches for the truth.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 3:34 #
  3. NNL

it did be asinine to think that the looting and starting of the fire were related to blast ie ppl cooling down by burning down the markets.

I hear they had a project going on where they wanted to shift the entire Markets to Maymar side near the Super Highway and the shopkeepers were resisting the shift.

Nice way to move the property.

Surprisingly the Nazim was clueless as why the Emergency services couldnt reach the destitute area.

Could this be a larger plan to move the real estate and make clear ways for next major Army Base in Pakistan.

We all know that one particular army has a habit of never leaving a place it enters ? Could this be another move on behest of the invading forces ?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 3:47 #
  4. Shock

@NNL

I think this was done by SSP or LJ to destroy the peace, and harmony that begining to take root in the city.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 4:20 #
  5. toamin

You think or follow blindly what Rehman Malik says? Ask Rehman Malik that why SSP/LJ strong hubs remained peaceful?

Why they didn't target the areas known for shia/sunni tension like dera ismail khan, hangu, jhang..etc

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 4:57 #
  6. Shock

@Salam

This fact is not just limited to Rehman Malik. Pakistan or city of Karachi didn't come into existance after 9/11, which is where you like to start the history from. You are trying to argue with someone who has lived in midst of this violence in the 90s. As for the question, that you gotta ask these terrorist that why did they tareted Karachi instead of DIK, hangu, Jhan etc?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:11 #
  7. toamin

When we analyze a case and end up with a particular conclusion, I say rehman malik conclusion, then we also got to be open to questions that challenge the validity of claim.

If you are not willing to defend rehman malik claim, it is fine with me, but just repeating rehman malik statements doesn't convince people, got to be rational and open minded.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:24 #
  8. sasherwani

That was the last day I supported Mustafa Kamal. I have lost all respect and admiration I had for him.

Now to me all MQM workers are thugs, loots and frauds!

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:26 #
  9. toamin

They looted and burned over 6000 shops!

Was that something preplanned?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:32 #
  10. i am dead against Bhatta mafia .
    this is an obvious outcome of not paying Bhatta to a bhatta khur party .

bhatta khurs should be punished and their heads has to be cut as they have made many ppl unemployed and many families without their source of income.

Bhatta Parast Qiadaat nahin chalay gi...
    nahin chalay gi.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:45 #
  11. NNL

I dont blame Mustafa Kamal HE is a small fish in the pond.

I blame the Sindh ka Najaiz Beta for all of this. Wht heck was he doing. What were all the Rangers and Police were doing.

Shock you are seriously stupid to believe that SSP or LJ were even behind it ?

U seriously think that MQM and Sindhi Police would have allowed them into the City ?

Stupid thought isnt it ?

MQM is in Power Sindhis are in full power in all aspects of the Provincial and Federal Government and they allow this to happen

What a load dog crap!!

We all know about the proposal to shift the entire business hub from Denso hall to Super Highway and yet we dont see the reality infront of us.

We have a common criminal amongst its very easy to blame that criminal for every thing bad that happens in the city.

Karachites have been thru this **** in late 80s and early 90s where everything bad was done by Muhajirs and now we have a new scapegoat SSP/LJ/Taliban.

You would be really daft not to see the reality.

Dont for one min think that i m favoring Extremists in any way or form but i m telling you from experience that one culprit cant be blamed for everything bad that happens in the country.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:46 #
  12. netengr

Most of the shopkeepers in Bolton market belong to brelvi /Dawat-e-Islami , brelvi Ulema asking for inquiry and blaming terrorist .

اہل سنت جماعتوں کے رہنماؤں مفتی منیب الرحمان، شاہ تراب الحق قادری اور حاجی حنیف طیب نے منگل کو ایک مشترکہ پریس میں حکومت سے مطالبہ کیا ہے کہ خودکش بم حملے اور ہنگامہ آرائی کی تحقیقات کے لیے دو عدالتی کمیشن قائم کیے جائیں۔

ان رہنماؤں کا کہنا تھا کہ ہنگامہ آرائی کے تحقیقاتی کمیشن میں تاجروں اور پولیس حکام کو بھی شامل کیا جائے اور یہ کمیشن دو ہفتوں میں رپورٹ پیش کرے۔ مفتی منیب کا کہنا تھا کہ ہنگامہ آرائی کو صرف رد عمل قرار دیکر پردہ پوشی نہیں کی جاسکتی۔ انہوں ایک مرتبہ خودکش بم حملوں اور غیر شرعی قرار دیا۔

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:46 #
  13. NNL

TO THOSE BLAME MQM START FROM YOUR OWN PEOPLE THEN COME TO US FOR OUR CRIMINALS AND WE WILL GLADLY HAND THEM OVER TO YOU FOR PUNISHMENT.

Its not the Bhatta Parast

Dont blame the servants blame the ppl who are the Masters.

I know you hate Muhajirs to the core and wish they were wiped out from existence.

But dont forget it whatever is happening is a result of the Patrons from your original Province.

iTS A GENERAL POST APOLOGIES IF IT DOES SEEM PERSONAL.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:49 #
  14. toamin

Brother NNL,

No one hates Muhajir, people criticize political parties and MQM is one political party with bad track record.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:52 #
  15. NNL

To me
    the current MQM administration has just replaced the faces of previous servants and have joined in the ranks of separatists and administrators for dollars scheme.

I wish i could put all the heads of the Security Agencies and wipe out their families infront of them so that they know how it feels to loose a family.

I have lost relatives in that blast so dont give me know it all attitude.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:53 #
  16. NNL

NO SHIA OR SUNNI STARTS A FIRE IN THE AREA WHERE ALMOST ALL OF THEM WORK

ITS TRULY STUPID TO SUGGEST OTHERWISE.

THE WAY THE FIRE WAS ALLOWED TO BURN AND LET IT RIP IS AN EXAMPLE FOR US ALL THAT COME WHAT MAY YOUR ELECTED W-H0RE OF A REPRESENTATIVE IS NOTHING BUT A MERE W-HORE WHO WOULD SELL HIMSELF TO THE HIGHEST BIDDER.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:57 #
  17. kq

I agree with netengr, the area has a large number of Barelvis and Memons living there. Memon Masjid is nearby and most of the shopkeepers are Barelvi, but not all.

Most probably an attack by sectarian organization. And to those who think MQM runs Karachi like a Big Brother setup, you are wrong. There are many Madrassehs associated with SSP in the city, and many sectarian attacks have plagued the city over the years, also MQM workers are also killed from time to time, really it happens. But yes, they are responsible for the shoddy and pathetic response to the fire, they should done way better.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:58 #
  18. toamin

From Talat Hussain's program it appears that MQM people did all the looting and burning in Karachi.

A 30 billion rupee loss, while there were dead bodies and injured people on ground mqm thugs came in groups and started looting/burning...

shaytani drandey...

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 5:59 #
  19. NNL

Kq when was the last time you actually went to Memon Masjid ?

This wasnt a anti Bralvi reaction.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:00 #
  20. toamin

NNL your previous post is logical, no one can burn his own house.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:09 #
  21. Justapakistani

Well Mustafa Kamal said the footage are provided to the agencies
    http://ejang.jang.com.pk/12-30-2009/images/1426.gif
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=215945

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:10 #
  22. kq

NNL,

What has my going to Memon Masjid got to do with anything. Don't ask childish questions.

And do you really believe it is a plan to move real estate and establish an Army base there. Thats fantasy. Do you know Army has a big cantonment area in Saddar. Also, in Karachi they already have huge bases present in other areas like Malir. Army bases require large areas, the area affected by the fire can't accomodate an army base, be realistic.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:18 #
  23. toamin

dear kq you have said nothing but 'childish remark' all day today, (i mean terming every statement as childish)

i understand you like to close the case by terming it as just another sectarian violence with same old rhetorics

but this is not same case as others because of many dimensions as highlighted above

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:28 #
  24. kq

salam,

thats the first statement i have termed childish :) if that statement isn't childish, can you explain the logic and weightage behind it.

I have presented you facts, SSP and LEJ are not extinct organizations they are very much alive. If you donot want to believe it, your choice. Just give me one solid reason for thinking a militant extremist Deobandi organization is not behind this event, why couldnt they have done this.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:35 #
  25. it was all Bhutta khur party and its vicious activities .
    nothing to do with any particular sect or school of thought.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:37 #
  26. toamin

One reason is that there was total peace in traditional shia/sunni tense districts, i mean the districts that have deep rooted support for anti-sunni/anti-shia organizations.

Second reason is that in presence of tens of thousands of security how come all the burning & looting happened?

Third reason is that why is govt not saying it as just another old sectarian thing nothing new? Why are they trying to link everything with american war?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:38 #
  27. Red-Scorpion

@NNL

"""Shock you are seriously stupid to believe that SSP or LJ were even behind it ?

U seriously think that MQM and Sindhi Police would have allowed them into the City ?

Stupid thought isnt it ? """

>>>>

Buddy, how long have you been out of Karachi ?? :)))

SSP (now working as Ahl-e-Sunnat wal Jamaat اہل سنّت ولجماعت ) is now well-organised in Karachi and has been even holding rallies and public meetings for months.
    Their HQ in Karachi i.e. Jamia Siddique-e-Akbar at Nagan Chowrangi is active again !
    Nowadays you can find their posters regarding their 'shuhda' are posted all over Karachi !!!
    Interestingly their top leader i.e. Moulana Ahmed Ludhianvi is now being invited on TV talkshows :)))

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 6:59 #
  28. SSP is active in Karachi ,and fact makes MQM Not Guilty .
    great logic ...i am impressed .

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 8:21 #
  29. Justapakistani

@ Red-Scorpion , bhai kahan khaaib hoo ;) yar aap naay tu ban honay kaay dar saay post kar hi chor diyaa lolz
    SSP is active since long....it was late molvi azeem tariq who organized SSP in karachi. After the ban they just they changed name and now working with the same strength and popular in madaris. Also many so called jihadi group work for SSP.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 8:33 #
  30. toamin

the suicide guy from where, we don't know but what about the question below?

How can it be possible that RANGERS, POLICE and other authorities siege the area during ashura procession all ROADS and roof of BUILDINGs under law eforcement then some people came and fired the building and shops from light house to Bolton Martket area approximately 2 kilometer. 3000 shops under fire who is the responsible?

There is just so much plan in this targeted attack that old rhetorics sound stupid.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 8:41 #
  31. M.AKRAM KHAN NIAZI

While recent non-religious and ethnocentric rulers such as Musharaf and Zardari nor have any Ideology and neither have any courage to go in masses and are even unable to control the affairs of the Capital of Pakistan,Islamabad and the city of Rawalpindi where the General Head Quarter of Pakistan Army is located, because these rulers have chronically failed in proving their sincerity with Islam, Muslims and the people of Pakistan ,Which was proved on the day of Death of Benazir Bhutto,when workers and supporters of these non-religious leaders committed each and every crime against the innocent and peaceful citizens of Pakistan, both Musharaf who was in power at that time and Zardari who was the successor of Benazir chronically failed in protecting the assets and citizens from their violent supporters, therefore now how people of Pakistan can support and trust such selfish and deceptive leaders.
    Again on 28--12-09 after suicidal attack on Muharram Procession,so many damage to lives and property of people occured,and foolish excuses were made such as firbrigade were called from Hyderabad to extinguish fire whereas M.A.JINNAH road starts from the edge of sea of water and there was no shortage of water more over huge water pipe lines were present in that area but deliberately fire was not extinguished and excuse that there was straight firing therefore police and rangers were unable to control area,its mean police and rangers are just to control innocent people and not to control out laws,From all this it is clear that Pakistan is under the rule of those who are no committed to Pakistan and its people.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 8:43 #
  32. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

"""it was all Bhutta khur party and its vicious activities .
    nothing to do with any particular sect or school of thought. """

LOLzzzz
    So, you think first MQM sent a suicide bomber to blow himself up amongst participants of Muharram procession and then loot and burn markets mostly owned by MQM's staunch supporters ????
    Wow, what a pathetic and hilarious logic this is !!!

===========================================================

"""SSP is active in Karachi ,and fact makes MQM Not Guilty .
    great logic ...i am impressed . """

Dear Beena bibi, what proof you've got that terrorists of SSP or LJ are not behind attacks on Shias in Quetta, Dera Ismail Khan and Karachi ???
    Do you know who killed, Hassan Turabi ?
    A Burmi suicide bomber trained by a moulvi of SSP !
    SSP is an open ememy of Shias and Barelvi, and its activists also killed leader of Sunni Tehreek Saleem Qadri !

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 9:52 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Why do people vote for MQM if MQM's goons destroy their markets, their jobs ?

By voting for someone, people entrust others with 'their' 'personal' authority to rule, for the sole reason, that the ones entrusted with the job will DO! that job.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 10:11 #
  34. Red-Scorpion

Becoz they don't want to give their votes to hypocrite mullahs of JI or JUI !

BTW, tell me what proof you have that MQM is behind burning of markets on M A Jinnah Road ???
    What I understand MQM is fighting case for traders very well !

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 10:14 #
  35. Justapakistani

lolz Red-Scorpion ur come back with the bang ;) BTW during 1992 army operation other parties like JUI,JUP,JI had great opportunity to regain/gain the support but they lost the opportunity......or masses didn't give them a damn ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 10:51 #
  36. Red-Scorpion

37. toamin

Right, Rehman Malik started saying that within like 30 seconds of the event.

All roads lead to AFPAK mission.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 11:15 #
  38. Justapakistani

no no this carried out by blackwater ,raw,isreal ;) lolz
    abhi Mullah Omar naay aakar bhi responsibility accept ki tu khalifa/mullah group naay phir bhi nahi maanna ;)

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 11:15 #
  39. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

Just becoz Rehman Malik had held Taliban basta*ds responsible for Karachi blast, you are not going to believe that even if Taliban claiming responsibilit !!!
    Strange, very strange logic indeed !!!

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 11:17 #
  40. toamin

I am trying to see who took benefited by looting & arson activity and also how govt responses to this crime.

If govt pushes on with same AFPAK agenda that means they are going to do irrespective of claim or no claim.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 11:55 #
  41. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

"""I am trying to see who took benefit by looting & arson activity and also how govt responses to this crime.

If govt pushes on with same AFPAK agenda that means they are going to do irrespective of claim or no claim."""

You sound very much like Taliban Khan :)))
    Dude, tell us do you condemn killing of innocent people (which include six years old son of Geo's reporter Fahim Siddiqui ) by Taliban basta*ds, who have claimed responsibility ???

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 11:58 #
  42. @Redscorpion,
    its an established fact that MQM is a bhutta khur party .
    i have only written Bhatta Khur party ,and everybody including a die hard fan of MQM like u ...understands ,what party ,i was trying to mention.

they took bhutta from all the shop keepers all over the city .
    and the shop keepers who refuse to do so ,face the same fate .

poor traders are facing this problem ,since MQM has taken the terrorist route ...

and nobody is here to take care of their interests against MQM ....

i m not saying ,MQM did the blast ,but arson was definitely a Karnama of MQM .

previous record speaks for the truth .

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:14 #
  43. toamin

I also think that MQM organized the looting & arsoning activity that ended up with a 30 billion loss.

RS, I think you didn't study the thread well, else you would not have missed my earlier post.

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/over-10000-jobs-and-rs-30-bn-lost-in-karachi#post-105787

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:16 #
  44. Red-Scorpion

@Beena

What if I say the looters were in fact members of JI ?
    And it's an established fact that JI supports Taliban, who did the suicide bombing and JI terrorists looted and burnt shops of traders who are actually supporters of MQM !
    How can you deny my claim ?

BTW do you have a shop somewhere on M A Jinnah Road ?
    Did MQM guys used to come there and demanded 'bhatta' ???

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:20 #
  45. toamin

If Jamaat had any involvement, authorities would have no hesitation on pointing it out.

Both PPP/MQM are mum on who did it and why 20,000 security personal stood there as spectators.

Why are they not bringing out the CCTV footage in public?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:23 #
  46. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

I'm 100% sure that terrorists of Thunder Squad (JI) did the looting and then burnt the shops to teach traders who support MQM a lesson !

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:25 #
  47. toamin

Let's say Jamaat did then

Why did MQM/PPP govt let it happen?

How come armed gangs starting to come out withing 5-10 minutes of blast with sticks, hammers and arson equipment?

Who stopped the security personal to not shoot at those gangs?

How come MQM let Jamaat gangs organize in their strong hold areas?

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:27 #
  48. Red-Scorpion

@Salam

Actually there's a conspiracy being hatched by ISI+CIA+MI6+Mossad+RAW+Khad to defame MQM !!!!

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:32 #
  49. i have got a chance to know from the horse's mouth .
    one of the trader in Boltan Market who had a plastic material shop there ,is the relative of my office rider (dispatcher)and he told him that Govt was asking Boltan Market shop keepers to vacant the area and move outside the city as they have made Sabzi Mandi moved from Gulshan university road to Sohrab Goth .
    as Boltan market is the biggest wholesale market of Karachi ..
    it is spread on a great area ,in the heart of the metro city .
    Govt wanna take hold of the land for its own purposes and wanna shopkeepers to shift somewhere else .

shopkeepers and trader's association was not ready to do so and was refusing to move ,as they will lose all the business by moving far from the main city .

this was the whole purpose behind this arson.

according to shopkeeper MQM also use to take Bhuttas and he thinks ,MQM and PPP both are involved in arson adventure to make traders ,learn a lesson.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:32 #
  50. kq

Lets suppose that the bhatta khor MQM burned all the shops. Whats the result of their large scale arson, their are no more shops to take bhatta from, ab MQM ka dhanda kaisay chalay ga, bhattay ka zarya to unhon nay khudi jala diya, apnay paon par khudi kulhari mar li!

Do you guys think MQM is stupid, that they are dimwits. Well, the truth is they are not. I admit that they are bhattakhor, but to say that they cut the hand that feeds them is not rational. It is also their loss that shops got burned. They have other ways of dealing with people who don't give bhatta, burning markets is not one of them.

Posted 2 years ago on 30 Dec 2009 12:33 #