Professor Anwar Jalal.My friend.Insulted By Army....

(56 posts)
  1. khurram Zaman

He belongs to KARAK my district.We have a long friendship not Just friendship but a relationship of brotherhood..
    An Intellegent person having a respectable Post as Assisstant Professor in govt college Pabbi..
    Extremly sensitive by nature and feeling deep grief over the situation going on in Pakistan..

He himself Faced an Insulting situation over a check point in Darra Adam Khail..
    The incident is so big for a sensitive person like Anwar Jalal,he may attempt a suicide..
    Constantly using relaxing tablets after this happening...

THE QUESTION IS WHY WE TREAT OUR OWN RESPACTABLE PAKISTANIS LIKE THIS..
    WHO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR ALL THIS.
    DID ANY ACTION BY ARMY CHIEF IS UNDERWAY???
    WE PAKISTANIS NEED HONOUR RATHER THAN INSULT BY OUR ARMY...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 12:50 #
  2. khurram Zaman

@admin,

i would like you to pls add this topic to your main page story.

thanx

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 12:52 #
  3. justapakistani_
    proxyman

skyfacts can u more detail what actually happened to him, so that he was ready to do suicide?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:06 #
  4. mylove-Pakistan

I condemn this incident.
    It is not the only one, such incidents happen each and everyday. Those soldiers don't know any etiquettes, they are just dumb persons, following the orders of these US-SOLD Generals.

The first thing we need to do in Pakistan is to set the limits for the Army.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:06 #
  5. khurram Zaman

JUST,
    i am trying to call professor sahib at this forum.So that he can tell the members the true feelings abt the story...

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:08 #
  6. mylove-Pakistan

@justapakistani

"he may attempt a suicide.."

He is not saying that he tried already.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:11 #
  7. khurram Zaman

Qasmi sahib covered already this incident....pls visite.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/sep2009-daily/03-09-2009/col2.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:14 #
  8. shahzad1924

May Allah fill his heart with patience. and may Allah give hidayah to the people responsible for this act.

even if he doesn't want to come on the forum, can you pay him a visit and record a interview and post it here?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:17 #
  9. shahzad1924

i think i spoke too soon. jazak Allah khair for posting the link.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:18 #
  10. khurram Zaman

yes shahzad i have the same idea for an interview of Professor Sahib..

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:21 #
  11. msohail83

That's sad!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:49 #
  12. khurram Zaman

Any one want read some of professor Sahib's Posts below..

http://www.pakspectator.com/author/jalal/

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 13:52 #
  13. khurram Zaman

His face Book Link.

http://www.facebook.com/people/Anwar-Jalal/754403406

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 14:03 #
  14. Anonymous

I think that a high level inquiry in this matter should be conducted by the Army Administration and the culprits should be punished. People of Pakistan must be informed about any action taken in this regard.

Although I don't know Prof. Anwar Jalal, I would be grateful if some of his friends who read my comments will convey all my sympathies to him.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 14:43 #
  15. uovervinnelig

It is not right, this is happening probably since Pakistan came into being. This can't be stopped until we all stand against it. There should be investigation into it but also why we Pakistanis don't support each other? Why don't we raise voice when army men insult other poor civilians in front us?

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 15:19 #
  16. No doubt it is a sad event this could happen with each one of us, so please not only condemn this behavior but also use any channel/media to show your response on this act of terrorism.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 16:06 #
  17. The following posts have been transfered from a similar thread:

http://pkpolitics.com/discuss/topic/why-army-beats-and-insults-poor-civilians?replies=3

Basharat
    Why army beats and insults poor civilians? I myself have witnessed this on few occasions when roads were being built by FWO in my village. Below is an article by Ataul Haq Qasmi where he prints the letter of an assistant professor who was beaten up by army men, totally disgusting.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/sep2009-daily/03-09-2009/col2.htm

Posted 5 hours ago # 87.84.49.194 Edit Delete Undelete
    bebus
    Our police also do the same.
    It must be stopped.

Posted 1 hour ago # 116.71.162.169 Edit Delete Undelete

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 16:22 #
  18. what was his business trying to interfere in the matters of FC ?

Why did he open his mouth......

I strongly support the fouji action against this so called professor...

When officials tell you something, one listens if not..this is what happens..

we should all respect our officials and never interfere in their duty!

crying on news papers and trying to highlight brutality by army is not going to help.....one should obey the law!

what was his business trying to advocate sikh sawari..?

this is the problem with pakistan......

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 17:25 #
  19. zjshami

Here in America when I started my job with a Bank the first lesson was not to intervene or advise any Law enforcement authority if we are not asked for that.
    Don't attempt to help a person without his/her consent.
    Not try to play as Hero in a situation not related to one's profession.
    However,
    Professor Anwar Jalal, like any other innocent citizen, should have been respected.
    The concerned authorities should come up with a public apology for such insulting action.
    Teachers, Poets and Literary scholars, generally, are very sensitive and deserve a decent behavior.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 18:06 #
  20. msohail83

Mulla,

"I strongly support the fouji action against this so called professor..."

Are you sure you wanna say that?

Weren't you vociferously decrying some verbal abuse hurled at JS by a member and your reason was his 'age'? That incident took place b/w two strangers in the virtual world.

Here we are talking about a respected 'senior' citizen who happens to be a teacher getting humiliated for trying to help out a fellow citizen. The most disgusting and disturbing part of the story is the physical abuse took place after he introduced himself as a teacher.

FC personnel do not have the right to take law into their hands. This is deplorable and must be condemned!

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 18:38 #
  21. khurram Zaman

Ansari Abbasi reffering to the same incident here.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/sep2009-daily/07-09-2009/col8.htm

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 20:44 #
  22. NNL

MSohail

Mulla's hurls the word Munafiq to everyone who disagrees with him.

But his own munafiqat is quite apparent at times and it shockingly open.

Mulla is actually one of the those ex service men that BW's are looking for these days.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 21:33 #
  23. misalligned

Mulla kash tumhari support say FC pak ho jai, lolz

tumhari support tumhain khud ko faida nahin day sakti FC ko kiya day gi.

I strongly condemn the action by FC, they are there to impose the rule of law, if they will themselve start breaking the law then who will respect them, perhaps only mulla until they dont screw him.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 Sep 2009 21:56 #
  24. This new article just gave me a brilliant idea. I would travel to ISI headquarters in Islamabad and tell them how to run all their investigations. Since I am very smart I can instruct them on how to run their investigations and I will tutor them on how to do them properly. We all know they need my input very dearly. I am certain they will “appreciate” my meddling in their affairs and show me great respect.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 5:07 #
  25. aristotle

this is terrible..we should register our protest on this issue..at least we should send a letter to the editor in diffrent newspaers..

letters@dawn.com
    news.post@thenews.pk.com
    ed.khi@br-mail.com
    readerscolumn@nation.com.pk

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 6:55 #
  26. any paper would have guts to do so ?

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 7:00 #
  27. Beenai

Very right.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 7:24 #
  28. aristotle

papers r publishing news items and articles on this issue..

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 9:01 #
  29. amin1924

Check posts are usually managed by havaldar or naib subaidar. These junior non-commissioned officers follow orders as given and do not differentiate between thug or intellectual.

Don't expect respect from these foot soldiers, just do what they tell you to do and you will be done quickly else they will insult you or humiliate you in front of your family/friends.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 9:07 #
  30. our army has been always treated as a holy cow.
    thats why army men thinks that they are untouchable.
    and can do whatever they feels like.
    somebody should be dare enough to break this perception for army.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 9:22 #
  31. zia m

This is deplorable and must be condemned by all Pakistanis.
    I just found out about prof.Anwar Jamal.I am really impressed by his article on Creation and Aim of Pakistan.
    He wrote..
    Though Sharia as understood and preached by Mullahs was never the aim of Quaid-e-Azam however in spite of his all secularism he was also not averse to the Ideals of Islam It is reasonably supposed that had he been alive for some time he would have recommended such political and constitutional set up for Pakistan where both the Islamic ideals and modern thoughts had been fully accommodated and Pakistan would have been such state which would be defiantly having the best principles , values and ideal of Islam in its system but would have never been theocratic state And there would perhaps have no intellectual confusion regarding the aim , political system of Pakistan and nor, thus, there would have been the religious extremism being espoused by the religious political parties who were totally against the creation of Pakistan till 14 August 1947.

http://www.pakspectator.com/creation-and-aim-of-pakistan-two-main-views/

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 9:34 #
  32. amin1924

zia m,

Respecting a person because he matches your views isn't fair. Would you have enjoyed his humiliation had he written in favor of taliban?

Army never created Pakistan nor did Pakistan create the Army. We inherited this colonial institution from british raj. Though foundation and core ideas of army have changed a little after partition but top most generals are hand picked to do the job assigned.

Sooner or later that hold of top brass will be taken away from original leadership -yes the ones that you really fear!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 10:56 #
  33. waqartaurus

that is a sad incident no doubt, i think the top military officials should try to avoid this sort of incidents.
    in operation areas, the so called janasheen of salahudding ayubi and tariq bin ziad ie the Zaliman, have used humans as shields. they have used small school going children to come to the way of army convoy and then suddenly some mad person blow himself on the way to hell. zaliman have used women and children for thier bloody game. so everyone is doubtful in those areas.
    again this is no justification. respect should be given to people.
    where were you guys when zaliman were insulting humans in thier so called islami riasat. you are calling army as napak army, shame on you for this. just spend one day from your computer and internet and go to swat area and ask the people there. they are now killing the militants themselves, coz they know they have been made fool in the name of islam. support army in this operation. else join taliban and move ahead to hell.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 12:58 #
  34. zia m

jjkhan
    I would have defended him even if he was a mazloom Mulla.
    In case of a criminal Taliban,i am not so sure.We all have our opinions that can be biased at times.

Mulla,
    I think verbal chitrol would have been enough,physical chitrol is condemnable.Our officials need to act civilized.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:21 #
  35. zia m:

I swear that does not happen all the time. I have traveled in private and with protocol in Pakistan. My dad always told me to "stop and be respectful" to security officials.

When I used to travel from Peshawar to Islamabad in 1990's, security would stop our car on I belive three places, in nowshera, near attock and then near pindi and then two places in Islamabad.

We would always be nice and courteous and never in our life in our private capacity were ever subjected to any ill treatment.

I think the professor is lying and upset at his be izzati!

are there any witnesses to this incident and does he have the names of the officers involved in this...

I doubt that this story is accurate.....but I support law enforcement who has to do a tough job in today's security situation....

He had no bizns intervening! cause and effect theory!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:29 #
  36. An arrest for interfering in official matters could have been an option or a verbal warning/interview should have been appropriate. Physical assault is always condemnable since it is totally immoral I wonder if Pakistan army has psychiatric help available for our brave soldiers that may suffer from combat stress disorder.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:30 #
  37. lota6177:

yes thats what they do, when they get stressed with unwanted intervention, they do not take it home, they vent right there!

but without listening to the "fc side" of story......we should not side with this strange 30 page writing capacity professor who is like by taliban and people-burners!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:32 #
  38. Mulla
    It can’t be easy doing what these brave soldiers do for 9000 rupees a month. They leave their families at home and serve in places where their fellow Muslims are slitting the throats of their fellow soldiers/friends in the army. These soldiers feel pain when they fight their own flesh and blood but the people that slit their throats well their hands never wavier for a second even when they see a fellow Pakistani Muslim in uniform serving our country. Serving in an active war zone while witnessing all this carnage would easily cause combat fatigue and a soldier can explode on an innocent/not so innocent bystander. I hope they are being provided mental help for combat fatigue.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:41 #
  39. ofcourse!

9000 rupees is a very stressfull ecnomic status.....

then beja mudakalat by a some afsana nafees.....its an explosive situation...

this teacher type should have avoided and his chitraool should be a learning experience for the rest of us.

never try to impress or intervene in such a situation...this is the law of pakistan, it backfires.....

My friends took a elderly person to hospital, upon finding him unconcious, guess what we had to go and relase them cause the hospital would not admit the elder person without a report upon hearing that the youth were not realated. The hospital, called a security officer who made the youth sit and would not let them go.

We went with a low ranking officer ASI and found out that its the law in pakistan, back then at least, that if you bring in a victim of accident or be a good samaritan, and if the police is called upon to report cause there is no identity card on the victim, the police keeps u as hostage till resolution...

so given the scary nature of our pakistani law, its best and the teacher was educated person why did not he use his mind...the mind which made him write 30 pages should have been used to avoid chitrool!

common-sense ?

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 15:48 #
  40. Mulla
    I have always had pleasant respectful exchanges with army personal but then again I have never been in an active war zone and I imagine all this could have happen if someone is at the wrong place at the wrong time. The army should look into this incident and make sure it does not happen again for the benefit of all civilians. On my part I always salute the members of our army and mind my business. I actually have a similar story where I was in Pakistan in early April 2009 and there was a middle aged Sikh guy from Toronto traveling by PIA for besakhi festival to Lahore. I went up to him in the baggage area and asked him if everything is alright and if he needed transportation to go anywhere and wished him a pleasant stay in Pakistan. I didn’t offer him any help with custom or immigration. That would have been a little too much for me to handle in certain situations. I didn’t know this guy well enough in the 3 minutes that I spoke to him. If law enforcement would have stopped him you would not see me asking "kiya howa haie, ein ko janie do main ein ko janta houn. Aap ko investigation karnie nahie atiee aap youn karain aur in ka parishan maat karain. See you on the other side was my philosophy.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:03 #
  41. exactly!

I am 100% agreed to your common sense approach!

plus, me and you both cannot write 30 pages long afsana, or maybe you can ?

but you are 100% correct!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:08 #
  42. uovervinnelig

Here is another example of army brutality, probably it is already told on pkpolitics.com but I came across this on some other website (http://teeth.com.pk/blog/2009/07/16/the-hoodlumism-of-army-officers-and-the-blatant-lack-of-accountability).

Recently Mr Ali Anan Qamar, an Assistant Coordination Officer and in-charge of Sheikh Yasin camp was beaten up and publicly humiliated by two officers of Pakistan Army, Maj. Asad Jamal and Lt. Haider marwat of 32nd Cavalry on 8th July 2009. Mr Qamar is a very well educated official of the government and we fear that if such treatment is meted out to high officials of the civil bureaucracy what may be happening to those who are the poor and illiterate in society and who cannot even raise their voices.

In the words of Mr. Qamar.
    Today on 08-07-09, at about 11:00AM, I was sitting in my office at Skeikh Yasin Camp, when Lt Haider of 32 cavalry came to my office. Apparently he was in on angry mood and told me that Major Asad 32 cavalry was not happy with me. He mentioned as list of things which Major Asad wanted to be done through me. I responded and if he had any complaints against me, he better report it to the DCO and Commissioner Mardan.
    He threatened me with dire consequences. I then proceeded to the Rub Hall, where an army JCO came and asked me to report about the tents which the army had provided to the camp. I responded that I will hand over a report to some officer like a captain or a major. The JCO misbehaved with me there, in front of many witnesses including two doctors for ERU who had brought in Atta for the IDPs. The JCO too accused me of abusing the army and refused to move, but later some civilians finally managed to take him away from the Rub Hall.
    About half an hour later, while I was standing in a container along with Wajid of SRSP, that I saw army jawans fully armed beating up the IDPs. Then Major Asad and Lt Haider rushed towards one with 35/40 troops fully armed and Major Asad said, “Pick him up”.
    The jawan of army led by Major Asad and Lt Haider started beating me up mercilessly with fists, shoes and butts of gun and abused me continuously. I was thrown on the ground and beaten. Then they picked me up from my hands and legs and dragged me towards the military vehicle parked outside.
    The jawans beat me continuously under the directions of Major Asad and forced me to sit on the floor of the vehicle with my head down. I was then alternately asked to stand on the seat of the vehicle with my hands raised. The beating continued, the abuses continued. The IDPs were rounded up and made to look at my beating the message was given that this is your ACO, and we the army are throwing him out. We have taken over..
    I was then thrown on the ground and then dragged on to as to the main Charsadda Road. There my shirt was ripped open and I was asked to lie on the road. Then amidst the continuous beating, Major Asad stopped a rickshaw and I was put in the rickshaw. Lt Haider come to me and said, now you know what the army is and beat me more.
    In this whole ordeal I have sustained injuries on the chin and head, bruises on the face, which will be shown in the medicolegal certificate. Prior to the incident they raided my office and took away the record of the camp. Lt Haider took away my two mobiles telephones 1 Nokia communicator with Ufone Sim 0334-4119821 and 2 Sony Erricson 03004132534. The Lt Haider also took away my wallet with some cash in it and ID Cards, Aim Cards, Driving Lenience and Service Card. That cash amounted to R.S 3000-4000/-
    I charge Major Asad and Lt Haider for physically assaulting me, causing injuries on my chin and other parts of the body and obstructing me form tha discharge of my official duty, snatching my purse and mobiles. I can also identify the other accused if they are produced before me.
    The accused also gave beating to my gun man Qayyum, Mr. Wajid from SRSP and some others who were accompanying me at that time.

08-07-09
    Signed by Ali Anan Qamar

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:13 #
  43. pay attention :

"Apparently he was in on angry mood and told me that Major Asad 32 cavalry was not happy with me. He mentioned as list of things which Major Asad wanted to be done through me."

when army "tells you to do something" you better do it!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:19 #
  44. uovervinnelig

I would suggest to write to national news papers and also to ISPR at the link below:

http://www.ispr.gov.pk/front/main.asp?o=t-contact_us

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:27 #
  45. I responded and if he had any complaints against me, he better report it to the DCO and Commissioner Mardan.

No way, I just sold some idp supplies provided by the army to my civilian connections and I can’t show this army officer the inventory list. I am a self important civil servant and I have gunmen that protect me. I am going to talk down to the army officer and tell him he has to go through the rep tape. I will give him the file when he goes through GHQ and I get a written official request by next year to hand over the inventory list. Who cares if the idp need supplies and they are suffering?
    Knock knock
    Whos there?
    Bishman Bishman Bishman bishman.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:28 #
  46. chitrool zindabad!

yes, when the army tells you to do something you better do it....

remember nawaz shareef ?

yes...being educated should help us avoiding chitrol!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:44 #
  47. khurram Zaman

Moderators,

You are requested to pls delete irrelevent and abusive posts out of this thread.And also warned the voilators this time..

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:53 #
  48. the moral of the story is ....

do not intervene in the matters of the security agencies!

play a positive role and be patient. Nation is going thru strange messy time and let authorities do their job.

Avoid public humiliation!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 16:57 #
  49. yes...being educated should help us avoiding chitrol!

One can write a 30 page phd guide on "how to avoid chitrol by army for dummies". This could be a new best seller.

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 17:00 #
  50. ISPR should sponsor such a 30 page booklet....in all ethnic languages ........

we should actually use this blog to educate all members of our society to learn how to behave when dealing with the army! and security agencies!

Posted 2 years ago on 08 Sep 2009 17:06 #