PTI chickens out of bye elections

(56 posts)
  1. PTI tsunami appears to be bust. They have opted out of bye elections even on the seats vacated by some of their new recent arrivals. I think they had sent Hashmi in the field to do some jalsas to get a feel of the public mood. It must be disappointing.

http://jang.com.pk/jang/jan2012-daily/14-01-2012/u93163.htm

Inqalab awey e awey!

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 14:36 #
  2. @Gujjar Talwar --> Asal mein baat ye hai PML-Q2 (PTI) did not win a single seat in bye elections so far... Jab bhi harey hai inhon ne govt per DHANDLI ka ilzam lagaya hai..

Ab PML-Q2 (PTI) ki position buhat sensitive hai agar ye log ek seat bhi bye elections mein haar gaye tou TSUNAMI ke baloon ki sari hawa nikal jayegi..

Is ko kehtey hai apni POPULARITY mein shak hona!!!!

lol @ IK --> Dekho dekho popular leader election se dar raha hai!!!

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 15:43 #
  3. pakstar

My question to PTI supporters is , Imran Khan explained you guys that how can he get rid of PPP Govt, if Army is not taking over??

Is there a second way of removing PPP from GOVT?

If not then why not accept the fact that Imran khan just talks for nothing.. he has no stake in current Power politics.. so he cannot change anything..

instead he admits to support every party (in Govt) such as MQM+ANP+PPP+PMLQ= Govt but won't shake hand with PMLN (only party in opposition at Federal Govt) ...

what a stupidity..

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 16:59 #
  4. expakistani

At this point PTI can have orgnization/reornization for next election. spending time and money on by elections wouldnt be good.
    Let PML N and PPP sort out their problems.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 17:02 #
  5. pakstar

shame on Imran Khan , copying PMLNs stance "New provinances k khilaf nahi lakin wo intazami buniyadoon per honay chahyain."

this is what PMLN said over 2 years agoo.. Imran Khan just woke up ?

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 17:08 #
  6. asif86

These by-elections are going to be done on 2008 electoral rolls and it has been proved in SC that 2008 rolls had 3.7 crore bogus registered votes.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 17:25 #
  7. anasyounus

@pakstar..
    Dont act completely deaf and dumb.. on provinces thats his consistant stance when ever the question is raised...

and as for elections.. how can he take part in elections if he is advising and demanding others to resign... afterall he is not NS..the dual faced man.. as exposed over time.. rememeber wikileaks??? ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 17:38 #
  8. pakstar

@anasyounus

lol @ Consistant stance , can you please give me reference to any IK's statement, when did he talk about provinces?

"how can he take part in elections if he is advising and demanding others to resign" demanding... like he always demands for Chanda and money. again begging?? yeh Adaat kab jay gi???

btw that is the fruit of boycotting elections in 2008, if IK would have won few seats in 2008, he could have helped PMLN to persuade others for vote-of-no-confidence against PPP power equation i.e PPP GOVT = ANP+PMLQ+MQM..
    Now wait until this Govt completes its 5 years.. thanks to Imran Khan for his vision.. Duh !!!

but what you know about politics is all starts from Imran Khan and ends on Imran Khan..

keep yourself indulged and satisfied by PTI delusions.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 17:55 #
  9. siddiqi73

Y'all, I've been saying this all along that there is no way in the cotton picking world that Lota Khan and his Lunda Bazar Party would contest the by-elections. The sheep herds and Deen-e-Imrani Mureeds cry on top of their lungs that the Ilzami Tehreek is the next big thing which hit planet earth since Phajjay dai Paway and my contention is that it is all the more reasons for them to take part in electoral politics and translate into massive success.....mark my words, they would never contest an election cause the results would put Jazi Khan to shame and this myth would be flushed down the toilet.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 18:31 #
  10. Mohamed ElBaradei will end Egypt presidency bid
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-middle-east-16561273

PTI fans should see this as their roadmap for IK, which he is pretty much on track by abandoning bye elections. Fame can get you only so far but then, you have to convince the masses that you are worth delivering something tangible.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 21:00 #
  11. qaisernadeem

LOL,

PTI's members should contest elections to go back to these same assemblies where they just resigned from, waaoow, what a logic?

If PMLN takes part in these bogus elections, they would lose their remaining popularity amongst people, as everyone is demanding them to resign from the assemblies!

Vay gujra vay, ja apna kam kr, sisat teray bas di gal ni haigi!!

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 21:18 #
  12. Lo ji election ka waqt aye to sub bogus hay, warna baray naaray hein! PTI tau apnay saay se he darti hay.

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 21:51 #
  13. daani

Aey mard e munafiq bhaag zara
    ab waqt e election hay aya

Posted 4 months ago on 14 Jan 2012 23:24 #
  14. pakstar

@Qaisar Nadeem

Plz don't oversimplify things. IK has repeatedly said that he supports elections on due date, which means he wants the government to continue till 2013. Had PMLn not been in the National Assembly, NRO would have been approved and Mush granted indemnity, and the restoration of judiciary would have been a dead issue. We would still have Mush's 17th amendment and many laws to legalize PPP corruption would have been passed. Youth shouldn't be carried away by emotional propaganda of IK, who distorts facts for his popularity, like trying to show that he was deceived on election boycott issue. I am witness we all tried very hard to convince him but he kept saying that nation will boycott the polls, rest is history.

Courtsy: Ashan Iqbal @ Facebook

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 2:51 #
  15. qaisernadeem

@Pakstar,

Nation did boycott the history, the turn was one of the lowest!

PMLN not only took part in the elections but they also took oath from Musharraf, hahaha!

Now you are defending PPP's governance in past 4 years, keep going, tell the world that PPP and PMLN are hand in glove!

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 2:53 #
  16. Respect

It is not time for bye elections, but for PML N to resign from parliament and force PPP to go for elections, that is the best purpose for Pakistan.

Bye-elections in the present circumstances will not make a dime bit of difference to awam.

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 3:00 #
  17. pakstar

@Qaiser Nadeem

why you overlooked the punch lines in the text.. read it again

"Had PMLn not been in the National Assembly, NRO would have been approved and Mush granted indemnity, and the restoration of judiciary would have been a dead issue. We would still have Mush's 17th amendment and many laws to legalize PPP corruption would have been passed. "

and now talk about it..

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 3:04 #
  18. pakstar

@Respect

what makes you sure that after PMLN resignation from parliament will force PPP resign?

You think that is what Zardari is waiting for to surrender his power?

Instead PPP will be free to pass any law of their choice from parliament as there will be no one to oppose their floating wishes..

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 3:07 #
  19. Respect

@pakstar

there resignation will make a a big difference in putting pressure on them as most of the other parties are in there pockets anyway, media will majorly highlight this and ask other parties are they going to do the same and put pressure on them.
    As for concerning Zardari wishes it seems he is doing what he wills anyway.

Noon League knew he was corrupt and incompetent before he came to power, but still supported him and behind closed doors did a deal u have your turn first then we will have ours. Then for 4 years how much influence have they had anyway? Zardari and his gang have been looting at free will, whether PIA, hajj corruption, load shedding the list goes on. And now it seems they are complicit in trying to take down establishment (memo gate), how many more reasons do u require bro?

So it seems by looking at the realistic view that noon league main achievement in last 4 years is friendly opposition!

Again I say bye elections do not make a dime bit of difference, but noon league resigning does!

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 4:31 #
  20. blacksheep

Aey mard e munafiq bhaag zara
    ab waqt e election hay aya

:-) :-) :-)

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 5:12 #
  21. Dusky

"Aey mard e munafiq bhaag zara
    ab waqt e election hay aya"

:-) :-) :-)

Ditto:)

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 5:31 #
  22. arif786

if the PTI tsunami clean sweeps in these bye elections ...it will give credence to "their" fact that ppl are with them... otherwise how can they claim that they are popular...there is no other guage...

with media, intelligenisa, establishment, and "independent" judiciary totally supporting them ...it wont be diffcult to control rigging, bogus voting or any other irregularity...can the tsunami not manage irregularities in just 5 -6 contituencies ...

how are they going to manage Pakistan which is far more complex undertaking ... a Pakistan where even army is unwilling to take the reins... our gutsy IK should have some courage and take the bull by the horn ... they have to deal with it ... these voter lists were prepared in the last Mush regime ... which might have establishment and PML(q) sympathiser who are all with him these days ... Deal with it ...just cant keep running away

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 7:30 #
  23. qaisernadeem

PTI knows where it stands in terms of support but rest of the people will just have to wait a little longer till the national elections!

Just think for yourself what are the chances of PTI on the following:

Shah Mehmood Qureshi's vacated seat: what are the chances of PTI candidate in the bye-elections?
    Javed Hashmi: again what are the chances?
    Pervaiz Khattak: ditto
    Khawaja Hoti: Ditto
    Sardar Asif Ahmed Ali: Ditto

The fact of the matter is that these seats are a piece of cake for PTI. Even if PTI clean sweeps them, it won't be a good guage for PTI in the up coming national elections as these candidates are very strong electables.

If you sit down and think about it rationally, these are the same NA seat which are vacated by those who resigned when they joined PTI. So, let's resign because the parliament is useless and force the government to go for fresh elections. But now contest the bye-elections on the same constituencies where you just resigned from? Does that make any sense?

As far as Mard Munafiq is concerned than we all know who Mard Munafiq of Pakistan politics really is!

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 8:07 #
  24. siddiqi73

Qaisar Bhai,

You always go on to win the marathon by taking baby steps first ;) Your enlightened logic sounds nothing more than bollocks!

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 8:32 #
  25. zingaro

In my humble opinion SC should order to put on hold all kind of elections until the voters lists are cleared of bogus votes and correct ones are prepared. Otherwise whoever will lose will start blaming that voter lists are not genuine. If we all believe in honesty and truth then we should not worry about this demand. Only those will oppose who have dishonesty in their minds and who want unfair results by using bogus votes.

What is the definition of Democracy? A government of people from the people by the people. So if someone wins with the help of bogus votes, will it also be called democracy? NOT to me.

Posted 4 months ago on 15 Jan 2012 8:38 #
  26. This is strange news; instead participating in bye elections, PTI is running away from them. What is their election strategy? What Imran is expecting from establishment? Does PTI want its candidate to win unopposed?

As much as establishment and Gen Pasha will support Imran in the coming elections, PTI itself has to do something to win seats. There is no such thing as gravy train and unopposed wins in our politics. I am disappointed PTI has decided not to contest in bye election. For PTI, it is high time to check their political temperature in bye elections before next general elections.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 14:53 #
  27. arif786

@sweettruth ...abso..f******n...lutely .... IK train seems to be loosing steam ... chickening away from every byeelection is not a great election strategy ...ppl seem to be questioning ...is he really capable...is he really the promised messiah ... one who cant deal with 5 or 6 constituencies... i doubt it

he does like to present cricket analogies...so in a cricket match can he say the pitch has been tampered ... or we dont have neutral upmires ...i wont play ... u cant give your opponents a walkover ... no u have to deal with it

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 15:21 #
  28. siddiqi73

Guys, trust me on this; Mein apni moochain mundwa doon ga if Pakistan Lota Tehreek decides to contest a by-election or for that matter, any election.

This dude Lunda Bazar Khan is only good for sitting on an arm chair in GEO Sports "Bolain Kiya Baat Hai" with Mirza Iqbal Baig and talking endless crap on cricket from his behind.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 15:45 #
  29. arif786

Sid ... i dont necessarily agree with ur words...but definitely the message...even PPP contested elections from 88 onwards against all odds...last election too MNS and PPP fought elections under Mush...knowing really well who he wanted in parliament...it is just no excuse...

again in cricket terminolgy..u cant get every condition favourable to ur needs..perfect pitch advantageous to ur requirements...favourable umpires...consenting third umpire...weak opponents... encouraging spectators..sunny outlook...dry outfield ..etc etc etc ...that is fair contest for IK

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 16:30 #
  30. @siddiqi73

So what is election strategy of PTI? Is PTI expecting miracles? I mean somehow you have to contest an election to prove your political influence. What is Imran's political strength? Where will seats come from? How establishment will assist Imran to win seats? How many new joiness (lotay) have the capability to win seats? What if lotay fails at ballot box? What Imran will do if his party does not perform well in the coming election? All these questions are relevant and valid and anyone is hardly discussing them. PTI is all talk talk talk but no actions.

Let's see what happens in the coming days leading to elections.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 16:38 #
  31. khanamer

@sweettruth

PTI's policy is very clear, they have stated many times that they will only win if there is free and fair elections and they will loose if there is rigging and there will be anarchy and blood-bath kind of thing if they loose...

so their strategy is obvious, if they didn't win ( i don't know how they are going to win, because still they are not ready to contest any elections which are only months away) they will try their best to take the streets and create agitation to a level where either army have to install them in the govt or country falls into civil war situation... after all destruction is what Tsunami can bring and no one in this world knows any good a Tsunami can bring.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 17:11 #
  32. siddiqi73

@ST,

Bro, wait till the fireflies of Deen-e-Imrani buzz around this thread and they will bombard you with the legendary nonsensical gibberish their Queen Alien (Lota Khan) is so renowned for.

As for election strategy of Pakistan Internet Tehreek....well, there ain't one cause the establishment has made Macdaddy Khan bite more than he can chew at the moment. It one thing to be a magnet of lotas and ex-toadies of dictators but a totally different ball game to convince people that the lackeys and corrupts of a general would somehow transform themselves into Martin Luther Kings under a clean and astute leadership....sorry, I don't buy that! Even a blind man can discern that there are only three electables in this Tanga Party on steroids and even I'm sceptical that these three would score anything big....Imran Khan would even get beaten by an old geyser like Sher Afghan Khan Niazi in Mianwali, Shah Mehmood Qureshi would not even have an iota of gut to contest from his traditional stronghold in Multan and would opt for a safer bet in Ghotki and as for JH.....the little diapered babies would get upset but no matter how Bahadur of an aadmi JH is, but he ain't gonna win even a Ms. Congeniality Contest without the support of NS.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 17:43 #
  33. secularists

Jab elections nahi hosaktay abhi tou PTI, Noon League aur Supreme Court itna shor kyun ker rahay hain?

Voter fehristein tmukammal honay ka tou intezar karein. Poori qaum ko in logo ne aik hijan mein mubtila ker rakha hai. O baba kuch der sabr karo, parliament ki mudat abhi baqi hai

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 21:40 #
  34. secularists@
    En logoon ko pata ha keh agar election apnay time par normal taor par huway tao PTI ke haathoon,Noon league ka wajood katam ho jaay ga.

Won election se phelay hee judiciary aur establishment kee madad se PPP government ko katam kar ke system par qabaza karna chatay hain.

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 21:58 #
  35. pkpolitician

ممکن ہے کہ عمرانی سونامی عام انتخابات سے بھی بھاگ جائے اگر اسٹبلشمنٹ نے اس کے غبارے میں بھری ہوئی ہوا نکال دی تو۔

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 11:28 #
  36. TanoliMns

pata nahin PTI say log itnay dar kaun rahe hain. Han shayed inhin establishment ki ungli pakar ka hukumat main aney ki adat si ho gaye hai. Is liye ehsas e kamtari ka sikar ho gaye hain. Waisay apis ki bat hay shahbaz sharif ko shahi pati ho ga keun kay wo rat ki tarikioun main mulqatain kartay rahey hain.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 11:33 #
  37. Pakistani84

@sid,

I thought ennuches didn't have moustache?

Even if you bet your behind on any issue, we should not take you seriously as we can't expect anything from shameless people, can we?

You are like a drug edict who would sell goods from his house secretly to earn a desired doze, like you party, you can stoop to any level.

You were the same person who was taunting PTI members about Shah Mehmood's son supposedly contesting elections on the seat left by his father and questioning PTI's stance of boycotting by-election.

Now that PTI has reiterated their long held stance and shown consistency amid sure shot electables within their ranks, you take a complete U-turn and like a lota intellectual come up with another argument?

Man, you would really sell your ..... to earn money. You can fill the blank by just about anything!

As for "Lunda Bazar", it is better than a Bazar filled with illegitimate children of Zia-ul-Haq. ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 11:53 #
  38. Pakistani84

@arif,

If it is certain that the pitch is tempered with, the umpires are on the side of your opponents, then you take to protest to ICC rather than being part of the fake game.

PTI is in SC on the issue of fake votes and SC has giving instructions to ECP to correct the lists. Why would PTI participate in the elections on fake voter lists and de-legitimize their own stance? For that matter, why would PTI take part in useless by-polls when it is asking parties to resign from this useless assembly?

Being the unsolicited lawyer of the corrupts like the Zardaris and the Gillanis, the importance of having a consistent might be lost on you but not on PTI.

(BTW, the electoral lists of 2008 elections were not made under Musharraf, it was made before his regime. In fact, Musharraf regime took the fake votes out before 2007 elections but BB went to SC to have them back in! This is the story of these corrupt parties).

Anyway, it must to be quite a task to be the defender of the most corrupt people in Pakistan and having a dig at probably the only honest political leader in the country at the same time?

Your job sucks! Sorry!

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 12:21 #
  39. Strategy of running away from bye elections is hard to understand; PTI supporters claim over 50% pubic support/popularity for their party and Imran Khan. Past humiliating defeats in bye elections do not support such tall claims.

Why PTI is afraid of elections?

What is election strategy of PTI?

Doesn't PTI have (winning) candidates?

Does PTI need more lotay to win seats?

Is PTI expecting miracles?

Since we are approaching general elections in the next 14 months and sooner or later PTI candidates will be scrutinized by public. What Imran is expecting from army generals to do; surely they cannot fill ballot boxes for PTI.

Imran's electoral influence is very weak and almost does not exist in any electorate otherwise dodgy candidates like Jazi woould have won bye elections.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 12:32 #
  40. sandman

Sweettruth

Just wondering, do you actually read other's posts in the thread before posting?

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 12:52 #
  41. pakstar

hahahahahaahahahaaa

take it all the way back to home in 1984...

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:17 #
  42. siddiqi73

@pakstar,

Since the mods and admins are evidently still enjoying a Management Retreat, I'm taking over the clean-up job around here for now....Hope you wouldn't mind ;)

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:18 #
  43. Pakistani84

@siddiqi,

HAHAHAHAHAHA!

The BAZAR is where your mother feels comfortable!

Your mother is my wh*re, don't pretend to by my father, my little son!

You were coming out of her you know what when I had my you know what in her mouth.

You okay now? Huge Grant? Has he been to your house too?

Where is your a$$ now? Timabktu? Oh, I realize your mother has been to TImabktu as well!

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:19 #
  44. It is expected all members will use decent language on this forum. Please remain focused on the title of the thread which is about PTI and Imran running away from a bye election.

Question is: Why Imran is afraid of elections?

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:20 #
  45. Pakistani84

@pakstar,

Where would he go now?

He will forget Timbaktu.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:24 #
  46. Pakistani84

@ST,

Why are you afraid of truth?

Even though it happens to be sweet.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:28 #
  47. pakstar

@Pakistani84

Do you really think that your abusive attitude (as you initiated) will help anyone on this forum?

Do you follow Imran KHan or preaching of Islam and humanity, where one is asked to respect others and differ with decency?

comeon you have grwon up.. don't be childish.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:29 #
  48. Pakistani84

@pakstar,

My initial post was not personal. His retort was personal, for which I would cut him into pieces rhetorically speaking.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:33 #
  49. siddiqi73

@ST,

>>> Question is: Why Imran is afraid of elections? <<<<

Cause Pampers is yet to come out with a diaper for a 60 year old youth.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:33 #
  50. pakstar

@Pakistani84
    As far as this post is concerned you are the one who addressed him first.. so how come he became personal to you when he never addressed you ?

you first addressed him with indecency.. now forget it and why not discuses in radius of harmony and respect..

now lets move on.. there is new topic for you.. check Discuss

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 13:37 #