PTI --Potential Joinees in Sindh

(76 posts)
  1. Sharif Aadmi

First of all congrats to PTI & its supporters for a successfull meeting in Karachi.

Till now , we have seen some big names joining PTI from punjab but nothing from Sindh as well. What are potential joinees from sindh.

Mainly 2 types.

a) Persons with conviction & principles like Justice Wajih ud Din , Javaed Hashmi & Kahurshid Qasoori.

b) Establishment boys like qureshis , legharis , tareens etc.

In my humble analysis , can't see much of type 1 who r of much influence in sindh. But m few big names like Javaid Jabbar (althouhgh totally ineffecitve politically) are there and may join. They mainly belong to Karachi city and are quite ineffective & don't command even couple of thousand of own votes.

There are few of type 2 which are up for grab .e.g.

a) Mehr of sukkhar . Gohus Bux Mehr & Co.
    b) Mehr family of Ghotkhi . Ali M. Mehr (Ex-CM)
    c) Somoros of Shikarpur -- Mian M Somoro (Ex Chair Senate) & Illahi Bux Somoro

d) Arbabs of Thar
    e) Jam's of Sanghar-- Jam Sadiq Family
    f) Shirazi of Thatta
    g) Jatoois of Dadu ---- Liaqat Jatoi
    h) Jatoois of Nowshero Feroz -- Sons of GM Jatoi
    &

Pagroo

these r traditional opponents of PPP in Sindh supported by establishment. Lets see how many of these join PTi.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 6:57 #
  2. pkpolitician

اگر سندھہ سے تعلق رکھنے والے مسلم لیگی بھی عمرانی سونامی میں بہہ جاتے ہیں تو اس میں عمرانی سونامی کا کوئی کمال نہیں ہوگا بلکہ نواز شریف کی ہٹ دھرمی، بیوقوفی اور سستی کا نتیجہ ہوگا یا اسٹبلشمنٹ کا ڈنڈا کہ عمرانی سونامی میں بہہ جاؤ۔

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 7:01 #
  3. Sharif Aadmi

Pkpolitician ,

Sindh mein konsaa muslim league haai bahi ?

Ghous ali shah , apart from 97 never won from sindh. who else u r speaking ?

Rest r families which win irrespective of party affiliation.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 7:05 #
  4. With elections approaching next year or year after, more and more pro-establishment politicians (lotay) will join PTI from rest of the country. Our Establishment is very skillful in their tactics and using politicians for their own benefits.

Even MQM (a pro-establishment party) in Karachi may offer support to PTI in next elections.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 8:23 #
  5. d0ct0r

Sweettruth

MQM already supported PTI yesterday. You don't expose us and we'll scratch your back.. Imran Khan didn't touched the most important issue faced by Karachiites i.e. MQM's gundagardi,he chickened out and avoided the topic.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 8:41 #
  6. expakistani

So what is a criteria of pro and anti establishment?

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 8:41 #
  7. You and I are both ex-Pakistani but still follow and keep an eye on Pakistani politics. Replying to your question what is criteria for pro and anti establishment.

Who could know better than yourself? Your MQM suffered a lot when it was not a pro-establishment party during the 1990s under a so-called operation. Now MQM is a pro-establishment party and simply toe their line. You will see MQM will support the party of Establishment after next election. It may well be PTI or someone else.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 8:49 #
  8. Sharif Aadmi

ST,

I agree to u that MQM suffered a lot during 80's and 90's when it took anti-establishment stance and has gained a lot since it surrendered to pressure applied since 2001 whether it was in the form of Naimat Ullah nizamat or 5 seats loss to MMA in 2002.

But , i think that MQM won't offer any seats to PTI from khi /hyd . Thats beyound my imagination but lets see.

Yes, there remains a possiblity that after elections , MQM again lining up with pro-establishment powers.

On question of who is pro establishment.....

In my humble oponion , persons and families who have strong constituency base and join the party who is in power r generally tipped as pro-estbalishment. From sindh , examples are :

a) Mehrs of Sukkher ---Ghous Bux Mehr was speaker of PA in 93-96 on PPP ticket. He then joined NS prior to 97 and got elected again. Prior to 2002 , he got to QA and got elected again.

b) Mehrs of Ghotkhi--- Same story . Muhammad Ali Mehr was given PPPP ticket in 2002 which he returned and got elected independent , then got to CM .

c) Arbabs of Thar ---- Part of every anti-ppp setup in sindh & that happens whenever PPP is out of favour .whether it was Jam Sadiq in 90-93 , liqat jatoi in 97-99 or mush setup in 02 to 07.

I think if one looks at pakistani politics , its not difficult to recognoize pro-establishment politicians.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 9:02 #
  9. Sharif Aadmi

my apoligies .

I have mixed Ghous Bux Mehr with Ghulam muhammad mahr.

Ghoux Bux Mehr is from shikarpur not from sukkhar. GM Mahar was from sukkhar and probably lost only one election throught his carrer when he lost to ppp candiate in 88.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 9:29 #
  10. @Sharif Aadmi

Well analysed

I like your intelligent thoughts/foresight on different issues and I gather you somehow support MQM in your comments.

MQM will NOT offer any party to take its seats in Khi/Hyd but they are going to support Establishment party to help form next govt.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 12:41 #
  11. Sharif Aadmi

ST,

Thx for your appreciation.

I don't support any party blindly but definatley like securlar parties like MQM , ANP or baloch nationalist. Even with these i agree as well as disagree on issues .

Bahi , i m not slave to any wadera / peer or politician. (Kissi kaa siyasi muzarah naahi).

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 12:50 #
  12. mariabashir

Jatois' are definitely coming to be part of "tsunami".
    & we know that mehars have already sided with SMQ.
    Dont know about others.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:02 #
  13. qaisernadeem

I don't know about Sindh but PTI sure is raking up huge upsets in Punjab, after Asif Ali, it's Ayaz Amir and Inam ul Haq Niazi of PMLN from Mianwali.

PMLN in panic mode now for sure!

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:12 #
  14. siddiqi73

^^^ Bro, PML (N) has seen worst time....no worries, let em' go and the same folks would be licking their wounds later on when they find out that they have duped by the agent of change sitting in Aabpara.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:14 #
  15. qaisernadeem

Siddiqi Bhai,

The fact of the matter is that those who sailed PMLN through those hard times are with PTI now and PMLN is left with those who put them in hard times.

I hope you catch my drift!

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:17 #
  16. msohail83

Noon league has definitely survived worst times... Remember when bhagora-e-azam cut a deal with general and flew off to holy land? Whuddda qurbani that was?!?!?!

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:24 #
  17. Sharif Aadmi

Sohail.
    Well said.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 13:27 #
  18. Sharif Aadmi

Bijarani from Jackobabad could be one although i don't consider him an establishment guy.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 19:43 #
  19. Sharif Aadmi

Two more-- Both from sukkhar,

a) Sheikh family ---Islam ud din sheikh & co.
    b) Lond family-- Khalid Lond

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 20:08 #
  20. Anwer Kamal

No popular name rejected people ,
    Only few who are well known as permanent agents of establishment.
    Salute to Great Urdu speakng,Sindhi speaking and Balochi speaking Pakistanis who rejected this 'dirtiest politician of the world' Congratulation for the last name
    Khalid Lond
    Nobody new him but his name is good.
    Make him next chairman of PTI
    Lond really deserved .

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 20:32 #
  21. zaln

اچھے ہیں یا برے میر سندھ کے لوگوں وہ وور ایم کیو ایم اور پی پی کو ہی جائے گا ، زمینی حقائق یہ ہیں اور جو پچھلے ایلیکشن سے واضح ہیں کہ ووٹ قومپرست جماعتوں کو ہی ملے تھے ،مسلم لیگ نون آہستہ آہستہ سمٹ کر پجاب تک رہ گئی ہے پی پی پی نے پچھلے انتیخبات میں ہر صوبے سے سیٹیں جیتی تھیں پر لگتا یہ ہے کے اگلے انتخابات میں وہ سندھ تک محدود رہے گی ، اندروں سندھ عمران خان کو پجاب کا نمائندہ سمجھ کر ووٹ نہیں ملیں گے اور کراچی اور حیدرآباد میں شاید پجابی پختونوں کے ووٹ مل جائیں ، مہاجروں میں عمران خان کی مقبولیت ہے مگر شید ان میں جو ووٹ ڈالنے نہیں جاتے اور پھر ایم کیو ایم کا خوف اور کچھ عوامی حمایت کی وجہ سے عمران خان کراچی اور حیدرآباد سے بھی سیٹ نہیں لے جا سکتے ہیں
    اس جلسے میں کراچی کی ایک فیصد آبادی بھی نہیں تھی
    پی پی کی پرفارمنس چاہے کتنی ہی خراب ہو مگر سندھی پی پی ہی کو ووٹ دینگے .
    عمران خان کا اصل مقابلہ پجاب اور خیبر میں ہو سکتا ہے

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 20:52 #
  22. Sharif Aadmi

Anwer Kamal

Khalid Lond is not an unfamilar name. He was Minister of State in Mush Cabinet and prior to that his family has almost retained this seat.

Prior to him , Noor M.Lond was MNA from this seat. This is basically District Ghotki which used to be part of sukkhar.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 21:28 #
  23. Anwer Kamal

Thank you for this all .
    Hope this great 'Lond' I mean Khalid Lond will satisfy the rest of Ik ........................

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 21:38 #
  24. Sharif Aadmi

Anwer Kamal,

We shouldn't go below decency.

As far as i understand , u r a pakhtoon and now better than lond is a pakhtoon tribe. Probaly its 'lond khur'. Please correct me if wrong.

Posted 5 months ago on 26 Dec 2011 21:48 #
  25. khanamer

So as a result of Karachi Jalsa! How many from Sindh have joined PTI?

Posted 5 months ago on 27 Dec 2011 11:12 #
  26. Politics of Sind is dominated by PPP and MQM and it is hard to win seats in Sind. So far no big name has joined PTI in Sind. In Punjab, it is different and more will join in the coming days simply to isolate PML-N.

Posted 5 months ago on 27 Dec 2011 11:56 #
  27. Sharif Aadmi

quite true ST . But there are a few seat winner establishment guys (mentioned above) may join pti.

But that won't happen till PTI is forming government for sure.

Sardar Allah Bux Gabool once said ' Sindhoo itney rastey nahi badlta jitna sindhi politician badlta haai'

Posted 5 months ago on 27 Dec 2011 12:02 #
  28. Sharif Aadmi

shah family of nawabshah is also among the potential list but problem is that until now PIT has not been able to show considerable vote bank at least in sindh.

Karachi gathering is no doubt big but sindh urban and rural poltics is a lot different . Even with such a big gathering , i don't see IK winning any seats from khi itself as there is already a very strong party present in khi.

Lets see.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:04 #
  29. @Sharif Aadmi

PTI does not need to focus winning seats (with its own candidates) in Sind. I mean I do not know whether any real PTI candidate can win a seat from anywhere in Pakistan; I doubt very much anyone can.

Establishment is bringing Imran forward so it is their job to supply seat-winning politicians otherwise Imran and his party do not have seat-winning candidates. Same old names will fight next election under PTI platform or on their own to provide Imran required number of seats to form Govt.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:33 #
  30. Sharif Aadmi

Let see. I don't think that its Q Leauge in fomration. Its more like a mixture of PIF and Q Leauge.

PIF object was to block someone and Q was to form a government. This time it seems that it will be used to block someone and at the same time would have some existience in parliament so that it would be part of government as well.

Let see.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:38 #
  31. @Sharif Aadmi

What is PIF?

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:40 #
  32. Sharif Aadmi

Qazi aa raha haai , qazi jaa raha haai , qazi naha rahaa haai.

Pakistan islamic front of 1993 when JI particpated under the banner of PIF and it also used to play songs etc from the state (not as modern as IK but obvious that was 18/19 years ago ). It also aired its jalsas directly althoguh at that time private tv transmission was agianst the law :) But GHQ kaay bachoon ko tu koi masla nahi hotaa :)

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:44 #
  33. @Sharif Aadmi

Thanks very much for updating my knowledge. I was not in Pakistan when topi drama of IJI was staged by then establishment headed by (correct me if I am wrong) Hameed Gul.

Official slogan of Mansoora (Qazi aarah hey) can never be forgotten in our political history and it always brings smile/laugh on my face. Few months ago, one of the PkPolitics blog members was telling us about the 'reach' of this slogan. He saw this slogan written on the toilet wall of Islamabad airport. The writer had slightly modified the slogan. It was read as "Zalimo jaldi karo, Qazi aarah hey".

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 14:54 #
  34. Sharif Aadmi

ST,

complete slogan was . "Zalmoo Jaldi karoo , qazi aa raha haai"

And this was not IJI of 88/90 ( a product of hameed gul ^ co).

It was PIF in 1993 , a product of Gen.Waheed ^ Co. In April 93 , NS govt was dismissed by GIK under 58 2b which was restored by SC on May 26. Then COAS Gen.Waheed took rsigns from both GIK ^ NS.

At that time ji ws cloned as PIF.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 15:07 #
  35. @Sharif Aadmi

Thanks once again for updating my knowledge about our politics. You are very well-versed and knowledgeable in pakistani politics.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 15:19 #
  36. Sind operates on different political wavelength, the dynamics of which almost all non-Sind political parties have long failed to fathom.

The people of Sind have no craving for the hotcakes that PTI markets in Punjab and KP.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 18:49 #
  37. qaisernadeem

@Barack Bahi

Why are you so angry?

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 18:51 #
  38. Not even single PPP leader from sind join in PTI, in Karachi jalsa. It is showing that sonaami is dead now and gone back in karachi sea.

Posted 4 months ago on 28 Dec 2011 22:59 #
  39. Sharif Aadmi

There is one news in the papers that Arbab family and sameejo family is joining PTI.

Posted 4 months ago on 29 Dec 2011 8:32 #
  40. aftab arif

Today I would like to share some inner thoughts with all of you particularly the youth who are the spearhead of the PTI because if the spearhead is pointed in the wrong direction it can cause friendly fire casualties.

The Karachi jalsa was another roaring success and a reflection of the peoples’ longing for change.

What do we mean by change? In my humble opinion change means building a new society based on time tested values and principals. Our society has decayed over the years and decades. Our entire social fabric is in tatters. A society devoid of basic honesty cannot last for long. When we talk of accountability, it just does not mean simply the return of looted money or crucifying those who have indulged in mega corruption.

Accountability is essential if we want to resurrect one of the time tested values of any successful society that honesty and hard work pays. Given an opportunity, if only we are able to demonstrate to society through our actions that no longer would we accept cronyism, corruption, and injustice, we would have turned the tide and started on our journey to build a value based society. Investment and expertise would pour into our economy once we are able to develop an institutional framework that protects the sanctity of contract, encourages talent and new ideas. Off course we would need to focus on a host of other issues, but at this time I am only limiting the discourse to one; namely building a tolerant society.

IK and I are ideological soul mates but when it comes to matters of strategy we have had our share of differences. IK’s strengths include his never say die approach which means you never lose until you give up. So as long as you fight on, there is no chance of losing. Similarly, his eternal optimism provides the fuel to go on despite the setbacks. But we all have our blind spots including IK or for that matter I or any one else are no exceptions. In politics, the genius is to cover one’s blind spots by associating with those whose strengths complement the leader’s blind spots as long as the commitment to the basic ideology is without doubt. I could recount numerous CEC meetings where, sometimes, the drift of the discussion would be in negation to our ideology and beliefs. After hearing views which were in complete contradiction to our fundamental beliefs, IK would point at me and say “Akbar please explain PTI’s ideology and why we have decided on a certain course.” And, then I would unleash a range of arguments based on fundamental principals which were and remain the bedrock on which PTI’s policy direction rests. My tirade would normally end the debate on a particular issue and the discussion would move on to other items on the meeting’s agenda.

Building a tolerant society is fundamental to the PTI ideology. We can only build a tolerant society if we have the courage and patience to listen to diverse and even critical opinions. General Musharraf was instrumental in allowing the mushroom growth of a free media particularly the electronic version of it. He took great pride in claiming to be the champion of a free media. Little did he perceive that the same free media would be instrumental in his political demise?

I was the PTI’s Central Information Secretary for 7 years during General Musharraf’s rule. My hard drive is full of the most stringent criticism of General Musharraf and his policies. Once IK told me that someone who had attended a private dinner with General Musharraf the previous night came to see him the following day with the message, “please tone down your criticism as it is getting personal-your car can easily blow up one day.” Whether or not the message was accurate or credible or a hoax or for that matter General Musharraf actually meant it, I have no clue. All I know is that anything is possible in Pakistan. So without informing IK, I made sure that our criticism of General Musharraf’s policies through PTI press releases remained within the realm of policies and there were no personal overtones. But I must give credit where it is due. We were extremely critical of General Musharraf and he took it without causing any harm to any one of us. I never received an obnoxious or threatening telephone call or message during General Musharraf’s era. In comparison, during Nawaz Sharif’s second term particularly during the time of GDA’s movement, intelligence operatives were posted 24/7 outside my residence for surveillance and on more then one occasion, while driving, they would overtake my car in a threatening way, avoiding an accident by a close shave.

Marvi Memon has recently been somewhat critical of the induction of traditional politicians into the PTI fold. Her recent comments on a TV channel have led to a torrent of critical comments, some not in good taste, on her twitter account.

Since I am privy to some of the facts surrounding Marvi Memon’s possible joining of PTI, please allow me to correct misgivings about her recent comments. Some months back, IK called me late at night. He (IK) was very excited to have Marvi Memon onboard PTI in a pivotal position. He asked me to interact with Marvi Memon in an attempt to encourage her to join PTI. I have had a number of meetings with her since and over the months that I have known her, we have developed a relationship based on mutual respect. I counseled Marvi to join PTI un-conditionally and allow herself some time to assimilate into the party mainstream before assuming any responsibility. We had almost agreed that she would resign from Parliament in July 2011 and simultaneously join the PTI alongside IK in a press conference outside the Parliament House. Even a tentative date of her joining the PTI was agreed. Unfortunately, again some news leaks by some insecure party officials complicated matters. The news leaks created an impression that Marvi Memon was negotiating a tough bargain for her entry into the party. The news leaks created doubts in Marvi’s mind and she decided to delay her joining the PTI. There were some other developments which I would not like to share in the best interest of the party. I am also aware of recent overtures made by General Musharraf and some of his close companions to IK to join hands. When IK asked for my opinion on the matter, I simply responded by saying “Khan khudkushi is haram in Islam.”

As someone who has given the best years of his life to the PTI cause, I consider it my duty to share my thoughts with all the young and zealous PTI supporters who dominate the cyber world that Marvi Memon desires the kind of change in society that PTI publicly espouses. She wants the message of hope that PTI has generated to spread wide and deeper in our society. In her opinion, her criticism is only to advocate course correction before it is too late. She wants the PTI and its leader to succeed in achieving the publicly stated objectives. She strongly feels that our society cannot afford another letdown.

My views on the issue are simple. In general, politicians who hop from one party to another only further erode our nation’s already tattered political culture. Barring exceptions, the majority of these hopping politicians are rank opportunists. The message and the credibility of the messengers are essential for the message to sink in society.

We, as a PTI family, should be more tolerant to criticism. You, the young supporters of PTI are our messengers of peace, harmony, and tolerance. We are trying to build a more tolerant society. Already, our extreme reaction to criticism has provided the fuel to our critics that we are building a fascist political culture. We must use arguments based on logic to further our point of view. Let time be the final judge, the right as well as the wrong decisions would bear results for all to see in the not too distant future, good or bad.

https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=197432910349839&id=180101955416268

Posted 4 months ago on 29 Dec 2011 13:30 #
  41. Rizwan Qaimkhani

And the recycling continues:)
    Same old garbage is in the process but they will be wearing a PTI Lapel pin this time. New package old shitt:) What an idiotic lot thinking of giving chance to crooks, but hey whatever can rock your boat:)

Posted 4 months ago on 29 Dec 2011 20:08 #
  42. Anwer Kamal

PTI ,Expected electoral sign متوقع انتخابی نشان
    Lota , لوٹا

Posted 4 months ago on 29 Dec 2011 20:24 #
  43. Sharif Aadmi

Arbab Rahim denies joining PTI atleast for time being.

Posted 4 months ago on 30 Dec 2011 10:29 #
  44. Sharif Aadmi

10 days since khi jalsa. No news from sindh.

Posted 4 months ago on 05 Jan 2012 6:07 #
  45. Sharif Aadmi

tsunami seems not working in sindh . hoon -----------

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 0:31 #
  46. Anwer Kamal

Not working in Sindh and Baluchistan
    Because people hate establishment there .

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 0:39 #
  47. پنجاب میں کون سی کامیاب ہو گئی ہے جناب
    قاف لیگ کے لوٹے اکھٹے کرنے سے کوئی کامیابی نہیں مل سکتی
    پنجاب کے لوگ بہوت سمجدار ہیں اس بار پنجاب کے عوام کو کوئی تقسیم نہیں کر سکتا

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 0:48 #
  48. Sharif Aadmi

Ch Sahib,

Punjab mein kutch baray / maroof naam tu shamil howey haain. sindh mein tu abhi tak kahta nahi khulla .

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 3:36 #
  49. It is true PTI is struggling to find lotay in Sind; however in Punjab there has been some success and more lotay may join in the future. PTI success in the future depends on new lotay and their ability to win seats.

Million Dollar question is: What will happen to PTI and Imran Khan if expected lotay did not perform well in the coming election? Where Imran will be standing then? I think Imran's overall position will be like "dhobi ka kuttta, ghar ka na ghat ka".

Posted 4 months ago on 16 Jan 2012 15:10 #
  50. Pakistani84

@SA,

Thank you for registering your support for PTI's stance.

After all big names do matter and who would know that more than a person who is looking for big names from Sind joining PTI or not for over half a month? ;)

You get it now, other PTI haters? Big names do matter to "show" your popularity.

Internal Sind politics is more drenched in ignorance, illitrarcy, feudalism, bondage, provincialism, victimhood mentality. It would take time to break the ice, but no doubt PTI will.

Mean to say, if PTI doens't win a single seat from interior Sind, it can still sweep the elections given that interior Sind doesn't have to offer more than 20 seats.

But for a person wtih any sense of democracy, the Karachi jalsa speaks in no uncertain term regarding PTI's popularity in Karachi, the urban center of Sind.

Posted 4 months ago on 17 Jan 2012 14:35 #