Paying for Pakistan

(24 posts)
  1. khanseena1

http://www.dawn.com/wps/wcm/connect/dawn-content-library/dawn/the-newspaper/editorial/Paying-for-Pakistan-750

Paying for Pakistan
    By Mohsin Hamid
    Friday, 07 May, 2010

Here’s the great secret about Pakistan: we aren’t as poor as we like to think. Over the years I’ve travelled a fair bit around our country. I’ve ridden on the back of a motorbike in Gwadar, walked down streets in Karachi, explored bazaars in Peshawar.

I’ve hiked in Skardu, fished (unsuccessfully) in Naran, sat down to a meal in a village outside Multan. I’m no expert, but I believe what my eyes tell me. And there’s no doubt about it: times are incredibly tough.

For most Pakistanis, meat is a luxury. Drinking water is contaminated with urine, faeces or industrial chemicals. School is a building that exists only on paper or otherwise employs a teacher who is barely literate. Electricity is so intermittent as to be almost a force of nature, like rain or a breeze.

The budget says our government plans to raise in taxes about Rs1.5tr this year. There are some 170 million people in our country. So that comes to roughly Rs9,000 each per year. Which is a little over Rs700 for each of us every month.

That isn’t much. Yes, we get money from other sources. We borrow, and sell off state assets, and ask for aid from anyone willing to give it to us. But still, what we can raise ourselves in taxes accounts for most of what our government can spend. And when you’re looking at getting enough power plants and teacher training and low-income support and (since we seem intent on buying them) F-16s for the world’s sixth most populous country, the equivalent of a large Pizza Hut pizza in taxes for each of us every month doesn’t go very far.

Why isn’t Pakistan delivering what we hope for? Because of dictatorships, or India, or the Americans? Well, maybe. But these days a large part of the reason is this: we citizens aren’t paying enough for Pakistan to flourish.

On my travels around our country I haven’t just seen malnourished children and exhausted farmers and hardworking 40-year-old women who look like they’re 80. I’ve also seen huge ancestral landholdings and giant textile factories and Mobilink offices with lines of customers stretching out the door. I’ve seen shopkeepers turn up to buy Honda Civics with cash. I’ve seen armies of private security guards, fleets of private electricity generators. I’ve seen more handwritten non-official receipts than I can possibly count.

Many of our rich have tens of millions of dollars in assets. And our middle class numbers tens of millions of people. The resources of our country are enormous. We’ve just made a collective decision not to use them.

We pay only about 10 per cent of our GDP in taxes. (Our GDP is our total economy, what all of us together earn in a year.) Meanwhile, Sri Lankans pay 15 per cent of their GDP in taxes, Indians pay 17 per cent, Turks pay 24 per cent, Americans pay 28 per cent and Swedes pay a fat 50 per cent. We Pakistanis pay a pittance in comparison.

And that is fabulous news. Because it can change. Raising taxes doesn’t depend on foreign policy, getting a wink from Uncle Sam or a nod from King so-and-so. It doesn’t require a breakthrough in technology or a year of good rain. It’s under our control.

What would happen, for example, if we raised tax revenues by a fifth, so from 10 per cent of GDP to 12 per cent? Well, that would give us Rs300bn a year. We could use that to rent a million classrooms for Rs10,000 per month, give jobs as teachers to a million graduates for Rs15,000 per month, and ensure that every single child in our country received a decent education. By raising taxes to the level of Sri Lanka, 15 per cent of GDP, we would generate additional revenue equal to twice our official defence budget. Match India at 17 per cent of GDP and the additional money would equal a staggering 25 times our current education, health and housing budgets combined.

So if you are a progressive who wants the state to do more to help the poor, you should support more taxes. If you are an industrialist who wants to see that Taliban recruits are rehabilitated and retrained, you should support more taxes. If you are a professional who wants electricity and better police, you should support more taxes. If you are an anti-American who wants us to stop taking US aid, you should support more taxes. If you are a diehard militarist who wants us to buy lots of F-16s, you should support more taxes.

The only people who shouldn’t support more taxes are those who think that the situation in Pakistan right now is already too good.

Taxes are the big hope for Pakistan. It isn’t complicated. Anyone who says we can’t solve our problems or afford to give our people a decent standard of living isn’t telling the truth. We can afford it. We’ve just chosen not to.

This is where our democracy can make a difference. We have elected our representatives. Horribly imperfect as they are, they represent us. And because they represent us, they have the right to ask us to act in our shared self-interest, to contribute more to the collective pot that is Pakistan. It seems they are starting to do so. And perhaps rampant inflation and a dozen hours of loadshedding a day are making even many formerly comfortable and tax-averse citizens more amenable to change.

But what about corruption? Yes, there’s no doubt that much of officialdom is corrupt. But so are we, the citizens. Every time we accept a fake receipt, or fail to declare a bit of income, we are stealing from our country in precisely the same way our politicians and bureaucrats are. Our thefts as taxpayers might be comparatively small, but that is because taxes are so low in our country to begin with. At the moment, we feed off each other. As we citizens start to display more probity in tax, we’re likely to demand more probity in how our money is spent, and our strengthening courts and media are likely to help us get it.

The tax revolution is not going to happen overnight. It will take time. But there is good reason to hope it is coming, and to slowly shift the weight of our votes, our accounts and our attitudes to support the right side.

A brighter future awaits us if we’re willing to pay for it.

The writer is the author of the novels Moth Smoke and The Reluctant Fundamentalist.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 18:47 #
  2. Sounds good on paper, And if dirt poor Sri Lanka can pay 15% of their annual income in taxes, Pakistan can surely manage to go upto 12%. Two things seemingly missing in above: what about Zakat and what about the money coming in from the Pakistani diaspora living in richer countries at the moment?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 19:03 #
  3. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

O bhaeeeeee!!!

O bhaeeeeee!!! mere..

oho ... O bhaeeeeee!!!

(1) Masla resources ka nahi hai. PichHle 60+ salo'n se masla sirf aur sirf 'neeyat' (in urdu) ka hai.

That's it.

Shaukat Tareen himself says, every! year! someone in power pockets Rs. 1.3 trillion of taxes that people of Pakistan pay to Govt. of Pakistan.

60+ years have passed, what has common man of Pakistan done about it ?

Isn't it laughable that the common man of Pakistan has accepted slavery at the hands of those who are illegally pocketing Rs. 1.3 trillion of their hard earned money, every! year! ?

Why then does the common man of Pakistan complain when he has willingly accepted slavery at the hands of those who are embezzling ALL their tax money every! year! ?!

Why don't people of Pakistan collectively go against those 'haram-khor' (in urdu) who pocket most (if not all) of their hard earned tax money ?

(2) NAB chairman comes on multiple talk shows and tells Rs. 90 billion!! corruption takes place in Ministry of Petroleum or PSO each! year!.

What has common man of Pakistan done about it in the last 60+ years ?!

(3) 1% of Wapda's revenue is equal to Rs. 6 billion!!. Wapda has been allowing many influential people to loot this country of electricity

What has common man of Pakistan done about it in the last 60+ years ?!

Govt. ke paas barhe barhe sarmayadaar, industrialist A ke apne bijli ke bill maaf kara jate hain, aur awam ko extra mehnat kar ke wo paisa taxes ke zariye ada karna parhta hai

Industrialist aish karta hai, aur Pakistan ka aam banda khach'charo'n ki tarhan kaam kar ke ye paisa poora karta hai.

60+ saal guzar gae hain, Pakistan ke aam bande ne is baat par koee retaliation ki ?! Ab tak kyoon nahi ki ?!

Pista kon hai ? -> Pakistan ka common man.

When common man of Pakistan loves!! slavery, then why does he complain of problems ?

Bajae is ke ke jo loag Pakistan ke aam bande ki kamaee par ayyashi kar rahe hain, un ko gire-baan se pakarh kar sarhak par laa kar phansi dain, Pakistan ki awam unhi loago'n ki slavery ko apne liye pasand karti hai.

Aise loag phir complain kyoon karte hain ?

Apne liye khud slavery pasand karne wale, kis moon se complain karte hain ke wo lut gae, barbaad ho gae, un ko takleef ho rahi hai ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 19:18 #
  4. A system of check and balance that works in the background having full authority to do its job, without any fear of interference or pressure tactics from anyone would be one of the solutions.
    A common man is over burdened with taxes one way or another.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 19:37 #
  5. HK, aren't you being a bit harsh on the aam banda? He's illiterate as a rule and loyal to his masters, the middle and upper classes. Is revolution preached in mosques. Does JI have a revolutionary policy to present in its political agenda? Is there even a revolutionary movement among intellectuals to awaken the poorer classes? If not, how should they suddenly decide to take action. The only person I've ever heard talking about hanging the corrupt culprits has been Zaid Hamid. And he apparently is hugely detested, at least on this blog. Good calculations above.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 19:37 #
  6. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: Isn't the 'aam banda' illiterate in the west too, in the rest of the world too ?

So, what's the difference ?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 19:42 #
  7. True, HK, true. Let me think this one over. I'll get back to you. No, wait. One thing occurs to me. There the governments have done the work to keep the illiterates happy. Initially because they feared an uprising like in the Soviet Union. Later it became a fact of life and it kept the population happy and the money was coming in in any case, a mixture of fiat money and money stolen from the poorer countrie. The population in all this could no longer even criticise their governments seriously, leave alone rise up against them. Only now there's a bit of hope that something might change since their welfare state is slowly but surely on the verge of final collapse. How much indoctrination work is being done among the poor of Pakistan?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 20:05 #
  8. skunkk

Mirza Ghalib and Haris Khan: In the west the bandas have allowed the system to work, that is how they have progressed There educated middle class waits for elections and do not call for army to intervene This is the difference! Once a system is in place it develops to better it self.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 21:09 #
  9. skunk, "Once a system is in place it develops to better it self." This is absolutely true. Until, then, it too falls into decadence, a time of turmoil, then a time of new beginnings and comfort, etc. Alas, such have been the laws of history so far. Whether the tottering West can overcome its present disabilities or not remains to be seen.

For Pakistan at the moment, I see us as being in the middle period, a time of turmoil, No nation can remain in it forever without disappearing from the map. So I believe the very instinct of self-preservation will soon be forcing us to make profound changes in this country. And then your sentence, quoted above, will apply to it as well.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 21:48 #
  10. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@skunk: That's not it.

In the west, in past decades, people used to get some level of justice from the court of law. THAT! is why they never needed to call in their military.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 22:10 #
  11. پستی کا کوئی حد سے گزرنا دیکھے
    اسلام کا گر کر نہ ابھرنا دیکھے
    مانے نہ کبھی کہ مد ہے ہر جزر کے بعد
    دریا کا جو ہمارے اترنا دیکھے

We begin recovery after admission of our plight.

Surely Allah does not change the condition of a people until they change their own condition [Quran 13:11].

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 22:18 #
  12. Hussain Farooqui

We have a very potential country in terms of natural resources, geographical location, human resources, tourism,etc. It is the matter of the mismanagement of affairs becuase of which we are a poor nation.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 6:25 #
  13. HK, I don't quite understand you here. First you seemed to blame the aam banda for our plight, now you seem to blame the military. Does that mean we, the so-called middle classes, are off the hook? Aren't we responsible for all the mismanagement in daily life this country is suffering from? Haven't we, again the middle classes, become a selfish, I'm all right Jack and more power to you, you poor on the streets group of people? Haven't we learnt to say our prayers automatically and from the head, whereas the poor in the country say them from the heart? We are guilty for the pitiable state of affairs in Pakistan today, I, MG and you, HK, along with all the other culprits we may care to name. Personal responsibility is the beginning of change.

barackosama, your Quranic words were balm to the heart. Yes, Allah's barkat will be showered upon us as we move towards change. And Hussain Farooqui sahib, in a few short words you have summed up our present plight.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 7:07 #
  14. Hussain Farooqui

Mirza Ghalib

No doubt, we are ourselves responsible for our grievences. All the politicians, military generals, mullahs grow from our own population. They are not foreigners.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 10:25 #
  15. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@Mirza Ghalib: (1) Yes, the common man of this country, this nation, this UMMAH is to blame for whatever is going on.

The common man gives feudals, criminals the power they have through his consent.

For ALL of the good people, feudals, criminals are from within our own ranks.

@skunk: Human beings don't need education to support 'justice'. They need the will, the goodwill within them for it

Sahaba-e-Karam were not educated, yet they brought about the most powerful civilization, the most powerful empire this world has ever witnessed by adhering to standards of justice that Islam teaches.

To-date, many have tried, yet they have not been able to destroy this civilization. Rather, they have ended up destroying their own selves.

Education comes AFTER! justice, after! humane treatment of others.

Justice according to Islam's standards is what raised our civilization to the heights it to which it reached.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 10:40 #
  16. HK, your last posting, spot on.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 11:40 #
  17. Hussain Farooqui

Mirza Ghalib,

In the light of the teachings of the Holy Quran, rulers are put on the public masses as per the character of the masses. Let us start the compaign of reforms first from our own homes.

We need to be optimistic about the future of Pakistan. Insha Allah Pakistan will have a very bright future. As it is said,

"A bright idea charged by your thought becomes an action and the repeated action becomes a practice."

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 16:41 #
  18. Hussein Farooqui, now this is a surprise. I agree with every word above. Let's give up all this moaning and groaning as of now. Pakistan will have a very bright future. Of that, I have no doubt. Thank you for reminding us of it again.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 16:48 #
  19. Hussain Farooqui

Truly, we need not be dejected. We are to be optimistic about the future of our country. Our country is rich is natural as well as human resources. A revolutionary change will transform our country into a developed and properous country.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 16:59 #
  20. And also it won't take ages and ages to get down. Count me among your partisans.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 17:51 #
  21. skunkk

HK justice comes through a system not through lack of it. Also I think we are talking about Pakistani nation not the muslim nation.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 20:12 #
  22. Hussain Farooqui

Shunk

We are still maintaining the same out dated and obselete judicial system which the British left about 63 years ago. That judicial system was not meant for providing justice to the common people but to safegaurd the British colonial system. Much less educated Talibans had established a judicial system which had efficiently controlled an uncontrollable country like Afghanistan. That is one of the few things which needs to be appreciated about Talibans.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 May 2010 10:08 #
  23. HF, who wants to appreciate anything the Taliban ever did for Afghanistan? It was at such a high level of attainment that most people couldn't even grasp their message. Not even when it was wholly tangible things like stopping poppy cultivation with one fatwa or allowing even a young woman to travel from one end of the country to the other alone, carrying gold in her bag, without a hair of her head being touched, etc. Absolute peace and quiet and a finger high held to anything approaching "Free Market Capitalism". How can dollar-worshippers and others understand such folly on the part of a freedom-loving people? Perhaps the only one such remaining in the world.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 May 2010 10:18 #
  24. skunkk

Dear Mirza Ghalib, under Taliban regime women were NOT allowed to get out of their home unaccompanied by mehrams and for the same reason many who were without a mehram were forcibly married.

Taliban's rule of law also included unhindered massacre of Hazaras when Mazar Sharif fell. Hazara children were sent to Taliban leaders local and elsewhere for the notorious pushtoon practice of bachabaazi. Taliban's rule of law also included killing shia doctors in Pakistan and explicitly refusing Pakistan's request to handover the murderers by replying that they did God's work.

Posted 2 years ago on 09 May 2010 20:32 #