Protect Your Self Respect

(61 posts)
  1. shikra

http://www.eff.org/issues/bloggers/legal/liability/defamation

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:03 #
  2. amin1924

Kindly also inform where these laws are applicable?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:07 #
  3. shikra

http://www.cyberlibel.com/defnet.html

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:16 #
  4. msohail83

Shikra,

Did you get some sleep overnight? Or did you spend your time thinking about laws to threaten ppl?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:19 #
  5. amin1924

So the first link is applicable in USA and second link is applicable in Canada?

Can a person file a petition in local court of Canada against a person in Pakistan?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:22 #
  6. shikra

This is not a threat but the safeguards against a life threat and defamatory remarks already made at the Forum for some one.
    A person can be sued anywhere in the World who enjoys the facility and misuses the Internet for Defamation.
    Defense is not a threat.
    Have a Nice Day.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:22 #
  7. msohail83

Well, you left last night threatening lawsuits against someone and following it up with these links. It's quite clear what message you're trying to convey. I think you should move on.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:25 #
  8. amin1924

I think it is good to learn dos and don'ts from legal point of view to safeguard oneself, especially for those who live in West because you can really get in trouble.

Shikra, please let me know if you find answer to my question above.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:28 #
  9. shikra

Any person, using the Internet facility in any part of the World can ask for protection against Defamation.
    The Legal Notice is served through the Embassy of the State of origin.
    The cause of action could be established Internationally as the Blogs at the Internet reach every corner of the Globe.
    I can serve a Legal Notice to anyone through Canadian Embassy.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:37 #
  10. shikra zardari is also facing this problem. He is fedup with sms, emails and blogs. Please also send him these links and do something jointly so you could help each other.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:42 #
  11. amin1924

Does that require one to hold local citizenship or only immigrant status is enough?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:42 #
  12. amin1924

plus doesn't that apply to one who is using his actual name/address and someone is defaming a real person, not a factious nick?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:44 #
  13. shikra

A legal immigrant has got all the privilege just like a citizen but cannot cast vote.
    Please keep on asking such questions, I like it.
    My Attorney has given me a complete folder holding a lot of information.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:46 #
  14. msohail83

I'm sorry but I'm a very Desi guy who'll never think of lawsuits against my own countryman, ever! Maybe, I'm not whitewashed enough!

These kinda things don't bother me at all and honestly it suits white ppl as they whine about every little thing and think of lawsuits so they could get some money ;-)

My culture and upbringing are very different.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:46 #
  15. Red-Scorpion

@msohail83

Wow, here comes nationalism and Ummah flies away !

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:50 #
  16. shikra

Still I believe your culture doesn't permit to misuse the facility at the Internet.
    I am sure your culture doesn't allow for loose talk.
    I am glad your are sticking to your culture.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:52 #
  17. amin1924

Shikra,

Thanks I am learning, this is new to me too, please also review my second question related with fictitious names/ids.

Someone saying something to shikra isn't pointing towards real person behind shikra, right?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:54 #
  18. DeadlyHonest

msohail,

lolzzzzzzzzzz

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 10:59 #
  19. amin1924

msohail83,

Uncle Shikra is serious, but I really doubt he has ground to file law suit. Of course if you got attorney he will give you 12 solutions because he has to earn from his clients.

But imagine for a minute you go to Pakistan embassy to file law suite against a person in cheechu kee malian. LOL

Just enjoying it ;-)

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:02 #
  20. msohail83

Shikra,

Here is my honest assessment. I believe you're being too sensitive and over-reactive. Kindly go through some major websites (videos sharing, social sites, etc) and read some comments. You'll get an idea of what it is all about. You're not always gonna find amusing things to read. There will be times when you have to just overlook it and move on. It's that simple.

I'd never loose my sleep over it!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:03 #
  21. amin1924

msohail83

Good point, just look at youtube how people comment there, I never heard any defamation suit on that site?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:11 #
  22. msohail83

No lawsuits I've ever heard about. My first time was when JS threated someone and 2nd encounter is with his nephew.

If you really wanna see some good stuff, visit foxnews and huffingtonpost and watch what liberals and conservatives do to each other. lol

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:14 #
  23. amin1924

I think he is still going through legal text trying to understand if he could throw something here.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:18 #
  24. shikra

1. Person behind Shikra?
    Moderators are there to monitor.
    (For your kind information I am not so illiterate to write as good blog as JS)
    2. Personification?
    The person who is being personified can intervene to stop this nonsense.
    You can sue me if I pose like you.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:18 #
  25. amin1924

Shikra sb,

Kindly guide me how can I sue a person abusing me on youtube. Thanks.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:21 #
  26. msohail83

shikra,

What if I come tomorrow with the nick "JS" (Jhoora Shah) and act like "Javed Sheikh", will you be able to sue me?

I could prove in the court that nick represents my original name, can't I? So, how can you sue someone?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:26 #
  27. What are moderators to do in a situation like this. Its all about double IDs!

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:28 #
  28. @Semirza,
    yah ...its a very crucial matter .
    and we really have to look into it.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:33 #
  29. shikra

Prepare a complete record of the blogs from both the parties as a document.
    Highlight the objectionable portion.
    Go to the office of an Attorney at Law, who will be glad to take your case and serve a legal notice to the Administration of Youtube to trace the person out of Member's Data Base.
    Youtube is legally obligated to provide the information to the Court of Law where a person violates their Policy.
    Even if you loose the case, it will help to give defendant a warning for being cautious and careful at the Internet, in future.
    You will be in a good position to win if that person keeps on repeating the same mistake.
    (Dr. Wali Gohar)

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:35 #
  30. amin1924

Kindly do share if you find similar law suits for my study. Thanks.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:37 #
  31. msohail83

So, you're admitting it's a pretty weak case in the first place?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:38 #
  32. shikra

It depends upon the capability of the Attorney.
    If I retain Itzaz Ahsan and the defendant retains Wasi Zafar, my case can go strong.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:43 #
  33. msohail83

lol @ Wasi Zafar

what if your attorney is Jehangir Badar?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:44 #
  34. shikra

http://www.internetdefamationlawblog.com/

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:47 #
  35. msohail83

I'm a slacker when it comes to reading friend. Can your break down 'cheeda cheeda' points for us, please?

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 11:49 #
  36. shikra

Justapakistani
    You need not to worry. You will get information through the parties in the loop.
    I am sure it will make a positive change at the Pkpolitics.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 12:11 #
  37. misalligned

shikra

khuda ka khaauff karo bahi. Please talk some sense. I have not seen any thread at this forum more pathatic than this. Yea in 3rd grade we were having this attitude. defaming..lolz, kitnay jhadaay garay huway hain shikra kay naam say duniyya main jo yahan pay logoon nain gira diyay hain.

BTW you did not revealed how come you were having the same IP as JS, may be you live in toronto but to use internet you come to washington, may be for better speed to save some time who knows

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 21:56 #
  38. shikra

misalligned
    My dear,
    How you will feel where some one is constantly threatening, cursing, abusing and trying to create a situation?
    Look at the other side too.
    Just compare and contrast the theme of postings.
    JS has openly declared and admitted at the forum as a democratic, secular and non-practicing Muslim, then better to avoid his threads and let those read and share who agree to him.
    No one has a right to get him hanged in bazzar of Gujrat.
    Moderator should be approached to take the notice if JS wrote something objectionable or annoying.
    The issue has nothing to do do with the use of same IP.
    It doesn't damage the cause of action.
    There is a limit of everything.
    Do you want to live with a nasty blame game just due to difference of opinion?
    JS has left the forum for good, but still there are some big mouths spitting venom upon him.
    I you are touchy about Islam, Pakistan, Quaid-i-Azam, Bhutto or Nawaz Sharif then I am touchy about my uncle JS as I know him better than others.
    I am here for my vacations, you won't see me often at this forum after next week as I have no Internet access at the Hospital computers.
    Have a nice day.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 22:34 #
  39. Adonis

@ shikra

You wrote:
    "(For your kind information I am not so illiterate to write as good blog as JS)"

Hmmmmm ....

Are you sure this is really what you meant to write ?

Not a great way to write about one's "uncle".

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 22:48 #
  40. zia m

Adonis
    You know that is a typo.
    Does not reflect good on you.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 22:53 #
  41. misalligned

My dear shikra

if some one will threaten me like this. I will move forward or maximum i will ask moderator to delete that particular message which is annoying. BTW first of all religion is a personal matter and i have no problem if you are muslim or non-practicing muslim or even not a muslim, does not matter. But if you could be so emotional about your uncle why you could not think that people could be even more emotional when your uncle started criticizing their faiths. Its ok to believe in whatever you think is good for you but to criticize others faith will not make your faith correct.

Just move forward my friend and try to accept that this is a forum where no body comes with his identity, no one knows you no matter how many times you will introduce yourself. So no body could defame you

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 22:58 #
  42. shikra

My dear misalligned,
    I am impressed by your positive an normal attitude.
    I beg to differ where you wrote 'started criticizing their faiths.'
    A secular cannot criticize any Faith but respects all the Faiths and Religions existing within a State of society.
    I have collected all of the postings from JS as advised y the attorney, I have yet to find a single loose posting to prove your observation.
    I will be grateful if you paste it or mail it to me @ waligohar@hotmail.com, if you find one.
    Then poet of the East and so many writers such as Hasan Nisar would have been dragged into courts or have been killed by the Fanatics.
    The criticism on Mulla or Trrorists could not be taken as criticism of Islam.
    This is not the case. It was mere lack of tolerance what is required at a discussion Forum.
    Moderators were kept busy for 7/24 to delete such threatening posts and no positive change was emerging.

Posted 2 years ago on 19 Aug 2009 23:22 #
  43. chechen

BTW first of all religion is a personal matter and i have no problem if you are muslim or non-practicing muslim or even not a muslim, does not matter.

Religion is not a personal matter. Please do not write such blasphempous statements on this forum. If you call yourself a atheist as JS had earlier disclosed about himself then there is no problem at all. But trying to label yourself as a Muslim, it becomes tantamount to blasphemy. Muslim is a Muslim. By definition he cannot be a "secular" Muslim or "moderate" Muslim.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 1:11 #
  44. shikra

That point is debatable. You say a secular cannot be a Muslim. I think this definition is wrong.
    Most of the great leaders from Sir Syed Ahmad Khan to the Qauid-i-Azam lived a secular life.
    Here I quote one piece from Mir Taqi Mir and ask a Mulla to issue a fatwa of Kufr upon him:

mir ke deeno-mazhab ke kya poochte ho tum os ne tou
    qashqa khencha dair mein batha kab ka tark islam kyeea.

According to your definition of a Muslim 90% Muslims of the World should be declared kafirs.
    What you are looking for and where are you living?
    My dear chechan.
    That's why the people living on fake imagination are looser at the discussion Forums and get agitated.
    How a wrong concept could lead you to a right direction?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:02 #
  45. chechen
    plz don,t try to impose your understanding.

your inderstanding /defination is only good for u. plz don,t become 'theekaydar' of islam.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:09 #
  46. chechen

I am not a thekedar of Islam. Quran repeatedly says at several places that Walakin aksar al naasu La yaalamoun meaning "most mankind do not understand". So 98% Muslims being secular including what Shikra gave as examples do not mean anything. Remmeber there were very few followers of Prophet Noah AS and majority drowned. There are scores of such examples that Quran repeatedly gives to make the mankind aware that it does not matter what majority believes and practices. It is quality that matters.

Islam is not a Sunday worship religion as Christianity. We never relegated Islam to Friday worship although the secularist aping the decadent West try desparetely to do that. Islam is from cradle to grave 365x24 hours a day. The whole life revolves arond Islam, Quran and Hadith and not vice versa.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:21 #
  47. shahzad1924

shikra, a Muslim is a Muslim, nothing else.

if a Muslim is impressed with some secular ideas, he is confused, and may Allah guide him to the right path.

and Alhamdulillah your statement that 90% Muslims are secular, is not true. Muslims love their Islam and they want their Islam to solve their issues.

http://www.hizb.org.uk/hizb/resources/reports/worldpublicopinion-muslim-public-opinion-on-us-policy-attacks-on-civilians-and-al-qaeda.html

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:31 #
  48. shikra

Live and let live.
    We are all Muslims. Don't push us towards Kufr. You will gain nothing but loose a few good human beings.

mujh ko tou sikhai hai afrang ne zindeeqi
    is daur ke Mulla hain kyoon nang-i-muslamani

Let the people do something good for Pakistan and 160 millions human beings living there.
    Islam is not in danger due to persons like JS. He is too small to create any wrong to Faith.
    People of Pakistan meed to get out of danger from Jihalat and lack of Education.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:33 #
  49. chechen,

as u quoted "most mankind don,t understand".

can,t it be u who is wrong in understanding? how do u know that your understanding is correct? why it can,t be wrong?

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 2:35 #
  50. chechen

AsifK,

I did not claim that I am part of that "elite" few who believe. I am a sinner but would like to strive and be part of the Ummah that attains salvation inthie world and hereafter.

Shikra,

Your example of Allama's reference to Mulla is OK but what Allama refered to is the 2 rakat Imams and Mullas who do not have slightest idea of the make up of an Islamic state. Allama was lamenting on those ignorant Mullas on one hand but also had no desire to be part of the secularist West. He had clear vision of an Islamic state. His superb masterpiece Shikwa and Jawab shikwa will put to rest any notion that he was a secular Muslim.

Posted 2 years ago on 20 Aug 2009 3:21 #