Population control! ya Population Balance..(long term solution for Pakistan)

(33 posts)
  1. During my studies on the "peace" in a society, or "peacefull-ness" of a society, I , after finishing the african continent, was directed to study holland and Norway.

The research was based on hard core statistical data collected over the years of 1927 till 1998. With in frequent gaps but a nice graph of upward movement of "peacefullness" of these societies in general.

I was interested in this as to understand "our" position in the global realm.

My observation, quickly, picked up a historical trend , remember data tables and spreadsheets are not easy and if you want to torture someone give them a ledger, which was always listed on the top columns of the data tables. This was the word "POPULATION"....and its obvious and easy observation, one need not be a genious...

i saw some computer generated models and when I myself started creating basic level graphs from the data with a comparative injection of population metrics, I started noticing a "trend"....

The noticeable trend was a successfull subconcious effort of these societies to keep their population in balance, keep in mind that I am not using the word "control", in BALANCE, with their home grown natural consumable resources.

The implications of this "BALANCE" with their "POPULATION" serves a "impact" and has an "effect" on the general and long term "sustained development" of their society towards a "better quality" of life.......

I started tracing this "idea", to know who and how did they find such ratio's and how did they "ingrain" it into the society...I found out, lo and behold, that "farmers" were the ones who highlighted these trends and got the attention of the "monks" or religious pastors, who influenced their church and in an almost invisible manner via simple sermon and advise in 17 years the effects of "POPULATION BALANCE" was visible and the benefits were evident enough to get support from main stream society....leading to a "peacefull" society in general....

My thoughts drift back to our homeland.......are we not a "farming" nation, are we not smart enough to realize this "trend"......

but do you see how counter productive the "religious" are in this area......?

I wish our Media was really introducing this critical long term idea instead of Altafa Kaliya's soap opera!

What do the scholars think ?

Trends might have shifted, as I remember that both countries had opened immigration and immigrants have changed the balance and quality of life.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 14:32 #
  2. shahzad1924

are you suggesting that our population has outgrown our resources?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:10 #
  3. amin1924

You forgot to add that now those progressive nations are shrinking so fast that they have to rely on population exporters like Pakistan!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:12 #
  4. zjshami

In 1947 the total Population of the West Pakistan (Pakistan) was 35 millions.
    Within 62 years it has grown up to 160-170 millions within the same piece of land and without a significance improvements at its resources, productions and power potentials.
    What else could be the cause of existing power, water and food shortage?
    Overgrown population!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:22 #
  5. @zjshami:

Your hypothesis is so not correct.

An increase in population is not the cause of poverty in Pak, immoral distribution of resources is the culprit. If resources, agri. growth, fiscal policy was truly in line for the benefit of the population a natural increase in population size would be no problem.

Its not how many mouths you have to feed, its how you manage, grow and distribute the resources at your disposal.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:29 #
  6. shahzad1924

i beg to differ here zjshami

and i would like to quote what you said;

"...without a significance improvements at its resources, productions and power potentials"

that is the problem, not the population!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:30 #
  7. zia m

I am not a scholar,but i do agree with your idea of Population Balance.We can't afford to overload the planet.The planet is also like a living organism and nature has her way of balancing things out.
    The threat of climate change is real.
    Looming water crisis can play havoc on our society.
    We need to use our resources wisely, long term planning is needed to keep a healthy balance.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:31 #
  8. zia m:

for some reason, you are a very very intelligent being! I feel great love of humanity and respect in your understand. I am absolutely happy with your so true statement, that "the plant is also like a LIVING organism"....

I wish only, if our population's 10 percent would understand this, I swear that Pakistan would be the cleanest country in the planet! seriously...

My bachelors degree is in Chemistry and Environmental Sciences as a minor....and you seem to be the only person alhamdullilah so far on this blog to utter such sensible words!

By the way did you read about a british national who has spent 30 some years in Pakistan trying to educated the public at grass roots level about this ? It was on BBC's website.....

can someone find that article....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:46 #
  9. zjshami

To oppose the idea of Population Planning is again a reactionary approach.
    Even China, in spite of its amazing industrial progress has taken measures to control and balance the population.
    In Pakistan the population Planning is not to stop the birth of children only but it is a complete thesis to create and achieve a healthy balance between resources and the consumers.
    Pakistanis can keep on producing children provided they have also excelled on the resources for their Health, Education and Jobs.
    Keep on building new houses if each unit gets the flow of electricity for 24/365.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:46 #
  10. JJ:

I note your question, and please see the bottom most statement in my post. Surely the trends have shifted and we can learn from this shift in trend too....

but the high point was to introduce the element of "religious" factor in betterment of their societies peace full ness and its comparative analysis on this side...

Jokingly another scholar friend of mine who was an advisory to shaukat aziz a few years ago, when presented with this basic information, laughingly said, the "religious in pakistan are also doing population control" only the method is kinda crude...the Scandinavians used advise molvi used explosive device! (nateeja aik hi hai)

The comment was taken in humor but reality is speaking louder!

We need to alert the media that a soft campaigning has to be crafted to highlight this issue.....what do you guys say ?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 15:50 #
  11. amin1924

Mulla,

There is full blown ministry on this matter! Plus dozens of NGOs working to generate that trend.

In cities you can already observe this trend, the numbers have certainly come down.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:01 #
  12. zia m

Mulla,
    Thanks...for your very kind remark.I think if we use common sense half of our problems will be solved.
    No,I'm not familiar with the British national you mentioned,would love to read his article.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:07 #
  13. khurram Zaman

The one among many fields where muslims have an intense need to develop more by increasing population..
    The current and comming war fare is the only reason in this regard to push the population accelarator..
    This technology and drones and killings for fun of muslims is the main reason this time to refrain from such an idea.
    As we as a muslim are aware that this time we need manpower to better respond to the EVIL in afghanistan,pelitine,chechnia,kashmir..
    This never practical to call nonmuslim man power for our jihad against evil..
    Current statistics show that starting from russian war round about 50 to 80 million muslims were martyred in different piece of planet..
    I would like a mother having more and more sons after recieving dead body of one..
    I aapreciate much the strategy in afghanistan after russian war to have special jihad purpose marriages to produce Mujahids for comming war,now with US..
    Our any local policy shud also comprise of the upcomming international threats to our survival..

thanx

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:10 #
  14. zjshami:

yes this is the "nukta" we need to propagate...the word "control" irks the ire of fundamentalists who think that such ideas are of jewish conspiracy to curb the survivability of the so called Muslim nation.....thats why we have to come to the understanding of the "balance" portion...

Reading the Indian poet Allama Iqbal's travels I noticed that he gave advice to Mussolini I belive, that its a habit of the holy prophet Muhammad's bodyguards commonly known as Sahaba, that they would establish new "cities" once the saturation level was achieved....indicating and hinting at this "balance" element even back then.....they were spiritual people and they understood "natures balance" ...

Once I observed in pakistan, that, a farmer put fodder in the cattle's feed, and next to the dark surma colored bhens was its baby, but I noticed that when the bundle of fodder had reached to its last remaining straws, the mother and the baby bhens started a "tug of war" on the last few long threads of food....my mind alerted me to observe "basic survival instinct and conflict" on resources...

meanwhile I being educated in the west, got up and picked up a bunch-full of fodder and dumped it in two piles exasperatedly in front of the beings! feeling satisfied that bara teer mara hai! :)

but bottom line observation is that "peace-full-ness" has something to do with "balance of population"...lets not fight and get this hidden topic exposed.....this is the time to do this otherwise I am hearing that army and ISI is not happy with the Zardari.......

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:13 #
  15. amin1924

Knowing what is balance of population is the key.

Given that Pakistan is an agricultural land with 50% agricultural land lying vacant for cultivation, I say a lot more population is needed to reach 100% mark!

Now if you don't give opportunities to farmers, then they head to metropolitant areas resulting in congestion.

Again link goes back to system of governance and government policy!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:26 #
  16. jj:

its easy to trace the "links" back to the mess called corruption but covered with a fancy label of "government"...

some years ago, I was volunteering for Hillary Clinton and this is what she said to me in person...:| (there were a bunch of us loosers standing together )

The day, the people realize "governments" really have no "solutions" to their problems, will be the day of "TRUE DEMOCRACY"....

WHY CANT YOU conntect the logical dots and understand that the "governments" are not really able to give us solutions..I mean when will you realize this ?

see this is what we are screaming for..."understanding" that "governments" in our case are our "failure"...

are you an engineer by profession, if yes, please educate us about the word called "bottleneck".....

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:42 #
  17. khurram Zaman

JJ,

Good shot nice cover drive between short leg and point.,Absolutely stunning...

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:42 #
  18. amin1924

Mulla,

One land reform policy from govt can change the whole situation in Pakistan!

If govt can solve cases through NRO then they can also do land reforms, promised in 1940s!!!

Don't listen to hillary, she is lying to you, she gets all her work done through Pak Govt... they do get nice solution.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:46 #
  19. khurram Zaman

H.clinton.................Sahee Choroo hy..

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:48 #
  20. NNL

Hiliary Clinton

Holy Crap you know what he is probably right

Cos after she talked to him she went absolutely bonkers and i mean truly bonkers. Fumbles after Fumbles till now.

Mullay ne kia solid dhai jamai hogi uske dimagh ki

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:50 #
  21. NNL

Waisay Kal ka Politico-Religious Activist Aaj ka volunteer for Hiliary lol

Masha Allah kia activism hai

Subhan Allah

Qurban janey is ada-e-munafiqat per.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:52 #
  22. kutay ke bhonknay se kiya faqeer ki routine par koi asar parta hai ?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:53 #
  23. amin1924

Kia yeh khula tazaad nahi kay aik conservative mulla aik liberal party kee khidmat karay?

24. khurram Zaman

NNL,

i want an interview with you but just one question will be enough..

Aap ne ye lambi lambi kab se chorna start k he aur kiyon...
    Ye culture tho pkpol pe khatam ho gaya he na ab,tho phir aap????

25. NNL

Ah cmon for crying out loud you very well know that you and i have a love and hate relationship You give me hate i return it back you give me love i return it back in double amount.

After all is said and done you are still a brother to me from the criteria of being Kalimah-goh.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:55 #
  26. JJ:

you are confusing the matter here, what she meant was when the people would realize that governments really have no solutions, that day people will act, and this action of the public will be true democracy...

hillary herself is another topic....so ignore her person but do pay attention to her statement as she was known to be the real president for 8 years on domestic affairs ..but thats another issue...

and watch how the kuttas bark ...hehe!

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:55 #
  27. khurram Zaman

NNL,

i asked you a million dollars question here and you????

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:57 #
  28. NNL

Khurram Zaman Sahib

Lambi Lambi chorna aur mein ne

Sarkar zara ishara tou karain mein ne kahan chori hai ?

29. haan na, siyasat naam hi zati mufaad or khulay tazzad ke saath dandanaty phirnay ka nam hai!

oh bhai focus karo topic par....

kutay ke peechay lag kar kion apna roza kharab kartay hoo...dafa karo....

kaam ki baat par ittifaq karna ahle imaan ka shewa hai!

bas yeh yad rakhoo...

kutay ko dafa karo.....yeh apnay malik ka muntazir hai....

30. Khurram Zaman naliaq insaan...

yeh batao keh **** ke bhonknay se kiya meri routine par koi parta hai ?

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:58 #
  31. khurram Zaman

NNL,

had se ziyada naughty hain aap......:)

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 16:59 #
  32. khurram Zaman

bhala ishary ki kiya zarorat hy yahan......???

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 17:00 #
  33. Members should watch out for their language. This has gone personal therefore the thread is being closed.

Posted 2 years ago on 26 Aug 2009 17:00 #