PTI forms 16-member shadow cabinet

(67 posts)
  1. asif86

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=237279

Monday, May 03, 2010
    PTI forms 16-member shadow cabinet

By Mumtaz Alvi

ISLAMABAD: The Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf (PTI) on Sunday formed a 16-member shadow cabinet to suggest solutions to the grave national problems, including the seething energy crisis and inflation, as PTI chief Imran Khan claimed his was the only party capable of ridding Pakistan of the US slavery. The cabinet would focus on ways and means and thrash out strategies on the issues on which the PPP-led ruling coalition had failed to take any solid line of action. This development took place at the PTI National Convention to mark the 14th founding day of the party here. “PTI is the only party capable of ridding Pakistan of the US slavery, as all other parties have failed to make their mark on this count,” asserted the party chief amid cheering gathering of thousands of workers.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 13:08 #
  2. Ideally, The opposition makes a shadow cabinet so they keep an eye on their respective ministries. But unfortunately our opposition party is also a part of this corrupt set up.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 13:26 #
  3. yahya

"14th founding day of the party here"

14th founding day and still getting zamanat zabt...someone else would have taken the hint

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 13:47 #
  4. siddiqi73

@Khan_Sahib,

What makes you think that opposition party has not formed a shadow cabinet? Or is it mandatory for the opposition to form a shadow cabinet and unveil it to the whole world? Besides, what good is the formation of shadow cabinet by a party which aint gonna win more than one seat in the next elections or many many elections to come.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 14:45 #
  5. PTI party is a joke and this formation of 16 members shadow cabinet is nothing but a waste of time. No one knows any of these 16 members and not even one out this 16 members cabinet have the ability to win a single parliament seat anywhere in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:37 #
  6. PTI is a registered political party as others are. PTI and its members have an equal say in Pakistan Politics.

Allow them to have a say at par with other parties on national affairs. Would you!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 15:58 #
  7. siddiqi73

@semirza,

Even All Pakistan Muslim League is now a registered party....are you implying that the likes of Mushie Poodle, Rashid Qureshi, Sher Afghan Khan Niazi and Barrister Saif are entitled to have any sort of say in Pakistani politics?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 16:17 #
  8. Imran Khan and PTI should also form shadow cabinets in all provinces. At national level his party is struggling to win seats; like the loss of 2 seats in Lahore and Pindi. Why not start shadow cabinet at provincial level where electorate size (number of voters) is smaller than national level.
    Well Imran does have th right like any other politician to do politics but unfortunately this cricketing star of past is barking up the wrong political tree. As long as Imran continues supporting Talibans, associating himself with Jamat Islami and extremists like Hameed Gul, he will remain in political wilderness.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 16:17 #
  9. aftab arif

Its a good move but needs to be complimented with more organisation at the grass roots level to convert voters which are either sitting on the fence or those who do not vote at all, but keep going don't leave the field open for the current corrupt tola.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 16:29 #
  10. Any party registered as a political party according to Pakistani laws and legislation should have/and they do have a say in Pakistani Political Affairs.

Targeted Character Assassination of any Pakistani political leader as an agenda is something that will not be favored any further. Quality discussions are what should be the norm for political discussions.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 16:31 #
  11. skunkk

Never knew PTI had 16 members!

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 19:35 #
  12. tamaazkhan

"Targeted Character Assassination of any Pakistani political leader as an agenda is something that will not be favored any further."

Does this include references to a certain leader such as:
    Tafoo, Marasi, Chooran, Biryani Wala, Matarwa, Kala Kawwa, Kali Maa (I can go on..)

Also character assasination of:
    10 Percent, Chor, Haram-dari, ect...

****/Takhla Chor, "Na Ma Sharif, Na Baap Sharif...Nawaz Sharif, Nawaz Sharif", Saandh Sharif

Musharraf

Or does this only apply to the former-playboy, current-Taliban but always confused, the great Imran Khan Niazi.

Includes All those who have developed this nasty habit downgrading quality discussions

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 22:04 #
  13. Anwer Kamal

It is too late for them.
    I. K . never able to understand people's demand.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 May 2010 22:47 #
  14. moonkhan

I DONT KNOW ,WHY U PPL R CRITISIZING PTI'S STANCE?ALTHOUGH ,ITS VERY FINE EFFORT.WHEN PTI WILL GET POWER (VERY SOON INSHA ALLAH)IT WILLBE EASY TO SOLVE CRISIS QUIKELY.I AGREE TO AFTAB THAT IT HAS ALSO ORGANIZE PART ON GRASS ROOT LEVEL .IT IS VERY NECCESSARY

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 7:38 #
  15. wantinsaf

It's nice effort as it eventually would build the team of Khan.pakistan needs Imran and Imran needs help from team.Now I hope team would perfrom its best.
    PTI is unique.No politics based on corruption,lies,murders and feuadlism.PTI is the first one which has taken such a nice step but there should be output.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 10:44 #
  16. @skunk

I like your sense of humour!!!
    PTI is following British parliamentary system where opposition party (either Labour or Tory) forms a shadow cabinet to target Govt Ministers with specific portfolois in the Parliament. Does Imran's party have any members in the parliament? Answer is certainly No. I mean why on earth would you do something like this. Neither Imran nor his any party members have ability to win any seat from anywhere in any electorate. First Imran and PTI should learn how to win seats before they form a shadow cabinet.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 11:12 #
  17. @wantinsaf

You described correctly!
    Imran has formed a team like a cricket team with this 16 members shadow cabinet. Does anybody know names of this shadow cabinet members? I certainly don't know any of them.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 11:18 #
  18. asif86

The PTI Chairman was addressing the national convention held here in connection with party’s 14th founding day. On the occasion, PTI Chairman announced his party’s restructuring and shadow cabinet.

The shadow cabinet consists of one advisor and 11 spokespersons including Dr Shireen Mazari, Advisor on Foreign Affairs, Akbar Babar, Spokesperson for Political Affairs, Dr Fareed Malik, Spokesperson for Science and Technology, Firdous Naqvi, Spokesperson for Commerce and Industry, Admiral (Retd) Javed, Spokesperson for Defence, Munawar Basir, Spokesperson for, Najeeb Haroon, Spokesperson for, Sadaqat Abbasi, Spokesperson for Energy, Housing and Works, Shamsa Ali Advocate, Spokesperson for Education, Shahid Zia, Spokesperson for Women Development, Nazar Baloch, Spokesperson for Food and Agriculture and Dr Hamayun Spokesperson for Minerals and Health.

Under the new organisational structure, the restructuring of the party is based on provincial constituency, which is further divided till the level of union council, and a ward would be the smallest unit in the organisational structure.

Link, http://www.nation.com.pk/pakistan-news-newspaper-daily-english-online/Politics/03-May-2010/18th-Amend-a-conspiracy-against-judiciary-Imran

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 11:36 #
  19. @asif86

Does anyone know any members of Imran's shadow cabinet? PTI lives on Internet through some Fan club members. That's all we know about members. Imran holds his more party meeting overseas than he does in Pakistan. Please tell us how many of this 16 member cabinet can win any seat?

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 11:41 #
  20. wantinsaf

@SweetTruth
    You don't know any one of them,so what can we do?
    As there is something wrong with you,so you had better take the charge and try to get rid of it.
    You had better arrange meeting with all these 16 members and find out what's their capabilties and whether they would be able to come up with any solution.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 12:10 #
  21. skunkk

Children play ghar ghar when they are small, they are children, young and naive. But some children never grow up!

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 12:24 #
  22. @wantinsaf
    It is not only me; no one knows any of the 16 members of this shadow cabinet. Tell us honestly where will they stand from for Parliament seats and how many votes will they get from that electorate. I bet they will struggle to get even 4 digit votes.
    PTI is a pressure group assisted by media to spread their message. Imran uses his cricket profile to appear in discussion forums thanks to number of anchormen who invite him to their shows. Some support is seen on Internet through their Fan club members. I cannot see PTI anywhere else; no support among ordinary Pakistani voters. You cannot win seats through Fan club members and especially where Imran's policies are anti-public and highly conservative. I mean who would give you votes if you openly support Talibans and associate yourself with Jamat Islami or fanatics like Hameed Gul.

Posted 2 years ago on 04 May 2010 20:38 #
  23. pirbodla

If you are a patriotic, you are bound to go for pti, if not then naturally you will fall in love with one of these corrupts like, Altaf, Zardari, Nawaz, Mullah Diesel, or the progeny of Gadhars etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 2:51 #
  24. wantinsaf

@SweetTruth
    You are really an idiot,that's why you support a terrorist Organization.
    Imran Khan is famous for his honesty,bravery,patriotism and competency.He topped the cricket world because of above mentioned traits.He gets media coverage because of these traits.He is popular among youth becasue of these tarits.
    But the only criteria you look for is he is not ethno nationalist mohajer.
    You support MQM because you are mohajer,otherwise who supports MQM?

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 8:40 #
  25. siddiqi73

@wantinsaf,

I'm as mohajir as a mohajir can be but I despise the terrorists of MQM. But I still don't support Imran Khan the politician because he does not take a decisive stand on any one particular issue and keeps on oscillating from one extreme to another. It is very idiotic of him to criticize PPP very mildly but to go out all guns blazing on Nawaz Sharif just because PTI lost the by-elections by huge margins in NA-123 and NA-55. Imran Khan's political survival depends on his realignment with PML (N) otherwise Immi Bhai would forever remain an internet cheetah and nothing more.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 11:47 #
  26. aftab arif

@ siddiqi73

That will be the end of PTI if they re-align with PML-N. People see Imran is a bastion of honesty and sincerity and that is the attraction of PTI, if he joins PML-N that will be diluted with fake degree holders and credit card thieves and thus would lose its attraction to people who support Imran.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 12:03 #
  27. wantinsaf

@Siddiqi73
    It's nice to know that you despite being urdu speaking despise MQM's terrorism.That's really nice of you.
    But your comments regarding Imran seem to be based on misunderstanding of Imran Khan.
    During lawyer's movement,don't you think his stance was not decisive?
    What do you think of his stance on war against terror?
    Imran has always stood his ground.He supports people on the basis of their agenda and if he finds anything wrong in them he goes against them
    Imran Khan has been crticizing the role of PML N since long and has always maintained that both PPP and PML N are two sides of same coin but he doesn't need to criticize PML N unecessarily as they too are out of power.
    Imran's strength is honesty,integrity,bravery and competentcy.This all is still sticking and getting improved so he is bound to get success.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 14:24 #
  28. @pirbodla
    Now we need a patriotism certificate from you and PTI because we do not support PTI pressure group. PTI has less than 2% support among Pakistani public. From this calculation 98% Pakistanis are un-patriotic. You are a rocket scientist!!

@wantinsaf
    You are the biggest **** with no understanding of Pakistani politics. Ask yourself why Imran lacks public support. Why people continuously get rejected him in every election he or his unknown party members participate? What happened in the last 2 by-elections? If you think he is so popular among Pakistani voters then why didn't he stand as a candidate in Lahore and Pindi by-elections? First he boycotted last general elections which were obviously due to his poor popularity among voters. Then after few months he started yelling for mid-term elections. This is political immaturity and inexperience on behalf of Imran Khan; first boycotting election then demanding mid-term election.

When will Imran learn politics? Imran was a cricket player and should have used his cricket skills to improve Pakistani cricket. Politics is not his cup of tea.

Well, why he is invited by so many anchormen on TV shows? Answer is because he has nothing to do and he is easily available. Well he is also popular among ladies as we all know about his past activities during his cricket heydays.

Imran’s political wilderness will continue in the year to come because he:

Strongly supports Taliban terrorists
    Associates himself with Jamat Islami
    Regards fanatics like Hameed Gul as his political mentor

Moderate majority of Pakistani voters do not like these above mentioned “traits” of Imran so they will continue to reject him in every election. You do not win elections with Fan club members.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 15:05 #
  29. aftab arif

@ Sweettruth

How long did it take you to make up this story that Imran supports Taliban terrorists?

Where did he did he say that he sees HG as is political mentor? What i always here from Imran is that his inspiration is derived from great people like Iqbal and Jinnah.

He has not associated himself with JI in anyway but they did fight on the same platform namely APDM to restore Judiciary.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 16:48 #
  30. asif86

sweettruth
    "What happened in the last 2 by-elections? If you think he is so popular among Pakistani voters then why didn't he stand as a candidate in Lahore and Pindi by-elections? First he boycotted last general elections which were obviously due to his poor popularity among voters. Then after few months he started yelling for mid-term elections. This is political immaturity and inexperience on behalf of Imran Khan; first boycotting election then demanding mid-term election."

In by-elections parties win seats which were previously held by them.In this country the trend has been that parties sitting in government win by-elections.It is very hard to win by-election against a candidate who,s party is ruling in the province or centre.

Imran khan boycotted the 2008 elections on principles.And his decision proved right because the government which came after 2008 elections has bankrupt pakistan.Every day there is new crisis, be they judiacial,terrorism,price rise,loadshedding etc.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 16:53 #
  31. @asif86

Your analysis of by-election is simply an excuse for Imran to escape from participating in the election. If according to you by-elections are hard to win then why PTI candidates ran for these 2 by-elections in Pindi and Lahore.
    Where was Imran hiding during these 2 by-elections?
    Why didn't he participate in these elections?
    We are told again and again that IK is extremely popular leader of Pakistan by members of PTI pressure group in this forum. If he is so popular then why does he run away from election process?

If IK boycotted elections in 2008 then why is he trying to win 2 by-elections seats? If election process is not good then why is he demanding mid term elections?
    Why his 2 candidates lost so badly in Pindi and Lahore by-elections?

Has he changed his principles of not taking part in election within 2 years?
    What a joke! IK does not have voting power that is why he boycotted 2008 elections. Even today in 2010 he cannot win a single seat from anywhere in Pakistan.

This shadow cabinet is nothing but a farce and not a single member of this shadow cabinet have ability to win a single seat from anywhere in Pakistan. Just give me seat name or number which any of these shadow cabinet members can win. No one knows them let alone winning a seat!

Imran does negative politics and politics of a pressure group is nothing but pressurising Govt and seen in media through a number of anchormen. Imran is nothing but a media personality for these TV shows.

PTI pressure group will remain in political wilderness fro very long time because of Imran’s wrong policies.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 17:27 #
  32. asif86

PTI is contesting by-elections to prepare its workers for next general elections.
    In lahore PTI came second with 10,000 votes which was not expected because JI and Q league had fielded a joint candidate which was expected to give good fight to Nawaz-league,but didnt happen.
    In many by-elections in pukhtunkhwa pti came second position which means that its support is increasing.

I also defend the demand for midterm elections because this government has failed to deliver on its promises.

when next general elections are held pti will definately win seats since its much bigger party now then it was in 2002 when it last participated in polls.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 17:42 #
  33. skunkk

If I remember correctly, the hypocrite PTI whose members are advocating that it will be bringing a change gave party ticket to old faces in the bye-elections. In fact Ijaz Khan Jazi's votes decreased from 12000 to 3000 because he stood up from PTI platform and not independently.

Posted 2 years ago on 05 May 2010 20:29 #
  34. pirbodla

@ Sweettruth

I am not sure about the accuracy of the numbers you provided for those who are in 'favour and against' Imran Khan, the pride of Pakistan. However, it is obvious that so far the majority belongs to your mentality that adores either Altaf, Zardari or NS. This is the very reason for the country to be in all sort of mess.

Behold! There is no future of Pakistan without Imran Khan, who is the most trustworthy among the rest. Now it is up to you and your like-minded lot to accept the fact or reject it – you have been warned.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 1:35 #
  35. siddiqi73

@pirbodla,

I reject the fact vehemently!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 5:10 #
  36. aftab arif

@ pirbodla

The future of Pakistan needs to be in the hands of a honest and sincere leader whether that be Imran or anybody else i am not particularly bothered.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 11:10 #
  37. siddiqi73

Imran Khan is a long way away from being a leader. He is a decent spoiler but no way a leader. One can continue to bark up the tree and cry hoarse over all the wrongs and ills in our society but it takes a lot of intellect to come up with a comprehensive and viable solution to the problems. Sadly, IK does not fit the bill.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 11:35 #
  38. aftab arif

@ siddiqi73

I take on board your feedback about Imran not being a leader or able to provide viable solutions to our problems, which leader at the moment do you think that fits the bill for this purpose?

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 11:44 #
  39. siddiqi73

Nawaz Sharif of course!

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 13:05 #
  40. aftab arif

Can you please elaborate on what comprehensive and viable solutions NS has bought to the table with his great intellect, bearing in mind of course that they are running the largest province of the country, i personally cannot see anything tangible but maybe you can enlighten us.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 13:47 #
  41. saleembutt

@skunk "Never knew PTI had 16 members!"

Good one!

Actually, it's Imran Khan himself when drunk he considers himself equal to sixteen fundos.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 18:36 #
  42. pakistanvideo

Why we people are fighting and blaming. i think intelligent way is to ask question who is who... and that is the right we should give to everyone. Everyone also have the right to agree or disagree. There was a program on TV (Meray Mutabiq) that said almost the same question that few of you have asked here and got rebuked by some. Please do not doubt that I too believe that Mr. Imran is an honest and straight forward person. He do not tell lies like many. Anyway question was:

Tthat Mr. Imran has failed to have connections with the well recognised good people in the different fields who could help him when he wins and forms the government. Mr. Imran's answer was that it is not true.That he do have people who could come forward if needed to form a stabe and effective government.

He was than asked .... If he do have people than where are they. No one knows them. That it is his duty to introduce them to the public and give them some voice so that they can also speak to the public.

I say again, that Mr. Imran is a true patriotic human being.
    He can help Pakistan in many ways. But if has the people who will help him to run the government than they should be introduced.

On TV so many other parties have their representatives, good or bad, represent them. PTI should do the same. So that people can listen to their comments, thoughts etc., etc.

We do need change but we have to use our heads who is going to be that person. Why I say that. One can not sit in the ship unless the ship has a qualified person and the able staff to carry out the voyage.

Same is required here, we need to know who those people are that are going to be those people and what their qualifications and accomplishments are.

I hope it is not too much to ask for.

Posted 2 years ago on 06 May 2010 18:36 #
  43. LiberalKarachi

"The shadow cabinet consists of one advisor and 11 spokespersons including Dr Shireen Mazari, Advisor on Foreign Affairs"

Its a hopeless exercise if it contains people like Shireen Mazari - the third most celebrated conspiracy theorist in Pakistan - after Zaid hamid and hameed gul of course. A commendable achievement for her nevertheless as she faced very tough competition from various political anchors and "analysts". With advisers like these, no wonder Imran Khan's policy on Talibans is same as JI's: wishful thinking collapsing into selective dementia.

Posted 2 years ago on 07 May 2010 18:48 #
  44. wantinsaf

@SweetTruth
    You did not support your point that Im'm ****.
    I am here to help you.I am **** because:
    1-I expose MQM terrorism
    2-I question Altaf Hussain's patriotism.
    3-As I am against ethnic politcs
    4-I choose honesty and credibilty over hatred,voilence and corruption.
    5-I don't vote for theives,hate-mongers,voilent and failed faces.

What happened to MQM in Bi election?
    You did not talk about that....
    I live in Islamabad,Pakistan's capital where I yet have to meet a single person who supports MQM.Why is it so?
    Politics of fear and weapons can be practiced in Karachi,but not in NWFP,Punjab,Balochistan and Interior Sind.
    MQM is a terrorist organization whose agenda is:
    1-USA is our God and follwoing America dications is our religion.
    2-Using weapon is something our 'Prayer'.
    3-Promoting ethno nationalism and hatred is 'tableegh'.
    4-Voting for zardari and Musharaf are acts required for finding place in Jannah

The problem with you is if I have to say in one line "You are enthno nationalsit mohajer".Being ethno nationalist mean narrow mindedness and selfishness.It at the ends puts a question mark on patriotism and nationalism.You like many others are hurdle in making Pakistanis 'one nation'.
    Imran and PTI advocate dialogues rather than fighting America's war for American interests in the region.
    You call term us an taliban supporter.Should I say you are AMerican supporter?Why are you American supporter?For dollars?

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 10:53 #
  45. wantinsaf

This news speaks volume
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/print1.asp?id=237547
    MQM beneficiary of Karachi's politics based on Voilence and ethno nationalism
    Is there any differnce between Taliban and MQM?
    NO difference

Posted 2 years ago on 08 May 2010 12:02 #
  46. siddiqi73

@wantinsaf,

My only beef with IK is as to why he gone zip on MQM. He was spitting venom against these terrorists (rightly so) and now instead of taking his animosity to another level by exposing these ba$tards, he has not only gone quiet but also inferred that without its militancy, MQM is acceptable to him. MQM is a militant organization Imran, what gives?

Posted 2 years ago on 10 May 2010 7:04 #
  47. wantinsaf

Dear,problem lies with society.Why society is silent?Why people in Karachi supports him?
    Imran Khan would certainly give a logical conclusion to his case against Altaf but for that he needs help from society.This all has to go hand in hand.Change in attitude and ways of society will help all of us to put such people behind bars.

Posted 2 years ago on 11 May 2010 12:09 #
  48. siddiqi73

Than IK should have thought about this aspect before he opened his mouth. Your aforesaid logic reeks of politics of expediency and compromise.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 May 2010 7:11 #
  49. @wantinsaf

This shadow cabinet is nothing but a drama from Imran Khan to please his 16 members. I didn't know before that PTI had 16 members; but now I know PTI pressure group has 16 members. Go to any street in any city or small town in Pakistan and ask people if they know what a shadow cabinet is? 95% population of Pakistan do not know about this term “shadow cabinet” let alone how it works. I mean what is the purpose of this shadow cabinet?

First of all you have to have members in the Parliament to criticize respective Minsters. Who will these 16 unknown members (none of them can win any Parliament seat) criticize? Does anybody know about these 16 members?
    Who is Imran trying to fool? Who is Imran’s political advisor or rather mis-advisor?

Imran’s skills are cricket and chanda collection; he should focus more on his skills instead of politics. So far, Imran has shown complete immaturity and inexperience in politics and chances are he will continue to do so in the years to come. His close links with Jamat Islami and fanatics like Hameed Gul are main reasons for his political downfall and on top of that Imran strongly supports Taliban crooks. Moderate majority of Pakistani voters are well aware of Imran’s dirty connections and that is why he is rejected in every election.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 May 2010 17:36 #
  50. LiberalKarachi

@wantinsaf,

"Dear,problem lies with society.Why society is silent?Why people in Karachi supports him?"

Because MQM remains the party which has contributed the most for the development and betterment of Karachi (e.g. Mustafa Kamal, Dr. Ishratul Ibad, MNAs, MPAs). You need to remember Karachiites want development above all, which will revive the economy and move Karachi towards a moderate, liberal, plauralistic and a modern city. If you doubt this then come to Karachi and talk to Karachiites - whether from a 'paan waala' in Lalu Khait to a Stock Broker in II Chundirigar Road and you will find praises for MQM's workers. Living in denial will not help your cause.

Posted 2 years ago on 12 May 2010 19:22 #