PPP govt send thugs to siege GEO news offices: History repeating itself ?

(28 posts)
  1. d0ct0r

Government sends terrorist to besiege Jang building

Jang, Geo offices besieged at govt behest

KARACHI: The workers of Sindh National Party (SNP) have surrounded the offices of Geo and Jang at the behest of government. Geo News reported Sunday.

http://geo.tv/5-23-2010/65456.htm

http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2010-daily/23-05-2010/u32155.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 18:35 #
  2. d0ct0r

Just a day before Supreme court is all set to hear many important cases,govt send thugs to give a message and intimidate GEO news and Jang group.

Is the history repeating itself. During the final days dictator Musharraf also resorted to similar tactics and eventually we all know how subsequent events unfolded and the rest is history. I think fools running PPP didn't learnt any lessons.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 18:38 #
  3. d0ct0r

Big question is would there be a similar showdown at SC too tomorrow or in the coming week. SC today was reviewing security measure in and around SC building. I am sure army's assistance must have also been sought in case there is some type of showdown.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 18:41 #
  4. rehanahd

A desperate move by corrupts.... If same would be infront of CM house i m sure it will take 15 min to clear!!!!

But when govt itself is involved then 15 mins can become 15 hours... 15 days:)

Surely, when you are falling you try to do anything with out using the mind!!! May be PPP is ditching themselves to well by such intentional mistakes

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 18:55 #
  5. shamwariz

It is freedom of speech freedom of protest..
    Geo is and has been exercising its right to speak
    People have the right to protest…

Why to Cry now

Free ho ke Geo

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 19:01 #
  6. aftab arif

@ shamwariz

I think that concept must be a new one, i didn't realise that under Freedom Of Speech you can trespass onto private property and go on a rampage with in the premises.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 19:45 #
  7. rehanahd

Shamwariz!!!

What you are getting for defending these corrupts... sorry to say you seems to be part of PPP media cell who doesnot have logic and promote PPP mindset on internet like your big jahils , abdi choora and fauzia goof:)

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 19:52 #
  8. In electronic and print media Geo group and jang group is working as mafia group, they are attacking everybody who is not supporting or against their mafia role, against democratic government, last 2 years they are trying to destablize this government, most of the time they attack with non sense reasons.they are giving date after date to end this democratic government. but so far their propaganda failed.

Jang group always supporting dictatorship and they play key roles to destablize every democratic government in the past, even they were giving full support and proganda for judicial unlawful murder of Mr Bhutto.

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 19:54 #
  9. rehanahd

M syed:)

Which dictators you are talking about:) Musharraf who banned GEO :)) whom your party gave march past and guard of honor, provided security in London at state expense))

Plz provide proof about Mr Bhutto Murder and Jang Group efforts... if u r so sure :))

Dont forget plz... no jumping plz .. only proofs ...waiting

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 20:02 #
  10. Before coming to conclusion about this attack this was not done by PPP but it was done by some Sindhi nationalist party Sindh National Party...these kind of illiterate parties claiming "voice of Sindh" are also around but get no support from people as mostly PPP got support in Sindh so for that reason doing these kind of protest are very common by them in front of Karachi press club and other such places in Sindh as well....But one thing is for sure they have nothing to do with PPP GEO TV might be confused due to Sindhi people as PPP is mostly supported by Sindhis and Baluch of Sindh province but they are some different entity not PPP...

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 22:31 #
  11. Anwer Kamal

This may be a Geo drama. To create hype against PPP government. Just see program Meray Mutabiq of Today and yesterday. You will see a mad dog there. They are dictating army and judiciary.Dhakna said that court is going to decide against government. Who is behind them ?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 23:08 #
  12. d0ct0r

Anwer Kamal are you trying to say that GEO itself sent those goons ?

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 23:29 #
  13. Anwer Kamal

They are their self biggest.
    It is not hard for them to arrange.
    آجکل تو
    Tv
    پر آنے کے شوق میں جج وکیل سیاستدان سب کچھ کرنے کہنے پر تیار ہیں

Posted 2 years ago on 23 May 2010 23:51 #
  14. rehanahd

well, between 1999-2007 geo and jang group was very friendly with musharf and were giving full support everyday to that dictator.
    Let me clear you that i have no connection with ppp but guard of honor which you are talking to musharf, was given from pak army to their ex chief, it was not from ppp or ppp government. And i don't think that any ppp govenment official attend that event.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 1:43 #
  15. rehanahd

july 1977 was very shocking month for me, i was college student at that time, i did not have my own vote at time but i was very interested in all election process, so it shocked me,not only marshal law event but U turn in jang group policy.
    Jang group was lead newspaper,supporting ppp or you can say giving balance coverage, Nawi waqat was leading anti ppp paper but after july 1977 marshal law, jang group took big U turn and took leading role against Mr Bhutto and ppp, Jang left Nawi waqat behind in anti bhutto and ppp propaganda,there were hunderd of propaganda stories against Mr Bhutto day and night, some character assasination stories were taking many many days coverage, most of the front page was full everyday with propaganda against Mr bhutto, through this propaganda the jang was trying to encourage marshal law chief, high court and supreme court,go ahead and punish this evil person and later they were succeeded in their propagand and he was murder through the judicial decision and order of chief marshal law administrator. shame shame to jang group

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 2:11 #
  16. amnazaman

Our country cannot progress till we end this extremist mind set and barbaric acts. I think these people are no less then the crazy Taliban in the tribal areas. Some how there actions are the same. They have ruined the country and I cry tears of sorrow.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 7:33 #
  17. amnazaman

Our country cannot progress till we end this extremist mind set and barbaric acts. I think these people are no less then the crazy Taliban in the tribal areas. Some how there actions are the same. They have ruined the country and I cry tears of sorrow.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 7:33 #
  18. shamwariz

It is freedom of speech and freedom of protest..
    Geo is and has been exercising its right to speak
    People have the right to protest…

Why to Cry now

Free ho ke Geo

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 7:41 #
  19. Geo (Jewish)Tv Afraid because of their false reporting..Its was not PPP who were protesting in front of GEO office. It was SINDH NATIONAL PARTY under Sindhi extremist wings..PPP doesn't need to show only 40/50 people for protest and no need to take support of SNP hence PPP has more than thousands of people to show the street power to GEO TV.

GEO walon ka agar kutta bhi mar jaye to PPP par ilzaam laga dete hain salay indian agents ..:@

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 7:56 #
  20. rashidsaleem

‘Freedom of Press’ is one of the reasons why a democratic setup is favored all around the globe. A free press not only serves to give information but it serves as the biggest watchdog for any government. In case this was a move to suppress the ‘freedom of press’ then this should be condemned.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 9:44 #
  21. Aray aisaa kia kar diya bhai ?? Agar 30/35 logg bahar akar apna protest record karwa rahe hain to freedom of speech ko kia farq parta hai mere bhai ??

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 9:52 #
  22. fhsarwar

It is also important for the Media channels to stay within their spheres, so that sentiments of any person or group are not hurt; this will also ensure a smooth flow of information to the masses.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 10:56 #
  23. history shows ,the more u press the media .
    the bigger its impact will become .

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 11:10 #
  24. Hussain Farooqui

No doubt, media deserve a right of indipendence. Its indipendence must not be curbed. However, media should also review its policy of yellow journalism and negative attitude.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 11:32 #
  25. sasherwani

Im not a big fan of Geo News infact I have a group on facebook called "News you will never get on Geo News". It has around 300 members so far.

Geo television to me is a paid news channel. You pay the price and Geo ensures its endorsement. Even nincanpoops like Zardari know that. But what this sorry excuse for a human being Zardari forgot that attacking the media will always result in trouble. That's what got Musharraf into trouble too. He banned Geo, just a few months later he was out of power!

Anyway, I condemn any violent acts against Geo yet Geo too needs to get its act straight!

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 11:36 #
  26. d0ct0r

Peaceful protest is good and positive exercise and democratic right of every citizen,but threatening and intimidating some one and breaking into someone's property and damaging their items and threatening their employee.. that's not acceptable

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 15:07 #
  27. Sindhis have been categorically marginalized in their province and capital. They want reportage from Geo [media], dat's all, no need of ballyhooing and spin a yarn here.

Posted 2 years ago on 24 May 2010 18:37 #
  28. every person have right to protest, if any media group acting like mafia group.

Posted 2 years ago on 25 May 2010 5:58 #