Who do you think should be person (or group of people) that most influenced our nation in a positive or negative way during 2009?
Taliban
CJ Iftikhar chaudhary
Zardari
Kyani
Media personality
Sports person
Any suggestions?
Person of the Year
(38 posts)-
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Dec 2009 17:17 #
For obvious reasons, my vote is for CJ Iftikhar Chaudhry as I believe it may influence Pakistan's judicial system positively.
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Dec 2009 17:28 # -
CJ Iftikhar chaudhary
Posted 2 years ago on 13 Dec 2009 23:05 # -
Malik Riaz
Person of decadePosted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 0:33 # -
In my oponion , the man of the year is the policeman who gave his life while saving Peshawar District Court from massive destruction by holding suicider .
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 1:08 # -
Those who came out for restoration of judiciary thats shows that we have HOPE...with right leadership people are ready to do special things
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 2:32 # -
Kiyani ...for keeping CONTROL on his desire to grab the power ...
though circumstances gave him many chances for so.Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 5:48 # -
U r doing the same think which BB did by awarding 'Tamgha e Jamoohriat' to Gen.Mirza Islam Beig .
Its the replay of 1988 we are having in 2008 where 'BRAVE ARMY' had messed up so much that it decided to bring politiicans on the forefornt so that it could save it save itself from public backlash.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 5:52 # -
In my oponion , the man of the year is the policeman who gave his life while saving Peshawar District Court from massive destruction by holding suicider .
Excellent ...
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 6:02 # -
@Asif ,
i wonder ,why u took my post very literal .
it was a sarcastic note about army general's lust for power ...
and u took it literally ...like i actually wanna Kiyani to grab power ...
thats not the case ...obviously.Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 6:49 # -
Positive:
Every army soldier and every policeman who gave his life trying to protect this country from terrorism.
Negative:
Asif Ali Zardari for creating new heights of incompetancy that no future leader can ever achieve. Also Rehman Malik for obvious reasons.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 6:53 # -
Persons of the year are loosing their families in tribal areas by drone attacks and during operations by Army.
BUT no media coverage.
No sympathies from govt.
No finacial help from govt.
No encouraging words from rest of the Pakistanis..WO JO TAREEK RAHO MAY MAARY GAYE..........
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 6:59 # -
For me it was member netengr on pkpolitics - A qualified BOZO!
He reached the height of obnoxiousness by dragging PTI, JI, TTP, Hameed Gul, etc. in every thread that was NOT even remotely related to them. Its become so predictable and painful and I hope it'll be on his 'new year's resolution' list.
Needless to say it falls into 'negative' category, but cogrts to him for EARNING it with some hard work.
Cheers :-)
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 7:07 # -
1) Our Army jawans who received shahadat while fighting in thr own country a war which was imposed on them but they dnt say a word, they just obey and give thr lives try to save ours and our country at large...including those on the front or in the cities or in the mosques....and all those ppl of my country who were jaaa n bahaq in the blasts....may Allah rest thr souls in peace and give sabar e jameel to the survivorss....and becasue of thr sacrifices may Allah grant our country peace and happinness..!!
2) Pervaiz masih....if we are on the roads...and if we hear firing or a blast ...we would be the first one to hide behind anything lor start to run fr our lives....but the poor janitor who will be vanished frm the books of hisory soon in our biased culture saved hundreds of lives by stopping the suicide attacker knowingly tht sumthin could go wrong and blew with him.....!!
3) Sherry rehman... sum of you guys dnt agree with me on tht ...but giving up power is indeed an act of bravery fr me....! thr might be so many reasons sum call it she saved media sum call it she had personal differences with Mr zardari... but whdeva the reasons may be...also becasue we dnt see it tht often in our political scenario...politicians become lotas..politicians keep on givin lies but dnt leave thr chair..politicians keep on lootin and plunderin but thn stand with chest wide apart claiming tht they have done a lot fr the country....so in all this...giving up the power is atleast bravery fr me...!!
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 9:47 # -
@ msSohail: My vote also goes to netengr:::))
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 9:50 # -
We need to count for ALL the events that have taken place, be them in public or private in order to assess who was the best person.
We don't have an analysis infront of us, yet.
P.S. If we subscribe to the idea of how 'professional' the Americans make everything look or how perfectly they present everything, why don't we bring about 'these' qualities within us ?
The way to beating someone intelligent is to improve ourselves to become more intelligent than the other guy.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 9:54 # -
@ usay,
Agreed! Netengr too deserves a special mention for continuously supporting a particular cult so whole-heartedly!
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 10:42 # -
i concur with sufisoul's sentiments...
for what it is worth i nominate the IDPs, their families and loved ones that have been disturbed and uprooted beyond imagination. in particular the children that are not only suffering as a consequence of our present and successive govt's incompetance, but that will contunue to lose out in every field in the forseeable future...
(n.b: nominations for this year passed only. one can mention the affected and dead of any country, palestine springs to mind most vividly but for the purposes of this site i have mentioned IDPs only.)
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 11:49 # -
In my opinion the question was the person/group which influenced most in positive or negative manner.
I too believe that the police man who gave his life was brave but his influence on whole nation is just like a spoon of water in a sea. He could be remember as hero of 2009 for his bravery and dutifulness. Similarly the IDPs, though very deserving are not even influencing the rigid hearts of their fellow countrymen as they are still living outside in freezing cold weather.
In my opinion the person who influenced most in our country in a positive manner is CJ. The changes he brought in judicial system are bringing fruit and this is the only positive sign in this disturbing moment.
The person/group which influenced most in our country in negative manner are the advocates of US interests in our region, i mean liberal fascists.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 11:59 # -
LetsDoIt
Some positive changes by CJ include
a) Acquitting a convicted terrorist after ten years.
b) Promoting Judge #5 in the seniority list to Supreme court in gross violation of Al-Jehad Trust Case.Right.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 12:16 # -
I gave a second thought to my selection above for 'Person of the Year', as CJ Iftikhar Chaudhri.
I consider, Mr Ali Ahmad Kurd is the 'Person of the Year', as his role in the restoration of Judiciary was of prime importance. We should not forget those who are our 'MOHSIN'.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 12:27 # -
@msohail
I thought I am being ignored by most of the members but you have been keep looking on my posts :) , I do not post much and I start few few thread in a month .I do not drag JI/GUL/IK/talibani in every thread which is not related to them but most of the topics were on religion ,terrorism ,sawat /fata issue ,Anti USA and posted by their supporters or members ,of course this is not their "Jalsa " this is the forum where every one find opposition ,
you have attacked personally many times but i did not complain .Now I see journalists and scholars are saying the same as I have been keep repeating here ,Yes thats the success :)
I am always ready to support your favorite Imran Khan if can get rid of "Jamaati Roh " :)
-------
Waisay vote dainay ka shukria ,Elect ho ker road aur pani ka nalka lagwa doon ga
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 12:54 # -
@usayd ,sasherwani
Why you voted for me ?
Oh my God I feel Like a leader :) ... itna bara aadmi ban gaya main mujh ko pata hi nahi chala :)
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 12:56 # -
@asif khan
CJ at his seat could not act like Pakistani/Desi Film Hero taking every thing under his control. Some matters are relevant to the establishment. He could not perform prosecution himself. So show me that he was supplied with enough evidence and he released someone.
I know he is striking on some people individual interests and these people are in pain and if you think he has done something wrong, believe me whole Govt. will be standing by your side, just gather some courage and file your case in the court. The whole Govt. is looking for something which could help them in getting rid of this CJ.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 19:38 # -
My person of the year award goes to all the soldies of Pakistan Army fighting in swat and wazirastan. My loser award of the year goes to this lowlife user msohail83 who showed his family background in this thread by showing his genes. This conduct has been infront of the useless moderator beenai who saw this and choose to ignore his person attacks.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 20:25 # -
Restoration of judiciary is no doubt a historic event for our nation,but its impact on the society is yet to be seen.
It can take us to road of recovery or get stuck on a bridge.It would be less than honest for me to deny the impact of Taliban (for better or worse) on our society.
I'm hoping judiciary will be able to implement rule of law
in our country.If justice prevails terror will disappear.Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 21:02 # -
LetsDoIt
For your kind information, PPC doesn't allow a convict to appeal after a certain period of conviction but our hounrable CJ allowed this. So , it has nothing to do with prosecution.
Judges to SC are appointed on the advice of CJ (which is binding on executive as per al-jehad trust case). The honourable CJ promoted Justice Arif Khilji who was #5 in seniority in SHC in gross violvation of Al-jehad trust case. Previously such appointments (Justice Ramaday e.g.) was previously challenged by lawyer bodes in courts.
Again it has nothing to do with executive.
Posted 2 years ago on 14 Dec 2009 21:28 # -
Clearly, our security forces, soldiers and innocent civilians who have been killed either directly or indirect through taliban actions and mindset.
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 4:21 # -
@ netengr:
Don't get too much happy... Actually we were choosing the most negative person on this forum:)Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 6:01 # -
person of the year in negative role can be given to Aitzaz Ahsan ...in playing exactly the same way ,as our politicians do .and hence clearing out any mis perceptions about him being different from the lot .
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 6:17 # -
netenger,
Sorry but ppl with negative repute don't get voted in. They get 'ganday anday' or 'tamatar' hurled at them usually.
I'll get someone else to repair the road. :-)
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 6:35 # -
@ beenai:
Ur right in pointing out Aitizaz Ahsan for negative personality of the year. As he and his fellow layers gave a false hope to nations by wasting their energies in restoring the judges in this corrupt system and therby prolonging life of this system....
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 8:16 # -
No ...
my point of difference with Aitzaz is very clear .
u r might trying to be sarcastic .
but on a serious note .
i am, seriously shocked and deeply disappointed over the recent acts of Mr.Aitzaz Ahsan.
i thought ,he is different from the lot .
but he proves me wrong .Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 8:24 # -
asif khan
You will never have problems with CJ, Ramday and Khilji once they will also start getting kick backs and favoring establishment.
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 9:52 # -
Dear LetsDoIt
I don't have anything personal against these men.
So , it was not me who was pissed off by the elevation of a junior judge but it was
Mr. Hamid Khan, Sr. ASC.
Mr. A.K. Dogar, ASC.
Dr.Farooq Hasan, ASC.
Mr. Rashid A. Rizvi, ASC.who challenged justice ramaday elevation on the same basis which i m mentioining in Justice Khilji .
For your further study ,
The case was decided by following judges . All of u consider PCO judges.
Mr. Justice Sh. Riaz Ahmed, C.J.
Mr. Justice Qazi Muhammad Farooq
Mr. Justice Mian Muhammad Ajmal
Mr. Justice Syed Deedar Hussain Shah
Mr. Justice Abdul Hameed DogarAnd against this decision Supreme Court BAR decided
For your kind knowledge i m quoting :
It is a measure of this decision's importance that the
Supreme Court Bar Association, in protest at the
result, withdrew its request for review, and declared
that it would no longer seek adjudication of
important constitutional questions before the
Supreme Court, which could no longer be trusted
with such matters.63
"So Sir , i request u to support law/ruels not a person.
I have always found u a very reasonable and articulate person and hope u will continue to be so.Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 12:24 # -
Dear asif khan
Thank you very much for providing me this information. I have to admit that i was not known to these facts before but still with all these odds in my opinion they are doing wonderful job and better than any other institution of the state. Their performance in the last year is admirable.
Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 13:50 # -
Sir,
Whom should we follow ? Persons or law ?
All of us want the supremecy of law not persons. Right ?
IF u go by your prinicple , that since they are doing a wonderful job despite being some illegalities , then it comes to personal likes and dislikes.
Rather , if we go by law, the persons/personal likes and dislikes will go in the backdrop and instituions will strengthen and prevail. Right?
Hope now u will be feeling a bit for passing following remarks for me
'
You will never have problems with CJ, Ramday and Khilji once they will also start getting kick backs and favoring establishment.
'Posted 2 years ago on 15 Dec 2009 21:25 # -
My vote goes to SC of Pakistan for a landmark decision on NRO.
Posted 2 years ago on 16 Dec 2009 18:04 #