PKPolitics Discuss » Social and Cultural Issues

Public Urination

(34 posts)
  1. netengr

In Pakistan we all have seen people urinate in most crowded public place where women and children also walking .how embarrassing this is for them .

Safai Nisf Eman hay per pishab ki smell aur urinate kertay hue log hamaray deen aur civilization ka mazaq ura rahay hotay hain .

------------------------------

http://www.paktribune.com/news/index.shtml?40824

Water is a necessity for all the living beings. Nature has blessed all the creatures with a mechanism to discharge the waste out of their body to feel relax. One of the methods used by humans is called Urination, a process of disposing urine from the urinary bladder. This process of urination is usually under self control. When we loose this control over urination, it is called urinary incontinence. Normally it happens with children of under age, while elders have the capacity and maturity to control it till they reach in an isolated place to escape embarrassment and at the sometime feel relieved with a discharge.

From an evolution process to industrial revolution, humans have successfully tranformed into a civilized society. In majority of countries, humans usually urinate in a toilet. Public toilets are often separate for men and women. Those for men often have also urinals. These may have partitions between them to avoid men being able to see the penises of other men. In contrast, the subcontinent has a peculiar culture which accepts public urniation. Men are seen urinating openly in public places without a fear of any embarrasment. There are no hard and fast rules on how to take a pee, you can simply unzip your pants or your "Shalwar" to aim it at anyplace you feel comfortable. Normally, men like to aim at the walls on the road side. These walls don't have to be in any isolated places, you are free to do it right in the middle of a bazaar, and if you don't happen to find any wall, you can use a main hole passage to fill it up. Amazingly, you get to see lot of walls in the city with warning labels written on them, "No Urination Please."

Waiting to reach toilets may require patience and tolerance, but that is not a part of our culture whose foundation is based emotionalism and which lacks rationale. We are so fond of criticizing the whole western world for obscenity and vulgarity, but find no room in any column of the media to criticize our own obscene culture of public urination. Interesting, you do find lot of religious extremists while taking out the procession in their daily routine of some criticism, they also, in the heat of the moment, make sure to destroy public property which may include public toilets.

Western-civ, which on one hand has introduced much civilized manners of adequate, has also given humans comfort through innovative architects of toilets and bathrooms. Accessories of flush, sinks, showers, bath tubs and tabs have been one of the various innovations and luxuries of using toilets introduced by the western world, but we on the other hand are only busy in criticizing their culture and never appreciate their innovations which has led towards a more better and logical civic sense.

One wonders, when a person who works eight hours a day and has no access to any toilets in a near surrounding, then where should he/she go to discharge of what he has been drinking all day. He has a genuine need to take out the waste material out of his body, but that doesn't mean that he should do it right outside his shop, office or a building. He should realize that if he is drinking eight to ten glasses of water or other soda drinks in a day, he may feel the pressure to relieve it too. Now, the only question remains whether he has the awareness to realize that if he's discharging publicly, it may be too embarassing for him and others as well to watch him. Unfortunately, this question remains a mystery in our culture. Apparently, majority of us are least interested to reach the state of realization that public urination has serious health consequences because of hygienic reasons. At the sometime our religion Islam, which calls cleanliness as half of our faith, has also considered public urination illegal and encourage it in isolation and with cleanliness.
    Please click here to watch the video of Public Urination in one of the bazaars

The practice of public urination only exhibits one's habbit of doing things in hurry. It appears, as a nation we are in hurry to discharge our waste where-ever we feel like to do so. Perhaps we are never in hurry to consider even for a second that this higly obscene act may be too embarassing for others to watch. If we had been aware of it, then we would have rather hurried to start building up toilets to save us from this embarrasment. To build a toilet in the shop or inside office doesn't require us to apply for a grant from IMF or world bank. If we can rise a full structured building, a small, yet a clean toilet could be more than a wishful thinking for it.

Such a thought of avoiding public urination only depends if we ever consider it as an element of embarrassment. If we don't then we don't have the right to criticize other cultures for spreading obscenity and vulgarity in public. May be for a change we should allow public kissing of opposite sex in our culture, which is a much more scenic view than seeing someone urinating in front of you.

End.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 18:59 #
  2. quaidkamazaar

yeah its pretty shameful.
    also
    why cant we Pakistanis get rid of spitting (thooking) paaan all over the place. but thats seperate issue.

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 22:23 #
  3. Migel9

Hummaray pudinay kay bagh thay indian may..eeeman sayyy.Puke..

Posted 2 years ago on 02 Oct 2009 23:31 #
  4. Asli Moulana

Bhai jan shukar karain keh unkay Podinay ke bagh thay.

Agar gannay ke hotay tou app ka pata nahin kia hota.

Wasiay these people are the ones who should be publicly punished for they brought upon indecency in public.

Moulana.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 0:38 #
  5. Migel9

Drinking urine and urination in the public two different, issues.

Hindus drink Pakistanis urinate.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 15:38 #
  6. msohail83

Migel,

I think that's cow urine they drink, isn't it?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 15:49 #
  7. zjshami

"Drinking urine and urination in the public two different, issues."
    "Hindus drink Pakistanis urinate."

"I think that's cow urine they drink, isn't it?"

Do these sentences has any link to the theme and motive of the discussion?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 15:55 #
  8. msohail83

I was just correcting him. Is that ok?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 15:57 #
  9. Migel9

Cow urine plus human you are correct sir,hindu tridition.We were just increasing the knowledge of our readers on this subject..Shamee..lol

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 16:13 #
  10. netengr

We have one member expert who knows a lot about urine drinking

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 16:35 #
  11. zjshami

The thread is related to "Public Urination" in Pakistan what is an indecent social habit.
    Hardly anyone would support and defend this kind of immoral practice in the public, causing sanitation problem.

(Eating pork or drinking cow's urine is totally different issue and could be discussed at a separate thread.)

"Hindus drink Pakistanis urinate." Indicates the justification for public urination in Pakistan.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 16:42 #
  12. msohail83

Lack of public restrooms. Its a simple problem ppl trying to blow it out of proportion.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 16:44 #
  13. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

Public washrooms can ease this problem.

P.S. Absence of Justice + Education is the root cause

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:29 #
  14. NNL

I think the solution is Lack of CLEAN Public Restrooms.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:33 #
  15. NNL

So to the OP WHATS YOUR IDEA OF A SOLUTION OF THIS PROBLEM?

Or did post also got edited by someone.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:34 #
  16. NNL

Is is me or the people who claim to be frequent visitors and whine about the strictness of Moderators are inept in discussing politics at all. Whether its International or National but they offer no solutions at all.

I can see a huge absence of the regular members while weekends and they only come in to kill the office time lol

Is that the caliber of the invaluable posters.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:38 #
  17. msohail83

You hit the nail on the head. lol

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:41 #
  18. NNL

OP= Original Poster.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:41 #
  19. NNL

well its felt to me that way

Tons of opinions and comments all varied and nothing to do with International or for that matter NAtional Politics but some form anti islamic outburst or rather i should say secular ones but all during Office hrs during weekdays all around the world

Seemed odd to me.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:47 #
  20. msohail83

Some ppl have nothing better to do in their life I suppose. cynics

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:49 #
  21. NNL

Not cynics

Cynics at times do make a living.

But these people are using COmpany or Government resources to log on and waste time.

I swear it did be fun if their company managements or HR is made known of the facts

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 17:50 #
  22. netengr

I have studied in pak ,traveled in the buses ,went out for shoping many times but I never ever urinate outside .This is just a habit and some people who came from mostly villages adopted this as normal .

Yes ,we do not have public toilets but we have toilets besides the "Masjids " some are free and some take just 2 Rs ,If some one really need this he can go to those toilets .

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:01 #
  23. NNL

During those trips outside did you see the which type of folks were urinating outside ?

So again whats ur solution

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:03 #
  24. netengr

Masjid toilets ,drink less water ,empty the balder before leaving .
    I hate to see the man urinating in public specially where women and childrens around

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:05 #
  25. NNL

Thats your solution ?

I mean really is that your SOlution

Ok why the Masjids ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:07 #
  26. netengr

becasue this facility at every corner

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:09 #
  27. NNL

ok So by your logic or solution

One has to drink less water

Urinate before he goes outside

And just be around a Masjid if he feels the urge

And have enuf Masjids around him so that its easier to be within that are if the urge gets stronger.

Hmmm interesting intellect you got there mate.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:09 #
  28. NNL

So

netengr

becasue this facility at every corner

As a muslim you think Masjid is a Facility and just that its serves no other purpose ?

Is it your unease with English language wordings or do you really think that low of the Masjids ?

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:11 #
  29. NNL

You know u sound just like the fool we call the PM who said Sugar prices are high so dont eat sugar ?

Retards on the whole sale i presume.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:14 #
  30. netengr

Or

Wait for next 50 years when government would make public toilets .Aur logon ko mootnay dou jahan mootna hay kiyon kay khilafat aur islami nizaam jo nahi ...right ..

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:16 #
  31. NNL

Again side stepping my question.

I was talking about your solution dont deflect please.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:18 #
  32. amin1924

netengr

Before you make fun of any islamic term, don't forget that our Noble Sahaba RA were Caliphs. Please abstain from dragging Islam in your toilet discussion.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:31 #
  33. Assalam-o-Alaikum-Warahmat-ULLAH ALL,

@netengr: You are right. I do not have enough knowledge to confirm it relating to Khilafah, but even in the days of Mughal Empire, there were public toilets / rest-rooms around roads that connected far away places.

However, if you'v made this thread to ridicule Islam, Khilafah or Khalifah, Muslims, I will DETEST!!! I will protest against you.

Furthermore, I will cite your thread as a violation of the COC, since this is NOT the place where hate-mongering should be allowed to propagate.

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 18:56 #
  34. Migel9

We have one member expert who knows a lot about urine drinking ..He loves hindustan and usa.Claim to be a pakistanis.Rat eating in hindustan is on the increase..Rajistan..watch video..CBS..

Posted 2 years ago on 03 Oct 2009 23:05 #