Pakistan’s new ally Russia.........East on the rise

(23 posts)
  1. Pakistan’s new ally Russia!

How the world changes. In the 80s, the US was allied; America fighting the USSR and Islamabad was instrumental in the implosion of the Soviet Union. The Kremlin admitted defeat and retreated from Afghanistan. The ingrates in Washington abandoned Pakistan and on the eve of the victory celebration sanctioned Pakistan for ephemeral faults and perceived crimes.

Today, the US-Pakistan relations are fraying, a victim of Gung-Ho Ramboism, and John Wayne imperialism that tramples on countries to achieve real or imaginary profits. President Zardari’s visit to Moscow is a seminal event. Kremlin has since de-hyphenated its relations with New Delhi and Islamabad. Moscow is no longer looking at Pakistan through Bharati eyes. It is looking at Pakistan through the glasses of self-interest.

Pakistan has now taken centre stage in Russia’s efforts to seek out new profits in the area. Mr. Zardari has met Russian President Dmitry Medvedev five times in the past three years. Catherine the Great would be proud of Prime Minister Putin for helping Moscow get access to the warm waters of the Arabian Sea.Pakistan in return will get links to the Central Asia states. Pretty profitable ventures for both countries.

While the US media obsesses over Abbottabad, Beijing and Moscow are looking at the strategic impact of the US withdrawal or lack thereof in Afghanistan.. There are several events that have taken place.

1.Pakistan’s role acting as Praetorian guard in defense of Bahrain, Kuwait, the UEA, and Saudi Arabia.
    2.The Pakistani-Chinese “Strategic Dialogue” that happened in April.
    3.The Chinese-Russian dialogue in Moscow. Chinese President Hu Jintao met his Russian counterpart Dmitry Medvedev Wednesday in the southern Chinese beach resort of Sanya and the two leaders agreed to further improve cooperation and safeguard common interests.
    4.The visit has been hailed as a ‘leap forward’ in Pakistan-Russia relations to promote greater understanding between the two countries.
    5.Shortly before the G20 London summit , China’s central bank governor announced that the dollar should be replaced by SDRs.
    6.The Shinghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) is successor of Shinghai Five created in 1996. Pakistan is on the brink of joining it.
    7.The “fizz” seems to have gone out of the US-Russia reset, and in this psot-Libya, post-OBL era, Moscow has been compelled into a reality check .
    8.China has prepared for years for the U.S. to leave.

In Sochi last August, Russia institutionalized a new organization with Pakistan, Afghanistan and Tajikistan. The four countries are building economic structures to undertake joint economic projects in power generation, transport infrastructure and coal, copper and gold mining. They are rebuilding a trade Silk Route from former Soviet Central Asia via Afghanistan to Pakistan. Tajikstan is exporting and Russia is fundng a road and rail network. Moscow is investing in energy, (oil, gas and hydropower) sectors of Afghanistan, Pakistan and Tajikistan.
    The US could have been part of the new bounties, but it has chosen to bank on drones and stealth choppers to achieve its objectives.

Pakistani President Zardari’s current official visit to Russia on May 11-14 will be the epitome of Moscow’s strategy of bringing Islamabad closer to Central Asia. One Russian scholar Vladimir Radyuhin writing for The Hindu says “Russian-Pakistani relations have recently acquired breathtaking dynamics.”

Russia has done astonishing things to develop relations with Pakistan. During the current visit of Mr. Zardari’s Pakistan and Russia will finalize the modernization of the Soviet built Pakistan Steel Mills in Karachi, the building of rail tracks from Dushambe to Islamabad, cooperation in the energy sectors and agriculture.

Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin announced the funding of the Turkmenistan-Afghanistan-Pakistan-India (TAPI) pipeline at the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) meeting in Dushanbe.
    Moscow has refused to join the U.S. in ostracizing Pakistan– is Afghanistan. A minor detail in this classic web of profits is the US withdrawal from Afghanistan–after a debilitating expense of $3 Trillion.

The quid-pro-quo is real and beneficial to both sides. Russia wants dialogue with the Talibs and get peace from Pakistan, just like China has made peace with Pakistan and has peace with the Ughyers. In return Moscow promises to support Pakistan’s bid to join the SCO–a Russo-Chinese club which includes all the Central Asia states. The mutual benefit continues in a virtuous circle. Russia gets access to warm waters.

Vladimir Radyuhin is “All the settings are there that the current summit may be a momentous event not only for Russian-Pakistani relations, but for the entire region.”
    http://rupeenews.com/?p=36738

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 18:03 #
  2. Abdul Rahman

SE Mirza, Brother, I respectfully beg to differ.

US/NATO and Russia are two faces of the same coin. On one side it is run by hard core Zionists and on another side same Zionists oligarchs.

1) Russia and West were on same side in World War II

2) Zionists divided the world into capitalist and communist camps for 60 years during cold war and fooled the world but essentially they were same.

3) Russia and West both occupied Afghanistan.

4) Both support Israel to the hilt. Russia was first country to recognize Israel

5) Karl Marx "happened" to be Jew.

6) They both agree that the only challenge to their hegemony is Islam.

7) They will join again as they did in World War II as situation warrants.

8) Russians from Czar to Stalin to Putin killed 30 million civilians and half of them were definitely Muslims.

9) Russia colonized Muslim Republics and those areas are facing environmental catastrophe due to forced collectivization and pogrums.

10) After milking the resources and virtually destroying the infrastructure, Russia finally gave "independance" to those republics making sure that the former communist apparatchiks subservient to Moscow are firmly entrenched in power.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 18:27 #
  3. Well this is what appears to be on the horizon or might well be happening today!

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 18:29 #
  4. Anwer Kamal

ڈوبتے کو تنکے کا سہارا

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 18:42 #
  5. You are free to post your thoughts.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 18:46 #
  6. Anwer Kamal

This is just a hope ,nothing more.
    We need much wiser review of our policies.
    First we have to get rid from Zia and Mush.
    Their remaining are still working against us.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 19:05 #
  7. The article is not just a piece of fantasy. It is geopolitics in the form they have taken on in the second decade of the 21st century.

AR, I really do not understand you. Russia killed so many Muslims you say or colonised so many Muslim areas. Did the West do anything different? And yet, and yet - no condemnation of the west in the same harsh terms, terms they would really deserve. Whyever not?

Also, I take the liberty of pointing out that Russia never fought alongside the west in WWII. Rather, in spite of the Hitler-Stalin mutual non-agression pact of August 1939, the German army attacked the Soviet Union in June 1941. It was only after this that the Soviet army fought back and met up with the west forces in Germany in April 1945.

To cut a long story short, Russia is no friend of the US. Closer ties with Pakistan would further the interests of both countries. And finally when membership in the SCO is obtained, both Russia and Pakistan would benefit greatly.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 20:18 #
  8. Abdul Rahman

MG, Brother , You are misquoting me . Right now West is doing genocide under the false pretext of WMD, War on terror etc. Russia is currently doing the same albeit on a smaller scale. Russia and West are both "colonial" powers and continue to behave the same way as they did hundred years back. We cannot trust anyone anymore. Do you think Russia, China or West is same as Najashi of Abyssynia where Prophet SAS sent Sahaba RA who were under persecution? Let us be frank. We need to be self sufficient in all respect.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 20:31 #
  9. bsobaid

You have to find areas where your presumed enemy can be beneficial to you, just like India and China did.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 20:37 #
  10. hypocrite

Abdual Rahman sahib

And what would you call the Mughals or Sultan Mahmood Ghaznavi or Umayyad conquest of Spain or invasions by Ottoman Empire.

Or for that matter the invasions of Romans or that of Mongols or that of Tamerlane and many others.

History is fully of invasions by all major powers when they were at their peak.

Fortunately the powers never remain on peak for ever.

Unfortuantely, human beings suffer all the time.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 20:59 #
  11. Abdul Rahman

HP,

You cannot compare Muslim conquerors with West with exception of Mongols under Halaku Khan who were new converts to Islam when they oblierated Baghdad and were following their tribal laws and not Shariah. Later on they adopted Sharia that resulted in the Ottoman Empire. As a matter of fact the golden age of Spain happened when it was under Islamic Caliphate.

Muslims tried their best to assimilate with locals where ever they went. They never conducted genocide like the Europeans did in three continents-North And South America and Australia where they wiped out and exterminated the native populations of Red Indians and Aborogines. In India the Muslims ruled for 1000 years and tolerated and lived in harmony with locals although teh biased historians try to malign their name. India is still 80% majority Hindus due to tolerance of Muslim rulers.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 21:30 #
  12. Sorry, AR, if I misquoted you. That was not quite my purpose. I'm not denying the colonial power status of Russia or, rather, what I'd call the ex-colonial power status of that country. Because, in their eyes, the Caucasus does belong to Russia and the Muslims in the country are considered Russian Muslims. Also, something you have always tended to deny if memory serves aright, they are CIA-Saudi funded just as the so-called Libyan rebels are, CIA-funded, I mean, about the Saudis in that context I don't know.

If you remember, I also once pointed out to you that by some accounts, the first country to turn Muslim on the European continent, demographically speaking, would be Russia (the second probably France). Russia, the biggest country in the world, has an overall population of only 190 million people. So for all these reasons as well, it is only right for Pakistan to establish as good relations as possible with the government and people of Russia.

I wholly agree with you about the past of the Muslim empire. In many ways, Muslim leaders were exemplary in their behaviour towards the people they conquered. As for self-sufficiency, I absolutely share your view. Self-sufficiency above all for Pakistan is what we need. But at this precise point in time, it is unfortunately impossible. Hence the importance on our throwing off US domination and seeking allies elsewhere until such time as we can stand on our own two feet again. China and Russia are eminently suited to being just such allies for us now.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 22:20 #
  13. Abdul Rahman

MG, Please let me correct your statement that Russia, the biggest country in the world, has an overall population of only 190 million people.

Russian Federation is 17,000,000 square kilometers area. Compare this to Pakistan 796,096 Square Kilometers. Russia has 140 million population and is fast declining. It is under grip of demographic catstrophe. They will loose 20 million every ten years. I don't want to discuss the reasons here.

http://www.cdi.org/russia/johnson/russia-population-demographic-crisis-688.cfm

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 22:31 #
  14. Thanks for correction, then, AR. It seems to bear out the point I was trying to make. For the first time ever, I feel somewhat grateful to the President of Pakistan for having taken steps to improve our relations with Russia.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 22:44 #
  15. hypocrite

Abdual Rahman sahib

Thanks.

I didnt singled out invasions by muslims only. I was talking in general that in history many powers have invaded other nations at various times and the cycle keeps on repeating while the power keeps on changing hands. These invasions have resulted in overall massive killings of human beings.

An invasion is invasion and a conqueror is conqueror.

Justification of kindness and blame of atrocities are just like head and tail of the same coin. Depending on which history books I read, I get different versions of atrocities or kind acts of the conquerors.

Posted 1 year ago on 25 May 2011 23:02 #
  16. kiya humein US asaani se kahain aur janay day ga?

hum ghundo kay chungle mein hain.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 11:02 #
  17. Choosy, lovely that you're back! Ghunda or no ghunda, if we are determined, the US will have to let us go. They can't take on China and Russia at the same time.

Let me draw everyone's attention to what Russian FM Sergei Lavrov has openly hinted at recently. On June 15, the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO) will be holding their next meeting in Astana. On that occasion, there are excellent chances that both Pakistan and India, so far with only observer status, will now be granted full membership. The new country to gain observer status there will now be no doubt Afghanistan! SCO is also a military alliance and a strong opponent of NATO. The geopolitics of the world are changing even as we blink. So, yes, with such backing, Pakistan can quite easily escape from the clutches of the United States.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 11:32 #
  18. @Mirza Ghalib,
    thanks for your warm welcome.
    i was at a Khuffia mission.:):):)

Allah China ko toufeeq aur bardashat daye kay wohh hum se dosti nibhata jaye. Ameen.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 11:38 #
  19. Thanks choosy and my Ameen to your prayer as well. We Pakistanis are not really easy people to get on with.

As for kuffia missions, stay away from them, for heaven's sake. Very dangerous things those.

Go rather and post some super song for Musician on S-o-N instead. I'm sure he'd be delighted.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 12:05 #
  20. @Mirza Ghalib,
    he he he
    aap tou darr gaye.
    kiya mein aap ko aisa waisa nazar aata hoon?
    khuffia mission kisi ki chupkay se madad ka bhi tou ho sakta hay aisay kay jiski madad ki jaye ussay pata na chalay aur usskki izzat e nafas majrohh na ho.

anyways, mein zaror koi naghma post karon ga Musician kay liye.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 12:09 #
  21. Sorry, dear choosy. It's just the word alone which makes our blood turn these days. There have been so many of these "kuffia" missions these past few weeks. They all ended badly for us. I'm glad yours was one of those in which the right hand must not tell the left what it is doing.

Thanks for S-o-N. We had some good times there in the past, I still remember.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 12:44 #
  22. he he he
    no need of sorry ,maybe my word selection was not apt.
    anyways, would love to see Pakistan getting friendly with some one else other than US.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 12:57 #
  23. You and me both, choosy, you and me both. And the rest of PKP no doubt as well. We've all grown extremely tired of US demands and threats. It's the new game they have taken to playing.

Posted 1 year ago on 26 May 2011 19:46 #