As we all know most Pakistani social institute are under huge strains, our governement neither have resolve nore resources to address problems facing our society. That's why I think it is of paramount importance that Pakistani people take their social responsbility very seriously and build social fibre by running schools, hospitals and roads on self help basis. I know this task isn't simple nore most Pakistanis have the power and understanding of social change, but we have to start from somewhere. In Potohar region SIKHS(prepartition times) successfully raised KHALSA EDUCATION movement under the leadership of master Tara Singh. This movement changed SIKHS lives for the better.
Pakistan and social change
(41 posts)-
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 17:50 #
Potohari,
An excellent thread. Thank you for starting this.
It is high time that we rely ON OUR OWN. If we wait for our politicians we shall not get anything. Although their accountability must be there. But we should take many things in our own hands. You have mentioned about the education. Yes it is of the paramount importance. I agree with you 100% that we should help ourselves in this. There are a few organisations that are already working in Pakistan. See if you can start in your own area. Let's start this movement. Again I would repeat our politiicians can give us frustration only. If we educate our people:
1. They would know their rights.
2. They would know who is usurping their rights.
3. They would then take it by force from the rulers.I am fully for it.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 18:19 # -
Dear both of you the idea cum thought is good but i suggest do not rely on organizations & try to run ur campaing by urself & make it sure to read the consitution of 1973 atleast once thorougly so that it becomes clear to let others know about their rights. Hope you both can do it at ur own atleast. Change shud appear in ones self 1st then we will be able to guide others. i am doing the same already ......if u need any help/support/knowledge/tool i am available.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 18:39 # -
I agree tamza2k that even organisations may not be a good idea. If we have to change we have to take matters (at least like these) in our own hands.
We (the whole awam) would be able to know that our rights are written in constitution when we are educated.
Education is first!
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 18:46 # -
Dear Shriq again i will differ .......its not the matter of education only the issue is awareness among the masses rearding their basic rights, accountabilites, laws, rules & regualtions, court procudures etc. every thing is written but the only thing missing is our non awareness for actions. I can suggests thousand of orgnaizations working on social issue but but ..........most of the orgnaization are taking a safe way for the fulfilment of their confidential mission by the JEWS. My stance is we should not involve external soruces for running movements/campaings in our country.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 19:42 # -
Ok I think it is education that is the way to know our rights.
What is your opinion, how masses would know their rights?
How will they know what is written in 1973 constitution for them?
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 19:45 # -
hmmm,..........good question or may be a comment..well so far as my knowledge is concerned there are different ways to let the masses know about their rights. If possible we can divide the masses in sections in a way as to which one is most suffering & can be target quickly, which one has already known about the basic but simply needs to be shaken. There are thousands of ways if we gonna starting then ways will open by itslef. Even we can start it right now right here. I think instead of wasting enegrgies with few irrational person we can join our heads for social issues. I had started few thread on the same forum earlier....one way is to utilize the dramas/movies/films based on social issue.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 19:54 # -
tamza2k,
I repect your opinion. When I was in Japan a few years ago, we were given lectures on Japanese history, economy, culture etc.
In one of the lectures on economic development, it was told that after the world war II (as every one knows) Japan was devastated economically. Then:
1. Government decided to give the loans to industrialist.
2. From where the money would come. The people.
3. They asked the people to save,
4. the general public started to save,
5. banks got money,
6. banks gave loans to industrialist,
7. they set up industries
and within 25 years of the world war II Japanese shocked the world with their development.My question to lecturer was how you conveyed the message to all public to save.
The answer was: "Japan was educated my dear".
I would not go in details. But to convey a social message to public, which they would understand and act, they need to be educated first.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 20:08 # -
Japan had 100% literacy rate at the end of 19th century.
Posted 2 years ago on 08 Oct 2009 20:09 # -
tamza:
would it be possible to converse by gmail chat or email?
would like to bounce ideas off you, if you agree.
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 9:52 # -
Good to have you around sister Oriel
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 9:53 # -
thanks, good to be around bro!
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 9:57 # -
no social change at community or society level can take plus ..until or unless we decide to change ourselves ndivisually first .
u must have heard :
Be the change ,u wanna see in the world.Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 10:03 # -
I like the social change in Potohari. He used to write abt bombing houses with drones and now he's started talking sense. nice change, good start!
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:22 # -
u're on a roll today msohail! lol
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:25 # -
I think his trip to Pakistan had a positive impact. Keep visiting :-)
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Oct 2009 13:28 # -
Without quality education we stand no where. We will be driven back to stone age. Its about time that we change our mind sets and instead of spending on futile things like basant etc. we should save our money and contribute towards education.
Industrialists, business tycoons, land owners who are financially very strong could be the torch bearers for upgradation and extention of education in the country.Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 6:28 # -
The term change is very attractive and thats why used by Obama in his election compaign as well by what exactly do we mean by change and what to change and how, needs a bit detail answers...
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 6:56 # -
Dear all,
I would recomend you all to please go through the link for social change;
http://hamzatzortzis.com/IsIslamsSocialModelASolution.pdf
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 7:17 # -
@Revivalist
App aur app ki jamaat Jitna Zikr-r-Amreeka kertay ho itna ager Zikr-e-Ilahi ker lain tou app ki dunya aur akhrat sanwer jain
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 7:20 # -
netengr,
Please stick to the topic!!! If you have nothing to contribute be silent and read what other people write, friendly advice!!!!
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 7:27 # -
Khilafat
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 7:30 # -
Mods,
Why did u remove my post from here??????
Posted 2 years ago on 11 Oct 2009 18:27 # -
I will agree with one point that awarness is important but you have to think of educating the masses as your aim.
In order to proceed for a change, one has to have a Blue Print of your proposed plan...the resources and the net result u wanna see at the end... I am sure that despite being highly educated, most of us don't know about our human rights as per constitution of Pakistan so it will be a futile effort to expect the same from an illiterate. Its a long discussion and Inshallah, I will contribute later.
Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 0:12 # -
@WajahatKhan
Very well said, quality education can bring lot of positive changes in Pakistan...added it can come from home schooling, madarasas english or urdu medium education...Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 1:57 # -
Start Small ... Think big
I was wondering if we through this forum
Step - 1: can choose smaller towns in four provinces of Pakistan.
Step - 2: Collect thr data and propose/develop projects catering the needs of Education, health and employment of Local population
Step -3: Run fund-raising campaign and try to execute those projects.
And repeat this exercise!
Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 5:24 # -
social change can not be bring in a day or two.
it requires plannings,sincerity and lots of patience .Posted 2 years ago on 12 Oct 2009 6:04 # -
Is any one ready to work on it in real or we are "Just Talking" like our leaders too!
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 17:29 # -
Wats ur suggestion khan_sahib?
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 17:31 # -
we need couple of people from atleast 2 cities/villages or towns to begin with who can gather some data (That we can agree on by suggestion....) then lets plan an end product/Aim and work towards it.... Before I go into doing some written work, we need to know, how many of us are on board... When I went with group of Doctors and Nurses to help IDP's in Pakistan, only "One" person from this forum actually helped me.. SO I am not that optimistic about this BIG talk by most of our friends here....
Lets start with show of hands!Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 17:51 # -
People in Pakistan may heed to what you have to say.
Tell us we outside our country can contribute anything??
I am all ears!!
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 17:57 # -
I will come back with some suggestion soon.. Meanwhile, I would like tamza2k to take this discussion further. I believe She is already working on this!
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 20:24 # -
wowww,..............Doctor khan u really rocked me, i am glad enogh that i can't explain in words. Letme offer my services & i am afraid i wont be able to use net for the next coming days till 26 or 27th of this month as i am going to Balakot for some work. letme know if how can i help you???
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 20:38 # -
I have an idea....i already worked with a project in Balakot from so many areas in NWFP its not a problem for me to get data & start working; really it will be an assest to wrok for my country men. I am leaving for Balakot on 15th of this month for a sudy/report & i will try my best to get some data, if i cant then i am sure i can get it right here from Peshawar. From Swat i can bring facts & data too....pata nashta how can i explain kha za tasoo daira khushala cum even my finger are not with me coz of happiness.
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 20:43 # -
Let me send u an email..
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 20:46 # -
okay i am waiting.
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Oct 2009 20:47 # -
Dr. Khan & Oriel,
I am back to my station now & can discuss with you my findings.
Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 12:50 # -
Please do sis!! Glad you're back.
Do post here if you wish, also I am available on imaan33@gmail.com as I can't frequent pakpol daily.
Posted 2 years ago on 27 Oct 2009 13:45 # -
social chnage latay latay group bana liya aur apas mein batein kernay lagay?///
thats why we always ONLY talk about social change .
but never act like that.Posted 2 years ago on 28 Oct 2009 7:17 # -
Oriel & Dr.Khan,
I have in mind to arrange an experimental one day medical camp in a village in Balakot ( most affected by the earthquake). we can arrange in Swat too but at this stage its a risky & more more tough job for me to identify which area in Swat should we arrange due to securtity problems. I have both of you email adresses, will send the complete details to share & further discuss the idea( originally it was given to me by Khan Sahib).I can arrange free accomadation & food for doctors in Balakot. Letme know your consents.
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Nov 2009 2:38 # -
Ok Tamza.
Khan Sahib is seasoned with such works, so will be able to give you much practical guidance as to the logistics of this med. camp idea.
Please email the details. I will help in every capacity I can.
Posted 2 years ago on 09 Nov 2009 16:12 #