Punjab Assembly seeking ban on musical concerts in academia.

(23 posts)
  1. Does anyone know if “objectionable music” has some relevance to the stampede in Al-Hamrah Complex concert?

LAHORE: The Punjab Assembly has passed a resolution seeking a ban on organising ‘objectionable’ music concerts in private and public academic institutions.
    http://tribune.com.pk/story/326425/punjab-assembly-passes-resolution-to-ban-objectionable-concerts/

LAHORE: Three female students were crushed to death and many others injured in a stampede after a musical concert at the Alhamra Cultural Complex, Gaddafi Stadium, on Monday night.
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/TodaysPrintDetail.aspx?ID=11626&Cat=13

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 18:42 #
  2. Here is bait for you PTIers and Nooners.

Imran Khan in today’s Capital Talk said that [paraphrase] it is wrong to completely ban music.

While, apparently, PML-N and PML-Q voted in favor of the ban.

Wouldn't it make more interesting to ya guys?

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 18:51 #
  3. insaftak

@ Azizi

The problem is not concert. The problem is allowing more people in the hall that doesn't have the capacity for it. The government needs to pass the building laws instead of banning the concerts.

Bunch of Morons are running our country.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 18:56 #
  4. bsobaid

Dont think they should ban it.

I was watching news the otehr day and they showed some college girls dancing in a music concert held inside the premises of girl's college.

Shaid yeh dekh kay kuch logoo kee ghairat pharak gaee hogee.

I dont think they should ban it but probably it is a good idea to keep girls and boys separated in concerts like these. Young men and women go with the flow and do silly things.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 18:59 #
  5. bsobaid

The funniest statement I read in newspaper where a punjabi law maker said pakistan islam kay naam pay bana thaa, naach ganay kay liyay nahi...lol

Now dont get started on anti moulana bash.

Some fun activities should be provided to young people to keep their energies afloat. Otherwise, they get all frustrated and use dangerous and immoral means to take them out.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 19:02 #
  6. Anwer Kamal

Imran is a Mujra fan and NS is a ghazal / geet fan .
    Jamima culture Vs Tahira Syed Culture

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 19:23 #
  7. bsobaid

lol AK,

Fazlurrehman said the other day, IK wants to import Jemima culture in Pakistan. Such non-sense.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 19:25 #
  8. PTISalman.Ali

Banning a musical event inside of a campus is the wrong solution, especially to the problem that occured recently.

Students were hurt/died from being trampled in a stampede like situation.

If a building cannot accomodate a certain amount of people in it, then enforce limited capacity entry. Improve the building codes such that gathering places such as this have sufficient ENTRY and EXIT points for a large flow of people.

I suppose if a religious event on this campus would have caused a stampede and deaths, the brilliant punjab assembly would have banned religious events in schools?

Thats my opinion.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 19:57 #
  9. Respect

I did not really want too post anything on this topic because I listen to music, however it wrong.

Concerning concerts it is only a place for men to go and look at women in a wrong way, i am talking overwhelmingly men. Women dancing up and down and so are men. Personally all concerts should be banned whether the hall is big enough or not.

Concerning IK I do not think he promotes these kind of events or neither does he condone them. Musical events are wrong for two reason music and the kind of atmosphere that it represents.

Simple question would anyone of us allow our sister or wife to participate in these kind of events?

I do feel like a hypocrite by saying this as I myself listen to music, however for the betterment of society all musical events should be banned especially regarding to pop stars.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 23:34 #
  10. Dusky

Where is Ansar Abbasi when you need him??

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 23:39 #
  11. daani

This resolution was initiated by a female member of opposition in Punjab Assembly, Semil Kamran and reason given was the infamous Alhamra incident. All members supported it in that spirit, however Law minister did raise the concern that we cant ban the concerts or similar activites and what we need is to ask the school/colleges administration to follow the exisitng rules in this regard.

in todays 11th hour with Waseem Badami (ARY), Rana Sanaullah explained the background of todays resolution.

Posted 4 months ago on 24 Jan 2012 23:58 #
  12. pakstar

Musical dancing show is one thing, learning good music is other thing, infact we have mixed vulgarity with Music.. which is un-acceptable.

Folk dances, religious music (kawali, naat, Hamd), folk music, national music must be allowed..

but Indian songs and music.. PLUS INDIAN TV Channels must be banned.

Music is not bad, its how are we use it..

I hope you will agree?

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 1:36 #
  13. qaisernadeem

Open Mujrah in Lahore high court is okay but concerts are bad?

Ghareeb becharay jaali medicine kha ker mer rahay hain aur Munafiq aaala bhongian maar raha hai.

Cheif Munafiq Shehbaz Sharif is also the health minister of Punjab, does anyone in the media realize that?

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 1:50 #
  14. pakstar

@Qaiser Nadeem

law was not passed my Munafiq-e-Aaala as you may refered to Shahbaz Sharif .. LAW was passed by the votes of PUNJAB assembly.

Secondly , keep on clapping in concerts of Khusra Imran KHan.. shaitan..

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 2:46 #
  15. bsobaid

I agree.

Ban indian channels and indian shows on our tv channels.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 2:49 #
  16. qaisernadeem

Pakstar bhai,

Who has the majority in Punjab assembly?

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 2:59 #
  17. Respect

@bsobaid

Ban lollywood films and mujra's as well, they are as bad as indian movies however I would say even worse.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 3:08 #
  18. Did Punjab Assembly member, Semil Kamran, not have the courage to address the original problem? The source of the problem was the eve-teasers in the concert. (Eve teasing is a euphemism used for public sexual harassment or molestation of women by men). Make a law against such actions. And if there is already a law, the Punjab government needs to set its priorities straight.

By the way, the first publically documented incident of Eve teasing occurred on Hawks Bay beach near Karachi in the early 70s. That eve-teasing turned into an outright criminal rapping of college girls. Some Karachi college touring group students (I think it was Dawood College) ripped girls’ clothes in open and raped them publically. Unfortunately, the media as well as the society blamed the women for those mischiefs. There is not a significant change to date.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 3:46 #
  19. gulraiz55

First step towards Islamic revolution---------BAD LUCK FOR THIS COUNTRY

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 4:55 #
  20. Adonis

Musical concerts should be held in theaters or stadiums, not in academic institutions.

Good resolution moved by Seemil Kamran of Q league and hats off to PML-N members for supporting it.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 5:52 #
  21. qaisernadeem

@Adonis,

That was the worst example of blind following. Almost all reputable Educational institutions have theatres in them where aspiring musicians from colleges perform.

Regardless, this is a non issue, in fact it was an attempt to distract people from the real issue of counterfeit drugs.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 6:00 #
  22. bsobaid

I also think girls and boys should be strictly separated in concerts.
    I am very worried to hear about eve-teasing from azizi. Never heard of it before but I am not surprised either.

Posted 4 months ago on 25 Jan 2012 15:20 #
  23. ali-pk

it's a good move but i am expecting a u-turn very soon.

Posted 4 months ago on 26 Jan 2012 6:27 #