Pakistan Carts Its Nukes Around In Delivery Vans

(18 posts)
  1. Pakistan Carts Its Nukes Around In Delivery Vans
    By Spencer Ackerman November 4, 2011

Pakistan is taking nuclear paranoia to a horrifying new low. And it’s making the world a vastly more dangerous place in the process.

Freaked out about the insecurity of its nuclear arsenal, the Pakistani military’s Strategic Plans Division has begun carting the nukes around in clandestine ways. That might make some sense on the surface: no military wants to let others know exactly where its most powerful weapons are at any given moment. But Pakistan is going to an extreme.

The nukes travel “in civilian-style vehicles without noticeable defenses, in the regular flow of traffic,” according to a blockbuster story on the U.S.-Pakistan relationship in The Atlantic. Marc Ambinder and Jeffrey Goldberg write that tactical nuclear weapons travel down the streets in “vans with a modest security profile.” Somewhere on a highway around, say, Karachi, is the world’s most dangerous 1-800-FLOWERS truck.

Tom Clancy should be suing Pakistani generals for ripping off the basic idea behind The Sum Of All Fears. You’ll recall that Pakistan is home to al-Qaida, a particularly fearsome version of the Taliban, the leadership of the old-school Taliban, its friends in the Haqqani Network and a host of anti-Indian terrorist groups that the Pakistani intelligence service employ as proxies. Sometimes the Pakistani military helps these terrorist and insurgent groups attack U.S. troops in Afghanistan. And any one of these groups would love a chance to wield a nuclear weapon.

Except that Pakistan isn’t trying to safeguard its nukes from them. It’s trying to safeguard its nukes from us. The Navy SEAL raid in Abbottabad that killed Osama bin Laden has made important Pakistani generals think that the U.S. military’s next target is Pakistani nukes. So off the vans go, along what Ambinder and Goldberg term “congested and dangerous roads,” trying to throw off the scent of the U.S., with little more than hope to protect them from an adventurous highwayman.

The irony is that the U.S. isn’t planning to steal Pakistan’s nukes — but Pakistan’s cavalier attitude toward nuclear security is making the U.S. think twice about whether it should revise some worst-case-scenario contingency planning.

Should any of the nukes go missing, an “Abbottabad redux” would likely occur, Ambinder and Goldberg report. An anonymous military official tells the pair that the Joint Special Operations Command “has units and aircraft and parachutes on alert in the region for nuclear issues, and regularly inserts units and equipment for prep.” Seizing Pakistani nukes during or after a military coup is a much harder mission, but the reporters consider it doable. “[I]t’s wise for the U.S. to try to design a plan for seizing Pakistan’s nuclear weapons in a low-risk manner,” Goldberg and Ambinder advise, placing a lot of rhetorical freight on the words “low-risk.”

That is, if the U.S. actually knows where the nukes are. “Anyone who tells you that they know where all of Pakistan’s nukes are is lying to you,” ex-national security adviser Jim Jones allegedly said. The Econolines of Doom make that knowledge even more uncertain

Read more

http://www.wired.com/dangerroom/2011/11/pakistan-nukes-delivery-vans/

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 9:24 #
  2. I post this in the perhaps vain hope that some of you at least will finally wake up to the dangerous fact that the Mainstream Media is one of the more potent of the weapons in the hands of the enemy.

Not one line above, according to me, has anything whatsoever to do with reality on the ground. It is a piece of racialism pure and simple: How on earth should people like the Pakistanis know how to handle such a complex thing as a nuclear weapon is the meaning behind it, the conclusion being. the west, US leading, must absolutely save the planet by getting hold of these "travelling" nukes.

So please to treat the above as a piece of fiction pure and simple. And not specially good fiction at that.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 9:29 #
  3. sochopakistani

I think we should call an APC for this furious act of western media. We must pass few resolutions. we must go home. we must not do any thing.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 10:13 #
  4. scandinavian

Worst kind of propaganda. The West at its best by ridiculing others. We have not done well and have been demonstrating stupidity, but we are NOT that dumb.

Btw: I am afraid the above article is not for thinking people. The audience is our own baboo class and especially the westerners who believe in their own media being free, independent and honest.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 13:36 #
  5. Oxymorons galore:

Free West Media

Independent West Media

Honest West Media.

Pakistani media is a shining light compared to the murky stuff west media deals in.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 13:43 #
  6. osakaboy

First let me laugh for one hour on this article.I will comment further shortly.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 14:40 #
  7. scandinavian

I don't think we can change the nefarious agenda of such "journalists", but I think a comment should be left on the above website. Then the journalist and above all the readers will know what kind of cr@p has been writen.

Posted 6 months ago on 05 Nov 2011 15:18 #
  8. junaid

hilarious propaganda.

Posted 6 months ago on 06 Nov 2011 0:15 #
  9. Hilarious, true enough. But dangerous at the same time. Many of our fellow Pakistanis would be only too liable to believe in it without too many questions.

Scandinavian, you offered an excellent suggestion above. I mulled it over. But finally I gave up. I'm too tired to argue with anyone now. Not with the crazy Westerners, nor with some of our own blinded dual nationalities.

Posted 6 months ago on 06 Nov 2011 7:09 #
  10. Mirza Sahab,
    Nuclear munitions are certainly not a green grocer's stuff that could be carted around and about! Truly hilarious propaganda. By all means anti Pakistan propagandists should be shown the mirror reflecting their evil faces to them.

But would they learn? NO, and they have never learnt since the expiditions (occupations)started by columbus and others. Why should they? Cuz they are not supposed to go against their set goals.

Now that their tactics/applied tools have changed but the mindset remains same set for further occupations under false pretexts with Pakistan as their ultimate target as fow NOW after when they are done with Iraq, Afghanistan, Sudan, and Libya.

Pakistan (from the new world) will be the last fort to fall thus fulfilling the ultimate agenda behind initiating holy wars, the 'Crusades'.

Posted 6 months ago on 06 Nov 2011 10:36 #
  11. Mirza Sahib, did you miss out on Iran on purpose or don't you believe they mean it to be one of the west's targets as well?

As regards Pakistan, of course it's high up on the agenda. But I doubt that the biggest Muslim country, apart from Indonesia, with the best trained and equipped army can ever be openly attacked by the enemy.

Posted 6 months ago on 06 Nov 2011 14:19 #
  12. Pakistan rejects report of unsafe nukes

AFP – 6.11.11

Pakistan on Sunday angrily rejected a report that it had been moving its nuclear weapons in unsafe conditions, saying nobody should underestimate its capability to defend itself.

Two US magazines reported Friday that Pakistan has begun moving its nuclear weapons in low-security vans on congested roads to hide them from US spy agencies, making the weapons more vulnerable to theft by Islamist militants.

The Atlantic and the National Journal, in a joint report citing unnamed sources, wrote that the US raid that killed Al-Qaeda chief Osama bin Laden in May at his Pakistani compound reinforced Islamabad's longstanding fears that Washington could try to dismantle the country's nuclear arsenal.

But in a statement, Pakistan's foreign ministry said the report was "pure fiction, baseless and motivated. It is part of a deliberate propaganda campaign meant to mislead opinion."

Pakistan has consistently rejected concerns over the safety of its nuclear arsenal and alluded to a smear campaign.

"The surfacing of such campaigns is not something new. It is orchestrated by quarters that are inimical to Pakistan," said the statement.

The ministry said Pakistan was capable of defending itself.

"No one should underestimate Pakistan?s will and capability to defend its sovereignty, territorial integrity and national interests."

After the bin Laden raid, the head of the Strategic Plans Divisions (SPD), which is charged with safeguarding Pakistan's atomic weapons, was ordered to take action to keep the location of nuclear weapons and components hidden from the United States, the report said.

Khalid Kidwai, the retired general who leads the SPD, expanded his agency's efforts to disperse components and sensitive materials to different facilities, it said.

But instead of transporting the nuclear parts in armoured, well-defended convoys, the atomic bombs "capable of destroying entire cities are transported in delivery vans on congested and dangerous roads," according to the report.

The pace of the dispersal movements has increased, raising concerns at the Pentagon, it said.

The article, based on dozens of interviews, said the US military has long had a contingency plan in place to disable Pakistan's nuclear weapons in the event of a coup or other worst-case scenario.

http://news.yahoo.com/pakistan-rejects-report-unsafe-nukes-215146554.html

Posted 6 months ago on 07 Nov 2011 8:28 #
  13. scandinavian

@MG sb.

" I'm too tired to argue with anyone now. Not with the crazy Westerners, nor with some of our own blinded dual nationalities."

I understand your point of view, but it was not meant as a matter about arguing with westerners. It is a matter of airing a view about the ridiculous article.

I think it's appropriate just to write a single logical message. Those who want to understand will get the message and those who don't want to understand they will not get it - not even after a lengthy debate.

Posted 6 months ago on 07 Nov 2011 9:20 #
  14. aftab arif

Shireen M Mazari

The Atlantic and the National Journal last week published a story on Pakistan’s nuclear weapons with the title “The Ally from Hell” and proceeded to create the usual scare about our weapons safety and the jihadists waiting to grab these national assets - or even a worse nightmare for the US, the military turning into a jihadist combine controlling these weapons.

Of course there is nothing new in these assertions which emanate from the US periodically - especially in times of worsening relations with Pakistan. One knows only too well the link between the US media and the US state and it is not a point on which more proof is needed. The present story’s timing again coincides with the Pakistan military seeking to delink from the US on certain policy issues as well as President Zardari’s now notorious memo asking the US to save him in power from the Pakistan military in return for total subjugation alongside the destruction of Pakistan’s military intelligence especially the ISI - the permanent bete noir of the Yanks despite the excessive cooperation ISI has been meting out to the US military!

One needs to look at the absurdity of some of the more “serious” and certainly wilder allegations contained in the article. After checking up carefully I discovered that neither the authors nor any other stringer linked to the relevant publications actually talked to or interviewed anyone in SPD or GHQ. Yet a reference is made to General Kayani in the article almost as if the authors witnessed him calling General Kidwai after the Abbottabad incident! This is just one of the many imaginary flights of fancy the article contains.

There is the usual mantra of how the world is anxious about the security of Pakistan’s nuclear weapons and, according to the authors, with good reason because Pakistan is “the epicentre of global jihadism” - of course who fanned it in the aftermath of the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan is not mentioned - and foremost supplier of nuclear technology to Iran and North Korea! It is ironic that Pakistan is consistently being accused of supplying North Korea with uranium enrichment technology even though the Korean nuclear programme was plutonium based! As for Iran, it continues to assert that it is seeking peaceful nuclear energy and remains interacting with the IAEA despite the new IAEA chief’s submission to US diktat.

Of course at the end of the day Pakistan broke no international commitments in the alleged supply of nuclear technological information to other countries especially since our programme was also a clandestine one at that time. Again the issue of who is supplying dual use technology to India right now against its NPT commitments and who are the Western states who helped build Israel’s clandestine nuclear programme is something that none of the so-called investigative journalists from the West, especially the US, ever want to discuss in the context of nuclear proliferation.

As for the security of a country’s nuclear arsenal, the US journalists really should examine their own country’s dismal record with planes taking off with live nukes and no one knowing how it happened and where they went! Again, nuclear accidents like Three Mile Island have also happened on US territory. So it would appear if anyone is going to steal nukes the US sites may be the most vulnerable!

The authors also write as if they are privy to information that so far the US government itself does not have - that “these weapons are stored on bases and in facilities spread across the country (possibly including one within several miles of Abbottabad...).” Interesting how they have information that foreign governments do not have despite the US trying for years to gain definitive locations of our nukes!

Then comes the real clincher - what is really eating up the US and Israel: that Pakistan, as the authors point out, “is the only Muslim-majority state, out of the 50 or so in the world, to have successfully developed nuclear weapons”.

Then we have the usual accusations of how the Pakistan military and security services are totally infiltrated by jihadis and their sympathizers - of course this must be a conclusion drawn from the US experience where the US military and administration are totally infiltrated by Zionists and their sympathizers and at present that goes right to the top to President Obama himself.

The icing on the cake is the cited assertion by Graham Allison. His assertions in this article are more amusing than rational. His first assertion that terrorists would steal a nuke and take it to New York makes no sense unless the nuke is stolen from a US site since no terrorist can carry a radioactive weapon through the various security checks and arrive safely carting the weapon to New York. Figure it out! His second assertion is equally mind boggling - that a jihadi group would transfer a nuclear weapon to Iran. Why? Iran has no delivery systems to target the US! Also the jihadi groups being talked about are diehard anti-Shia so why would they give this nuke “gift” to Iran and why would Iran want to deal with such people? There is no evidence for any of these assertions. Allison’s third assertion plays on the instability of the Pakistani state that is the present US mantra - that a militant group would takeover nuclear weapons during “a period of instability or splintering of the state.” Well Allison better tell the US not to attempt such a move in Pakistan; but on a more serious note the fact of the matter is that so far our nukes are more secure than US nukes and militants have enough lethality in terms of conventional weapons as has sadly been shown.

The authors do assert that Pakistan’s weapons are de-mated which seems to reassure them so one would not like to educate them on this issue. But the most hilarious assertion is the claim that Pakistan has begun moving its nukes in “low-security vans on congested roads to hide them from US spy agencies”! Given how the US does not know where the weapons are located, why would we move them in low-security vans and to where?

The whole article, based on conjecture and wild assertions, is meant to target Pakistan and its nuclear assets and is part of a long-term US strategy on this count. The background of the authors is also interesting. Jeffrey Goldberg served in the Israeli Defence Forces and was a prison guard during the First Intifada - so one does not have to imagine too much to understand where he is coming from.

As for Marc Ambinder, the White House correspondent for the National Journal, he has had a psychological battle against obesity and his wife works for the Boston Consulting Group which includes amongst its current and former employees Israel’s extreme right wing leader Benjamin Netanyahu! I rest my case of the US being our “ally from hell”.

http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=10186&Cat=13

Posted 6 months ago on 11 Nov 2011 18:03 #
  15. Bravo, Shireen Mazari! Very well done, indeed. You'll make an excellent FM when the time comes.

And thank you, aftab, for posting this eye-opening piece.

One last thing: I don't know why we all meekly accept the fact that we really are "the epicentre of global jihadism", whatever that might be. I personally wholly contest such a statement. This whole business of "jihadism" is west-made. Look at Libya, look at Syria. Does one need to say more?

Posted 6 months ago on 12 Nov 2011 8:54 #
  16. SufiSoul

YAR hum khoty pe rakh ker mobile nukes launch karain ya F-16 se.Ye hamara masala hy.kisi aur ko kia laina daina..
    I mean MOBILE KHOTA NUCLEAR BOMB will always be ready on the borders.
    Khota sleeps while standing and dont need take rest in the bed and have change sides during sleeping.
    So nuclear war heads are easy to launch from KHOTA back.
    Americans should mind their own business and try to invite Mulla Umer at a dinner as ASAP....

Posted 6 months ago on 12 Nov 2011 9:12 #
  17. aftab arif

@ SufiSoul

Brother i agree with you but the reason they are worried is because our leaders scare them about the Taliban taking over.

Posted 6 months ago on 12 Nov 2011 9:43 #
  18. aftab arif

Moeed Pirzada discusses the Atlantic Magazine's story, "Ally from Hell" on Pakistani Nukes with Ejaz Haider, Dr. Maria Sultan, Prof. Riffat Hussain & Prof. Zafar Jaspal

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=MZt4TjUdWJo#!

Posted 6 months ago on 12 Nov 2011 23:33 #