PKPolitics Discuss » Sports BAR

Pakistan vs. Sri Lanka

(57 posts)
  1. sasherwani

A thread to detox ourselves from the constant PTI vs. PMLN and MQM vs Mirza threads. Nothing really comes out of those threads but I guess they will continue till we find a new issue to fight among ourselves :)

So guys Junaid Khan! Is he gonna replace Mo Aamer? Pakistan's doing quite well with 115/0 in the first test match against SL.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:20 #
  2. insaftak

Not really.

Junaid really will have to work hard to even come close to amir. amir was younger, quicker and much more talented than junaid.

Glad to see Professor doing well for pakistan again.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:30 #
  3. scandinavian

First of all I think the Pakistan team has done tremendously well in spite of having a corrupt leadership=PCB....Sorry Sasherwani, and all kind of other controversies like spot fixing etc. I doubt we can fight over this ;)

Despite of all kind of pressures and uncertainties they have performed once again, and this time I am really surprised that they have put so much pressure on a SL team. Remember that the SL team has just been through a tough series against the Aussies and in spite of that and in spite of almost dead track our fast bowlers - especially Junaid Khan - has done very well.

I have been following Junaid in the English T-20 tournament. Also here he did very well and time and again the county turned to him for bowling at the death, so - yes he is a very good and talented bowler and I expect him to develop further (He is still very young). Whether he can fill the shoes of Aamir is till to be seen. he must perform consistently to prove that.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:34 #
  4. scandinavian

@insaftak

Right, I believe that M. Hafeez has also done very well. I see a future captain in this fella :)

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:35 #
  5. khanamer

Actually Junaid did well in his second match and that is on a flat track...

Overall, Pakistan is in control of the match, and Pakistan need to post a total of 350+ to keep their grip on the match...

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:36 #
  6. scandinavian

Pakistan has the grip on this match and must not let the SL team to breathe freely.

I think that Pakistan Pakistan need to put at least 400+ to put real pressure on the SL and they also need at least two days (day 4 and 5) to bowl out and to put further psychological pressure on their opponents. After all it is a batting track and maybe Pakistan is not that lucky to bowl them out cheaply in the second inn.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:41 #
  7. khanamer

There goes Hafeez,

I think it was Herath when Pakistan struggled to put up any decent score in Srilanka in 2009... the Herath caused some problem in 1st session today.. and now he has taken Hafeez.. the inform batsman for Pakistan...

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 9:53 #
  8. siddiqi73

Dare I say that not only Misbah was tactically astute but Pakistan put up a professional performance.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:14 #
  9. scandinavian

Personally I like Misbah - though I believe he can be too defensive sometimes. Overall he is a smart-thinking captain and always calm as .....Inzamam. I like such qualities instead of "here I am players"=showmen like Shahid Afridi.

Does anyone know who is the vice captain. For me it is obvious that it should be M. Hafeez..the professor. He also looks like a player with a good brain and he is cool headed too with both feets planted on the ground.

Btw: I don't mind having showmen in the team, but they should not captain the Pakistani team since they sometimes do something which is a burden for the nation.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:20 #
  10. siddiqi73

No official Vice Captain but in light of his current performance, Mohammad Hafeez would be the ideal candidate to take over the reins from Misbah in about a year or two years time. He is possibly the only guy at the moment who can adept to all three formats of the game.

As for Afridi....hope he stays away for good.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:28 #
  11. mangoman

Afridi is a good alround cricketer, and deserves his place in the Pakistan team only for his good bowling...he is also probably the best fielder among present lot...his batting is a bonus though.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:43 #
  12. khanamer

Don't bring Afridi here, we are doing fine without him, lets try to have somebody like of Rashid Latif, Waseem Akram in our team...

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:44 #
  13. insaftak

Toufeeq and Azhar ali need to start scoring some runs now. strike rate of 35 and 15 is just not good enough,

As for afridi keep his thousand miles away from team pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:47 #
  14. siddiqi73

Yeah Afridi was also part of the "Oath Taking" brigade against Younis Khan....sorry, but we are better off without a mentally unstable character like Afridi. If a resilient outfit like Pakistan can move forward after the loss of Asif and Amer, you can betcha that we will get over Afridi as well.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:49 #
  15. scandinavian

@Mangoman

"..his batting is a bonus though."

Nope, my friend. it's a long time ago he has performed with the bat. I blame him for failing Razzaq too. All too often he would before Razzaq, and that was not fair if one looks into his poor performing with the bat.

I do agree with you that based on his fielding and especially his bowling he should be a part of at least T-20 side.

@Khanamer

Rashid Latif was a clean cricketer, but Mr. W. Akram....not the best choice though he was a very good bowler. Anyways I think we should look forward and as mentioned M. Hafeez would be a good choice.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:51 #
  16. scandinavian

@Insaftak

I think both tafeeq and Azhar are having nervous times.

Taufeeq has had numerous chances, but has not performed well enough and hence he will be (over)cautious.

Azhar is till to be regarded as a newcomer and he will also be (over)cautious.

Let them a have some time at the crease and then they will open up!

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:54 #
  17. insaftak

@Scan

LOL. toufeeq has played 150+ balls and Azhar ali has played 50+ balls if that's not enough then I don't know what will be enough.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:55 #
  18. khanamer

@Scan

I was referring to the Cricketing qualities of Waseem Akram... and what i meant was, we need attacking bowler like him in the squad... i bet there is no lack of talent here in Pakistan, we can found one if we look around and do not try to stick with old-guns like Afridi etc..

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 10:59 #
  19. khanamer

@ Insaftak,

They both have scored 150 and 50 in a different way though...

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:00 #
  20. sasherwani

Agree with Siddiqi. Afridi is an excellent allrounder but he almost always involved himself in creating groups within the team. Whether it was an Anti-Shoaib Akhtar group or a Anti-Younis Khan group. He would even give Anti-PCB, Anti-India and even Anti-USA statements whenever he completely lost it. I would rather go for youngsters hungry to win instead of experienced professionals disrupting the 'team' spirit. Personally I love it when Afridi is hitting those sixes or taking those key wickets. But I dont see our team going anywhere with his inclusion in the team.

P.S. Azhar Ali is at 8 after 60 balls. Kya runs ka roza rakha hay?

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:02 #
  21. insaftak

few months ago I wanted Azhar ali to play ODIs for pakistan :facepalm:

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:05 #
  22. khanamer

@ sasherwani

Come on man give Azhar Ali a break, he was 7 on 50 balls, now he have managed to score 8 on 60 balls... he is testing the patience of the bowlers, the umpires and his team mates in dressing room..

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:06 #
  23. sasherwani

He should raise his bat when he scores a 10. Anyway, I was just teasing the poor fellow for no reason. I hope he gathers pace and confidence and scores a 100 :)

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:08 #
  24. insaftak

four for azhar ali.

Balle Balle. Saab ke liye ladoo barfi. Majuan he Majuan!

25. scandinavian

@Khanamer

No, doubt that Wasim Akram had capabilities as a player. I think Aamir was going to be the new Wasim Akram, but unfortunately he was lured into dirty games. I believe he will be back provided he stays fit. After all 5 year ban is a very long time for a player. It's almost half of his career as a fast bowler. I also believe that we have many more "hidden" talents who just doesn't have the backing from the right quarters=powerful lobbies. Many people around the world are amazed that Pakistan continue to produce high quality players ion spite of all the odds - especially fast bowlers. When I watched some of T-20 matches from the English tournament then almost all the commentators were praising the Pakistani fast bowlers :)

@Insaftak

Be patient...just like Mudassar Nazar ;)

26. scandinavian

"P.S. Azhar Ali is at 8 after 60 balls. Kya runs ka roza rakha hay?"

Aur woh bhi sehri khay beghair :)

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:10 #
  27. khanamer

@Scan,

True that...

And yes Azhar hit a boundary to enter into double figures...

Pakistan need to accelerate a bit, they should have substantial lead by end of day 2...

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:11 #
  28. scandinavian

Maybe Azhar Ali got the news about the comparison with Mudassar Nazars SR ;) At least he has started to score more freely now.

I think he is a good player for tests and should be given a chance over a period of time to perform. The same goes for Asad Shafiq. They have been too much in and out.

At teatime Pakistan is:

Pakistan 174/1. They need only 24 runs to go past Sl score. There are 31 overs left after tea. A well set pair should at least be able to score app. 100-120 runs. If they do that with max. 1 or two further wicket, then they will be in a VERY strong position to put further pressure on SL tomorrow :) Let's see how the events unfolds.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:43 #
  29. siddiqi73

Ideally, Pakistan should give a lead of minimum of 300 runs by close of play tomorrow and have a crack at their openers when the sun is setting down. By lunch on 4th day, Saeed Ajmal will be running circles around the Srilankan batsmen :)

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 11:53 #
  30. expakistani

Pakistan going way to slow in terms of striking rate.... it should be at least 3 runs per over.....
    One reason Aussies dominated in last 10 yrs bcz they use to score lots of run with 3.5 -4.5 strike rate. Dead wicket like this Pakistan need 2 + days to get Sri lankan out again.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 12:12 #
  31. scandinavian

At least the experienced Taufeeq should speed up the scoring rate and take some of the pressure from the newcomer Azhar!

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 12:13 #
  32. scandinavian

Taufeeq has an overall strike rate of app. 44 and Azhar has an overall strike rate of app. 40.

Younis=app. 53
    M. Hafeez app. 50
    Asad Shafiq app. 38
    Misbah app. 40-41

In this match taufeeq has a strike app. 31-32 and Azhar 28-28.

Come on guys. It's batting track and you have had enough time to settle.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 12:18 #
  33. scandinavian

Not even the SL team batted so slowly despite continuously being in trouble after lunch :o

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 12:34 #
  34. toamin

ذرا بکاؤ نہ ہو تو یہ مٹی بڑی زرخیز ہے ساقی

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:09 #
  35. expakistani

there is only one more inning possible in this match...if we need to win then score 600 + runs and let sri lankan bat for 2 days to avoid inning defeat.

Any other way pitch is suited for perfect 80s draw.

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:11 #
  36. toamin

ایک منٹ میں ذرا سکور چیک کر لوں

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:17 #
  37. scandinavian

Well played Taufeeq Umar. A century in 260 balls. A little bit slow, but still very well played by Taufeeq. He is also bettering the strike rate:)

This could be a vital knock - alongside M. Hafeez' knock - to build a solid total from tomorrow, inshallah.

Pakistan need all the good news it can get in this "drought". This deprived nation deserves each and every good news - be it a little or a big one!

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:18 #
  38. expakistani

I am glad ... dont have to see Imran Farhat for sometime

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:22 #
  39. scandinavian

@ExPakistani

"I am glad ... dont have to see Imran Farhat for sometime"

Maza kharab kar dia. Why did you need to mention this sifarshia? ;)

Btw: Don't be sure. He can be back any time as long as the piplya government is there.

Azhar Ali has also made a fifty in 146 balls.

Three first batsmen
    twi fifties and one century. Impressive and Younis and Misbah is still to come-->Promising :)

Posted 7 months ago on 19 Oct 2011 13:26 #
  40. scandinavian

Taufeeq has played tremendously well and has now reached his first DOUBLE century in 459 ball. SR has also been bettered and is now 44.22

BUT he was VERY lucky yesterday to escape an appeal for caught behind. He clearly had an inside edge jiust after makinf the century, but the umpire didn't register it.

Pakistan is now on 454 for the loss of only 4 wickets. The lead is 257 runs :)

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 12:22 #
  41. expakistani

... pitch is like 1980s Faisalabad ground, not even a hint of crack or breaking up... we need to put Sri lanakan on bat first thing in mornng with 400 lead?

we are way short of 400 runs right now... slow strike rate gona kill the excitement

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 13:03 #
  42. home

I don't think SR is an issue in this match. At the end of the 3rd day Pakistan will have 350+ lead. Full two days to get 10 wickets, if they can.

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 13:15 #
  43. sasherwani

Excellent innings by Taufiq Umar. I wish he is given the chance to score a 300!

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 13:19 #
  44. scandinavian

@Sasherwani

That would be a great PERSONAL feat, but it would be BAD decision. I don't hope Misbah opts for that since it might ruin the chances of a victory!

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 13:21 #
  45. scandinavian

Here we go. Asad made the job of the captain.

Asad is feeling insecure about his place and hence the SR was poor and on top of that he ran out Taufeeq. PCB might have an excuse to let him out in the next test. I don't hope so. He needs to get another message that he will get FULL chance to prove himself. I believe he will start to deliver if gets this message.

Pakistan has declared on 511/6

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 13:33 #
  46. Dusky

Good to see a double ton from a Pakistani batsman after soooooo long:)

Seems promising for Pakistan, now SL is 267 behind with 9 wickets in hand. Hopefully morning dew will do some wonder for Pakistan.

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 14:41 #
  47. expakistani

i just found that Tufeeq Double was first after 1992 by any Pakistani opener.... Surprise Saeed anwer never made it.

Who wanna bet.... test is going to draw, or Pakistan gona win?

lets have healthy bet.... no money, no cheating, not getting Adnan Akmal's help.

Posted 7 months ago on 20 Oct 2011 15:20 #
  48. expakistani

5 dropped catch!!!!

Posted 7 months ago on 21 Oct 2011 13:38 #
  49. expakistani

somebody posted on cricket info...funny

"What's impressive is that Pakistan has made to 5 drops without Kamran Akmal."

Posted 7 months ago on 21 Oct 2011 13:39 #
  50. They are already helping SL to stregthen their position. 5 dropped catches. Less bowling opportunity to 5 wicket taker in last innings Junaid Khan. So Misbah is also playing role of friendly opposition.

Posted 7 months ago on 21 Oct 2011 13:42 #